DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the reservoir in the transfer plate in claims 1-4;
the recess in the transfer plate in claims 2-3
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2 recites “the concave”, should read – a concave –.
Claim 1, line 5 recites “the thrashing system”, should read – a thrashing system –
Claim 2, line 2 recites “a reservoir”, should read – the reservoir –.
Claims 3-4, line 7 recites “the thrashing system”, should read – a thrashing system –.
Independent claim 4 is the same as independent claim 3 and therefore is redundant.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, line 4 recites “means for creating a reservoir”, however the reservoir is not described within the specification or detailed in the drawings to convey how the reservoir is created; therefore, the claim contains subject matter that was not described in such a way as to convey to one skilled in the art that the inventor had possession at the time of filling.
Claim 2 is rejected for being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claim 3, lines 3-6 recites “a recessed, structurally sound material, flat, 2" or greater minimum width, 6" or less maximum width transfer plate, for creating a reservoir”, however the reservoir is not described within the specification or detailed in the drawings to convey how the recessed material creates the reservoir. Specifically, it is unclear how the recessed material creates the reservoir because the reservoir is not described within the specification; therefore, the claim contains subject matter that was not described in such a way as to convey to one skilled in the art that the inventor had possession at the time of filling.
Claim 4 is rejected for the same reason as claim 3.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, lines 3-5 recites “a recessed transfer plate”, but it is unclear what part of the transfer plate is the recessed part. Applicant’s specification, page 14, line 10, recites “a recessed pocket”, however, it is unclear if the recessed pocket is the transfer plate between the bigger side members of the concave or the downwards slope of the transfer plate, creating a small pocket before the grate of (12) and (14) starts; therefore, the claim is rejected for being indefinite.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected for the same issue.
For the purpose of the examination, the examiner is interpreting the limitation “a recessed transfer plate” to mean the transfer plate has an indentation within the plate (please see attached Merriam-Webster NPL for definition of ‘recess’).
Claim limitation “means for creating a reservoir” in claim 1, line 4 and claim 2, line 2 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The reservoir is not described within the specification or the drawings (please see 112(a) rejection above); therefore, no association between the structure and the function can be found in the specification. The claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kile (US 9723791 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kile teaches a concave transfer plate [68] for spreading out and evening of material flow through the concave [50] for the purpose of increasing harvest speed, quality and reducing energy requirements (Kile’s transfer plate has the same structure; therefore, obtains these purposes), comprising:
means for creating a reservoir (see below; area between the start of the plate and the recess, creating an area where material can accumulate) for excess crop material to even the flow through the thrashing system (see Col. 6, lines 36-43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kile (US 9723791 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Kile discloses wherein said means for creating a reservoir (see above; area between the start of the plate and the recess, creating an area where material can accumulate) for excess crop material to even the flow through the thrashing system (see Col. 6, lines 36-43) comprises a recessed (see below) structurally sound material (thin, elongated plate with welds; see Col. 7, lines 51-56), flat (see Fig. 1) transfer plate.
But Kile fails to explicitly disclose that the width of the transfer plate is 2" or greater minimum width, 6" or less maximum width.
However, Kile discloses the concave transfer plate extends between the two ends of the curved members of the concave and is joined to the ends via welding (see Col. 7, lines 51-56); therefore, the width of the transfer plate depends on the width of the concave and is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the width of the transfer plate be 2" or greater minimum width, 6" or less maximum width in order for the transfer plate to support the concave at the top of the curved members. It is noted that such a modification would merely constitute routine optimization of a result effective variable and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not invention to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Specifically, it would have been understood to optimize the widths so as to achieve a balance between the width, capacity, and concave size.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Kile discloses a concave transfer plate [68] for spreading out and evening of material flow through the concave [50] for the purpose of increasing harvest speed, quality and reducing energy requirements (Kile’s transfer plate has the same structure; therefore, obtains these purposes), comprising:
a recessed (see below), structurally sound material (thin, elongated plate with welds; see Col. 7, lines 51-56), flat (see Fig. 1) transfer plate for creating a reservoir (see below; area between the start of the plate and the recess, creating an area where material can accumulate) for excess crop material to even the flow through the thrashing system (see Col. 6, lines 36-43).
But Kile fails to explicitly disclose that the width of the transfer plate is 2" or greater minimum width, 6" or less maximum width.
However, Kile discloses the concave transfer plate extends between the two ends of the curved members of the concave and is joined to the ends via welding (see Col. 7, lines 51-56); therefore, the width of the transfer plate depends on the width of the concave and is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the width of the transfer plate be 2" or greater minimum width, 6" or less maximum width in order for the transfer plate to support the concave at the top of the curved members. It is noted that such a modification would merely constitute routine optimization of a result effective variable and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not invention to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Specifically, it would have been understood to optimize the widths so as to achieve a balance between the width, capacity, and concave size.
Conclusion
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for the full list of references.
Reference CN 107136748 A discloses a similar concave [1] with a concave transfer plate [3].
/SUNNY D WEBB/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671