DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application Nos. 15/721,979 and 18/059,443, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, the prior applications fail to provide adequate support for the “reducing skin surface temperature” steps and “cooling element” of claims 1-10.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “moving mechanism to move” and “moving mechanism configured to move” in claims 1-10.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “applied to sequentially to-- should be amended to --applied sequentially to--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the skin surface" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-8 are rejected by virtue of their dependency upon an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreindel (US 2019/0099599) in view of Weber et al. (US 2008/0287943).
Regarding claim 1, Kreindel teaches a method for tissue fractional coagulation comprising: applying a tip of a radio-frequency (RF) device to a treated tissue (see [0034]), wherein a distal end of said RF device is in contact with a surface of the treated tissue (see [0034]), said RF device comprising a plurality of needles having electrically conductive tips (see tips of electrically conductive needles 22, Figs. 4-5); deploying said plurality of needles into the treated tissue (see [0034]), wherein a moving mechanism moves said plurality of needles so that the tip of each of said needles protrudes distally through spaces in the distal end of the RF device into the treated tissue at least to one depth (see motor 41 and actuator 42 that move the tips such that they protrude distally through spaces in the return electrode 44 and into tissue at a depth, [0034], Fig. 2 and 5); applying a radiofrequency (RF) voltage between said electrically conductive tips, which are at said one depth (see [0037]), and a return electrode applied to the skin surface (see return electrode 24 applied to skin, [0034]); retracting said needles out of the treated tissue after RF energy is applied at the at least one depth (see rotation of the motor in an opposite direction to retract the needles out of the tissue after RF energy is applied, [0037]). However, Kreindel fails to disclose reducing skin surface temperature using a pre-cooled surface of the device which is in contact with the treated tissue.
Weber teaches a device for skin tissue treatment (see Figs. 1-2 and 10) wherein the device comprises electrodes of a treatment tip configured to apply an RF treatment voltage (see electrodes 12 of the treatment tip 10, Figs. 1-2 and 10). Weber further teaches reducing skin surface temperature using the pre-cooled electrode surfaces in contact with the tissue and that cooling can be adjusted by providing a pre-treatment cooling period, a concurrent-treatment cooling period, and a post-treatment cooling period (see [0033] and [0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of using a treatment tip as disclosed by Kreindel to further include reducing skin surface temperature using a pre-cooled surface of the device which is in contact with the treated tissue in light of Weber, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of more precise control of the depth and extent of tissue damage applied by the device (see Weber [0033]).
Regarding claim 2, Kreindel in view of Weber further teaches wherein said return electrode surrounds each needle (as shown in Kreindel: Figs. 2 and 4) and is cooled (as a result of the above combination, the electrodes in contact with the tissue would be cooled to better control treatment depth and extent).
Regarding claim 3, Kreindel further discloses wherein RF energy is applied sequentially to the plurality of needles (see [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Kreindel in view of Weber further teaches wherein the treated tissue is pre-cooled prior to applying the RF voltage (see Weber: [0035]).
Regarding claim 5, Kreindel in view of Weber further teaches wherein the skin surface is cooled after applying the RF voltage (see Weber: [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Kreindel further discloses wherein RF energy is applied at multiple depths (see the application of RF energy that occurs at multiple depths along the longitudinal length of the exposed section of the needles, [0020], [0034]-[0037], Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Kreindel in view of Weber fails to specifically teach wherein the skin surface temperature is cooled below normal skin temperature, or to a range of 0-20 ºC. Weber further teaches depth and extent of tissue damage can be readily controlled by controlling the amount of energy delivered to the tissue 34, and by controlling the amount of cooling delivered to the tissue 34. In one embodiment, a nozzle member 35, which may include multiple individual nozzles, may be used to deliver a spray 37 of a cryogen or coolant toward the electrodes 12 for controlling the temperature of the electrodes 12 and, thereby, the temperature of the patient's tissue 34 (see Weber [0033]) and that cooling can be adjusted by providing a pre-treatment cooling period, a concurrent-treatment cooling period, a post-treatment cooling period, as desired, and also by controlling the temperature of the treatment tip during the cooling to be, for example, either extremely cold, medium cooled, or mildly cooled, as desired. The treatment depth may also be contingent upon other variables, such as the specific type of tissue 34 involved in the treatment (see Weber [0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cooled below normal skin temperature, or to a range of 0-20 ºC in order to adequately control treatment depth and extent dependent upon the specific type of tissue being treated in light of Weber, and further since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Kreindel discloses a device for tissue fractional coagulation (see Figs. 1-5) comprising: a plurality of conductive elements (see electrically conductive needles 22, Figs. 4-5); a return electrode (see return electrode 24, [0034]), wherein each of said plurality of conductive elements is surrounded by said return electrode (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4-5, see [0032]) and a total area of said return electrode is larger than a total area of said plurality of conductive elements (see [0019], [0036], and [0040]); and a moving mechanism configured to move said plurality of conductive elements relative to said return electrode (see motor 41 and actuator 42 that move the tips such that they protrude distally through spaces in the return electrode 44 and into tissue at a depth, [0034], Fig. 2 and 5), and wherein in an inactive mode of the device, said plurality of conductive elements do not protrude distally beyond said return electrode (see [0033]), and in an active mode of the device, tips of said plurality of conductive elements protrude distally from a distal face of a housing, said distal face being a skin-contact surface for contacting skin that lies over a tissue (see tips protruding distally from the distal face of the housing, [0034]-[0035]), and wherein said return electrode is located at least partially on said skin-contact surface and is located proximal to said tips (see return electrode 24 located on the distal skin contact surface and proximal to the tips of electrode 22, Fig. 4); and wherein said plurality of conductive elements is operatively coupled to a RF generator (see operative coupling to cable 14 through which the RF energy passes to the conductive element, [0031], see also claim 7); wherein said RF generator has an operating mode in which RF energy is applied between conductive elements and said return electrode to create an approximately equal thermal effect around each of said conductive elements (see [0040]). However, Kreindel fails to further disclose wherein a cooling element is thermally connected to said skin-contact surface and to said return electrode.
Weber teaches a device for skin tissue treatment (see Figs. 1-2 and 10) wherein the device comprises electrodes of a treatment tip configured to apply an RF treatment voltage (see electrodes 12 of the treatment tip 10, Figs. 1-2 and 10). Weber further teaches reducing skin surface temperature using the pre-cooled electrode surfaces in contact with the tissue and that cooling can be adjusted by providing a pre-treatment cooling period, a concurrent-treatment cooling period, and a post-treatment cooling period (see [0033] and [0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the skin-contact surface and return electrode as disclosed by Kreindel to further include a cooling element that is thermally connected to said skin-contact surface and to said return electrode in light of Weber, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of more precise control of the depth and extent of tissue damage applied by the device (see Weber [0033]).
Regarding claim 10, wherein said plurality of conductive elements are partially coated with an electrically insulating material (see [0020]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 8-9 and 13-14 of copending Application No. 18/059,443 in view of Weber et al. (US 2008/0287943). Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9 and 13-14 of copending Application No. 18/059,443 generally anticipate claims 1-10 of the instant application with exception to reducing skin surface temperature using a pre-cooled surface of the device which is in contact with the treated tissue (and the additional cooling steps of claims 2, 4-5, and 7-8) as well as wherein a cooling element is thermally connected to said skin-contact surface and to said return electrode. However, these additional limitations are rendered obvious in view of Weber under the same obviousness rationale as that set forth in claims 1, 2, 4-5, 7-8 and 9 above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794