Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1: Claim 1 recites the language: “...resulting in said apparatus having fewer necessary mechanical parts.” The phrase “having fewer necessary mechanical parts” fails to define the metes and bounds of the claim, and is therefore indefinite. There is no baseline set forth for how many mechanical parts is necessary, nor what is being compared to when the claim of “fewer necessary mechanical parts” is asserted. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the phrase “having fewer necessary mechanical parts” as not substantial to the metes and bounds of the claim due to a lack of clear boundaries.
Regarding Claim 2: Claim 2 recites the language: “…wherein are rotated…”. This language does not clearly define what elements are being rotated with regards to the claimed invention as defined in preceding claims, and is therefore indefinite. For the purposes of examination, examiner will interpret the rotating element to be the strings set forth in the claim preamble.
Regarding Claim 3: Claim 3 recites the language: ”…wherein are spaced along the spindle…”. Similar to claim 2, this language does not clearly define what elements are spaced along the spindle with regard to the claimed invention as defined in preceding claims, and is therefore indefinite. For the purposes of examination, examiner will interpret the spaced elements to be the strings set forth in the claim preamble.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hurley et al as part of US 20060123635 A1, hereinafter referred to as Hurley.
Regarding Claim 1: Hurley teaches of an apparatus for defoliating lawn and turf grass weeds, comprising
at least one spindle rotating about a horizontal axis holding a plurality of strings rotating vertically (Fig. 4, trimmer head 22 comprises a plurality of trimming strings 62, the plurality of which depends on the style of trimmer head 22 utilized; Fig. 3, trimmer head 22 is shown rotating along a horizontal axis, with trimming strings 62 working vertically).
and a means to rotate said spindle at high speed wherein the improvement consists of the use of high speed cutting strings (Fig. 5, motor 20 drives the movement of trimmer head 22).
Regarding Claim 2: Hurley teaches of the apparatus described above in claim 1.
Hurley further teaches wherein the strings are rotated at a speed high enough to cut any resisting vegetation (Paragraph 42, string trimmer head 22 cuts vegetation while in operation via rotational movement of trimming strings 62).
Regarding Claim 3: Hurley teaches of the apparatus described above in claim 1.
Hurley further teaches wherein the strings are spaced along the spindle close enough to adequately clear resisting vegetation in a path the width of the strings on the spindle (Fig. 6, alternate embodiment demonstrates strings 188 are spaced along the body of trimmer head 186; Paragraph 42/Fig. 3, string trimmer head 22 cuts vegetation in a sharp vertical line the width of the cutting implement, trimming strings 62).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Proulx as part of US 4097991 A teaches of an apparatus for cutting vegetation, comprising at least one spindle rotating about a horizontal axis holding a plurality of strings rotating vertically, and a means to rotate said spindle at high speed wherein the improvement consists of the use of high speed cutting strings resulting in said apparatus having fewer necessary mechanical parts, wherein are rotated at a speed high enough to cut any resisting vegetation, and wherein are spaced along the spindle close enough to adequately clear resisting vegetation in a path the width of the strings on the spindle.
/EVAN A BREGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671