DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 10, 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Please see circled items on attached claims.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 recite “A protective layer” in the preamble and then go on to say the layer comprises a “cover” forming a barrier layer. This wording seems a bit backward to the examiner. Typically a cover can be formed by many different layers. The end product is a cover which comprises a barrier layer (and potentially more layers). Since the wording still makes sense in the context of the specification, this is not a rejection for indefiniteness, however applicant may want to rework this aspect of the claims.
Claims 9 and 15 recite the phrase “furniture time comprises”. The word time should be changed to “item”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 10 recite the limitation "throughout said bottom surface" in the last line of the claims which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how the adhesive layer can go throughout itself. The adhesive layer simply completely covers the bottom surface of the barrier layer.
Claims 8, 14, and 20 recite the limitation "is molded" in the first line which renders the claims indefinite. Use of the phrase “is molded” suggests a method step is being performed. It is unclear if the act of molding is required for the apparatus. Does the cover always need to have the act of molding being performed?
Claims 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected for being dependent on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mohr (US 2020/0290491 A1). Mohr discloses:
1. A protective layer for adhering to furniture, the protective layer comprising:
a protective cover (1) molded (“angled corresponding to the contour”; Para 90082]) over a furniture item (3) forming a barrier layer around the furniture item;
wherein said cover having a top surface (“side facing away from the motor vehicle seat”; Para 0051)) and a bottom surface (surface adjacent the seat 3);
wherein said top surface is waterproof (“first outer layer comprises HPDE”; Para 0052]) ;
wherein said bottom surface having a continuous adhesive strip (“adhering effect provides that the plastic film does not move or moves with a reduced extend”; Para 0051) along a periphery (extends along the whole surface, including the periphery) of the bottom surface for securing said cover to the furniture item;
wherein said cover having a thickness from 1.0 (“100 μm“; para [0049]) mm to 2.0 mm; and
further wherein said cover is scratch-proof (“first outer layer comprises HPDE”; Para 0052]).
2. The protective layer for adhering to furniture of claim 1, wherein said cover having a material selected from the group consisting of a PVC sheeting, a self-adhesive (“adhering effect than a second outer layer of the plastic film”; Para [0051]) clear film (“transparent outer layers”; Para [0050]), a polyurethane, and an epoxy.
3. The protective layer for adhering to furniture of claim 2, wherein said top surface of said cover is wipeable (HPDE is inherently wipeable) for removing spills.
4. The protective layer for adhering to furniture of claim 3, wherein said cover is washable (HPDE is inherently washable).
5. The protective layer for adhering to furniture of claim 4, wherein said bottom surface having an adhesive layer throughout said bottom surface (“second outer layer of the plastic film faces towards the motor vehicle seat and due to its higher friction and/or adhering effect”; Para [0051]; i.e. on the entire rear surface)
6. The protective layer for adhering to furniture of claim 5, wherein said adhesive layer is a self-adhesive layer (provides adhesion on contact, no heat or pressure required).
7. The protective layer for adhering to furniture of claim 6, wherein said cover is transparent (“transparent outer layer”; Para [0054]).
8. The protective layer for adhering to furniture of claim 7, wherein said cover is molded over the furniture item, further wherein said molded is selected from the group consisting of a thermoforming, a vacuum forming, a lamination molding (“weldings 20 are produced only by generation of heat”; Para [0083]), and an injection molding.
9. The protective layer for adhering to furniture of claim 8, wherein said cover molded over the furniture time comprises molded over an entire surface area (See Fig. 10, over the entire seat and backrest area) of the furniture item.
Regarding Claims 10-15, Mohr discloses all of the limitations as described above and discloses even smaller thicknesses; See Para [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohr as applied to claims 1-15 above, and further in view of Weinstein (US 8733837 B2). Mohr discloses the protective layer as described above and discloses different regions separated by foldings (6).
Weinstein teaches a similar furniture cover having:
wherein said cover having a first panel (110), a second panel ((130A and 130b), and a third panel (140);
wherein said first panel, said second panel, and said third panel are detachably attached (the entire cover can be removed from the furniture);
wherein said second panel and said third panel conform and cover opposing arm portions (“pair of arms”; See Claim 1) and side portions (“a back”; See Claim 1) of the furniture item;
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the protective layer of Mohr with the panels of Weinstein. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide extra protection for well used portions of the furniture.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. the other prior art made of record shows similar furniture covers which also have adhesive strips and may form a basis for a 103 type rejection if needed in the future.
US 20100201169 A1
US 9845034 B1
/BRIAN M O'HARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642