DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/27/23, 4/22/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itoh et al. (US 6,225,725 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Itoh teaches an electric motor comprising:
a plurality of structural rings (50, fig 10) that define a plurality of stator teeth (54);
tooth sections formed from stacks of laminations (34, fig 11) that are positioned within each stator tooth (54) of the plurality of stator teeth, wherein the stacks of laminations (34) are positioned between adjacent rings (50) of the plurality of structural rings (fig 11);
bobbins (not show, col 7 ln 39-45) that are positioned over each stator tooth (54);
winding sections (310) that are positioned over each stator tooth (54) and around the bobbins, respectively, wherein the winding sections (310) are coupled together to define a plurality of stator poles (33) that are configured to be selectively energized; and
an outer ring (31, fig 6) that is positioned around an outer circumference of the plurality of stator teeth (54), wherein the outer ring (31) defines a stator core (32) and contains the winding sections (310) within a stator cavity defined between the outer ring (31) and an inner circumference of the plurality of structural rings (50, fig 7).
Regarding claim 10, Itoh teaches a motor comprising:
a plurality of tooth segments (34, fig 3) having a plurality of winding sections (310) and a plurality of bobbins (not shown, col 7 ln 39-45), each tooth segment comprising (34):
stacked tooth laminations (fig 3) that form a core portion (32) and a tooth portion (33);
a bobbin (not shown, col 7 ln 39-45) of the plurality of bobbins that is slidably positioned over the tooth portion (33) of the stacked tooth laminations (34); and
a respective winding section (310) of the plurality of winding sections that is positioned around the bobbin; wherein:
each tooth segment (34) is coupled to two adjacent tooth segments to form a ring (fig 4) with the plurality of tooth segments extending inward; and
the plurality of winding sections (310) are coupled to form at least one phase winding of the plurality of tooth segments (34), wherein the at least one phase winding defines a plurality of stator poles that are configured to be selectively energized (fig 7).
Regarding claim 11, Itoh teaches each tooth segment (34) includes the bobbin and the respective winding section (310) pre-attached when coupled with the two adjacent tooth segments (fig 8).
Regarding claim 12, Itoh teaches an electrically conductive material is wound around the bobbin and the tooth portion (34) to form the respective winding section (310).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buttner et al. (US 10,153,670 B2).
Regarding claim 19, Buttner teaches a method for forming a rotor for an electric motor, the method comprising:
forming rotor laminations (16) having reluctance sections (22) removed from each of the rotor laminations (16);
stacking the rotor laminations (16) to form a rotor body (14,fig 2), wherein connecting webs (26) of the reluctance sections (22) are aligned to define reluctance voids within the rotor body (14);
disposing opposing end caps (32) on the rotor body (14) to enclose the reluctance voids; and
overmolding the rotor body (14) with an overmold material (col 8 ln 1-12), wherein the opposing end caps (32) prevent infiltration of the overmold material into the reluctance voids (22).
Regarding claim 20, Buttner teaches demagnetizing the connecting webs (26) of the rotor body (14) to reduce reluctance of the reluctance sections (22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh in view of Enomoto et al. (2003/0127933 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Itoh teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of an overmold that extends around the outer ring, the winding sections and the plurality of stator teeth.
Enomoto teaches a coil mold piece having an overmold that extends around an outer ring (190), a winding sections (1) and the plurality of stator teeth (21, para [0090]) to add more rigidity/stability to the stator (para [0090]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh’s electric motor with an overmold that extends around the outer ring, the winding sections and the plurality of stator teeth as taught by Enomoto. Doing so would improve rigidity/stability to the stator (para [0090]).
Regarding claim 13, Itoh teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10, except for the added limitation of an overmold is disposed over the plurality of tooth segments to form an overmolded stator.
Enomoto teaches a coil mold piece having an overmold is disposed over the plurality of tooth segments (21) to form an overmolded stator to add more rigidity/stability to the stator (para [0090]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh’s electric motor with an overmold is disposed over the plurality of tooth segments to form an overmolded stator as taught by Enomoto. Doing so would improve rigidity/stability to the stator (para [0090]).
Claim(s) 3-5, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh in view of Kim (US 8,816,550 B2).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Itoh teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claims 1 and 10, except for the added limitation of the winding sections are coupled together by a winding bracket that defines subsets of the winding sections that are in electrical communication with one another.
Kim teaches a busbar of an EPS motor comprising winding sections (11) are coupled together by a winding bracket (200) that defines subsets of the winding sections (211, 212) that are in electrical communication with one another to prevent a welding space that inhibit electric connection so that enhance operational reliability of the motor (col 6 ln 45-48).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh’s electric motor with the winding sections are coupled together by a winding bracket that defines subsets of the winding sections that are in electrical communication with one another as taught by Kim. Doing so would prevent a welding space that inhibit electric connection so that enhance operational reliability of the motor (col 6 ln 45-48).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Itoh in view of Kim teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claims 3 and 14, except for the added limitation of the winding bracket includes a plurality of winding connections that form the subsets of the winding sections, the subsets of the winding sections correspond to phases of the plurality of stator poles.
Kim further teaches a busbar of an EPS motor comprising the winding bracket (200) includes a plurality of winding connections (211, 212) that form the subsets of the winding sections (11), the subsets of the winding sections (211, 212) correspond to phases of the plurality of stator poles to prevent a welding space that inhibit electric connection so that enhance operational reliability of the motor (col 6 ln 45-48).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh in view of Kim’s electric motor with the winding bracket includes a plurality of winding connections that form the subsets of the winding sections, the subsets of the winding sections correspond to phases of the plurality of stator poles as further taught by Kim. Doing so would prevent a welding space that inhibit electric connection so that enhance operational reliability of the motor (col 6 ln 45-48).
Regarding claim 5, Itoh in view of Kim teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 4, except for the added limitation of the plurality of winding connections includes three winding connections that correspond to three phases of the plurality of stator poles.
Kim further teaches a busbar of an EPS motor comprising the plurality of winding connections (211) includes three winding connections (211a, 211b, 211c) that correspond to three phases of the plurality of stator poles to prevent a welding space that inhibit electric connection so that enhance operational reliability of the motor (col 6 ln 45-48).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh in view of Kim’s electric motor with the plurality of winding connections includes three winding connections that correspond to three phases of the plurality of stator poles as further taught by Kim. Doing so would prevent a welding space that inhibit electric connection so that enhance operational reliability of the motor (col 6 ln 45-48).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh in view of Forbes et al. (US 4,712,035 A).
Regarding claim 6, Itoh teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the bobbins and the winding sections are preformed to define a plurality of bobbin assemblies, each bobbin assembly of the plurality of bobbin assemblies including a bobbin member and a corresponding winding section that is disposed on the bobbin member.
Forbes teaches a salient pole core having bobbins (69) and the winding sections (67) are preformed to define a plurality of bobbin assemblies (fig 5), each bobbin assembly of the plurality of bobbin assemblies including a bobbin member (69) and a corresponding winding section (67) that is disposed on the bobbin member to easily assemble and economically manufacture (col 2 ln 23-24).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh’s electric motor with the bobbins and the winding sections are preformed to define a plurality of bobbin assemblies, each bobbin assembly of the plurality of bobbin assemblies including a bobbin member and a corresponding winding section that is disposed on the bobbin member as taught by Forbes. Doing so would easily assemble and economically manufacture (col 2 ln 23-24).
Regarding claim 7, Itoh in view of Forbes teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 6, except for the added limitation of the plurality of bobbin assemblies are slidably installed onto a corresponding stator tooth of the plurality of stator teeth.
Forbes further teaches a salient pole core (35) having the plurality of bobbin assemblies (69) are slidably installed onto a corresponding stator tooth (57) of the plurality of stator teeth to easily assemble and economically manufacture (col 2 ln 23-24).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh in view of Forbes’s electric motor with the plurality of bobbin assemblies are slidably installed onto a corresponding stator tooth of the plurality of stator teeth as further taught by Forbes. Doing so would easily assemble and economically manufacture (col 2 ln 23-24).
Claim(s) 8-9, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh in view of Buttner.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Itoh teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claims 1 and 10, except for the added limitation of a rotor that includes a rotor body defined by a plurality of laminations; and opposing end laminations that are positioned at opposing ends of the rotor body, wherein the opposing end laminations are configured to reduce windage noise during operation of the rotor within a rotor cavity defined within the plurality of stator teeth.
Buttner teaches a rotor for a reluctance motor having a rotor (10, fig 2) that includes a rotor body (14) defined by a plurality of laminations (16), and opposing end laminations (32, fig 3) that are positioned at opposing ends of the rotor body (14), wherein the opposing end laminations (32) are configured to reduce windage noise during operation of the rotor (10) within a rotor cavity defined within the plurality of stator teeth to stabilize the rotor (col 2 ln 29-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh’s electric motor with a rotor that includes a rotor body defined by a plurality of laminations, and opposing end laminations that are positioned at opposing ends of the rotor body, wherein the opposing end laminations are configured to reduce windage noise during operation of the rotor within a rotor cavity defined within the plurality of stator teeth as taught by Buttner. Doing so would stabilize the rotor (col 2 ln 29-30).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Itoh teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claims 1 and 16, except for the added limitation of a rotor having a plurality of reluctance voids defined within a rotor body of the rotor and opposing end laminations that enclose the plurality of reluctance voids within the rotor body.
Buttner teaches a rotor for a reluctance motor having a rotor (10) having a plurality of reluctance voids (22) defined within a rotor body (14) of the rotor (10) and opposing end laminations (32) that enclose the plurality of reluctance voids (22) within the rotor body (14) to stabilize the rotor (col 2 ln 29-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh’s electric motor with a rotor having a plurality of reluctance voids defined within a rotor body of the rotor and opposing end laminations that enclose the plurality of reluctance voids within the rotor body as taught by Buttner. Doing so would stabilize the rotor (col 2 ln 29-30).
Regarding claim 18, Itoh teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17, except for the added limitation of the rotor body includes connecting webs of material that form the plurality of reluctance voids, wherein the connecting webs are demagnetized to decrease a reluctance of the connecting webs.
Buttner further teaches a rotor for a reluctance motor having the rotor body (14) includes connecting webs (26) of material that form the plurality of reluctance voids, wherein the connecting webs (26) are demagnetized to decrease a reluctance of the connecting webs to stabilize the rotor (col 2 ln 29-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh in view of Buttner’s electric motor with the rotor body includes connecting webs of material that form the plurality of reluctance voids, wherein the connecting webs are demagnetized to decrease a reluctance of the connecting webs as further taught by Buttner. Doing so would stabilize the rotor (col 2 ln 29-30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
El-Antably et al. (US 6,509,667 B1) teaches a reluctance rotor and method for manufacturing reluctance rotors having soft magnetic regions and regions with magnetic properties that are dissimilar to those of the soft magnetic region so as to create a flux barrier. The method generally entails producing a magnetic body having a central axis and an outer peripheral surface. The body is composed of concentric regions, at least one of which is a soft magnetic region while at least a second region of the concentric regions is formed of a material with dissimilar magnetic properties to the soft magnetic region. Once formed, the body is divided along radials thereof to form wedge-shaped members, with each wedge-shaped member having coaxial arcuate regions that are portions of the concentric regions of the body. As a result of the manner in which the body is divided, the wedge-shaped members have radial surfaces defined where the wedge-shaped members were divided from the body, and each wedge-shaped member also has a distal surface corresponding to the outer peripheral surface of the body. The wedge-shaped members are then arranged about an axis of symmetry corresponding to the axis of rotation of the rotor, with the distal surfaces of the wedge-shaped members disposed adjacent the axis of symmetry and facing each other, and with the radial surfaces of the wedge-shaped members facing away from the axis of symmetry. The wedge-shaped members are then bonded together and machined if necessary to form the rotor of the reluctance motor.
Ham et al. (US 6,304,018 B1) teaches a stator core for a variable reluctance motor. The stator core having a number of stator lamina joined together in a direction along a longitudinal axis. Each of the stator lamina include a number of circumferentially spaced-apart pole pieces and a circular member joined to each of the pole pieces at an intermediate portion thereof so as to define a flanged portion which extends radially inwardly from the circular member.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834