neNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 8, 2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1, 3-5, 8-15, 17, and 19-20, and cancelled claims 2 and 6. Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 26, 2025. The examiner withdraws the 112(b) rejections and the Specification, Drawings, and Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, and 7-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 9-10, “the length” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the length of the radiator”
In claim 11, “a resonance frequency of the first resonance mode” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the resonance frequency of the first resonance mode”
In claim 13, “a resonance frequency of the third resonance mode” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the resonance frequency of the third resonance mode”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia (CN 108631041 A).
Regarding claim 1, Jia discloses (Fig. 4) An antenna assembly (10), comprising: a radiator (10) comprising a first sub-radiator (130) and a second sub-radiator (120), wherein a coupling gap (120a) is between the first sub-radiator (130) and the second sub-radiator (120), and the first sub-radiator (130) and the second sub-radiator (120) are coupled through the coupling gap (120a); the first sub-radiator (130) comprises a free end (132), a first coupling end (131), a grounding point (grounding point of 130) and a feeding point (131a); the grounding point (grounding point of 130) and the feeding point (131a) are disposed between the free end (132) and the first coupling end (131), the grounding point (grounding point of 130) is grounded, and the feeding point (131a) is located between the grounding point (grounding point of 130) and the first coupling end (131); the second sub radiator (120) comprises a second coupling end (120 end at 120a) and a grounding end (grounding end of 120), the coupling gap (120a) is formed between the second coupling end (120 end at 120a) and the first coupling end (131), and the grounding end (grounding end of 120) is grounded; and the first sub-radiator (130) is configured to generate a first resonance mode under excitation of a signal source ([0025], third electromagnetic wave signal), and a current corresponding to the first resonance mode flows from the first coupling end (131) and the free end (132) to the grounding point (grounding point of 130); a first matching circuit (210), wherein one end of the first matching circuit (210) is electrically connected to the feeding point (131a); and the signal source (190), wherein the signal source is electrically connected to another end of the first matching circuit (210); wherein the first sub-radiator (130) and the second sub-radiator (120) are configured to generate a second resonance mode under excitation of the signal source ([0022], second electromagnetic wave signal), and the first sub-radiator (130) between the grounding point (grounding point of 130) and the first coupling end (131) and the second sub-radiator (120) are configured to generate a third resonance mode under excitation of the signal source ([0022], first electromagnetic wave signal); and a resonance frequency of the first resonance mode, a resonance frequency of the second resonance mode, and a resonance frequency of the third resonance mode increase in sequence ([0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Jia further discloses (Fig. 4) wherein the first resonance mode supports a first frequency band, the second resonance mode supports a second frequency band, the third resonance mode supports a third frequency band ([0027]); and the first frequency band, the second frequency band and the third frequency band are aggregated to form a target application frequency band ([0027]).
Regarding claim 19, Jia discloses (Fig. 4-5) An electronic device (1) comprising: a housing (30); and an antenna assembly (10), comprising: a radiator (10) comprising a first sub-radiator (130) and a second sub-radiator (120), wherein a coupling gap (120a) is between the first sub-radiator (130) and the second sub-radiator (120), and the first sub-radiator (130) and the second sub-radiator (120) are coupled through the coupling gap (120a); the first sub-radiator (130) comprises a free end (132), a first coupling end (131), a grounding point (grounding point of 130) and a feeding point (131a); the grounding point (grounding point of 130) and the feeding point (131a) are disposed between the free end (132) and the first coupling end (131), the grounding point (grounding point of 130) is grounded, and the feeding point (131a) is located between the grounding point (grounding point of 130) and the first coupling end (131); the second sub radiator (120) comprises a second coupling end (120 end at 120a) and a grounding end (grounding end of 120), the coupling gap (120a) is formed between the second coupling end (120 end at 120a) and the first coupling end (131), and the grounding end (grounding end of 120) is grounded; and the first sub-radiator (130) is configured to generate a first resonance mode under excitation of a signal source ([0025], third electromagnetic wave signal), and a current corresponding to the first resonance mode flows from the first coupling end (131) and the free end (132) to the grounding point (grounding point of 130); a first matching circuit (210), wherein one end of the first matching circuit (210) is electrically connected to the feeding point (131a); and the signal source (190), wherein the signal source is electrically connected to another end of the first matching circuit (210); wherein the first sub-radiator (130) and the second sub-radiator (120) are configured to generate a second resonance mode under excitation of the signal source ([0022], second electromagnetic wave signal), and the first sub-radiator (130) between the grounding point (grounding point of 130) and the first coupling end (131) and the second sub-radiator (120) are configured to generate a third resonance mode under excitation of the signal source ([0022], first electromagnetic wave signal); and a resonance frequency of the first resonance mode, a resonance frequency of the second resonance mode, and a resonance frequency of the third resonance mode increase in sequence ([0027]) wherein the radiator (10) is disposed on or in the housing (30).
Regarding claim 20, Jia discloses (Fig. 4-5) wherein the housing (30) comprises a plurality of side frames (310, 330, 320) connected end to end, a connection position between two adjacent side frames is a corner part; the radiator (10) is entirely disposed on at least one side frame; or one part of the radiator is disposed on the at least one side frame, and another part of the radiator is disposed on the corner part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Nishikawa et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0278287 A1), hereinafter known as Nishikawa.
Regarding claim 4, Jia does not specifically teach wherein a current corresponding to the second resonance mode flows from the grounding end to the grounding point and to the free end, and a current corresponding to the third resonance mode flows from the first coupling end to the grounding point and from the second coupling end to the grounding end.
However, Nishikawa teaches (Fig. 14-16 and 21) wherein a current (current of f2) corresponding to the second resonance mode (f2) flows from the grounding end (P7) to the grounding point (P4, 33) and to an end (left end of 1), and a current (current of f4) corresponding to the third resonance mode (f4) flows from the first coupling end (end of 1 by 18) to the grounding point (P4, 33) and from the second coupling end (end of 4 by 18) to the grounding end (P7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Nishikawa to include “wherein a current corresponding to the second resonance mode flows from the grounding end to the grounding point and to an end, and a current corresponding to the third resonance mode flows from the first coupling end to the grounding point and from the second coupling end to the grounding end,” as taught by Nishikawa, for the purpose of reducing specific absorption rate (see also [0082]).
Regarding claim 5, Jia does not specifically teach wherein the second resonance mode comprises a first sub-resonance mode and a second sub-resonance mode, the first sub-resonance mode is generated by the first sub-radiator under excitation of the signal source, and the second sub-resonance mode is generated by the second sub-radiator under capacitive coupling effect of the first sub-radiator.
However, Nishikawa teaches (Fig. 14) wherein the second resonance mode (f2) comprises a first sub-resonance mode (lower f2) and a second sub-resonance mode (upper f2), the first sub-resonance mode (lower f2) is generated by the first sub-radiator (1) under excitation of the signal source (11), and the second sub-resonance mode (upper f2) is generated by the second sub-radiator (4) under capacitive coupling effect of the first sub-radiator (1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Nishikawa to include “wherein the second resonance mode comprises a first sub-resonance mode and a second sub-resonance mode, the first sub-resonance mode is generated by the first sub-radiator under excitation of the signal source, and the second sub-resonance mode is generated by the second sub-radiator under capacitive coupling effect of the first sub-radiator,” as taught by Nishikawa, for the purpose of reducing current crowding and specific absorption rate (see also [0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Jia does not specifically teach wherein a wavelength corresponding to a resonance frequency of the third resonance mode is a second wavelength, and a length of the radiator between the second coupling end and the grounding end is 1/8 to 3/8 times the second wavelength.
However, Nishikawa teaches wherein a wavelength corresponding to a resonance frequency of the third resonance mode (f4) is a second wavelength (λ4, [0078]), and a length of the radiator (4) between the second coupling end (end of 4 by 18) and the grounding end (P7) is 1/8 to 3/8 times the second wavelength ([0078]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Nishikawa to include “wherein a wavelength corresponding to a resonance frequency of the third resonance mode is a second wavelength, and a length of the radiator between the second coupling end and the grounding end is 1/8 to 3/8 times the second wavelength,” as taught by Nishikawa, for the purpose of operating at a desired frequency (see also [0078]).
Regarding claim 14, Jia does not specifically teach wherein the first sub-radiator further comprises a first matching point between the free end and the grounding point; the antenna assembly further comprises a second matching circuit, one end of the second matching circuit is electrically connected with the first matching point, and another end of the second matching circuit is grounded.
However, Nishikawa teaches (Fig. 16 and 21) wherein the first matching circuit (12) comprises a first sub-circuit (12, [0055]) electrically connected to the feeding point (P2), and the first sub-circuit (12, [0055]) is capacitive when operating at a fourth frequency band (f1); and the fourth frequency band (f1) is located in a frequency band corresponding to the first resonance mode (f1), the second resonance (f2) mode and the third resonance mode (f4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Nishikawa to include “wherein the first sub-radiator further comprises a first matching point between the free end and the grounding point; the antenna assembly further comprises a second matching circuit, one end of the second matching circuit is electrically connected with the first matching point, and another end of the second matching circuit is grounded,” as taught by Nishikawa, for the purpose of improving radiation efficiency (see also [0055]).
Regarding claim 15, Jia does not specifically teach wherein the first sub- radiator further comprises a first matching point between the free end and the grounding point; the antenna assembly further comprises a second matching circuit, one end of the second matching circuit is electrically connected with the first matching point, and another end of the second matching circuit is grounded.
However, Nishikawa teaches (Fig. 16 and 21) wherein the first sub-radiator (1) further comprises a first matching point (top point of 13) between the free end (33, left end of 1) and the grounding point (P4); the antenna assembly further comprises a second matching circuit (13), one end of the second matching circuit (13) is electrically connected with the first matching point (top point of 13), and another end of the second matching circuit (13) is grounded (P4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Nishikawa to include “wherein the first sub- radiator further comprises a first matching point between the free end and the grounding point; the antenna assembly further comprises a second matching circuit, one end of the second matching circuit is electrically connected with the first matching point, and another end of the second matching circuit is grounded,” as taught by Nishikawa, for the purpose of improving frequency bandwidth (see also [0046]).
Regarding claim 16, Jia does not specifically teach wherein the second matching circuit comprises a second sub-circuit electrically connected to the first matching point, the second sub- circuit is capacitive when operating in a fifth frequency band, and the fifth frequency band is in a frequency band corresponding to the first resonance mode and the second resonance mode.
However, Nishikawa teaches (Fig. 4, 16, and 21) wherein the second matching circuit (13) comprises a second sub-circuit (C1, L1) electrically connected to the first matching point (top point of 13), the second sub-circuit is capacitive when operating in a fifth frequency band (f2, [0046]), and the fifth frequency band (f2, [0046]) is in a frequency band corresponding to the first resonance mode (f1) and the second resonance mode (f2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Nishikawa to include “wherein the second matching circuit comprises a second sub-circuit electrically connected to the first matching point, the second sub- circuit is capacitive when operating in a fifth frequency band, and the fifth frequency band is in a frequency band corresponding to the first resonance mode and the second resonance mode,” as taught by Nishikawa, for the purpose of improving frequency bandwidth (see also [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Jia does not specifically teach wherein the second sub-radiator further comprises a second matching point between the second coupling end and the grounding end; the antenna assembly further comprises a third matching circuit, one end of the third matching circuit is electrically connected with the second matching point, and another end of the third matching circuit is grounded.
However, Nishikawa teaches (Fig. 16) wherein the second sub-radiator (4) further comprises a second matching point (top point of 16) between the second coupling end (left end of 4) and the grounding end (P7); the antenna assembly further comprises a third matching circuit (16), one end of the third matching circuit (16) is electrically connected with the second matching point (top point of 16), and another end of the third matching circuit (16) is grounded (P7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Nishikawa to include “wherein the second sub-radiator further comprises a second matching point between the second coupling end and the grounding end; the antenna assembly further comprises a third matching circuit, one end of the third matching circuit is electrically connected with the second matching point, and another end of the third matching circuit is grounded,” as taught by Nishikawa, for the purpose of reducing specific absorption rate (see also [0092]).
Regarding claim 18, Jia does not specifically teach wherein the third matching circuit comprises a third sub-circuit electrically connected to the second matching point, the third sub-circuit is capacitive when operating in a sixth frequency band, and the sixth frequency band is in a frequency band corresponding to the second resonance mode and the third resonance mode.
However, Nishikawa teaches (Fig. 16) wherein the third matching circuit (16) comprises a third sub-circuit (16) electrically connected to the second matching point, the third sub-circuit (16) is capacitive when operating in a sixth frequency band (f4, [0085]), and the sixth frequency band (f4, [0085]) is in a frequency band corresponding to the second resonance mode (f2) and the third resonance mode (f4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Nishikawa to include “wherein the second sub-radiator further comprises a second matching point between the second coupling end and the grounding end; the antenna assembly further comprises a third matching circuit, one end of the third matching circuit is electrically connected with the second matching point, and another end of the third matching circuit is grounded,” as taught by Nishikawa, for the purpose of reducing specific absorption rate (see also [0092]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Lin (CN 111244616 A).
Regarding claim 7, Jia does not specifically teach wherein the target application frequency band covers 1.6 GHz to 3 GHz; and/or, the target application frequency band supports an LTE 4G frequency band and a NR 5G frequency band.
However, Lin teaches (Fig. 3) wherein the target application frequency band (Fig. 3) covers 1.6 GHz to 3 GHz ([0067] of machine translation); and/or, the target application frequency band supports an LTE 4G frequency band and a NR 5G frequency band.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Lin to include “wherein the target application frequency band covers 1.6 GHz to 3 GHz; and/or, the target application frequency band supports an LTE 4G frequency band and a NR 5G frequency band,” as taught by Lin, for the purpose of enabling operation in a desired communication technology (see also [0004]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Wong et al. (US Patent No. 10263336 B1), hereinafter known as Wong.
Regarding claim 8, Jia does not specifically teach wherein a length of the radiator between the grounding point and the free end is 1/8 to 3/4 times a length of the first sub-radiator.
However, Wong teaches (Fig. 2A) wherein a length of the radiator (length of 2116) between the grounding point (right point of 2116) and the free end (left end of 2116) is 1/8 to 3/4 times a length of the first sub-radiator (col. 8, lines 41-44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Wong to include “wherein a length of the radiator between the grounding point and the free end is 1/8 to 3/4 times a length of the first sub-radiator,” as taught by Wong, for the purpose of improving performance at desired frequency bands (see also col. 9, line 62 – col. 10, line 6). Such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 9, Jia does not specifically teach wherein the length between the grounding point and the free end is 1/4 to 3/4 times the length of the first sub-radiator.
However, Wong teaches (Fig. 2A) wherein the length (length of 2116) between the grounding point (right point of 2116) and the free end (left end of 2116) is 1/4 to 3/4 times the length of the first sub-radiator (col. 8, lines 41-44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Wong to include “wherein the length between the grounding point and the free end is 1/4 to 3/4 times the length of the first sub-radiator,” as taught by Wong, for the purpose of improving performance at desired frequency bands (see also col. 9, line 62 – col. 10, line 6). Such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 10, Jia does not specifically teach wherein the length between the grounding point and the free end is 3/8 to 5/8 times the length of the first sub-radiator.
However, Wong teaches (Fig. 2A) wherein the length (length of 2116) between the grounding point (right point of 2116) and the free end (left end of 2116) is 3/8 to 5/8 times the length of the first sub-radiator (col. 8, lines 41-44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Wong to include “wherein the length between the grounding point and the free end is 3/8 to 5/8 times the length of the first sub-radiator,” as taught by Wong, for the purpose of improving performance at desired frequency bands (see also col. 9, line 62 – col. 10, line 6). Such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Lee et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0036820 A1), hereinafter known as Lee.
Regarding claim 11, Jia does not specifically teach wherein a wavelength corresponding to a resonance frequency of the first resonance mode is a first wavelength, and a length of the radiator between the grounding point and the free end is 1/8 to 3/8 times the first wavelength.
However, Lee teaches (Fig. 11B) wherein a wavelength corresponding to a resonance frequency of the first resonance mode is a first wavelength ([0170], λ), and a length of the radiator (1110b) between the grounding point (ground) and the free end (right end of 1110b) is 1/8 to 3/8 times the first wavelength ([0170], λ).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Lee to include “wherein a wavelength corresponding to a resonance frequency of the first resonance mode is a first wavelength, and a length of the radiator between the grounding point and the free end is 1/8 to 3/8 times the first wavelength,” as taught by Lee, for the purpose of achieving a desired operating frequency (see also [0170]). Such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 12, Jia does not specifically teach wherein a length of the radiator between the free end and the first coupling end is 1/4 to 3/4 times the first wavelength.
However, Lee teaches (Fig. 11B) wherein a length ([0170], λ/2) of the radiator (1110b) between the free end (right end of 1110b) and the first coupling end (left end of 1110b) is 1/4 to 3/4 times the first wavelength ([0170])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Jia with Lee to include “wherein a length of the radiator between the free end and the first coupling end is 1/4 to 3/4 times the first wavelength,” as taught by Lee, for the purpose of achieving a desired operating frequency (see also [0170]). Such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2845