DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 (Group I) in the reply filed on 10/20/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 6-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/20/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210195732 to Longinotti-Buitoni, in view of US 20200400632 to He.
Regarding Claim 1, Longinotti-Buitoni discloses a device for monitoring a first responder (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, intelligent wear platform for firefighters; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0331], [0343]), wherein the device comprises: a case (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, intelligent wear platform for firefighters with semi-rigid collar piece and/or sensor manager (SMS) embedded into a rigid case; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0471], [0527]-[0541], [0564]), to which is attached an antenna (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, antenna array 37; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0350]), a status light (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, strobe light 32 that can also or instead remain on as a solid light, an indicator light 33, and/or a lighting strip(s) 34; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0290]-[0291]), and a thermal camera (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, infrared (IR) camera 31; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0290]-[0291]); a flexible printed circuit board assembly connected to an inside portion of the case (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, semi-rigid collar piece and/or sensor manager (SMS) rigid case with flexible printed circuit board (PCBs)) connected to the smart module in any way; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0429], [0434], [0471], [0527]-[0541], [0564]), wherein the assembly includes GPS (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, GPS 19; ¶¶ [0248]-[0251], [0277], [0290]-[0291], [0541]), and at least one environmental toxicity sensor (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, GPS 19; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0277], [0534]-[0540]).
However, Longinotti-Buitoni does not explicitly disclose the environmental toxicity sensor is a toxic gas sensor. He discloses the environmental toxicity sensor is a toxic gas sensor (Figs. 1-8, wide-concentration multi-component hazardous gas detector for toxic gasses detect 8 kinds of hazardous/toxic gasses at most, including HCN, HCl, SO.sub.2, NO.sub.2, CO, NO and H.sub.2S with a wide gas detection range; ¶¶ [0003]-[0004], [0069]-[0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Longinotti-Buitoni by providing the environmental toxicity sensor is a toxic gas sensor as in He in order to provide for greater accuracy.
Regarding Claim 2, Longinotti-Buitoni discloses a the device further comprises a gyroscope and an accelerometer (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, intelligent wear platform for firefighters with one or more than one body sensor including a gyroscope and/or a tri-axis accelerometer; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0334]-[0337]).
Regarding Claim 4, He discloses the device further comprises two, three or four toxic gas sensors (Figs. 1-8, wide-concentration multi-component hazardous gas detector for toxic gasses detect 8 kinds of hazardous/toxic gasses at most, including HCN, HCl, SO.sub.2, NO.sub.2, CO, NO and H.sub.2S with a wide gas detection range; ¶¶ [0003]-[0004], [0069]-[0072]).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210195732 to Longinotti-Buitoni in view of He and further in view of US 10786693 to Opperman.
Regarding Claim 3, Longinotti-Buitoni in view of He discloses the device according to claim 1, and Longinotti-Buitoni further discloses the device further comprises a strobe light (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, strobe light 32 that can also or instead remain on as a solid light, an indicator light 33, and/or a lighting strip(s) 34; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0290]-[0291]), and a display screen (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, electroluminescent panel 36 (an EL panel) and/or display 40; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0299]). However, Longinotti-Buitoni in view of He does not disclose the display is an LCD screen. Opperman discloses the display is an LCD screen (Figs. 11-12, LCD screen display 605/705; Col. 71, line 40 – Col. 72, line 67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Longinotti-Buitoni in view of He by providing the display is an LCD screen as in Opperman in order to provide for a well-known alternative type of display device. See, e.g., "substitution of art-recognized equivalents" as discussed in MPEP 2144.06II "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982)."
Regarding Claim 5, Longinotti-Buitoni in view of He discloses the device according to claim 4, and Longinotti-Buitoni further discloses the device further comprises a gyroscope (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, intelligent wear platform for firefighters with one or more than one body sensor including a gyroscope; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0334]-[0337]), an accelerometer (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, intelligent wear platform for firefighters with one or more than one body sensor including a tri-axis accelerometer; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0334]-[0337]), a strobe light (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, strobe light 32 that can also or instead remain on as a solid light, an indicator light 33, and/or a lighting strip(s) 34; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0290]-[0291]), and a display screen (Figs 1-4, 23 and 32, electroluminescent panel 36 (an EL panel) and/or display 40; ¶¶ [0246]-[0255], [0299]). However, Longinotti-Buitoni in view of He does not disclose the display is an LCD screen. Opperman discloses the display is an LCD screen (Figs. 11-12, LCD screen display 605/705; Col. 71, line 40 – Col. 72, line 67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Longinotti-Buitoni in view of He by providing the display is an LCD screen as in Opperman in order to provide for a well-known alternative type of display device. See, e.g., "substitution of art-recognized equivalents" as discussed in MPEP 2144.06II "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982)."
Conclusion
/DAVID J BOLDUC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852