filed on 11.25.25. In view of this communication, claims 21-40 are now pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has canceled previous independent claims 1-20 and added new independent claims 21, 32 along with new dependents 22-31, 33-40 which will be examined below.
Claims 12, 14-20 objections related to previous Office Action are withdrawn as claims are canceled.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides arguments to which the Examiner will respond accordingly. Further Applicant has added new claims which will be prosecuted in below sections.
Applicant Argument 1: Regarding Section 2107, in part II: IS THERE AN ASSERTED OR WELL-ESTABLISHED UTILITY FOR THE CLAIMED INVENTION? Lines 2-3 says: " A complete disclosure should include a statement which identifies a specific and substantial utility for the invention."; in other words, identify a real world use and a public benefit derived from the invention. In the published specification (US 2024/0333121 A1), [0070: 6-7 says: "...the propulsion drive can be employed to propel a vehicle in the forward direction as well as in reverse." This assertion identifies a public benefit, a well- established utility, and is a very useful function applicable to land driven motor vehicles, as well as for airplanes during flight and landing. This function is a real world use from which the public can derive the benefit to propel the land driven motor vehicles as well as airplanes with the invention. In [0071] "In an airplane, the propulsion system can propel the craft forward thrust for takeoff and flight, and also provide reverse thrust during landing to slow down and even stop the craft. The same propulsion is adaptable for use in passenger cars to drive the car forward or in reverse." These statements satisfy the section 101 requirement for showing real world use or a well-established utility; and a public benefit. Propelling vehicles such as airplanes in the air, thrust reversal during airplane landing, and propel land driven motor vehicles on the ground; are examples of real world utilizations. These two cases in the specification; are examples of asserted, specific, substantial, and well-established utilities that satisfy §101.
Examiner Response 1: As summarized in Examiner Interview dated 11.24.25, Examiner stated that “ examination is done based on the perspective of one with ordinary skill in the art. In the case of the instant invention, the asserted utility of propulsion is not credible because the force being generated as a result of the structure claimed is an internal force and therefore cannot propel”. Examiner maintains this response as propulsion with an internal force is in contradiction with established laws of physics such as Newtons laws of motion.
Claim Objections
Claims below are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claims 22-23 recite “said motor means spin said rotor” which should be corrected to “said motor means to spin said rotor”.
b. Claim 29 recites “said radial magnetic field; generate a magnetic field vortex” wherein underlined should be removed. Claim 35 has similar issue.
c. Claim 32 recites “radial magnetic field; generate a Lorentz force” wherein underlined should be removed and “generate” should be “generates”. Claim 40 has similar issue.
Examiner requests a thorough review for similar issues .Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 21-23,34 recite “motor means”. Examiner is interpreting motor means same as “The rotor carrying magnet is driven by motor means such as an electric motor or other mechanical motor means of motion to spin the rotor” as recited under Summary on Invention in Page 3 of instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a substantially asserted utility or a well-established utility.
Applicant’s independent claim 1 recite “A system comprising: motor means to spin a magnet rotor at a predetermined angular velocity in order to provide an axial magnetic field in motion with the predetermined angular velocity, a magnet stator generating a radial magnetic field for magnetic field interaction with said axial magnetic field, whereby said axial magnetic field in motion interact magnetically with said radial magnetic field to generate a propulsive Lorentz force”. Figs 3-4 of instant application discloses a magnetic field 36 rotating around an axis 34. This rotating magnetic field interacts with a stationary magnetic field 40. Examiner understands that there will be a force generation due to the interaction of these perpendicular magnetic fields, however these are internal forces and will contradict Newton laws of motion which require an external force in order to create propulsion. Therefore the asserted utility of propulsion is not credible (See MPEP2107.01.II). (See also MPEP608.03 37 CFR 1.91 for any working model) . Claims 22-31 are rejected as they are dependent upon claim 21.
To advance prosecution, Examiner will interpret claim 1 same as ”generate a Lorentz force”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-31 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a substantially asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-30, 32-39, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tavarez (US20220037971A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Tavarez discloses (Figs 1B, 4A, 5) a system comprising:
motor means (40) to spin a magnet rotor (28) at a predetermined angular velocity (w,any rotating velocity can be taken as predetermined) in order to provide an axial (46 AA) magnetic field (Magnetic field associated with magnet 28 has axis AA) in motion with the predetermined angular velocity,
a magnet stator (42) generating a radial (48 is an a radial direction given AA is axial. Applicant has not sufficiently recited the structure of radial magnetic field in claim, therefore any direction can be “a radial”) magnetic field (stator NS is perpendicular to rotor NS) for magnetic field interaction with said axial magnetic field in motion (Fig 4A) ,
whereby said axial magnetic field in motion interact magnetically with said radial magnetic field to generate a Lorentz force (interacting magnetic fields of rotating 28 with stationary 42 will generate a force 24 Para 0037).
Regarding Claim 22, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses wherein said motor means (40) to spin said rotor (28) at said predetermined angular velocity is an electric motor (Para 0045).
Regarding Claim 23, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses wherein said motor means (40) to spin said rotor (28) at said predetermined angular velocity is a mechanical motor, wherein said motor is an internal combustion engine (Para 0045 discloses “internal combustion engines” which is mechanical).
Regarding Claim 24, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses wherein said rotor (28) comprising a permanent magnet (28NS) [Para 0046] generate said axial magnetic field (Fig 4A, 46) for magnetic field interaction with said radial magnetic field (Fig 4A, 48).
Regarding Claim 25, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses wherein said rotor (28) comprising an electromagnet (Para 0014) generate said axial magnetic field (46) for magnetic field interaction with said radial magnetic field (48).
Regarding Claim 26, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses wherein said stator (42) comprising a permanent magnet (Para 0048) generate said radial magnetic field (48) for magnetic field interaction with said axial magnetic field (46).
Regarding Claim 27, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses wherein said stator (42) comprising an electromagnet (Para 0048) generate said radial magnetic field (48) for magnetic field interaction with said axial magnetic field (46).
Regarding Claim 28, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses wherein said stator radial magnetic field (48) is angularly disposed to said axial magnetic field (46), further including said radial magnetic field angularly disposed perpendicular to said axial magnetic field (Fig 4A discloses perpendicular magnetic fields).
Regarding Claim 29, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses wherein said magnetic field interaction between said axial magnetic field in motion (46) inside the stationary magnetic field space of said radial magnetic field (48) generate a magnetic field vortex (this is inherent as structure is same), wherein said vortex generate a directional Lorentz force (Para 0037).
Regarding Claim 30, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses
wherein said rotor (28) is a cylindrical body (Fig 5) of predetermined axial and radial dimensions (any chosen dimension is predetermined).
Regarding Claim 32, Tavarez discloses (Figs 1B, 4A, 5) a method (method is in structure) for generating a Lorentz force (Para 0037) comprising:
providing an axial (AA) magnetic field (46) in motion at a predetermined angular velocity (any rotating velocity can be taken as predetermined); comprising angular momentum and energy of motion (this is inherent as 28 is in motion)for magnetic field interaction with at least one radial magnetic field (48 is an a radial direction given AA is axial. Applicant has not sufficiently recited the structure of radial magnetic field in claim, therefore any direction can be “a radial”),
providing an angularly (46 and 48 are perpendicular) disposed stationary radial magnetic field (48) for magnetic field interaction (Fig 4A) with said axial magnetic field in motion in the magnetic field space of the radial magnetic field,
whereby, the magnetic field interaction between said axial magnetic field in motion at a predetermined angular velocity with said angularly disposed radial magnetic field generates a Lorentz force (Para 0037).
Regarding Claim 33, Tavarez discloses the method in claim 32. Tavarez further discloses wherein a rotor (28) comprising a permanent magnet [0046] generate said axial (AA) magnetic field spinning with said predetermined angular velocity (w); endow said axial magnetic field with said angular momentum and energy of motion, wherein said rotor is a cylindrical body of predetermined axial and radial dimensions, further including an electric motor to spin said rotor.
Regarding Claim 34, Tavarez discloses the method in claim 32. Tavarez further discloses
wherein a rotor (28) comprising an electromagnet (Para 0014) generate said axial magnetic field spinning with said predetermined angular velocity; endow said axial magnetic field (46) with said angular momentum and energy of motion (this is inherent as 28 is in motion), wherein said rotor is a cylindrical body (Fig 5) of predetermined axial and radial dimensions (any chosen dimension is predetermined), further including said motor means as an electric motor(40) [0045] to spin said rotor.
Regarding Claim 35, Tavarez discloses the method in claim 32. Tavarez further discloses
wherein a rotor (28) of predetermined axial and radial dimensions comprising a permanent magnet [0046] generates said axial magnetic field spinning with said predetermined angular velocity endow the axial magnetic field with said angular momentum and energy of motion, further including a mechanical motor to spin said rotor (Para 0045 discloses “internal combustion engines” which is mechanical).
Regarding Claim 36, Tavarez discloses the method in claim 32. Tavarez further discloses
wherein a rotor (28) comprising an electromagnet [0014] generate said axial magnetic field spinning with said predetermined angular velocity endow the axial magnetic field with said angular momentum and energy of motion, further including a mechanical motor [0045] to spin said rotor.
Regarding Claim 39, Tavarez discloses the method in claim 32. Tavarez further discloses
wherein said angularly disposed radial magnetic field (48) further including said radial magnetic field angularly disposed perpendicular (Fig 4A) to said axial magnetic field (46).
Regarding Claim 40, Tavarez discloses the method in claim 32. Tavarez further discloses
wherein said magnetic field interaction between said axial magnetic field in motion (46) in the magnetic field space of said radial magnetic field (48) generate a magnetic field vortex, wherein the magnetic field vortex generates a directional Lorentz force [0037].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31,37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tavarez in view of Purvis (US20160254737A1).
Regarding Claim 31, Tavarez discloses the system in claim 21. Tavarez further discloses wherein said stator (42) is an
Purvis discloses (Figs 4A,4B) stator (13,17) is an annular body (Fig 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed system of Tavarez with annular stator body of Purvis in order to have close interaction with magnetic field of rotor.
Regarding Claim 37, Tavarez discloses the method in claim 32. Tavarez further discloses
wherein a stator (42) comprising a permanent magnet [0048] generate said radial magnetic field (46) for magnetic field interaction with said axial magnetic field (46), wherein the stator can be
Purvis discloses (Figs 4A,4B) stator (13,17) is annular (Fig 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed system of Tavarez with annular stator of Purvis in order to have close interaction with magnetic field of rotor.
Regarding Claim 38, Tavarez discloses the method in claim 32. Tavarez further discloses
wherein a stator (42) comprising an electromagnet [0048] generate said radial magnetic field (46) for magnetic field interaction with said axial magnetic field (46), wherein the stator can be
Purvis discloses (Figs 4A,4B) stator (13,17) is annular (Fig 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed system of Tavarez with annular stator of Purvis in order to have close interaction with magnetic field of rotor.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834