DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system” in claims 21-23, 26-38 and “biometric verification system” in claims 39-40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23-25, 31, 35-36, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman et al. (US 3,682,172) in view of Ballantyne et al. (US 2013/0317837), both submitted in the December 18, 2023 IDS.
Regarding claim 21, Freedman discloses a parabiotic dialysis system (see Fig. 1), the system comprising: a device having a first side 24 and a second side 30, the device including a semipermeable membrane 44, 46 between the first side and the second side (see Fig. 1) that is structurally configured for permitting passage of one or more molecules through (see Fig. 1, purpose of membrane in dialysis); a first extracorporeal circuit 16, 18 including one more first fluid connectors for connecting the first side of the device to the vascular system of a first animal 10; a second extracorporeal circuit 27, 32 including one or more second fluid connectors for connecting the second side of the device to the vascular system of a second animal 12 (see Fig. 1); a first pump 29, 35 in fluid communication with at least one of the first and second extracorporeal circuits; and a driver mechanically coupled to the first pump, the driver configured to drive the first pump using energy from an energy source (see col. 4, l. 51-col. 5, l. 4).
Freedman does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As Freedman discloses two patients and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that Freedman and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 23, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the system of claim 21, and as Freedman discloses a diseased human (see col. 2, lines 44-45) and normal human or animal (see col. 2, lines 46-47) being the first animal and second animal, and Freedman and Ballantyne together disclose the biometric verification system to identify the first animal and the second animal as the ones who are being treated by the system, then the verification would confirm the compatibility between the first animal and the second animal as they have already been decided as compatible in being the diseased human and the normal human or animal.
Regarding claim 24, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the system of claim 23, but as disclosed above do not teach the biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding one or more of the first animal and the second animal.
Ballantyne discloses the monitoring client/biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding the patient (see par. 351, 106-109) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to then have the monitoring client/biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding the patient to allow the system to alert the user to modifications that may be indicated based on the patient’s allergies, existing medications, or other patient-condition parameters, preferably minimizing the amount of typed input from a user (see par. 43).
Regarding claim 25, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the system of claim 21, and Ballantyne further discloses the biometric verification system includes a retinal scanner (see par. 351).
Regarding claim 31, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the system of claim 21 and Freedman further discloses the first animal is a kidney patient (see col. 13, lines 33-36) and wherein the one or molecules include at least one of metabolic waste and excess water (see col. 11, lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 35, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the system of claim 21 and Freedman further discloses a second pump (see Fig. 1, first pump 29 and second pump 35),wherein the first pump is in fluid communication with the first extracorporeal circuit and the second pump is in fluid communication with the second extracorporeal circuit (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 36, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the system of claim 35 and Freedman further discloses one or more of the first pump, the second pump, and the driver are configured to establish a predetermined pressure gradient between the first and second extracorporeal circuits (see Fig. 1, the setup/settings of the pumps and driver would lead to the pressure gradient between the first and second extracorporeal circuits allowing for ultrafiltration to occur at membranes 44, 46 and, consequently, it would be predetermined by this setup/settings) and this predetermined pressure gradient would implement a predetermined molecular transfer between the first extracorporeal circuit and the second extracorporeal circuit due to the pump speeds and membrane configuration.
Regarding claim 39, Feedman discloses a method for parabiotic dialysis (see Abstract), the method comprising: moving blood of the first animal 10 through a first extracorporeal circuit 16, 18 including a first fluid connector that connects a first side of a device to the vascular system of the first animal (see Fig. 1), the device including a semipermeable membrane 44, 46 structurally configured for permitting passage of one or more molecules therethrough (see col. 5, lines 24-35); moving the one or more molecules through the device to a second extracorporeal circuit 27, 32 including a second fluid connector that connects a second side of the device to the vascular system of the second animal 12 (see Fig. 1).
Freedman does not disclose using a biometric verification system to identify one or more of a first animal and a second animal to determine a permission for use of a parabiotic dialysis system; upon receipt of permission from the biometric verification system, moving the blood, and upon receipt of permission from the biometric verification system, moving the one or more molecules.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As permission allows for use of system and use of the system requires moving blood and the one or more molecules, the moving of the blood and one or more molecules would be upon receipt of permission from the biometric system.
Regarding claim 40, Freedman discloses method for parabiotic dialysis (see Abstract), the method comprising: connecting a first side 24 of a device to the vascular system of a first animal 10 to form a first extracorporeal circuit (see Fig. 1), the device including a semipermeable membrane 44, 46 structurally configured for permitting passage of one or more molecules therethrough (see Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 24-35); connecting a second side 30 of the device to the vascular system of a second animal 12 to form a second extracorporeal circuit (see Fig. 1); using a biometric verification system to identify and determine a permission for use for each of the first animal and the second animal; and when it is determined by the biometric verification system that there is permission for use for each of the first animal and the second animal, moving blood of the first animal through the first extracorporeal circuit thereby moving the one or more molecules from the blood of the first animal through the semipermeable membrane to the second extracorporeal circuit.
Freedman does not disclose using a biometric verification system to identify and determine a permission for use for each of the first animal and the second animal; and when it is determined by the biometric verification system that there is permission for use for each of the first animal and the second animal, moving the blood and the one or more molecules.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow each patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of each patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patients receive the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As permission allows for use of system and use of the system requires moving blood and the one or more molecules, the moving of the blood and one or more molecules would be upon receipt of permission from the biometric system.
Claim(s) 21-22 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman in view Tenenbaum et al. (US 2017/0065757).
Regarding claim 21, Freedman discloses a parabiotic dialysis system (see Fig. 1), the system comprising: a device having a first side 24 and a second side 30, the device including a semipermeable membrane 44, 46 between the first side and the second side (see Fig. 1) that is structurally configured for permitting passage of one or more molecules through (see Fig. 1, purpose of membrane in dialysis); a first extracorporeal circuit 16, 18 including one more first fluid connectors for connecting the first side of the device to the vascular system of a first animal 10; a second extracorporeal circuit 27, 32 including one or more second fluid connectors for connecting the second side of the device to the vascular system of a second animal 12 (see Fig. 1); a first pump 29, 35 in fluid communication with at least one of the first and second extracorporeal circuits; and a driver mechanically coupled to the first pump, the driver configured to drive the first pump using energy from an energy source (see col. 4, l. 51-col. 5, l. 4).
Freedman does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67).
Regarding claim 22, Freedman and Tenenbaum disclose the system of claim 21 and while Tenenbaum discloses a controller in communication with the biometric verification system and one or more other components of the system (see par. 72-73) but does not disclose the controller configured to prevent or stop operation of the one or more other components of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal form the biometric verification system.
Tenenbaum discloses control buttons that can be operated by a user to terminate dialysis treatment (see par. 69) as well as the recognize and process voice commands to control the dialysis treatment (see par. 72-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the termination of dialysis treatment be via recognized and processed voice commands, as Tenenbaum teaches termination of treatment being a control and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67). This would cause the controller to be configured to prevent or stop operation of the one or more other components of the system upon receipt of the predetermined signal for termination from the biometric verification system.
Regarding claim 27, Freedman and Tenenbaum disclose the system of claim 21 and Tenenbaum further discloses the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system (see par. 73-76, voice recognition occurs before following directions from voice).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman in view of Ballantyne as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (WO 2011/002189). Citations below are to the English Translation provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 26, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the limitations of claim 21 and that the biometric verification system is configured to identify the first animal and the second animal (see rejection of claim 21 above) but do not disclose the system is structurally configured to concurrently identify the first animal and the second animal.
Lee discloses a biometric authentication apparatus with authentication succeeds when two people simultaneously (concurrently) both succeed in authentication (see Abstract; page 4, par. 2-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the two people authenticating via biometric verification of the system of Freedman and Ballantyne be authenticated/verified simultaneously, as disclosed by Lee, in order to predictably ensure that all patients are verified, adding a level of security in use of the system.
Claim(s) 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman in view of Ballantyne as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Storr et al. (US 2012/0305486), submitted in the December 18, 2023 IDS.
Regarding claim 28, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the system of claim 21 but do not disclose the semipermeable membrane having an average pore size allowing for passage of molecules having a molecular weight of between about 70 kDa and 140 kDa.
Freedman discloses it is known to use a parabiotic dialysis system for liver dialysis (see col. 2, ll. 5-13). Storr discloses liver dialysis to support the liver during conditions of liver failure (see para. 43) and liver dialysis carried out using a dialyzer with a high cut-off dialysis membrane allowing passage of molecules having a molecular weight below 200kDa (see para. 32) in order to remove albumin-bound toxins and inflammatory mediators (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system be a liver dialysis system, Freedman disclosing the use of a parabiotic dialysis system, in order to treat a patient having liver failure, as disclosed by Storr, and have the liver dialysis carried out using a dialyzer with a high cut-off dialysis membrane allowing passage of molecules having a molecular weight below 200kDa in order to remove albumin-bound toxins and inflammatory mediators during liver dialysis, as disclosed by Storr. Consequently, molecules between 70 kDa and 140 kDa would be allowed passage through pores of the membrane due to them being smaller than 200kDa.
Regarding claim 29, teachings of Freedman, Ballantyne, and Storr are described above and, consequently, the molecules would include albumin (see rejection of claim 28 and para. 44 of specification of current application, showing that albumin can pass if molecular weight allowed passage is greater than 66kDa) and the molecules would include a water-soluble toxin (see rejection of claim 28 and para. 6 of specification of current application, showing that water-soluble toxin can pass if molecular weight allowed passage is greater than 100kDa).
Regarding claim 30, teachings of Freedman, Ballantyne, and Storr are described above and the first animal can be an animal with a liver disorder (see Freedman, Fig. 1, claim only requires the connectors can be connected to the vascular system of a first animal that has a liver disorder, and the connectors can be connected to such an animal) and the first animal can be an animal with jaundice (see Freedman, Fig. 1, claim only requires the connectors can be connected to the vascular system of a first animal that has jaundice, and the connectors can be connected to such an animal).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman in view of Ballantyne as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Kelly et al. (WO 2013/028809), submitted in the December 18, 2023 IDS.
Regarding claim 32, teachings of Freedman and Ballantyne are described above and do not disclose the system further comprising a physiological sensor coupled to one or more of the first animal and the second animal; and a controller in communication with the physiological sensor, the controller configured to control operation of the system at least in part based upon a signal from the physiological sensor, and to pause or stop operation of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal from the physiological sensor.
Kelly discloses an extracorporeal blood processing apparatus with a physiological sensor in the form of relative blood volume monitor (see para. 39, 89, 2222, 225) coupled to the one system (it would have to be coupled to the system (see Fig. 11); and a controller in communication with the physiological sensor, the controller configured to control operation of the system at least in part based upon a signal from the physiological sensor (see para. 225), and to pause or stop operation of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal from the physiological sensor (see para. 225, fluid removal stopped based on unsafe hydration status) and the patient is alerted. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of Freedman and Ballantyne further include a physiological sensor and controller controlling the system in relation to the physiological sensor such as those disclosed by Kelly in order to stop the fluid removal and alert the patient when the hydration status becomes unsafe, as disclosed by Kelly. Due to the coupling of the sensor to the system and the animals to the system in order for dialysis to be performed (see Freedman, Fig. 1), the sensor would be coupled to the animals.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman in view of Ballantyne as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Bernard et al. (US 2004/0044302), submitted with the December 18, 2023 IDS.
Regarding claim 33, teachings of Freedman and Ballantyne are described above and do not disclose a controller in communication with the first pump, the controller configured to control a flow rate of one or more of the first extracorporeal circuit and the second extracorporeal circuit, though Freedman discloses controlling the pumps and related flow rates of the pumps in the first and second extracorporeal circuits (see col. 7, ll. 19-26).
Bernard discloses it is well known in an extracorporeal blood circuit to have a controller control the desired blood flow based on the blood pumps, therefore having the controller configured to control a flow rate based on the pumps (see para. 84, 142-144, 179). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of Freedman and Ballantyne further include a controller or controlling the speed of the pumps and therefore flow rate throughout the system, this addition disclosed by Bernard, as this would allow for easier settings control by the user (one center – the controller - for control) while still allowing for controlling the pumps and related flow rates of the pumps, shown as desirable by Freedman.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman in view of Ballantyne as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Becker et al. (US 2009/0120873), submitted with the December 18, 2023 IDS.
Regarding claim 37, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the limitations of claim 21 and while Freedman discloses a setting establishing a nonzero pressure gradient between the first and second extracorporeal circuits (see col. 9, ll. 25-43, disclosing transfer of waste from human to other human and col. 10, ll. 35-39, 47-61 describing speed of pumps and implementing ultrafiltration, with a pressure gradient, which would be a non-zero number in order for ultrafiltration to exist, at the membranes being required for ultrafiltration to occur at the membranes), Freedman does not specifically disclose a selector switch having at least a first setting and a second setting, the first setting establishing a zero-pressure gradient between the first and second extracorporeal circuits and the second setting establishing the nonzero pressure gradient.
Becker discloses having various modes of operation of a filtration system (see para. 54), with these modes requiring different settings, which would require switching between these settings (see para. 54, 164, 165). Additionally, Becker discloses a mode allowing for a setting establishing a zero-pressure gradient on an ultrafiltration membrane in order to clean the membrane (see para. 128). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have multiple settings/modes of operation allowing for switching between modes as well as to have a cleaning mode allowing for a setting establishing a zero-pressure gradient on an ultrafiltration membrane in order to clean the membrane, as disclosed by Becker, in order to allow for cleaning of the membrane in addition to ultrafiltration across the membrane. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to also have a setting/mode for ultrafiltration establishing a nonzero pressure gradient between the extracorporeal circuits, as Freedman discloses the desirability of using this setting and having it as a mode of operation that can be switched to, as disclosed by Becker, would allow for easy/quick setup of the system for use.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman in view of Ballantyne as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Gorsuch et al. (US 5,151,082), submitted with the December 18, 2023 IDS.
Regarding claim 38, Freedman and Ballantyne disclose the limitations of claim 21 but do not specifically disclose a resistive element in fluid communication with one or more of the first extracorporeal circuit and the second extracorporeal circuit, the resistive element configured to establish a predetermined pressure gradient between the first and second extracorporeal circuits.
Gorsuch discloses a kidney dialysis system wherein ultrafiltration is controlled by a pump and variable resistive element (valve 52), the resistive element in fluid communication with an extracorporeal circuit, which controls the differential pressure gradient across a membrane (see Fig. 1) col. 6, ll. 48-51). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and/or second extracorporeal circuit of Freedman and Ballantyne include a resistive element in fluid communication with the circuit(s), the resistive element configured to help establish the differential pressure gradient across the membrane for ultrafiltration, as disclosed by Gorsuch. As a nonzero pressure gradient is required for ultrafiltration, the resistive element would help with this nonzero pressure gradient and due to the settings of the circuits, the pressure gradient would be predetermined by those settings.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 23, 25, and 39-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,759,556, hereinafter ‘556. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 21 and 39-40, claim 7 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 21.
Regarding claim 23, and as parabiotic dialysis requires the first animal and second animal, and claim 7 discloses one or more of the first animal and second animal, being both the first animal and second animal, then the verification would confirm the compatibility between the first animal and the second animal as they have already been decided as compatible in being the diseased human and the normal human or animal if parabiotic dialysis is to be performed between the two.
Regarding claim 25, claim 7 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 25 in light of the 112(f) interpretation of “biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.”
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of ‘556 in view of Tenenbaum.
Regarding claim 22, claim 7 of ‘556 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 22 except a controller in communication with the biometric verification system and one or more other components of the system, the controller configured to prevent or stop operation of the one or more other components of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal from the biometric verification system.
Tenenbaum discloses a controller in communication with the biometric verification system and one or more other components of the system (see par. 72-73). Tenenbaum discloses control buttons that can be operated by a user to terminate dialysis treatment (see par. 69) as well as the recognize and process voice commands to control the dialysis treatment (see par. 72-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the termination of dialysis treatment be via recognized and processed voice commands, as Tenenbaum teaches termination of treatment being a control and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67). This would cause the controller to be configured to prevent or stop operation of the one or more other components of the system upon receipt of the predetermined signal for termination from the biometric verification system.
Regarding claim 27, claim 7 of ‘556 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 27 except the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system.
Tenenbaum further discloses the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system (see par. 73-76, voice recognition occurs before following directions from voice). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, as disclosed by Tenenbaum, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67).
Claims 24 and 28-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-13 of ‘556 in view of Ballantyne.
Regarding claim 24, claim 7 of ‘556 does not teach the biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding one or more of the first animal and the second animal.
Ballantyne discloses the monitoring client/biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding the patient (see par. 351, 106-109) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to then have the monitoring client/biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding the patient to allow the system to alert the user to modifications that may be indicated based on the patient’s allergies, existing medications, or other patient-condition parameters, preferably minimizing the amount of typed input from a user (see par. 43).
Regarding claim 28, claim 1 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 28 except claim 1 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 29, claims 2 or 3 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 29 except claims 2 or 3 of ‘556 do not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claims 2 or 3 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claims 2 or 3 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 30, claims 4 or 5 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 30 except claims 4 or 5 of ‘556 do not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claims 4 or 5 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claims 4 or 5 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 31, claim 1 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 31 (dialysis inherently requires removal of metabolic waste and excess water via filtration of blood) except claim 1 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 32, claim 6 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 32 except claim 6 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 6 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 6 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 33, claim 8 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 33 except claim 8 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 8 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 8 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 34, claim 1 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 34 except claim 1 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 35, claim 9 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 35 except claim 9 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 9 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 9 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 36, claim 10 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 36 except claim 10 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 10 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 10 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 37, claim 12 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 37 except claim 12 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 12 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 12 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 38, claim 13 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 38 except claim 13 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 13 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 13 of ‘556 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Claim 26 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of ‘556 in view of Lee. Citations below are to the English Translation provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 26, claim 7 of ‘556 discloses all limitations required by claim 26 except the system is structurally configured to concurrently identify the first animal and the second animal.
Lee discloses a biometric authentication apparatus with authentication succeeds when two people simultaneously (concurrently) both succeed in authentication (see Abstract; page 4, par. 2-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the two people authenticating via biometric verification of the system of Freedman and Ballantyne be authenticated/verified simultaneously, as disclosed by Lee, in order to predictably ensure that all patients are verified, adding a level of security in use of the system.
Claims 21, 23-25, 31, and 35-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-10, 12, 14, 16, or 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,419,966, hereinafter ‘966, in view of Ballantyne.
Regarding claim 21, claim 1 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 21 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 23, claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne together disclose the biometric verification system to identify the first animal and the second animal as the ones who are being treated by the system, then the verification would confirm the compatibility between the first animal and the second animal as they have already been decided as compatible in being the patient needing dialysis and the donor patient.
Regarding claim 24, claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne as disclosed above do not teach the biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding one or more of the first animal and the second animal.
Ballantyne discloses the monitoring client/biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding the patient (see par. 351, 106-109) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to then have the monitoring client/biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding the patient to allow the system to alert the user to modifications that may be indicated based on the patient’s allergies, existing medications, or other patient-condition parameters, preferably minimizing the amount of typed input from a user (see par. 43).
Regarding claim 25, Ballantyne further discloses the biometric verification system includes a retinal scanner (see par. 351).
Regarding claim 31, claim 1 of ‘966 discloses all limitations required by claim 31 (dialysis inherently requires removal of metabolic waste and excess water via filtration of blood) except claim 1 of ‘556 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 35, claim 9 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 35 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 9 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 9 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 36, claim 10 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 36 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 10 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 10 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 37, claim 12 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 37 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 12 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 12 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 38, claim 14 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 38 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 14 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 14 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 39, claim 16 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 39 except the biometric verification system to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and use of the biometric system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 40, claim 18 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 40 except the biometric verification system to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and use of the biometric system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of ‘966 in view of Tenenbaum.
Regarding claim 22, claim 1 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 22 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and a controller in communication with the biometric verification system and one or more other components of the system, the controller configured to prevent or stop operation of the one or more other components of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal from the biometric verification system.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67).
Tenenbaum discloses a controller in communication with the biometric verification system and one or more other components of the system (see par. 72-73). Tenenbaum discloses control buttons that can be operated by a user to terminate dialysis treatment (see par. 69) as well as the recognize and process voice commands to control the dialysis treatment (see par. 72-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the termination of dialysis treatment be via recognized and processed voice commands, as Tenenbaum teaches termination of treatment being a control and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67). This would cause the controller to be configured to prevent or stop operation of the one or more other components of the system upon receipt of the predetermined signal for termination from the biometric verification system.
Regarding claim 27, claim 7 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 27 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67).
Tenenbaum further discloses the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system (see par. 73-76, voice recognition occurs before following directions from voice). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, as disclosed by Tenenbaum, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67).
Claim 26 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘966 in view of Ballantyne and in view of Lee. Citations below are to the English Translation provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 26, claim 1 of ‘966 discloses all limitations required by claim 26 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and the system is structurally configured to concurrently identify the first animal and the second animal.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Lee discloses a biometric authentication apparatus with authentication succeeds when two people simultaneously (concurrently) both succeed in authentication (see Abstract; page 4, par. 2-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the two people authenticating via biometric verification of the system of Freedman and Ballantyne be authenticated/verified simultaneously, as disclosed by Lee, in order to predictably ensure that all patients are verified, adding a level of security in use of the system.
Claims 28-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘966 in view of Ballantyne in view of Storr.
Regarding claim 28, claim 1 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 28 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and the semipermeable membrane has an average pore size allowing for passage of molecules having a molecular weight of between about 70 kilodaltons (kDa) and 140 kDa.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Storr discloses liver dialysis to support the liver during conditions of liver failure (see para. 43) and liver dialysis carried out using a dialyzer with a high cut-off dialysis membrane allowing passage of molecules having a molecular weight below 200kDa (see para. 32) in order to remove albumin-bound toxins and inflammatory mediators (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system be a liver dialysis system in order to treat a patient having liver failure, as disclosed by Storr, and have the dialysis liver dialysis carried out using a dialyzer with a high cut-off dialysis membrane allowing passage of molecules having a molecular weight below 200kDa in order to remove albumin-bound toxins and inflammatory mediators during liver dialysis, as disclosed by Storr. Consequently, molecules between 70 kDa and 140 kDa would be allowed passage through pores of the membrane due to them being smaller than 200kDa.
Regarding claim 29, the molecules would include albumin (see rejection of claim 28 above and para. 44 of specification of current application, showing that albumin can pass if molecular weight allowed passage is greater than 66kDa) and the molecules would include a water-soluble toxin (see rejection of claim 28 and para. 6 of specification of current application, showing that water-soluble toxin can pass if molecular weight allowed passage is greater than 100kDa).
Regarding claim 30, Storr discloses liver failure, and therefore a liver disorder (see par. 43).
Claim 32 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘966 in view of Ballantyne and in view of Kelly.
Regarding claim 32, claim 1 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 32 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and do not disclose the system further comprising a physiological sensor coupled to one or more of the first animal and the second animal; and a controller in communication with the physiological sensor, the controller configured to control operation of the system at least in part based upon a signal from the physiological sensor, and to pause or stop operation of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal from the physiological sensor.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Kelly discloses an extracorporeal blood processing apparatus with a physiological sensor in the form of relative blood volume monitor (see para. 39, 89, 2222, 225) coupled to the one system (it would have to be coupled to the system (see Fig. 11); and a controller in communication with the physiological sensor, the controller configured to control operation of the system at least in part based upon a signal from the physiological sensor (see para. 225), and to pause or stop operation of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal from the physiological sensor (see para. 225, fluid removal stopped based on unsafe hydration status) and the patient is alerted. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of Freedman and Ballantyne further include a physiological sensor and controller controlling the system in relation to the physiological sensor such as those disclosed by Kelly in order to stop the fluid removal and alert the patient when the hydration status becomes unsafe, as disclosed by Kelly. Due to the coupling of the sensor to the system and the animals to the system in order for dialysis to be performed (see Freedman, Fig. 1), the sensor would be coupled to the animals.
Claim 33 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of ‘966 in view of Ballantyne and in view of Bernard.
Regarding claim 33, claim 1 of ‘966 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 32 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and do not disclose a controller in communication with the first pump, the controller configured to control a flow rate of one or more of the first extracorporeal circuit and the second extracorporeal circuit, though Freedman discloses controlling the pumps and related flow rates of the pumps in the first and second extracorporeal circuits (see col. 7, ll. 19-26).
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘966 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘966 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Bernard discloses it is well known in an extracorporeal blood circuit to have a controller control the desired blood flow based on the blood pumps, therefore having the controller configured to control a flow rate based on the pumps (see para. 84, 142-144, 179). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of Freedman and Ballantyne further include a controller or controlling the speed of the pumps and therefore flow rate throughout the system, this addition disclosed by Bernard, as this would allow for easier settings control by the user (one center – the controller - for control) while still allowing for controlling the pumps and related flow rates of the pumps, shown as desirable by Freedman.
Claim 21, 23-25, and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10, 391, 220, hereinafter ‘220, in view of Ballantyne. ‘220 is disclosed in the December 18, 2023 IDS.
Regarding claim 21, claim 16 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 21 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 16 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 16 of ‘220 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 23, claim 16 of ‘220 and Ballantyne together disclose the biometric verification system to identify the first animal and the second animal as the ones who are being treated by the system, then the verification would confirm the compatibility between the first animal and the second animal as they have already been decided as compatible in being the patient needing dialysis and the donor patient.
Regarding claim 24, claim 16 of ‘220 and Ballantyne as disclosed above do not teach the biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding one or more of the first animal and the second animal.
Ballantyne discloses the monitoring client/biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding the patient (see par. 351, 106-109) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to then have the monitoring client/biometric verification system is in communication with a database containing information regarding the patient to allow the system to alert the user to modifications that may be indicated based on the patient’s allergies, existing medications, or other patient-condition parameters, preferably minimizing the amount of typed input from a user (see par. 43).
Regarding claim 25, Ballantyne further discloses the biometric verification system includes a retinal scanner (see par. 351).
Regarding claim 31, claim 16 of ‘220 discloses all limitations required by claim 31 (dialysis inherently requires removal of metabolic waste and excess water via filtration of blood) except claim 16 of ‘220 does not disclose a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 1 of ‘556 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 1 of ‘220 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Claims 35-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 12-13, 15-16, 18, and 22 of ‘220 in view of Tanenbaum.
Regarding claim 22, claim 16 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 22 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and a controller in communication with the biometric verification system and one or more other components of the system, the controller configured to prevent or stop operation of the one or more other components of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal from the biometric verification system.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67).
Tenenbaum discloses a controller in communication with the biometric verification system and one or more other components of the system (see par. 72-73). Tenenbaum discloses control buttons that can be operated by a user to terminate dialysis treatment (see par. 69) as well as the recognize and process voice commands to control the dialysis treatment (see par. 72-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the termination of dialysis treatment be via recognized and processed voice commands, as Tenenbaum teaches termination of treatment being a control and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67). This would cause the controller to be configured to prevent or stop operation of the one or more other components of the system upon receipt of the predetermined signal for termination from the biometric verification system.
Regarding claim 27, claim 16 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 27 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67).
Tenenbaum further discloses the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system (see par. 73-76, voice recognition occurs before following directions from voice). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the biometric verification system is configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal at least once during operation of the system allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, as disclosed by Tenenbaum, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tenenbaum, par. 67).
Regarding claim 35, claim 9 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 35 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and a semipermeable membrane between the first side and second side that is structurally configured for permitting passage of one or molecules therethrough.
Tanenbaum discloses a semi-permeable membrane between sides separating blood from dialysate within the dialyzer that allows diffusion and osmosis exchanges to take place between the dialysate and blood stream, with the removal of waste products from blood and to regulate levels of sodium and water (see par. 2). It would have been obvious to have a semi-permeable membrane between the two sides such as that disclosed by Tanenbaum in order to result in the removal of waste products and regulate levels like sodium and water, as disclosed by Tanenbaum.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tanenbaum, par. 67). As claim 9 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Tanenbaum provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 9 of ‘220 and Tanenbaum disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 36, claim 12 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 36 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and a semipermeable membrane between the first side and second side that is structurally configured for permitting passage of one or molecules therethrough.
Tanenbaum discloses a semi-permeable membrane between sides separating blood from dialysate within the dialyzer that allows diffusion and osmosis exchanges to take place between the dialysate and blood stream, with the removal of waste products from blood and to regulate levels of sodium and water (see par. 2). It would have been obvious to have a semi-permeable membrane between the two sides such as that disclosed by Tanenbaum in order to result in the removal of waste products and regulate levels like sodium and water, as disclosed by Tanenbaum.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tanenbaum, par. 67). As claim 12 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Tanenbaum provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 12 of ‘220 and Tanenbaum disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 37, claim 13 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 37 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and a semipermeable membrane between the first side and second side that is structurally configured for permitting passage of one or molecules therethrough.
Tanenbaum discloses a semi-permeable membrane between sides separating blood from dialysate within the dialyzer that allows diffusion and osmosis exchanges to take place between the dialysate and blood stream, with the removal of waste products from blood and to regulate levels of sodium and water (see par. 2). It would have been obvious to have a semi-permeable membrane between the two sides such as that disclosed by Tanenbaum in order to result in the removal of waste products and regulate levels like sodium and water, as disclosed by Tanenbaum.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tanenbaum, par. 67). As claim 13 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Tanenbaum provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 13 of ‘220 and Tanenbaum disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 38, claim 15 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 38 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and a semipermeable membrane between the first side and second side that is structurally configured for permitting passage of one or molecules therethrough.
Tanenbaum discloses a semi-permeable membrane between sides separating blood from dialysate within the dialyzer that allows diffusion and osmosis exchanges to take place between the dialysate and blood stream, with the removal of waste products from blood and to regulate levels of sodium and water (see par. 2). It would have been obvious to have a semi-permeable membrane between the two sides such as that disclosed by Tanenbaum in order to result in the removal of waste products and regulate levels like sodium and water, as disclosed by Tanenbaum.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tanenbaum, par. 67). As claim 15 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Tanenbaum provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 15 of ‘220 and Tanenbaum disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 39, claim 18 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 39 except the biometric verification system to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and use of the biometric system and a semipermeable membrane between the first side and second side that is structurally configured for permitting passage of one or molecules therethrough.
Tanenbaum discloses a semi-permeable membrane between sides separating blood from dialysate within the dialyzer that allows diffusion and osmosis exchanges to take place between the dialysate and blood stream, with the removal of waste products from blood and to regulate levels of sodium and water (see par. 2). It would have been obvious to have a semi-permeable membrane between the two sides such as that disclosed by Tanenbaum in order to result in the removal of waste products and regulate levels like sodium and water, as disclosed by Tanenbaum.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tanenbaum, par. 67). As claim 18 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Tanenbaum provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 18 of ‘220 and Tanenbaum disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Regarding claim 40, claim 22 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 40 except the biometric verification system to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and use of the biometric system and a semipermeable membrane between the first side and second side that is structurally configured for permitting passage of one or molecules therethrough.
Tanenbaum discloses a semi-permeable membrane between sides separating blood from dialysate within the dialyzer that allows diffusion and osmosis exchanges to take place between the dialysate and blood stream, with the removal of waste products from blood and to regulate levels of sodium and water (see par. 2). It would have been obvious to have a semi-permeable membrane between the two sides such as that disclosed by Tanenbaum in order to result in the removal of waste products and regulate levels like sodium and water, as disclosed by Tanenbaum.
Tenenbaum discloses a dialysis system (see par. 1) with a biometric verification system configured to identify a user of the dialysis system to determine a permission for use of the system (see par. 6, 8, 73-74). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system of Freedman include a biometric system like that of Tenenbaum allowing for identification of the user/patient of the system and allowing for the user to control the machine without touching the machine, thereby eliminating the need for the user to wear gloves and/or reducing the risk of facilitating the spread of infection that is more likely to occur when using a touch-based input device (see Tanenbaum, par. 67). As claim 22 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Tanenbaum provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 22 of ‘220 and Tanenbaum disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Claim 26 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of ‘220 in view of Ballantyne and in view of Lee. Citations below are to the English Translation provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 26, claim 16 of ‘220 discloses all limitations required by claim 26 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and the system is structurally configured to concurrently identify the first animal and the second animal.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 16 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 16 of ‘220 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Lee discloses a biometric authentication apparatus with authentication succeeds when two people simultaneously (concurrently) both succeed in authentication (see Abstract; page 4, par. 2-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the two people authenticating via biometric verification of the system of Freedman and Ballantyne be authenticated/verified simultaneously, as disclosed by Lee, in order to predictably ensure that all patients are verified, adding a level of security in use of the system.
Claims 28-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of ‘220 in view of Ballantyne in view of Storr.
Regarding claim 28, claim 16 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 28 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and the semipermeable membrane has an average pore size allowing for passage of molecules having a molecular weight of between about 70 kilodaltons (kDa) and 140 kDa.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 16 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 16 of ‘220 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Storr discloses liver dialysis to support the liver during conditions of liver failure (see para. 43) and liver dialysis carried out using a dialyzer with a high cut-off dialysis membrane allowing passage of molecules having a molecular weight below 200kDa (see para. 32) in order to remove albumin-bound toxins and inflammatory mediators (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dialysis system be a liver dialysis system in order to treat a patient having liver failure, as disclosed by Storr, and have the dialysis liver dialysis carried out using a dialyzer with a high cut-off dialysis membrane allowing passage of molecules having a molecular weight below 200kDa in order to remove albumin-bound toxins and inflammatory mediators during liver dialysis, as disclosed by Storr. Consequently, molecules between 70 kDa and 140 kDa would be allowed passage through pores of the membrane due to them being smaller than 200kDa.
Regarding claim 29, the molecules would include albumin (see rejection of claim 28 above and para. 44 of specification of current application, showing that albumin can pass if molecular weight allowed passage is greater than 66kDa) and the molecules would include a water-soluble toxin (see rejection of claim 28 and para. 6 of specification of current application, showing that water-soluble toxin can pass if molecular weight allowed passage is greater than 100kDa).
Regarding claim 30, Storr discloses liver failure, and therefore a liver disorder (see par. 43).
Claim 32 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of ‘220 in view of Ballantyne and in view of Kelly.
Regarding claim 32, claim 16 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 32 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and do not disclose the system further comprising a physiological sensor coupled to one or more of the first animal and the second animal; and a controller in communication with the physiological sensor, the controller configured to control operation of the system at least in part based upon a signal from the physiological sensor, and to pause or stop operation of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal from the physiological sensor.
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 16 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 16 of ‘220 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Kelly discloses an extracorporeal blood processing apparatus with a physiological sensor in the form of relative blood volume monitor (see para. 39, 89, 2222, 225) coupled to the one system (it would have to be coupled to the system (see Fig. 11); and a controller in communication with the physiological sensor, the controller configured to control operation of the system at least in part based upon a signal from the physiological sensor (see para. 225), and to pause or stop operation of the system upon receipt of a predetermined signal from the physiological sensor (see para. 225, fluid removal stopped based on unsafe hydration status) and the patient is alerted. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of Freedman and Ballantyne further include a physiological sensor and controller controlling the system in relation to the physiological sensor such as those disclosed by Kelly in order to stop the fluid removal and alert the patient when the hydration status becomes unsafe, as disclosed by Kelly. Due to the coupling of the sensor to the system and the animals to the system in order for dialysis to be performed (see Freedman, Fig. 1), the sensor would be coupled to the animals.
Claim 33 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of ‘220 in view of Ballantyne and in view of Bernard.
Regarding claim 33, claim 16 of ‘220 discloses substantially all limitations required by claim 32 except a biometric verification system configured to identify one or more of the first animal and the second animal to determine a permission for use of the system and do not disclose a controller in communication with the first pump, the controller configured to control a flow rate of one or more of the first extracorporeal circuit and the second extracorporeal circuit, though Freedman discloses controlling the pumps and related flow rates of the pumps in the first and second extracorporeal circuits (see col. 7, ll. 19-26).
Ballantyne discloses a system for patient care including a monitoring client with cameras that are used to allow a patient to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identify of a patient using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment (see para. 351). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system further include cameras that are used to allow patients to communicate with a remote care provider and/or to confirm the identity of the patients using retinal scans prior to commencing a treatment, so as to ensure the right patient receives the treatment, such as disclosed by Ballantyne. As claim 16 of ‘220 discloses two patients (required for parabiotic dialysis) and Ballantyne provides motivation for each patient to be confirmed, it is interpreted that claim 16 of ‘220 and Ballantyne disclose identifying the first animal and the second animal.
Bernard discloses it is well known in an extracorporeal blood circuit to have a controller control the desired blood flow based on the blood pumps, therefore having the controller configured to control a flow rate based on the pumps (see para. 84, 142-144, 179). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of Freedman and Ballantyne further include a controller or controlling the speed of the pumps and therefore flow rate throughout the system, this addition disclosed by Bernard, as this would allow for easier settings control by the user (one center – the controller - for control) while still allowing for controlling the pumps and related flow rates of the pumps, shown as desirable by Freedman.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 34 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if a terminal disclaimer was submitted to overcome the double patenting rejection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art found is Freedman, Ballantyne and Storr, which do not disclose the third chamber contains the semipermeable membrane as Freedman discloses the first and second chambers each including a semipermeable membrane (see cl. 2, ll. 41-58). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to further include an additional semipermeable membrane in the third chamber absent glancing into applicant’s specification, as the purpose of the third chamber in Freedman is to allow the prevention of commingling of blood between the diseased and normal human (see col. 3, ll. 13-15) and the semipermeable membrane attached to the chambers containing blood already filter that going into the third chamber (see col. 3, ll. 29-36).
Conclusion
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781