DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to an implantable device, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 further limits claim 1 to further include Nitinol. But the claim does not provide guidance to how the Nitinol is applied to the device (a substrate, a coating, woven with the first polymer). Therefore, this claim in indefinite. The specification provides guidance for the implantable device to be a Nitinol article and the catechol group of the PGS is at the surface of the Nitinol (paragraph [0069] and [0071]). For examination purposes, the examiner interprets an implantable device formed from Nitinol and having the first polymer as a coating on top would meet this limitation. Claims 3 and 4 depend from claim 2 and are also rejected as being indefinite.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art, Wen et al. discloses a stent formed from Nitinol (paragraph [0025]) and a passivation layer comprising the first polymer of glycerol and sebacic acid (paragraph [0135], [0138], [0145]), wherein the passivation layer is bound to the Nitinol stent (paragraph [0025], [0138], [0145]). However, Wen does not expressly disclose nor render obvious a surface-modified polyester textile, and a tie layer, the tie layer binds the surface-modified polyester textile to the passivation layer such that the surface-modified polyester textile is suturelessly fixed to the Nitinol wire, and the surface-modified polyester textile comprises a textile of a polyester having a modified surface that provides surface crosslinkable groups. Claims 7-10 depend from claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. WO 2011/084811 A1 in view of Kim et al. Biodegradable and elastomeric poly (glycerol sebacate) as a coating material for Nitinol bare stent BioMed Research International, Volume 2014.
Regarding Claim 1, Wen et al. discloses an implantable device comprising a first polymer (paragraph [0009-0010] and [0138), the first polymer comprising a catechol group (paragraph [0052]). However, Wen et al. does not expressly disclose the first polymer is a polymer of glycerol and sebacic acid. Kim et al. teaches an implantable device in the same field of endeavor comprising a substrate formed of metal, Nitinol (page 1, abstract and introduction) and having a coating formed of PGS, poly(glycerol sebacate) (page 1, abstract and introduction) for the purpose of having a polymer that is elastic and biodegradable and would enhance the mechanical strength and durability of the Nitinol (page 1, abstract and introduction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wen’s first polymer to further include poly(glycerol sebacate) as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of having a polymer that is elastic and biodegradable and would enhance the mechanical strength and durability of the Nitinol.
Regarding Claim 2, Wen et al. discloses the implantable device further comprising Nitinol (paragraphs [0036-0037] and [0145]).
Regarding Claim 3, Wen et al. discloses wherein the first polymer is coated on the Nitinol (paragraph [0025]). However, Wen et al. does not expressly disclose the first polymer is a polymer of glycerol and sebacic acid. Kim et al. teaches an implantable device in the same field of endeavor comprising a substrate formed of metal, Nitinol (page 1, abstract and introduction) and having a coating formed of PGS, poly(glycerol sebacate) (page 1, abstract and introduction) for the purpose of having a polymer that is elastic and biodegradable and would enhance the mechanical strength and durability of the Nitinol (page 1, abstract and introduction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wen’s first polymer to further include poly(glycerol sebacate) as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of having a polymer that is elastic and biodegradable and would enhance the mechanical strength and durability of the Nitinol.
Regarding Claim 4, Wen et al. discloses wherein the catechol group is bound to the surface of the Nitinol, thereby passivating the Nitinol (paragraph [0025-0026] and [0028-0030], [0144-0145]).
Regarding Claim 5, Wen et al. discloses wherein the implantable device is a sutureless graft (paragraph [0136]).
Regarding Claim 11, Wen et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the first polymer of glycerol and sebacic acid is elastomeric, non-immunogenic, and resorbable, has a chemical structure selected to match a compliance of a tissue or other substrate, and acts as an adhesive bond-line or tie layer for the implantable device. Kim et al. teaches an implantable device in the same field of endeavor comprising a substrate formed of metal, Nitinol (page 1, abstract and introduction) and having a coating formed of PGS, poly(glycerol sebacate) (page 1, abstract and introduction), wherein the polymer is an elastomeric biomaterial that is biodegradable (see page 1, introduction, page 5, conclusion) for the purpose of having a polymer that is elastic and would enhance the mechanical strength and durability of the implantable device (page 1, abstract and introduction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wen’s first polymer to further include poly (glycerol sebacate) as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of having a polymer that is elastic and biodegradable and would enhance the mechanical strength and durability of the implantable device.
Regarding Claim 12, Wen et al. discloses a composition comprising a polymer (paragraph [0009-0010] and [0138), the polymer comprising a catechol group so that it is capable of forming adhesion bond (paragraph [0052]). However, Wen et al. does not expressly disclose the polymer is glycerol and sebacic acid. Kim et al. teaches a composition in the same field of endeavor comprising a coating formed of PGS, poly (glycerol sebacate) (page 1, abstract and introduction) for the purpose of having a polymer that is elastic and biodegradable and would enhance the mechanical strength and durability of the composition (page 1, abstract and introduction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wen’s polymer to further include poly(glycerol sebacate) as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of having a polymer that is elastic and biodegradable and would enhance the mechanical strength and durability of the composition.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yip et al. U.S. Patent 6,896,697 in view of Hingston U.S. Publication 2014/0074219.
Regarding Claim 1, Yip discloses an implantable device (stent) comprising a first polymer of glycerol and sebacic acid (column 18, line 28 - column 19, line 10; polymers used to coat a stent includes glycerol sebacate). However, Yip does not expressly disclose the first polymer of glycerol and sebacic acid comprises a catechol group. Hingston teach an implantable device (stent 10) in the same field of endeavor comprising a first polymer (bioadhesive layer 14; see paragraphs [0036], [0046] - bioadhesives including adhesively modified biodegradable polymers), wherein the first polymer comprises a catechol group ([0049], [0051]) for the purpose of enhancing the adhesive properties of the first polymer (paragraph [0043-0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yip's first polymer to include a catechol group as taught by Hingston in order to enhance adhesive properties of the first polymer ([0045], [0049]).
Regarding Claim 12, Yip discloses a composition comprising a polymer of glycerol and sebacic acid (column 18, line 28 - column 19, line 10; polymers used to coat a stent includes glycerol sebacate). However, Yip does not expressly disclose the polymer of glycerol and sebacic acid comprises a catechol group. Hingston teach a composition in the same field of endeavor comprising a polymer (bioadhesive layer 14; see paragraphs [0036], [0046] - bioadhesives including adhesively modified biodegradable polymers), wherein the polymer comprises a catechol group ([0049], [0051]) for the purpose of enhancing the adhesive properties of the polymer (paragraph [0043-0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yip's polymer to include a catechol group as taught by Hingston in order to enhance adhesive properties of the polymer ([0045], [0049]).
Conclusion
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774