DETAILED ACTION
NOTICE TO APPLICANT
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 4, 2023 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because it does not list any references. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to or lack thereof therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
Note to Applicant: Under 37 CFR 1.83(a) the drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Due to the current claims being non-compliant (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 below) and therefore no drawing objections are raised in this office action. However, upon correction of the claims be advised that specific limitations recited in the claims such as bearings, belts, pulleys, and driveshafts, for example, must be shown with reference characters or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains the form and legal phraseology “comprising” and “said” and phrases “The claims discussed hereinbefore” and “The present invention reveals.” A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0005, “as well as in in the marine industry” should be changed to “as well as in [[in]] the marine industry”
Paragraph 0007, “There are three types of hydraulic if motors that may be used” appears to be a grammatical error.
Paragraph 0013, “We’re the inventor to attach” should be changed to “Were the inventor to attach”
Paragraph 0018, “work in this particular. Application after discovering” should be changed to “work in this particular application after discovering”
Paragraph 0118, “Claim 1” references to the claims should be deleted.
Paragraph 0127, “to reveal the though process of the inventor” should be changed to “to reveal the thought process of the inventor”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 21 and 22 have been renumbered 20 and 21 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-19 and 21-22 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
For examining purposes the Examiner is interpreting the claims, in light of the specification and as best understood, to be an initial power source to start a motor that drives a generator via a shaft comprising a flywheel that rotates up to predetermined RPM to continue driving the generator. The output of the generator is sent to an electrical panel that distributes out the generated electricity back to the motor and other loads. The initial input source is disconnected from the motor and the motor is then further powered by the generator.
Claims 1-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: AC and/or DC Power Supply.
Claims 1 and 2 recite a means of generating electricity using a process that does not rely on any known fuel sources and/or alternative energy sources. The claims then proceeds to discuss how the Trident Independent Energy System is capable of generating predetermined loads of electricity but never recites how the system or generator is able to start. However, paragraph 0132 and figures 2-6 disclose an AC and DC power supply to provide power to start the system. Omitting this essential element results in a lack of an initial source of power to start the motor rendering the invention inoperative.
Dependent claims 3-19 and 21-22 are rejected, as they inherit the deficiency of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chaang (US 2019/0229578).
NOTE: Please see above 35 UC 112(b) for Examiner’s best interpretation of the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Chaang discloses an initial power source to start a motor (Para. 0018) that drives a generator (702, 706 of Figure 1) via a shaft (104 of Figure 1) and a flywheel (102, 306 of Figure 1) that rotates up to predetermined RPM to continue driving the generator.
Regarding claim 3, Chaang discloses an energy system capable of generating AC and/or DC (via 702, 706 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Chaang discloses using various gears, shafts, pulleys, belts (see Figure 1; one-way bearings (310), belts (704, 708)).
Regarding claim 5, Chaang discloses a generator capable of generating a rated capacity of the generator (702, 706 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Chaang discloses scaling the system (Para. 0042).
Regarding claim 7, Chaang discloses a system securely and functionally assembled (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Chaang discloses the system can be non-stationary (Para. 0009-0011, 0042).
Regarding claim 9, Chaang discloses the system includes a second flywheel (102, 306 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Chaang discloses the system includes electrical components connected by electrical wire (inherent).
Regarding claim 11, Chaang discloses the flywheel can be replaced with another flywheel configuration (Para. 0042).
Regarding claim 12, Chaang discloses the motor can be replaced with another type of motor (Para. 0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaang (US 2019/0229578), in view of Aldendeshe (WO 01/43258 A2).
Regarding claim 2, Chaang discloses an initial power source to start a motor (Para. 0018) that drives a generator (702, 706 of Figure 1) via a shaft (104 of Figure 1) and a flywheel (102, 306 of Figure 1) that rotates up to predetermined RPM to continue driving the generator.
Chaang does not disclose hydraulic pumps to drive a hydraulic motor.
Aldendeshe discloses hydraulic pumps (64) to drive a hydraulic motor (66) (Page 9, lines 11-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the motor of Chaang replaced with the hydraulic motor driven by the hydraulic pump, as taught by Aldendeshe, due to hydraulic motors ability to deliver high torque at low speeds.
Regarding claim 13, Chaang discloses an energy system capable of generating AC and/or DC (via 702, 706 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Chaang discloses using various gears, shafts, pulleys, belts (see Figure 1; one-way bearings (310), belts (704, 708)).
Regarding claim 15, Chaang discloses the system includes electrical components connected by electrical wire (inherent).
Regarding claim 16, Chaang discloses scaling the system (Para. 0042).
Regarding claim 17, Chaang discloses a system securely and functionally assembled (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Chaang discloses the system can be non-stationary (Para. 0009-0011, 0042).
Regarding claim 19, Chaang discloses the system includes a second flywheel (102, 306 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Chaang discloses the flywheel can be replaced with another flywheel configuration (Para. 0042).
Regarding claim 21, Chaang discloses the motor can be replaced with another type of motor (Para. 0042).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Camm (US 2004/0056546) discloses a powered flywheel rotor motor.
Wilson (CA 2178349 C) discloses means to initiate and maintain a rotor or flywheel at substantially constant speed.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834