DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/29/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-15 is/are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemke et al. ("Calorimetric study and microstructure analysis of the order-disorder phase transformation in silicon steel built by SLM." Journal of Alloys and Compounds 722 (2017): 293-301.) in view of Veronesi et al. (US20140035423A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lemke teaches a method of additive manufacturing comprising:
Selective laser melting of Fe-Si high silicon (electrical steel) steel powder by scanning a laser with a scan strategy to build a layer;
Building an object layer by layer (Abstract);
However, Selective laser melting is distinct from directed energy deposition additive manufacturing as claimed and does not involve the simultaneous melting or sintering and depositing of a powder on a substrate; However, Veronesi teaches a method of forming electrical machines with additive manufacturing (abstract) of high silicon steel alloy powder such as by laser deposition [0020] where a LENS (Laser Engineered Net shaping) apparatus, a type of directed energy deposition, may be used to sinter a stack and form a laminated product [0013, 0015, 0030]; LENS by definition, works by simultaneously injecting or depositing metal powder while a laser is focused on a substrate, melting or sintering the powder to form a layer and is widely used for its ability to repair parts, handle large build volumes and use multiple materials. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a direct energy deposition technique such as LENS on the method of Lemke for the purpose of forming a high silicon steel product of complex shape and larger sizes than conventional SLM additive manufacturing. The scanning of the powder streams is considered relative to the substrate and considered a scan strategy.
Regarding Claims 2-3, the FeSi alloy has a Si content of 6.9, greater than 4 and 6% (See Table 1)
Regarding Claims 4-7, heat treatment is done at an annealing temperature; where the annealing temperature may be greater than 500 to recrystallize the microstructure (Order transformation A2 to B2 + DO3) (See Figs 4 and 6); the annealing temperature may be greater than 700 C to form a and ordered B2 phase is predominant (See magnetic transformation in See Figs 4 and 6); and where the annealing may be greater than 900 C to form a disordered A2 structure (A2 is a BCC microstructure) (See Figs 4 and 6)
Regarding Claims 11-13, as the product formed by the prior art and the method used to form the product are substantially identical, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected these properties to be met under the expectation that products formed by similar methods have similar properties. (See MPEP 2112.01(I))
Regarding Claim 14, Veronesi teaches a stator may be formed, a type of electromagnetic core device [0045]
Regarding Claim 15, Veronesi teaches alternating layers of FeSi alloy and insulating layers to provide a stacked lamination [0030, 0037]
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemke et al. in view of Veronesi et al. (US20140035423A1) as applied above in further view of Izadi et al. ("A review of laser engineered net shaping (LENS) build and process parameters of metallic parts." Rapid prototyping journal 26.6 (2020): 1059-1078.)
Regarding Claims 8-10, Lemke and Veronesi are silent regarding the LENS scan strategies as claimed, however, Izadi teaches that laser engineered net shaping may have parameters such as laser scan speed and scan strategy (abstract) and teaches that residual stress is a concern with LENS (Section 2.3) and where deposition pattern affects residual stress (Section 3.6) so its default scanning strategy may be one of a cross hatch laser strategy 4, or may be concentric (See (b) and (c) of Fig 6. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art seeking an appropriate scan strategy to minimize residual stress in the object would have been motivated to use cross hatching or concentric laser scanning strategies.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Lemke, the primary reference, uses selective laser melting and that high cooling rates involved in the scanning process hinders ordering transformation and thus improves the mechanical properties of the materials, and therefore selective laser melting of Lemke is a critical element and can not be modified as done in the rejection.
This is not persuasive, in the examples of Lemke, the cooling can be performed by simply being built (air cooling), furnace cooled, or water quenches (Table 3) and that SLM processing and water-quenching are two effective means to suppress partially the ordering transformation (Conclusions); however, while LENS cooling is considered slower than SLM cooling, the rate of these cooling are considered significantly faster than furnace cooling and water quenching; secondly as LENS cooling is considered to lie between the cooling rate ranges of the prior art, the SLM cooling rate is not considered critical to the prior art invention and an ordinary artisan would not be discouraged from the modifying Lemke with LENS additive manufacturing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO D MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738