DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 35 requires a system comprising first and second pressure members having different second maximum angles, wherein the first and second pressure members are interchangeable. However, a system comprising two different interchangeable pressure members is not supported by the disclosure as originally filed. The disclosure supports different embodiments of a pressure member, but does not disclose a system having two different interchangeable pressure members.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 14-16, 23-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biedermann et al. (Pat. No. US 5,672,176) in view of Kishan et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/027228 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 14-16, and 23-27, Biedermann et al. discloses a bone anchoring device (figure 2) comprising: a bone anchoring element 1 comprising a head 3 and a shank 2 for anchoring in bone (figure 2); a receiving part 5 connectable to the head (figure 1 and 2), the receiving part 5 having a first end, a second end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the first and second ends (figure 2), and defining a coaxial passage 9 extending from the first end towards the second end (figure 2); and a monolithic pressure member 20 that is shorter axially than an axial length of the receiving part and that is movable in the passage (figure 1-3), the pressure member 20 comprising a seat 25 for holding the head in the receiving part (figures 1 and 2) and a downwardly directed surface configured to exert a downward pressure on the head to clamp the head in the seat (figure 1); and wherein when the pressure member 20 is in the receiving part 5 with a central axis of the pressure member 20 extending substantially coaxially with the longitudinal axis and when the head 2 is held in the seat, the bone anchoring element 1 is pivotable in at least a first direction at a first maximum angle relative to the longitudinal axis (figure 1) and a second direction opposite the first direction at a second maximum angle relative to the longitudinal axis (figure 1) wherein the pressure memberanchoring element is pivotable in at least a third direction). The seat of the pressure member 20 is expandable to facilitate passing of the head therethrough (figure 1).
Biedermann et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the second angle is smaller than the first maximum angle; wherein the pressure member 20 forms an abutment that limits the pivoting of the bone anchoring element in the second direction; wherein an edge of the opening comprises the abutment; wherein a wall thickness of
Kishan et al. teaches wherein a pressure member 140 comprises an abutment 145 at the distal end thereof which limits pivoting of the bone anchoring element in the second direction, wherein the second maximum pivot angle is smaller than the first maximum angle (figure 4); wherein an edge of the opening comprises the abutment 145 (figure 4); wherein a wall thickness of
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the pressure member disclosed by Biedermann et al. to comprise an abutment that limits the pivoting of the bone anchoring element in the second direction, wherein the second maximum pivot angle is smaller than the first maximum angle; wherein an edge of the opening comprises the abutment; wherein a wall thickness of
Regarding claims 28-34, Biedermann et al. discloses a bone anchoring device (figure 2) comprising: a bone anchoring element 1 comprising a head 3 and a shank 2 for anchoring in bone (figure 2); a receiving part 5 connectable to the head (figure 1 and 2), the receiving part 5 having a first end, a second end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the first and second ends (figure 2), and defining a coaxial passage 9 extending from the first end towards the second end (figure 2); and a pressure member 20 that is shorter axially than an axial length of the receiving part and that comprises an expandable portion that forms a seat for holding the head in the receiving part 5 (figures 1 and 2) and a downwardly directed surface configured to exert a downward pressure on the head when the pressure member is moved axially in the passage to clamp the head in the seat (figure 1); and wherein when the pressure member 20 is in the receiving part 5 with a central axis of the pressure member 20 extending substantially coaxially with the longitudinal axis and when the head 2 is held in the seat, the bone anchoring element 1 is pivotable in at least a first direction at a first maximum angle relative to the longitudinal axis (figure 1) and a second direction opposite the first direction at a second maximum angle relative to the longitudinal axis (figure 1). The seat of the pressure member 20 defines an opening sized for inserting the head 2 into the seat 25 (figure 1). The bone anchoring element 1 is pivotable relative to the receiving part 5 in at least a third direction relative to the longitudinal axis that is different from the first and second directions (figures 1-3- due to the spherical shape of the head and seat, the bone anchoring element is pivotable in at least a third direction). The seat of the pressure member is expandable to facilitate passing the head therethrough (figure 1).
Biedermann et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the second angle is smaller than the first maximum angle; wherein a wall thickness of the pressure member is greater in the second direction than in the first direction; wherein an edge of the opening forms an abutment that limits the pivoting of the bone anchoring element in the second direction; wherein the pressure member is configured to extend out of the second end of the receiving part; wherein the second maximum angle is substantially 0° relative to the longitudinal axis;
Kishan et al. teaches wherein a pressure member 140 comprises an abutment 145 at the distal end thereof which limits pivoting of the bone anchoring element in the second direction, wherein the second maximum pivot angle is smaller than the first maximum angle (figure 4); wherein a wall thickness of (figure 4); wherein the seat of the pressure member defines an opening that has a non-circular profile (figure 1); wherein an edge of the opening forms the abutment 145 that limits the pivoting of the bone anchoring element in the second direction (figure 4); wherein the pressure member 140 is configured to extend out of the second end of the receiving part 120 (figure 4); wherein the second maximum angle is substantially 0° relative to the longitudinal axis (figures 4 and 5). Kishan et al. teaches that it is advantageous for the pressure member to comprise the abutment in order to inhibit the screw from pivoting in a desired direction, which facilitates manipulation and realignment of the spine (paragraphs 0012 and 0040).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the pressure member disclosed by Biedermann et al. to comprise an abutment that limits the pivoting of the bone anchoring element in the second direction, wherein a wall thickness of the pressure member is greater in the second direction than in the first direction; wherein an edge of the opening forms the abutment that limits the pivoting of the bone anchoring element in the second direction; wherein the pressure member is configured to extend out of the second end of the receiving part; wherein the second maximum angle is substantially 0° relative to the longitudinal axis, as taught by Kishan et al., in order to inhibit the screw from pivoting in a desired direction, which facilitates manipulation and realignment of the spine (paragraphs 0012 and 0040).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10, 11, 14-16, 23-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LYNNSY M SUMMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773