DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “spring perch angle” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant submitted preliminary amendments to the Claims, Abstract, and Specification on 20 September 2024, and examination is based thereon.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim should be one sentence. Currently, the claim appears to be approximately twelve sentences. Additionally, the claim has multiple grammatical and referencing errors. Each claim must begin with a capital letter and end with a period [MPEP 608.01(m)]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. The claim is generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. The structure of the claim must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device and must be in one sentence form only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKAHANE et al. (US 2018/0215179 A1) in view of Okazaki (US 2011/0242245 A1).
AKAHANE et al. teaches an apparatus comprising:
OUTFEED BRACKET LEFT ASSY (Quantity: 1): This is the assembly of the outfeed bracket located on the left side of a device or equipment. It likely serves as a support or attachment point for other components (AKAHANE et al. – Page 4, Paragraphs 52-59 and Figures 1, 2, & 5, Reference # 16, #61, & #62, shown below).
OUTFEED BRACKET RIGHT ASSY (Quantity: 1): Like item 1, this is an assembly of the outfeed bracket, but it's positioned on the right side of the device or equipment (AKAHANE et al. – Page 4, Paragraphs 52-59 and Figures 1, 2, & 5, Reference # 16, #61, & #62, shown below).
ROLLER (Quantity: 2): These are rollers used for various purposes, possibly for facilitating the movement or transport of materials within the equipment (AKAHANE et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 53 and Figure 1, Reference #23, #23a, #22, & #21, shown below).
FLOATING BAR (Quantity: 1): This is a floating bar component, which may have a specific function within the equipment, such as maintaining alignment or providing support (AKAHANE et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 58 – Page 5, Paragraph 60 and Figures 1 & 2, Reference #55, shown below).
FEED ROLLER (Quantity: 2): These are specialized feed rollers, likely used for feeding or advancing material through the equipment (AKAHANE et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 53 and Figure 1, Reference #23, #23a, #22, & #21, shown below).
STEPPER MOTOR MOUNT PLATE (Quantity: 2): These plates are designed to hold and secure stepper motors, which are commonly used for precise control of movement within equipment (AKAHANE et al. – Page 4, Paragraph 53; Page 7, Paragraphs 75-77; and Figure 1, Reference #23M & #22M, shown below).
AKAHANE et al. does not specifically teach a spring perch angle or plates to support or hold springs. However, Okazaki teaches an apparatus comprising: an outfeed bracket left and right assembly (Okazaki – Page 4, Paragraphs 40-46 and Figures 1 & 2, Reference #11, shown below) as well as multiple rollers, a floating bar, and feed rollers (Okazaki – Page 3, Paragraphs 28-35; Page 4, Paragraphs 40-46; and Figure 1, Reference #5, #6, #7, # 22, #24, #21, #20, shown below) and specifically teaches multiple springs and a
SPRING PERCH ANGLE (Quantity: 2): These components are likely designed to
support or hold springs in a specific configuration, potentially to provide tension or
cushioning (Okazaki – Page 1, Paragraphs 10-13; Page 4, Paragraphs 40-41; and Figures 1 & 3, Reference #40 & #11, shown below) and
h. SPRING TENSION PLATE (Quantity: 2): These plates are likely related to spring
mechanisms, possibly for adjusting or controlling tension within the equipment (Okazaki – Page 1, Paragraphs 10-13; Page 4, Paragraphs 40-41; and Figures 1 & 3, Reference #40 & #11, shown below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to specify the biasing means of AKAHANE et al. which mentions the use of the elastic force of springs (AKAHANE et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 3 and Page 19, Paragraph 192) to include the spring and angles and plates of Okazaki in an effort to provide a structure which maintains the correct recording medium position using a transport apparatus for transporting the medium under the correct tension (Okazaki – Page 1, Paragraphs 5, 9, & 10).
The combination of AKAHANE et al. and Okazaki continues to teach:
i. BOLT LOCK PLATE (Quantity: 2): These plates may serve as mounting or locking points for bolts, ensuring they are securely fastened within the equipment. Attached to Automated DTF (Direct to Film) and DTP (Direct to Print) apparatus (Direct-to-Printing) technology, unveiling its profound potential in the realm of printing and imaging. Commencing with the foundational aspects of direct-to-film printing, it elucidates the core principles and merits of this technology, including its exceptional precision, cost-effectiveness, and waste reduction. The described embodiments of the present disclosure are intended to be illustrative rather than restrictive and are not intended to represent every embodiment of the present disclosure (AKAHANE et al. – Page 4, Paragraphs 52-59 & Figure 1, Reference #3 & #16, shown above and Okazaki – Page 4, Paragraphs 40-46 and Figures 1, 2, & 3, shown above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Maeda et al. (US 5,057,861 A) teaches an apparatus with outfeed brackets, rollers, floating [i.e. dancing] bars, feed rollers, stepper motor mounts and spring mounts. Wilson (US 5,911,382 A) teaches an apparatus for attachment to a direct to print apparatus, having brackets, rollers, and floating bars. Watkins (US 6,766,844 B1) teaches an apparatus for controlling media in a printer which has brackets, rollers, floating bars, and springs. Midorikawa (US 2008/0128545 A1) teaches an apparatus for use with a direct to print apparatus which includes brackets, rollers, and tension bars. Fukui (US 7,397,487 B2) teaches an apparatus for controlling medium through a direct to print apparatus having brackets, rollers, and dancer/floating bars. KOJIMA (US 2012/0042799 A1) teaches an apparatus for transporting medium through a direct to print apparatus having rollers and a floating/dancer bar. Obata et al. (US 2015/0077494 A1) teaches an apparatus for transporting medium through an image forming device having springs which press rollers and the medium. Amari (US 2019/0315588 A1) teaches an apparatus for controlling medium through a direct to print apparatus having brackets, rollers, and dancer/floating bars. MATSUBA (US 2023/011746 A1) teaches an apparatus for controlling medium through a direct to print apparatus having brackets, rollers, dancer/floating bars and biasing mechanisms or springs.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Stephen Meier can be reached at (571) 272-2149. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853