DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-19 are pending;
Claims 1 and 10 are currently amended; 2-5, 9,11-14 and 18 are original; claims 6-8 and 15-17 are canceled; claim 19 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-18 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 03/05/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Blomberg simply cannot be construed to teach or make obvious a minimal threshold, primary threshold and secondary threshold” the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As amended, claims 1 and 10 require a minimum threshold that prevents the deformation of the absorber assembly. Blomberg explicitly teaches this limitation at column 4, lines 2-6 where the absorber assembly behaves elastically at forces of about 2 Kilonewtons, thereby preventing deformation below this level.
The amended claims further require a primary threshold that permit deformation of the absorber assembly at about 6 Kilonewtons. Blomberg teaches this condition by disclosing that deformation of the absorber assembly occurs at forces of approximately 6 kilonewtons, which satisfies the claimed primary threshold.
Finally, amended claims 1 and 10 require a secondary threshold is less than or equal to about 8 Kilonewtons. Because this secondary threshold encompasses any force that permits deformation of the absorber assembly between approximately 2 kilonewtons and 8 kilonewtons, Blomberg’s disclosed operating range satisfies the secondary threshold limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Blomberg (U.S. Pat. No. 8550225 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Blomberg teaches an absorber assembly comprising:
an absorber body (Figs. 1-3; 100 or Fig. 8; 100”) configured to deform under one or more loading forces;
a load lock comprising a first counter face (111 or 110”) and a second counter face (108/109 or 108”/109”),
wherein the load lock is configured to prevent deformation of the absorber body when the one or more loading forces are below a minimal threshold, wherein the primary threshold is less than or equal to about 6 kilo-Newtons (Col. 4; lines 2-6);
a primary absorbing part (at annotation 103 or 103”) configured to deform the absorber body such that the absorber body does not exceed a primary threshold, wherein the primary threshold is less than or equal to about 6 kilo-Newton (Col. 4; lines 2-6); and
a secondary absorbing part (at annotation 101 or 101”) configured to deform the absorber body such that the absorber body does not exceed a secondary threshold, wherein the secondary threshold is less than or equal to about 8 kilo-Newton (Col. 4; lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 2, Blomberg teaches a line of deformation (line defined by the periphery of the 100 as shown in Fig. 5) disposed on or within the absorber body, wherein the LOD comprises one or more radii, and wherein the absorber body is configured to deform along the LOD.
Regarding claim 3, Blomberg teaches one or more additional cross-sectional areas (cross-sectional areas taken along thickness plane) disposed on or in the absorber body.
Regarding claim 4, Blomberg teaches the absorber body comprises a nose portion (nose portion at 115) configured to operably engage with one or more notches disposed on or within a rail (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Blomberg teaches the one or more additional cross-sectional areas cross sections (cross-sectional areas along thickness plane of 100) are disposed on or within the absorber body at or near one or more points between the loop portion and the nose portion.
Regarding claim 9, Blomberg teaches an attachment mechanism (130) attached to the absorber body.
Regarding claim 10, Blomberg teaches a fall protection system comprising: an absorber assembly comprising:
an absorber body (Figs. 1-3; 100 or Fig. 8; 100”) configured to deform under one or more loading forces;
a load lock comprising a first counter face (111 or 110”) and a second counter face (108/109 or 108”/109”), wherein the load lock is configured to prevent deformation of the absorber body when the one or more loading forces are below a minimal threshold, wherein the minimal threshold is less than or equal to about 2 kilo-Newtons (Col. 4; lines 2-6);
a primary absorbing part (at annotation 103 or 103”) configured to deform the absorber body such that the absorber body does not exceed a primary threshold, wherein the primary threshold is less than or equal to about 6 kilo-Newtons (Col. 4; lines 2-6); and
a secondary absorbing part (at annotation 101 or 101”) configured to deform the absorber body such that the absorber body does not exceed a secondary threshold, wherein the secondary threshold is less than or equal to about 8 kilo-Newtons (Col. 4; lines 2-6); and
an attachment mechanism (130 or 131) fixedly attached to the absorber body and configured to secure a user to a rail [Fig. 6].
Regarding claim 11, Blomberg teaches a line of deformation (line defined by the periphery of the 100 as shown in Fig. 5) disposed on or within the absorber body, wherein the LOD comprises one or more radii, and wherein the absorber body is configured to deform along the LOD.
Regarding claim 12, Blomberg teaches one or more additional cross-sectional areas (cross-sectional areas taken along thickness plane) disposed on or in the absorber body.
Regarding claim 13, Blomberg teaches the absorber body comprises a nose portion (nose portion at 115) configured to operably engage with one or more notches disposed on or within a rail.
Regarding claim 14, Blomberg teaches the one or more additional cross-sectional areas (cross-sectional areas taken along thickness plane) cross sections are disposed on or within the absorber body at or near one or more points between the loop portion and the nose portion.
Regarding claim 18, Blomberg teaches wherein the attachment mechanism comprises a carabiner (131).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631