DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the charging station" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “system for electrically charging” in claim 1 and “unit for” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCluskey et al. US 20130002198 (hereinafter McC).
With regards to claim 1 McC discloses, A device in the form of a mobile trailer [figs 1-2 mobile unit 102], comprising:
an electrical charging system for electrically charging a drive battery [fig 1 system 100 charges batteries 133] of an electrically driven mobile work machine [vehicle 110];
wherein the mobile trailer can attach to a towing vehicle [fig 2 hauling vehicle 124].
With regards to claim 2 McC discloses, The device of claim 1, further comprising a coupling unit for coupling to the towing vehicle [fig 2 and 6 the coupling being the connecting portion of the trailer and towing vehicle which is in fig 2 and can be seen to the right side of fig 6].
With regards to claim 3 McC discloses, The device of claim 1, further comprising a platform for carrying at least one electrically driven mobile work machine [fig 2 and 6 bed 114].
With regards to claim 4 McC discloses, The device of claim 1, wherein the electrical charging system has at least one charging station for electrically charging a drive battery of the electrically driven mobile work machine [fig 2 electrical generation apparatus 104].
With regards to claim 6 McC discloses, The device of claim 1, wherein the charging station has a charging cable [fig 1 and 3 charging cable 106] for electrically charging a drive battery [battery 133] of the electrically driven mobile work machine [vehicle 110].
With regards to claim 7 McC discloses, The device of claim 1, wherein the electrical charging system has at least one current storage unit [batteries 133 within rack 164] which is electrically connected to at least one charging station via an electrical connection [fig 1 station 104 connected via cable 106 to rack 164/batteries 133].
With regards to claim 8 McC discloses, The device of claim 7, wherein the current storage unit is arranged removably on the device [fig 1 batteries 133 and ¶27 “spare rechargeable batteries”].
With regards to claim 9 McC discloses, The device of one of claim 1, wherein the charging station and the current storage unit each have a current interface for receiving electrical energy [fig 1 input end 130, leads 140/142, tie downs 106].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCluskey et al. US 20130002198 (hereinafter McC) in view of Neligan et al. US 20230011299 (hereinafter Nel).
With regards to claim 5 McC fails to disclose, The device of claim 4, further comprising a maneuverable moving apparatus for moving the charging station from its transport position on the mobile trailer into a different position outside the mobile trailer.
However, Nel discloses, a maneuverable moving apparatus for moving the charging station from its transport position on the mobile trailer into a different position outside the mobile trailer [fig 1 transport truck 3 lifting mechanism 4 which moves the charging stations 2-1/2-2/2-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the charging systems of McC with Nel to include a moving apparatus to move the charging stations in order to improve the user experience by allowing the stations to be placed in certain areas off of the trailer to provide charging.
With regards to claim 10 the combination discloses, The device of claim 1, further comprising a control system for controlling the operation of the electrical charging system [Nel fig 3 and fig 12 charging control unit 2H].
Conclusion
/NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859