DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to communication filed on 02/19/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending on this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the information" in 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 2, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Currie U.S. patent No. 6,771,201.
Fig. 1 of Currie discloses an optically-responsive superconductor circuit (Fig. 1; lines 8-13) to generated Quantized Output 180 of single flux quantum (SFQ) pulses (Col. 3 lines 57-58).
Fig. 2a discloses a superconduct circuit configured to receive the Quantized Signal 200 to generate multibit digital binary presentation (LSB, NLSB, MSB; see Fig. 2b)
Regarding claim 1. Fig. 1 and Fig. 2a of Currie discloses an optically responsive superconducting device (Col. Lines 8-13), comprising: an optically-responsive superconductor circuit (Fig. 1 lines 8-13) comprising a Josephson junction (170; Col. 4 lines 44-45), configured to produce a series of single flux quantum pulses (Quantized output 180; Col. 3 lines 57-58 disclose “single flux quantum (SFQ) pulses 180”) having a pulse rate (pulse rate of quantized output 180) proportionally dependent on an intensity of an optical signal (intensity of mode-lock fiber laser “MLFL” 100; Col. 3 lines 39-40), the series of single flux quantum pulses (quantized output 180) being oversampled (oversampled x10 by 110; col. 3 lines 40-42) with respect to a modulation (E0M 140) of the optical signal (MLFL 100) having a bandwidth in excess of 1 GHz (Col. 3 lines 40-42 discloses bandwidth of 10-20 GHz of MFLF 100); and a superconducting circuit (Fig. 2a; Col. 5 lines 20-22) configured to determine a pulse rate of the series of single flux quantum pulses (pulse rate of Quantized Output 200 in Fig. 2a) with respect to a clock (Col. 2 lines 19-25 discloses “The T flip-flop circuit elements have been shown to operate up to 770 GHz, allowing for conversion rates above 100 giga-samples per second”) as a multibit digital representation (LSB, NLSB, MSB; in Fig. 2a and Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 2. The optically responsive superconducting device according to claim 1, Fig. 2a of Currie further discloses wherein the superconducting circuit (2a; Col. 5 lines 20-22) comprises a clocked synchronizer (T Flip-Flop 210, 220; Col. 2 lines 19-25 discloses “The T flip-flop circuit elements have been operating with 770 GHz rate) and a digital counter (“P” parity counter 230, 240, 250; Col. 4 lines 7-9 discloses “One type of counter for binary output is shown in FIG. 2a as a schematic block diagram of a 3-bit binary output, parallel parity counter circuit”).
Regarding claim 12. The optically responsive superconducting device according to claim 1, Fig. 1 of Currie further discloses optical waveguide (EOM 140) and a microring resonant waveguide (microrings between 140 and 150), wherein the optically-responsive superconductor circuit (170) is coupled to the microring resonant waveguide (microring between 140 and 150).
Regarding claim 13. The optically responsive superconducting device according to claim 1, Fig. 1 of Currie further discloses wherein the superconducting circuit (170) comprises a plurality of Josephson junctions (JTL), configured to perform digital logic functions (logic quantized output signal 180) based on single-flux-quantum (SFQ) pulses (Col. 3 lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 15. Fig. 1 and Fig. 2a of Currie discloses a method of operating an optically responsive superconducting device (Col. Lines 8-13), comprising: interacting an amplitude (amplitude of 120) modulated (amplitude of 120) optical signal (optical signal of mode-lock fiber laser “MLFL” 100; Col. 3 lines 39-40) with an optically-responsive superconductor circuit (Fig. 1 lines 8-13) comprising a Josephson junction (JTL 170 Col. 4 lines 44-45); producing a series of single flux quantum pulses (Quantized output 180; Col. 3 lines 57-58 disclose “single flux quantum (SFQ) pulses 180”) by the superconducting circuit (JTL 170) having a pulse rate (pulse rate of 180) proportionally dependent on an intensity of the amplitude modulated amplitude intensity of 120) optical signal (intensity of mode-lock fiber laser “MLFL” 100; Col. 3 lines 39-40), the series of single flux quantum pulses (180) being oversampled (oversampled x10 by 110; col. 3 lines 40-42) with respect to a bandwidth in excess of 1 GHz (Col. 3 lines 40-42 discloses bandwidth of 10-20 GHz of MFLF 100); generating a multibit output (LSB, NLSB, MSB; Figs. 2a and 2b) representing a pulse rate of the series of single flux quantum pulses (pulse rate of 200 in Fig. 2a) with respect to a clock (Col. 2 lines 19-25 discloses “The T flip-flop circuit elements have been shown to operate up to 770 GHz, allowing for conversion rates above 100 giga-samples per second”) using a superconducting circuit (Fig. 2a; Col. 3 lines 1-2 discloses “superconducting electronics and photonic”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 3, 5, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Currie applied to claims 1 and 15 above in view of Hilton et al. U.S. patent No. 7,613,765.
Regarding claim 3. Currie applied to claim 1 does not disclose wherein the optical signal (signal of mode-lock fiber laser “MLFL” 100) is generated representing a quantum state of a qubit.
Fig. 1 of Hilton et al. discloses optically-responsive superconductor circuit (200; Col. 1 lines 48-49) comprising: superconducting Josephson junction (615) for an optical signal (Col. 1 lines 45-48) is generated representing a quantum state of a qubit (Qubits).
Currie and Hilton et al. are common subject matter of superconducting Josephson junction for optical signal; therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Hilton et al. into Curries for the purpose of providing Superconducting Qubits; the qubit is a well-defined physical structure that (i) has a plurality of quantum states, (ii) can be coherently isolated from its environment, and (iii) permits quantum tunneling between two or more quantum states associated with the qubit (Col. 1 lines 35-40 of Hilton et al.).
Regarding claim 5. Currie applied to claim 1 does not disclose a quantum processor cell, configured to produce the optical signal modulated in dependence on a state of a respective qubit
Fig. 1 of Hilton et al. discloses optically-responsive superconductor circuit (200; Col. 1 lines 48-49) comprising: a quantum processor cell (Col. 1 lines 35-36 discloses “a quantum computer is based on quantum bits, known as "qubits”), configured to produce the optical signal modulated in dependence on a state of a respective qubit (Col. 1 lines 44-50 discloses “quantum electrodynamics (QED), nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) based qubits, neutral atoms in an optical lattice, quantum dots, silicon based qubits, optical photons, and superconducting Josephson junction devices; the current physical systems from which qubits can be formed is found in Braunstein and Lo (eds.), 2001, Scalable Quantum Computers, Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH, Berlin, which is hereby incorporated by reference in its entirety. In order for a physical system to support quantum computation, specific requirements must be satisfied: the physical system must be scalable and composed of well characterized qubits).
Currie and Hilton et al. are common subject matter of superconducting Josephson junction for optical signal; therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Hilton et al. into Curries for the purpose of providing Superconducting Qubits; the qubit is a well-defined physical structure that (i) has a plurality of quantum states, (ii) can be coherently isolated from its environment, and (iii) permits quantum tunneling between two or more quantum states associated with the qubit (Col. 1 lines 35-40 of Hilton et al.).
Regarding claim 16. Currie applied to claim 15 does not disclose wherein the optical signal represents an operational state of a qubit.
Fig. 1 of Hilton et al. discloses optically-responsive superconductor circuit (200; Col. 1 lines 48-49) comprising: an optical signal (Col. 1 lines 45-48) representing a quantum state of a qubit (Qubits).
Currie and Hilton et al. are common subject matter of superconducting Josephson junction for optical signal; therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Hilton et al. into Curries for the purpose of providing Superconducting Qubits; the qubit is a well-defined physical structure that (i) has a plurality of quantum states, (ii) can be coherently isolated from its environment, and (iii) permits quantum tunneling between two or more quantum states associated with the qubit (Col. 1 lines 35-40 of Hilton et al.).
9. Claims 4, 11, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Currie applied to claims 1 and 15 above in view of La Cour et al. Pub. No. 2017/0286858.
Regarding claim 4. Currie applied to claim 1 above does not disclose a superconducting circuit receiving the multibit representation and generating a control signal to define a state of a qubit.
Fig. 11 of La Cour et al. discloses a superconducting circuit (paragraph 0006 discloses “Super conducting circuit”) receiving a multibit representation (X0, X1, X2) and generating a control signal (|X2 X1X0>) to define a state of a qubit (1130).
Currie and La Cour et al. are common subject matter of superconducting; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate La Cour et al. into Currie. for the purpose of providing the digital signal may represent the transformed quantum state (paragraph 0009 of Cour et al.).
Regarding claim 11. Currie applied to claim 1 above does not disclose, a waveform generator configured to generate a quantum processor cell control signal dependent on the multibit digital representation.
Fig. 11 of La Cour et al. discloses a superconducting circuit (paragraph 0006 discloses “Super conducting circuit”) comprising: a waveform generator (1130) configured to generate a quantum processor cell control signal (|X2 X1X0>) dependent on a multibit digital representation (X0, X1, X2).
Currie and La Cour et al. are common subject matter of superconducting; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate La Cour et al. into Currie. for the purpose of providing the digital signal may represent the transformed quantum state (paragraph 0009 of Cour et al.).
Regarding claim 17. Currie applied to claim 15 above does not disclose controlling a qubit with the multibit digital representation of the information.
Fig. 11 of La Cour et al. discloses a superconducting circuit (paragraph 0006 discloses “Super conducting circuit”) controlling a qubit (130) with a multibit digital representation (X0 X1 X2) of an information (wo, w1, w2).
Currie and La Cour et al. are common subject matter of superconducting; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate La Cour et al. into Currie. for the purpose of providing the digital signal may represent the transformed quantum state (paragraph 0009 of Cour et al.).
Regarding claim 19. Currie applied to claim 15 above does not disclose generating an optical signal representing a quantum state of a qubit; and using the multibit representation to generate a control signal to define a subsequent state of the qubit.
Fig. 11 of La Cour et al. disclose generating an optical signal representing a quantum state (paragraph 0137 discloses optical processing or another mechanism to create the ensemble of signals for the initial quantum state) of a qubit (1130); and using the multibit representation (Xo, X1, X2) to generate a control signal (w0, w1, w2) to define a subsequent state (|X2X1X0>) of the qubit (1130).
Currie and La Cour et al. are common subject matter of superconducting; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate La Cour et al. into Currie. for the purpose of providing the digital signal may represent the transformed quantum state (paragraph 0009 of Cour et al.).
10. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Currie applied to claim 1 above in view of Nazarathy et al. U.S. patent No. 8,953,950.
Regarding claim 6. Currie applied to claim 1 above does not discloses wherein the optical signal is received as one of a plurality of wavelength division multiplexed signals from a common optical waveguide.
Fig. 15 of Nazarathy et al. discloses an optical signal (Col. 11 lines 26-27) is received as one of a plurality of wavelength division multiplexed signals (input signals of DEM MUX 1506) from a common optical waveguide (OCG).
Currie and Nazarathy et al. are common subject matter of Optical element; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Nazarathy et al. into Currie for the purpose of providing multiple photonic ADC variants with successively improved performance levels, enabling systems able to digitally capture electronic signals with bandwidths ranging from 1 GHz to 100 GHz and beyond. The novel ultra-high speed photonic-enabled A/D conversion techniques will also impact, at the application level, the fields of wireless, satellite, radar and cable television and terrestrial broadcast transmission, as the ability to real-time digitize entire ultra-broadband (up to 100 GHz) RF/microwave spectra, regardless of their spectral structure (Col. 11 lines 40-49 of Nazarathy et al.).
Regarding claim 7. Currie and Nazarathy et al. applied to claim 6 above, Fig. 15 of Nazarathy et al. further comprising an optical demultiplexer configured to demultiplex (WDM DEMUX) the plurality of wavelength division multiplexed signals (input signals of DEM MUX 1506).
11. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Currie and Nazarathy et al. applied to claim 6 above in further view of Abdo et al. U.S. patent No. 9,735,776.
Regarding claim 8. Nazarathy et al. applied to claim 6 above does not discloses a plurality of qubits in a quantum processor cell, configured to produce a wavelength division multiplexed optical signal in the common optical waveguide, each of the wavelength division multiplexed signals representing a state of a respective qubit modulated on a different frequency light carrier wave.
Fig. 15 of Abdo et al. discloses Quantum systems such as superconducting qubits (col. 3 lines 26-28) comparing a plurality of qubits in a quantum processor cell (1520), configured to produce a wavelength division multiplexed optical signal (Transmission lines 30_1. 300_N) for Qubit in the common optical waveguide (Col. 3 lines 34-38), each of the wavelength division multiplexed signals (Transmission lines 30_1. 300_N) representing a state of a respective qubit (1555-1…1555_N) modulated on a different frequency light carrier wave (Col. 35 lines 36-43).
Currie/ Nazarathy et al. and Abdo et al. are common subject matter of superconducting circuit; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Abdo et al. into Currie/ Nazarathy et al for the purpose of provide quantum computing employs nonlinear superconducting devices called qubits to manipulate and store quantum information at microwave frequencies, and resonators (e.g., as a two-dimensional (2D) planar waveguide or as a three-dimensional (3D) microwave cavity) to read out and facilitate interaction among qubits (Col.1 lines 8-15 of Abdo et al.).
Regarding claim 9 Currie/ Nazarathy et al. and Abdo et al. applied to claim 8 above, Fig. 15 of Abdo et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of qubits (1520) comprise transmon qubits, flux qubits, or fluxonium qubits (Col. 27 lines 43-59).
12. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Currie, Nazarathy et al. and Abdo et al. applied to claim 8 above in further view of Das et al. Pub. No. 2018/0102470.
Currie, Nazarathy et al. and Abdo et al. applied to claim 8 above do not disclose wherein the optically-responsive superconductor circuit is configured to operate at a temperature higher than a temperature of the plurality of qubits.
Das et al. discloses an optical circuit (paragraph 0112) comprising superconducting (paragraph 0045); the optically-responsive superconductor circuit is configured to operate at a temperature higher than a temperature of the plurality of qubits (paragraph 0369).
Currie, Nazarathy et al./ Abdo et al. and Das et al. are common subject matter of integrated circuit with Quantum Logic (Qubit); therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Das et al. into Currie, Nazarathy et al./ Abdo et al. for the purpose of providing cryogenic electronic packages and assemblies, and approaches used to fabricate the described cryogenic electronic packages and assemblies, allow for a maximum number of superconducting semiconductor structures to fit in a given space (e.g., a cryogenic space ina cryogenic chamber). The foregoing provides for the ability to design circuitry (e.g., high performance computing circuitry) to fit in a given cryogenic space (e.g., a conventional cryogenic space), rather than adjusting or designing the space (e.g., cryogenic space) to fit the circuitry (paragraph 0007 of Das et al.).
13. Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Currie applied to claim 15 above in view of Shaver et al. Pub. No. 2013/0315597.
Regarding claim 12. Currie applied to claim 1 above does not disclose optical waveguide and a microring resonant waveguide, wherein the optically-responsive superconductor circuit is coupled to the microring resonant waveguide.
Fig. 1 of Shaver et al. discloses an optical waveguide (140) and a microring resonant waveguide (125), wherein an optically-responsive superconductor circuit (paragraph 0031) is coupled to the microring resonant waveguide (125).
Currie. and Shaver et al. are common subject matter of optical analog-to- digital converter system; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Shaver et al. into Curie for the purpose of achieve both sampling and compression, enabling relatively-few high bit-depth ADCs to efficiently cover a large surveillance bandwidth that is sparsely occupied with signals of interest at any given instant (paragraph 0030 of Shaver et al.).
Regarding claim 18. Currie applied to claim 15 above, Fig. 1 of Currie further discloses superconducting circuit (JTL 170) to product the series of single flux quantum pulses (180; Col. 3 lines 56-59).
However, Currie does not disclose demultiplexing a plurality of frequency-multiplexed information streams comprising the optical signal with a microring resonant waveguide to isolate the optical signal, the microring resonant waveguide having a respective optically-responsive superconductor circuit comprising the Josephson
Fig. 1 of Shaver et al. discloses demultiplexing (WDM 155) a plurality of frequency-multiplexed information streams (WDM 130) comprising the optical signal (110) with a microring resonant waveguide (125) to isolate the optical signa (isolation of microring 125), the microring resonant waveguide (125) having a respective optically-responsive superconductor circuit comprising the Josephson (ADC 170; paragraph 0031).
Currie. and Shaver et al. are common subject matter of optical analog-to- digital converter system; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Shaver et al. into Curie for the purpose of achieve both sampling and compression, enabling relatively-few high bit-depth ADCs to efficiently cover a large surveillance bandwidth that is sparsely occupied with signals of interest at any given instant (paragraph 0030 of Shaver et al.).
14. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Currie applied to claim 1 above, in view of TIMOFEEV ANDREY WO 2014/135749.
Currie applied to claim 1 above does not disclose wherein the optically-responsive superconductor (170) comprises a kinetic inductance bolometer.
Fig. 1 of TIMOFEEV ANDREY discloses the optically-responsive superconductor (2) comprises a kinetic inductance bolometer (Page 18 lines 9-15).
Currie and TIMOFEEV ANDREY are common subject matter superconductor of optical; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate TIMOFEEV ANDREY into Currie for the purpose of providing a superconducting thermal detector (bolometer) utilizing kinetic inductance thermometry which is read out by a scattering parameter measurement which can be used to determine the amplitude or phase change in the resonator induced by impinging optical power and utilizes kinetic inductance thermometry and incorporates an impedance matching surface for efficient absorption of incident optical power (Page 18 lines 9-15 of TIMOFEEV ANDREY).
15. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaver et al. Pub. No. 2013/0315597 in view of Currie U.S. patent No. 6,771,201.
Fig. 1 of Shaver et al. discloses 20. a wavelength division multiplexed (WDM) optical signal receiver (paragraph 0002), comprising: an optical waveguide (MZM 140) ; a plurality of microring resonators (125) ; and a plurality of optically-responsive superconductor circuits (ADC 170; paragraph 0031 discloses “ Superconducting ADC's use quantization of magnetic flux and ultrafast Josephson junction comparators), each respective superconductor circuit (ADC 170) comprising a Josephson junction (paragraph 0031 discloses “ Superconducting ADC's use quantization of magnetic flux and ultrafast Josephson junction comparators) having pulse rate in excess of 1 GHz (paragraph 0037 discloses “DC systems operating above 20 GHz input bandwidth) dependent on an optical modulation (MZM 140) of a respective wavelength optical signal (respective wavelength of 125) of a wavelength divisional optical signal (wavelength divisional of 125) communicated through the optical waveguide (MZM 140) ; and at least one digital circuit (DSP 175) ) configured to process the digital samples (output of ADC 170) of each respective optically-responsive superconductor circuit (170) into a multibit digital representation (OUTPUT).
However, Shaver et al. do not disclose superconductor circuit comprising a Josephson junction, having a single flux quantum pulse rate; and superconducting circuit configured to convert the single flux quantum pulse rate of optically-responsive superconductor circuit into a multibit digital representation.
Fig. 1 of Currie discloses an optically-responsive superconductor circuit (Fig. 1 lines 8-13) to generated Quantized Output 180.
Fig. 2a discloses a superconduct circuit configured to receive the Quantized Signal 200 to generate multibit digital binary presentation (LSB, NLSB, MSB; see Fig. 2b)
Fig. 1 and Fig. 2a Currie disclose superconductor circuit (Col. Lines 8-13) comprising a Josephson junction (JTL 170), having a single flux quantum pulse rate (Quantized output 180; Col. 3 lines 57-58 disclose “single flux quantum (SFQ) pulses 180”); and a superconducting circuit (Fig. 2a) configured to convert the single flux quantum pulse rate (Quantized signal 200) of optically-responsive superconductor circuit (Fig. 1) into a multibit digital representation (LSB, NLSB, MSB; see Fig. 2a, Fig. 2b).
Shaver et al. and Currie are common subject matter superconductor of optical; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate GROENBERG L b into Currie for the purpose of providing superconducting ADCs are particularly attractive due to their low power requirements and high-speed operation; optical coupling to superconducting electronics allows good thermal isolation while also enabling a high-speed interface (Col. 2 lines 11-16 of Currie).
Contact Information
12/08/2025
/LINH V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845