DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20, 26-31, and 35-38 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahl-Nielsen et. al. (US 20210172556).
Regarding claim 1, Dahl-Nielsen et. al. teaches: A bladder assembly for use with a repair assembly for repairing a pipeline, the bladder assembly comprising: a tubular bladder having a length, an internal surface, and an internal circumference (tubular bladder 30 has a length, internal surface and circumference [Para. 17, lines 1-11 and Fig. 8]), the tubular bladder configured to be inflated from a non-inflated position to an inflated position wherein a lumen extends along the length (tubular bladder 30 inflates [Para. 17] wherein the lumen 36 and power line 40 extends along the length of the bladder [Para. 20, lines 1-9 and Fig. 8]); and one or more light train supports positioned within the tubular bladder (light train support 60 within tubular bladder 30 [Para. 31 and Fig. 8]).
Regarding claim 2, Dahl-Nielsen et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 1 wherein the one or more light train supports are attached to the bladder and configured to move a light train toward a center of the lumen when the bladder is being inflated from the non-inflated position to the inflated position (light train support 60 attached to bladder 30 to protect lumen and moves light train 36/40 toward center of bladder 30 when bladder is inflated [Para. 20 lines 1-5, Para 31 and Fig. 8]).
Regarding claim 3, Dahl-Nielsen et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 1 wherein the one or more light train supports are secured to the internal surface of the tubular bladder (light train support 60 secured to internal surface of bladder 30 to protect light source from dragging and via pull line 47 and ligature 56 [Para. 30 lines 1-3, Para. 31 and Fig. 8]).
Regarding claim 32, Dahl-Nielsen et. al. teaches: A method of repairing a pipeline, said method comprising: taking a repair assembly having a resin impregnable liner (resin impregnable liner 14 [Para. 13, lines 4-9]), an inflatable bladder having a lumen and one or more light train supports positioned therein (inflatable bladder 30 having a lumen 36 and power line 40 positioned within [Para. 14, lines 1-6 and Para. 20, lines 1-4]), and a lighting assembly having a light train positioned within the inflatable bladder (lighting assembly has a power line 40, lumen 36, and supports 60 positioned in bladder [Para. 20, lines 4-10]); positioning the liner at least partially around the bladder (liner 14 is placed around the bladder 30 [Para. 17, lines 1-6 and Fig. 8]); impregnating the liner with a resin capable of curing and hardening (liner 14 is impregnated with resin which is curable [Para. 13, lines 6-9]); positioning the repair assembly in the pipeline (repair assembly is positioned in pipeline 12 [Fig. 8]); inflating the bladder using fluid pressure causing the repair assembly to expand outwardly toward the inside wall of the pipeline and the light train supports to move the light train toward a center of the lumen (inflates bladder 30 with fluid to expand toward inside wall of pipeline 12 and light train support 60 moves light train 36/40 to center [Para. 28 and Fig. 8]); and removing the bladder from the pipeline after the liner has cured and hardened (bladder 30 is removed from pipeline 12 after liner 14 is cured [Para. 37]).
Regarding claim 33, Dahl-Nielsen et. al. teaches: The method of claim 32 wherein the one or more light train supports are one or more support members (light train support 60 has one or more support members 64 [Fig. 10]).
Regarding claim 34, Dahl-Nielsen et. al. teaches: The method of claim 33 wherein the support members have openings and the method further comprises threading the light train through the openings in the support members (light train support 60 has opening 62 which light source is put through and supported [Para. 32 and Fig. 10]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-13, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahl-Nielsen et. al. (US 20210172556) in view of Starr et. al. (US 20180229404).
Regarding claim 4, Dahl-Nielsen et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 1 but fails to teach the further limitations of claim 4.
Starr et. al. teaches: wherein the one or more light train supports are support members secured to the tubular bladder at predetermined positions along the length of the tubular bladder and at predetermined positions around the internal circumference of the tubular bladder (light train supports 14 are secured in the bladder at a predetermined position having a predetermined position in the circumference [Para. 35, lines 8-20 and Fig. 5]).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the light train device of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. with the light train apparatus of Starr et. al. in order to allow for a wider range of movement within the resin impregnated liner without damage to the liner or light train (Starr et. al. - Para. 27, lines 2-5), modularity within the apparatus (Starr et. al. - Para. 26, lines 16-20), and operator-controlled inspection of the liner (Starr et. al. - Para. 29, lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: wherein the tubular bladder has a first portion on a first side of the internal circumference and a second portion on a second side of the internal circumference that is generally opposite the first side, and a first one of the support members has a first end attached to the first portion and a second end attached to the second portion such that the first one of the support members extends generally across the lumen when the tubular bladder is in the inflated position (Dahl-Nielsen et. al. - tubular bladder 30 has a first portion and second portion which would coincide with a first end and second end of the support member 60 [see marked Fig. 10 below]. Starr et. al. – a first and second end of the support member 14 would coincide with a first portion and second portion of a tubular bladder [see marked Fig. 11 below]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 5 wherein the tubular bladder has a third portion on a third side of the internal circumference and a fourth portion on a fourth side of the internal circumference that is generally opposite the third side, and a second one of the support members has a first end attached to the third portion and a second end attached to the fourth portion such that the second one of the support members extends generally across the lumen when the tubular bladder is in the inflated position (Starr et. al. – a second one of the support members 14/17 having a first end and second end which would correspond to a third portion and fourth portion of the tubular bladder and extends generally across the lumen when bladder is inflated [see marked Fig. 11 below]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 6 wherein the first end of the first one of the support members is positioned about ninety degrees from the first end of the second one of the support members (Starr et. al. - the support members 14/17 are positioned about 90 degrees from each other [Fig. 10-11]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 4 wherein the support members have openings configured to receive the light train (Dahl-Nielsen et. al. - light train support 60 has opening 62 which light source is put through and supported [Para. 32 and Fig. 10]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 4 wherein the support members are strips having ends secured to the internal surface of the bladder and openings configured to receive the light train (Dahl-Nielsen et. al. - light train support 60 comprised of strips 64 and an opening 62 which light source is put through and supported [Para. 32 and Fig. 10] and light train support 60 secured to internal surface of bladder 30 to protect light source from dragging and via pull line 47 and ligature 56 [Para. 30 lines 1-3, Para. 31 and Fig. 8]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 4 wherein a first one of the support members is secured to the bladder at a first longitudinal position along the length of the bladder and a second one of the support members is secured to the tubular bladder at a second longitudinal position along the length of the tubular bladder (Starr et. al. - light train supports 14 are secured in the bladder at a predetermined position having a predetermined position in the circumference [Para. 35, lines 8-20 and Fig. 5]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 4 wherein a first one of the support members is secured to the tubular bladder at a first circumferential position within the bladder and a second one of the support members is secured to the tubular bladder at a second circumferential position within the bladder (Starr et. al. - light train supports 14 are secured in the bladder at a predetermined position having a predetermined position in the circumference where in the supports members are circumferentially offset from each other [Para. 35, lines 8-20 and Fig. 5 and 11]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 11 wherein the first circumferential position is about ninety degrees from the second circumferential position (Starr et. al. - the support members 14/17 are positioned about 90 degrees from each other [Fig. 10-11]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 4 wherein a first one of the support members is secured to the tubular bladder at a first longitudinal position along the length of the tubular bladder and a first circumferential position within the tubular bladder and a second one of the support members is secured to the bladder at the first longitudinal position along the length of the tubular bladder and a second circumferential position within the tubular bladder (Starr et. al. - light train supports 14 are secured in the bladder at a predetermined position having a predetermined position in the circumference where in the supports members are circumferentially offset from each other [Para. 35, lines 8-20 and Fig. 5 and 11]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: A repair assembly for repairing a pipeline, the repair assembly comprising: a liner configured to be impregnated with a resin having one or more light-activated initiators embodied therein (liner 14 impregnated with liner cured by light [Para. 13, lines 6-9 and Para. 18, lines 2-6]); a tubular bladder having a length, an internal surface, and an internal circumference, the tubular bladder configured to be inflated from a non-inflated position to an inflated position wherein a lumen extends along the length (tubular bladder 30 has a length, internal surface and circumference [Para. 17, lines 1-11 and Fig. 8]); one or more light train supports secured to the tubular bladder at predetermined positions along the length of the tubular bladder and at predetermined positions around the internal circumference of the tubular bladder (light train supports 14 are secured in the bladder at a predetermined position having a predetermined position in the circumference [Para. 35, lines 8-20 and Fig. 5]); and a lighting assembly having a light train positioned within the one or more light train supports, wherein the light train supports are configured to move the light train toward the center of the lumen when the bladder is inflated from the non-inflated position to the inflated position (light train support 60 attached to bladder 30 to protect lumen and moves light train 36/40 toward center of bladder 30 when bladder is inflated [Para. 20 lines 1-5, Para 31 and Fig. 8])).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The repair assembly of claim 21 wherein the one or more light train supports are support members (Dahl-Nielsen et. al. - light train support 60 are support members 64 [Fig. 10]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 22 wherein the support members are strips having ends secured to the internal surface of the bladder and openings configured to receive the light train (Dahl-Nielsen et. al. - light train support 60 comprised of strips 64 and an opening 62 which light source is put through and supported [Para. 32 and Fig. 10] and light train support 60 secured to internal surface of bladder 30 to protect light source from dragging and via pull line 47 and ligature 56 [Para. 30 lines 1-3, Para. 31 and Fig. 8]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 22 wherein a first one of the support members is secured to the bladder at a first longitudinal position along the length of the bladder and a second one of the support members is secured to the tubular bladder at a second longitudinal position along the length of the tubular bladder (Starr et. al. - light train supports 14 are secured in the bladder at a predetermined position having a predetermined position in the circumference where in the supports members are circumferentially offset from each other [Para. 35, lines 8-20 and Fig. 5 and 11]. It therefore comprises a first support member at a first longitudinal position and a second support member at a second longitudinal position).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Dahl-Nielsen et. al. and Starr et. al. teaches: The bladder assembly of claim 22 wherein a first one of the support members is secured to the tubular bladder at a first circumferential position within the bladder and a second one of the support members is secured to the tubular bladder at a second circumferential position within the bladder (Starr et. al. - light train supports 14 are secured in the bladder at a predetermined position having a predetermined position in the circumference where in the supports members are circumferentially offset from each other [Para. 35, lines 8-20 and Fig. 5 and 11]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wind et. al. (US 10989349) teaches: a device for curing a resin-impregnated lining via radiation with support structure to secure device within pipeline (abstract and Fig. 1).
Hinuma (JP 2008142996) teaches: a device for curing a resin layer formed form a photocurable resin using UV emitting LED within a pipeline (abstract).
/JOSHUA D LEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753