DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 3, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation(s) which are interpreted under 112(f) is/are:
“switching means” in claim 25. This limitation is interpreted to mean a three-way solenoid or two two-way solenoids, as discussed in paragraph 93 of the published application, and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the breast shield" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Honer (US 20220409782).
Regarding claim 22, Honer discloses a method of operating a breast pump, comprising:
switching the breast pump to a first mode (fig. 1 shows the “first mode”) and using an air pump (vacuum pump 26 in fig. 1) to generate a base level vacuum along a first channel (see below; paragraph 51 discloses with the valve 28 in the position shown in fig. 1, the vacuum pump generates a vacuum in the inner chamber 15 to a predetermined level; paragraph 55 discloses the valve can be switched back to the position shown in fig. 1); and
switching the breast pump to a second mode (fig. 2 shows the “second mode”) and using the air pump to generate a pumping vacuum along a second channel (see below; paragraph 52 discloses switching the valve 28 to the position shown in fig. 2 so that the vacuum pump 26 produces a vacuum in the outer chamber 16).
Regarding claim 25, Honer discloses a switching means is used to switch the breast pump between the first and second mode (this limitation is interpreted to mean a solenoid and functional equivalents thereof; valve 28 is considered an “equivalent” of a three-way solenoid since it provides a valving function which switches between the first mode, second mode and an “off” mode as shown in figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honer, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Quackenbush (US 20220378989).
Regarding claim 23, Honer discloses all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 22, as discussed above, and further discloses the first channel comprises a longitudinal path for receiving breast milk from the breast shield (see below) and the second channel comprises a path extending outwardly from the breast shield (see below).
However, Honer does not teach or disclose the path of the second channel to be a radial path.
Quackenbush teaches a substantially similar arrangement (fig. 1A) comprising a longitudinal port for receiving breast milk from the breast shield (see below) and a radial path extending outwardly from the breast shield (port 30 in fig. 1A, see below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the path of the second channel of Honer to be a radial path, as taught by Quackenbush, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and doing so would not have modified operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Quackenbush teaches that modifying the angle of the path of Honer would not affect operation of the device since a vacuum line would still be able to be connected to a radial path so that modified Honer would operate as intended with the claimed radial path.
Claim(s) 24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honer, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of McKendry (US 20030236491).
Regarding claim 24, Honer discloses all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 22, as discussed above, and further discloses a second diaphragm delivers the pumping vacuum (paragraph 48 discloses that inner liner 12, equated to the second diaphragm, delivers the pumping vacuum to the nipple). However, Honer does not teach or disclose a first diaphragm delivers the base level vacuum.
McKendry is directed towards a breast pump (fig. 1) comprising a vacuum pump (vacuum generator 50 in fig. 5) which can be a diaphragm pump (paragraph 22), which is understood to comprise a diaphragm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vacuum pump of Honer (vacuum pump 26 in fig. 1) to be a diaphragm pump so that the diaphragm of the diaphragm pump delivers the base level vacuum to the reservoir and first channel, as taught by McKendry since McKendry teaches that this is a type of vacuum generator useful in a breast pump (paragraph 22).
Regarding claim 26, Honer discloses all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 22, but does not teach or disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer executable instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 22.
McKendry teaches a similar system and method for operating a breast pump (fig. 1) comprising a valve controller (fig. 6) which can control opening and closing of the valves (valves 62 and 64 in fig. 5) to operate the pump in different modes (paragraph 24 discloses opening/closing valves to selectively provide alternating vacuum and atmosphere to the breast pump). McKendry teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer executable instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to operate in the different modes (paragraphs 26 and 27 discloses a CPU 70 which is programmed by instructions stored in a ROM and which controls opening/closing of valves 62 and 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Honer to comprise a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer executable instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 22, as taught by McKendry, in order to automate the method of Honer.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783