DETAILED ACTION
1. The Amendment filed 07/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 & 11-20 in the application remain pending. Claims 1 & 13 were amended. Claim 10 was cancelled. Claim 16-20 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections
4. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 112(b), of claim 13 are withdrawn per amendments of claim 13.
5. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Miyashita (US 20060158821 A1) of claim 10 are withdrawn per cancellation of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-6, 8-9 & 11-15 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyashita (US 20060158821 A1) hereinafter Miyashita (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Miyashita are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 1, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), comprising:
a first plate (1) having a first surface (see fig 1, top surface) and a second surface (see fig 1, bottom surface) facing each other and a first hole (1f) extending from the first surface (see fig 1, top surface) in the direction of the second surface (see fig 1, bottom surface) ([0051]-[0053]; fig 1);
a second plate (3) on the first surface (see fig 1, top surface) of the first plate (1) and having a groove (4a) corresponding to the first hole (1f) ([0051]-[0053]; fig 1);
a coupling bolt (9) inserted through the first hole (1f) in the first plate (1) and into the groove (4a) in the second plate (3) to couple the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) together (see fig 1) ([0051]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1); and
a height adjusting member (10+2) spaced apart from the coupling bolt (9) in a plan view (see fig 1) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 2, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the first plate (1) has a second hole (1g) extending from the first surface (see fig 1, top surface) in the direction of the second surface (see fig 1, bottom surface) and spaced apart from the groove (4a) in the plan view (see fig 1), and wherein the height adjusting member (10+2) comprises a height adjusting bolt (see fig 1) inserted into the second hole (1g) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 3, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein a length of the height adjusting bolt (see fig 1) exposed through the first plate (1) is shorter than (see fig 1) a length of the coupling bolt (9) exposed through the first plate (1) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 4, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the height adjusting member (10+2) further comprises a washer (2) on the height adjusting bolt (see fig 1) ([0051]; [0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0059]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 5, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the height adjusting member (10+2) is a spacer (see fig 1) between the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 6, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the spacer (see fig 1) comprises an inorganic insulating material ([0026]-[0027]; [0029]-[0032]; [0035]-[0037]; [0040]).
As regards to claim 8, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the height adjusting member (10+2) contacts (see fig 1) the second plate (3) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 9, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the second plate (3) is spaced apart (see fig 1) from the first plate (1) by the height adjusting member (10+2) ([0053]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 11, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the first plate (1) has a protrusion (1d) protruding from the first surface (see fig 1, top surface) toward the second plate (3) ([0052]-[0054]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 12, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) comprise at least one selected from a metal material ([0026]-[0027]; [0029]-[0032]; [0035]-[0037]; [0040]; [0051]-[0054]; [0062]).
As regards to claim 13, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) comprise a same metal material as each other ([0026]-[0027]; [0029]-[0032]; [0035]-[0037]; [0040]; [0051]-[0054]; [0062]).
As regards to claim 14, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), further comprising a base frame (17) electrically supporting the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) ([0053]-[0057]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 15, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the base frame (17) has an opening (16), and wherein the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) are in contact with the opening (16) ([0053]-[0057]; fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita as applied to claim 6 above.
As regards to claim 7, Miyashita discloses an electrostatic chuck unit (abs; fig 1-3), wherein the spacer (see fig 1) comprises an inorganic insulating material ([0026]-[0027]; [0029]-[0032]; [0035]-[0037]; [0040]), however Miyashita does not disclose wherein the spacer (see fig 1) comprises a same material as the first plate and the second plate. However, Miyashita discloses made of an electrically insulating material so that the annular electrode member and the chuck main body can be kept in the electrically insulating state. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to comprises a same material as the first plate and the second plate so that the annular electrode member and the chuck main body can be kept in the electrically insulating state with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
(a) Applicant respectfully submits that Miyashita fails to disclose at least “a coupling bolt inserted through the first hole in the first plate and into the groove in the second plate to couple the first plate and the second plate together” as recited in amended claim 1. Applicant respectfully submits that the positioning conducting pin 9 of Miyashita is not a "coupling bolt" as recited. Pins are smooth shaft-like members while bolts have threaded ends to provide axial coupling, which pins cannot provide. Pins 9 are not inserted through a hole in the chuck main body 1 but are merely inserted into a grooves 1f in the chuck main body 1. The pins 9 do not couple the toric electrode member 3 and the chuck main body 1 together, rather, the adhesive 2 provides that function.
(b) Claims 2-9 and 11-15 each depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 1, these claims each incorporate all of the terms and features of amended claim 1, in addition to other features, which together further patentably distinguish these claims over the art of record.
9. In response to applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments.
(a) Merriam-Webster defines couple as follows: something that joins or links two things together.
Merriam-Webster defines bolt as follows: a metal rod or pin for fastening objects together.
As already discussed above in detail in regards to claim 1 and as clearly seen in fig 1, Miyashita teaches a coupling bolt (9) inserted through the first hole (1f) in the first plate (1) and into the groove (4a) in the second plate (3) to couple the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) together (see fig 1) ([0051]-[0054]; [0056]; [0061]-[0063]; fig 1).
That is, coupling bolt (9) joins or links the first plate (1) and the second plate (3) fastening them together via the first hole (1f) in the first plate (1) and into the groove (4a) in the second plate (3).
Further, Applicants arguments are not commensurate with the breadth of the currently amended claims. Applicant is reminded that the transition phase “comprising” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP 2111.03. Thus, the chuck unit of Miyashita can contain additional adhesive 2 and any other additional unrecited elements or structural features.
(b) In view of the foregoing, Examiner respectfully contends the limitations of claim 1 are indeed satisfied. Claims 2-9 and 11-15 are rejected at least based on their dependency from claim 1, as well as for their own rejections on the merits, respectively.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717