DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamoto et al. (US 20050189327 A1) in view of Xia et al. (US 20230228032 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kawamoto discloses
An electric discharge machining wire (electrode wire, tittle and abstract), comprising:
a brass (cooper and zinc, Par.0036) containing cooper (Cu) and zinc (Zn) [Par.0036 cited: “…binary alloy of copper and zinc may have an average zinc content per unit volume of 41 to 44%…”] and having a microstructure (alpha. phase crystals and .beta. phase crystals, Par.0040) including an α-phase and a β-phase [Par.0040 cited: “…alpha. phase crystals and .beta. phase crystals…”], and a volume ratio of the α-phase in the brass [Par.0033 cited: “…copper and zinc at a predetermined ratio …”]
However, Kawamoto does not disclose the brass containing 43 mass % or less of zinc (Zn), wherein zinc contained in brass is 42 mass % or more; and a volume ratio of the α-phase in the brass microstructure is greater than 50 vol % and 55 vol % or less.
Xia discloses a brass containing 43 mass % or less of zinc (Zn), wherein zinc contained in brass is 42 mass % or more [Par.0019 cited: “…brass has a mass of copper of between 61 to 75 mass percent compared to the total mass of copper and zinc in the brass …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the brass of Kawamoto, containing 43 mass % or less of zinc (Zn), wherein zinc contained in brass is 42 mass % or more, as taught by Xia, in order to provide an excellent coating.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify a volume ratio of the α-phase in the brass microstructure of Kawamoto, is greater than 50 vol % and 55 vol % or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, in order to improve a method of manufacturing an electrode wire.
Regarding claim 2, Kawamoto discloses
the machining wire has an outer diameter of 0.25 mm [Par.0048 cited: “…electrode wire to a final diameter of about .phi. 0.25 to 0.30 mm…”], and an elongation (EL) [Par.0048 cited: “…elongation at a wire diameter of about .phi. 0.9 mm are respectively 500 to 650 MPa and 15 to 30%…”].
Kawamoto does not disclose the elongation (EL) of 2.0% or more.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the elongation (EL) of Kawamoto, of 2.0% or more, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, in order to improve a method of manufacturing an electrode wire.
Response to Amendment
With respect to Drawing Objection: the new Drawing filed on 08/20/2026 that overcame the Drawing objection.
With respect to Rejection 112b: the amended claim filed on 08/20/2026 that overcame the Rejection 112b.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2, in Remark, filed on 08/20/2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
The newly cited Xia reference discloses a brass containing 43 mass % or less of zinc (Zn), wherein zinc contained in brass is 42 mass % or more [Par.0019 cited: “…brass has a mass of copper of between 61 to 75 mass percent compared to the total mass of copper and zinc in the brass …”]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tominaga et al. (US 4686153) is relevant prior art in field of an electric discharge machining, as shown in fig.2, with an electrode wire has a surface coating layer of a zinc, but does not specific disclose about an α-phase and a β-phase; and a component ratio of the α-phase in the brass is greater than 50 vol % and 55 vol % or less…
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
09/06/2026