DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 2. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 3. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 4. Claim s 1, 2, 11, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2009/0303902 A1, hereinafter “Liu”) . Regarding claim 1 , Liu teaches a method, comprising: transmitting, by a node included in a mesh network using unicast, a first request to join a multicast group to a multicast group leader of the multicast group ( fig s . 1 , 2A-4C , ¶ [0023], If the joining member node obtains the multicast group leader's IEEE 802.11 MAC address from its multicast information base from one or more GDREs, it then sends a JOIN message with an acknowledgement flag set at 130 towards the multicast group leader of the multicast group in unicast . The JOIN message is forwarded hop-by-hop towards the multicast group leader establishing the routes in each intermediate node through which it passes ) ; a nd in response to determining that no message acknowledging the first request has been received from the multicast group leader , broadcasting , by the node, a second request to join the multicast group ( fig. 1, ¶ [0023], If the joining member does not receive the Join Acknowledgment ( JACK ) message within a specific period, it retransmits the JOIN message with the acknowledgement flag set. If no reply is received after pre-determined maximum number of retries, the joining member returns to the group discovery phase. ¶ [0022], the joining node broadcasts a Group Discovery (GDIS) message across the network at 115 ) . Regarding claim 11 , Liu teaches one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors ( ¶ [0037] ) of a first networking device in a mesh network ( e.g., node N in figs. 2A-2D ), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: sending a unicast message to a leader networking device of a multicast group, the unicast message including a first join request for the multicast group ( fig s . 1 , 2A-4C , ¶ [0023], If the joining member node obtains the multicast group leader's IEEE 802.11 MAC address from its multicast information base from one or more GDREs, it then sends a JOIN message with an acknowledgement flag set at 130 towards the multicast group leader of the multicast group in unicast . The JOIN message is forwarded hop-by-hop towards the multicast group leader establishing the routes in each intermediate node through which it passes ); and in response to determining that an acknowledgment to the first join request has not been received from the leader networking device, broadcasting a broadcast message to the leader networking device, the broadcast message including a second join request for the multicast group ( fig. 1, ¶ [0023], If the joining member does not receive the Join Acknowledgment (JACK) message within a specific period, it retransmits the JOIN message with the acknowledgement flag set. If no reply is received after pre-determined maximum number of retries, the joining member returns to the group discovery phase. ¶ [0022], the joining node broadcasts a Group Discovery (GDIS) message across the network at 115 ). Regarding claim 17 , Liu teaches a node device ( e.g., node N in figs. 2A-2D ) in a mesh network ( figs. 1-4C ), the node device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors ( ¶ [0037] ) , cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: in response to receiving an advertisement for a multicast group from a leader device of a multicast group ( figs. 1-2D, ¶ [0020], The multicast group leader periodically floods the Group Hello (GHLO) message across the mesh network. The Group Hello (GHLO) message contains the multicast group information . Each node in the wireless mesh network also maintains a multicast information base (MIB) to store the information of the active multicast groups in the mesh network received from GHLOs, which means that a node desiring to join a multicast group can do so virtually immediately . Claim 8 ), transmitting, via unicast to the leader device, a first multicast join message for the multicast group ( fig s . 1 , 2A-4C , ¶ [0023], If the joining member node obtains the multicast group leader's IEEE 802.11 MAC address from its multicast information base from one or more GDREs, it then sends a JOIN message with an acknowledgement flag set at 130 towards the multicast group leader of the multicast group in unicast . The JOIN message is forwarded hop-by-hop towards the multicast group leader establishing the routes in each intermediate node through which it passes ); and in response to determining that a multicast join acknowledgment message has not been received from the leader device, broadcasting a second multicast join message to the leader device ( fig. 1, ¶ [0023], If the joining member does not receive the Join Acknowledgment (JACK) message within a specific period, it retransmits the JOIN message with the acknowledgement flag set. If no reply is received after pre-determined maximum number of retries, the joining member returns to the group discovery phase. ¶ [0022], the joining node broadcasts a Group Discovery (GDIS) message across the network at 115 ). Regarding claim s 2 and 12 , Liu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the node, a multicast advertisement message from the multicast group leader ( figs. 1-2D, ¶ [0020], The multicast group leader periodically floods the Group Hello (GHLO) message across the mesh network. The Group Hello (GHLO) message contains the multicast group information, including the multicast group's IEEE 802.11 MAC address, its leader's IEEE 802.11 MAC address, the optional layer 3 information of the multicast group leader (e.g. IP address) and the sequence number. Each node in the wireless mesh network also maintains a multicast information base (MIB) to store the information of the active multicast groups in the mesh network received from GHLOs, which means that a node desiring to join a multicast group can do so virtually immediately . Claim 8 ); wherein the transmitting of the first request /unicast message is in response to receiving the multicast advertisement message ( ¶ [0022], when a node wants to join a multicast group, the node checks its multicast information base for the group information according to the group's IEEE 802.11 MAC address at 105. ¶ [0023], If the joining member node obtains the multicast group leader's IEEE 802.11 MAC address from its multicast information base, it then sends a JOIN message with an acknowledgement flag set at 130 towards the multicast group leader of the multicast group in unicast. ). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 5. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 6. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 7. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 8. Claim s 3, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Ahmed et al. (US 7,649,884 B1, hereinafter “Ahmed”). Regarding claim 3 , Liu teaches the method of claim 2 . Liu does not explicitly teach further comprising: adding, by the node, an address of the node to the multicast advertisement message to generate an updated multicast advertisement message; and transmitting, by the node, the updated multicast advertisement message to one or more neighbor nodes. Ahmed teaches adding, by the node, an address of the node to the multicast advertisement message to generate an updated multicast advertisement message; and transmitting, by the node, the updated multicast advertisement message to one or more neighbor nodes ( figs. 4B, 5, col. 16, lines 39-50, The FORWARD NODE LIST is a list of all nodes that a message traverses in the forward direction, starting from a root to reach its destination (in general a group member node). The BACKWARD NODE LIST is a list of all nodes that a message traverses in a return path from the destination back to the root node. C ol . 17, tables 1-2, col. 18, table 3, lines 27-52, the nodes 402 and 408 select an ADVERTISEMENT message with the best possible forward path from all received ADVERTISEMENT messages, append their address in the selected ADVERTISEMENT message, update the FORWARD NODE LIST and the BACKWARD NODE LIST portions of their routing table as illustrated in the above exemplary tables 2 and 3, and forward the message along the best next hop . Col. 19-20, tables 4-7 ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to add, by the node, an address of the node to the multicast advertisement message to generate an updated multicast advertisement message; and transmit, by the node, the updated multicast advertisement message to one or more neighbor nodes in the system of Liu to enable reliable and fault-tolerant multicasting with small overhead for tracking a path for construction and maintenance of a multicast route ( col. 2. Lines 44-58 of Ahmed ). Regarding claim 13 , Liu teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 12. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: recording an address of the first networking device in an address vector included in the advertisement message; and sending, to one or more networking devices that are neighbors to the first networking device, the advertisement message with the recorded address of the first networking device. Ahmed teaches recording an address of the first networking device in an address vector included in the advertisement message; and sending, to one or more networking devices that are neighbors to the first networking device, the advertisement message with the recorded address of the first networking device ( figs. 4B, 5, col. 16, lines 39-50, The FORWARD NODE LIST is a list of all nodes that a message traverses in the forward direction, starting from a root to reach its destination (in general a group member node). The BACKWARD NODE LIST is a list of all nodes that a message traverses in a return path from the destination back to the root node. C ol . 17, tables 1-2, col. 18, table 3, lines 27-52, the nodes 402 and 408 select an ADVERTISEMENT message with the best possible forward path from all received ADVERTISEMENT messages, append their address in the selected ADVERTISEMENT message, update the FORWARD NODE LIST and the BACKWARD NODE LIST portions of their routing table as illustrated in the above exemplary tables 2 and 3, and forward the message along the best next hop . Col. 19-20, tables 4-7 ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to record an address of the first networking device in an address vector included in the advertisement message; and to send, to one or more networking devices that are neighbors to the first networking device, the advertisement message with the recorded address of the first networking device in the system of Liu to enable reliable and fault-tolerant multicasting with small overhead for tracking a path for construction and maintenance of a multicast route ( col. 2. Lines 44-58 of Ahmed ). Regarding claim 18 , Liu teaches the node device of claim 17. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: adding an address of the node device to an ordered list of addresses included in the advertisement, the ordered list of addresses indicating a path followed by the advertisement through the mesh network; and transmitting, to one or more neighboring devices of the node device, the advertisement with the address of the node device. Ahmed teaches adding an address of the node device to an ordered list of addresses included in the advertisement, the ordered list of addresses indicating a path followed by the advertisement through the mesh network; and transmitting, to one or more neighboring devices of the node device, the advertisement with the address of the node device ( figs. 4B, 5, col. 16, lines 39-50, The FORWARD NODE LIST is a list of all nodes that a message traverses in the forward direction, starting from a root to reach its destination (in general a group member node). The BACKWARD NODE LIST is a list of all nodes that a message traverses in a return path from the destination back to the root node. C ol . 17, tables 1-2, col. 18, table 3, lines 27-52, the nodes 402 and 408 select an ADVERTISEMENT message with the best possible forward path from all received ADVERTISEMENT messages, append their address in the selected ADVERTISEMENT message, update the FORWARD NODE LIST and the BACKWARD NODE LIST portions of their routing table as illustrated in the above exemplary tables 2 and 3, and forward the message along the best next hop . Col. 19-20, tables 4-7 ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to add an address of the node device to an ordered list of addresses included in the advertisement, the ordered list of addresses indicating a path followed by the advertisement through the mesh network, and to transmit, to one or more neighboring devices of the node device, the advertisement with the address of the node device in the system of Liu to enable reliable and fault-tolerant multicasting with small overhead for tracking a path for construction and maintenance of a multicast route ( col. 2. Lines 44-58 of Ahmed ). 9. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Ahmed as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Hughes et al. (US 2009/0116393 A1, hereinafter “Hughes”). Regarding claim 4 , Liu in view of Ahmed te a ches t he method of claim 3 . Liu does not explicitly teach further comprising decrementing, by the node, a hop count limit included in the updated multicast advertisement message. However, it is well known in the art that a request /message forwardable by one or more additional nodes in the mesh network is subject to a maximum hop limit that is updated (e.g., decremented) on each hop , as evidenced by ¶ [0060] and claim 12 of Hughes. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to forward the second request /message forwardable by one or more additional nodes in the mesh network based on a maximum hop limit that is updated (e.g., decremented) on each hop in the system of Liu in view of Ahmed to establish a scope for the broadcast message ( ¶ [0060] of Hughes ). 10. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Wijnands et al. (US 2011/0206045 A1, hereinafter “Wijnands”). Regarding claim 5 , Liu te a ches the method of claim 2 . Liu does not explicitly teach wherein: the multicast advertisement message includes a first path from the multicast group leader to the node followed by the multicast advertisement message; and transmitting the first request comprises specifying that the first request is to be transmitted using a second path that is a reverse of the first path. W i jnands teaches the multicast advertisement message includes a first path from the multicast group leader to the node followed by the multicast advertisement message; and transmitting the first request comprises specifying that the first request is to be transmitted using a second path that is a reverse of the first path ( fig. 3, ¶ [0024], ¶ [0025], the PE routing device 102 transmits the PIM hello message, with encoded label 350, to a core PE edge router 302 that is configured to replicate a packet (with the PIM hello message) into two packets for transmittal to PE routing devices 101 and 103. The PE routers 101 and 103 in turn, transmit PIM hello messages, with encoded label 350, to CE routing devices 106 and 108, respectively. ¶ [0027] , In an alternate embodiment, the PE routing device 102 can additionally encode a static multicast route with the PIM hello message. Static multicast routes are pre-defined multicast routes that cause packets moving between a source and one or more destinations to take a specified path. The use of this static multicast route may, for example, force a multicast to identify the P2MP label switched path as a preferred reverse path forwarding path. ¶ [0029], ¶ [0030]. Fig. 5, ¶ [0033], the CE routing device 106 transmits a PIM join message 502 to the PE routing device 101 by way of a P2P label switched path. In this PIM join message 502, the CE routing device 106 encodes a label that identifies the particular P2MP label switched path configured to transmit the video feed. As discussed above, the CE routing device 106 (and PE routing device 101) previously received this label from an advertisement. ) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the multicast advertisement message, a first path from the multicast group leader to the node followed by the multicast advertisement message and to transmit the first request specifying that the first request is to be transmitted using a second path that is a reverse of the first path in the system of Liu to utilize conventional techniques in the art ( ¶ [0027] of Wijnands ) . 11 . Claim s 5, 6, 14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Snodgrass (US 2020/0205055 A1). Regarding claim 5 , Liu teaches the method of claim 2. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein: the multicast advertisement message includes a first path from the multicast group leader to the node followed by the multicast advertisement message; and transmitting the first request comprises specifying that the first request is to be transmitted using a second path that is a reverse of the first path. Snodgrass teaches the multicast message includes a first path from the multicast group leader to the node followed by the multicast message; and transmitting the first request comprises specifying that the first request is to be transmitted using a second path that is a reverse of the first path ( fig s. 1A, 3C, 27, 30, ¶ [0082] , The Route Data portion of a network message may be thought of as containing a map of the route (via network devices) a downstream message has taken from an end device to the gateway. The route data therefore also defines the route, in reverse, an upstream message must take from the gateway to a device. ¶ [0166], all downstream messages in an adaptive route network, including join cluster messages, join route messages, and event messages include a record of the route taken to the gateway. ¶ [0169], the gateway's JRM reply (or any other message requiring a reply from gateway 251 or server, or any message initiated by gateway 251 or server, such as updates to settings or firmware) will follow the same route back to the message originator that was initially taken from the originator to gateway 251. ¶ [0170], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0116], ¶ [0123] and ¶ [0139] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the multicast advertisement message, a first path from the multicast group leader to the node followed by the multicast advertisement message and to transmit the first request specifying that the first request is to be transmitted using a second path that is a reverse of the first path in the system of Liu to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060] , ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0 240 ] of Snod grass ). Regarding claim 6 , Liu in view of Snodgrass teaches the method of claim 5. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein : the multicast advertisement message further includes a cost of the first path; and the method further comprises, determining, by the node based on the cost, whether to transmit the first request along the second path. Snodgrass teaches the multicast message further includes a cost of the first path; and the method further comprises, determining, by the node based on the cost, whether to transmit the first request along the second path ( figs. 3C, 27, 30, The CHDM reply will also include the discovered cluster host's number of hops to the respective gateway for that route (0 if the route node is a gateway), and link quality information including both the link between the end computing device and the discovered cluster host as well as quality information concerning the cluster host's route to the gateway. ¶ [0121], Once all replies have been received and acknowledged, the end computing, evaluates the information returned by each cluster host, and selects the cluster host which provides the best overall link quality . ¶ [0123], ¶ [0137] - ¶ [013 9 ] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the multicast advertisement message, a cost of the first path; and to determine, by the node based on the cost, whether to transmit the first request along the second path in the system of Liu in view of Snodgrass to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060] , ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0 240 ] of Snod grass ). Regarding claim 14 , Liu teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 12. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein: the advertisement message includes a first address vector recording addresses of networking devices along a route followed by the advertisement message from the leader networking device to the first networking device; and the operations further comprise including a second address vector in the unicast message to specify a route for the unicast message . Snodgrass teaches the message includes a first address vector recording addresses of networking devices along a route followed by the message from the leader networking device to the first networking device; and the operations further comprise including a second address vector in the unicast message to specify a route for the unicast message ( fig s. 1A, 3C, 27, 30, ¶ [0082] , The Route Data portion of a network message may be thought of as containing a map of the route (via network devices) a downstream message has taken from an end device to the gateway. The route data therefore also defines the route, in reverse, an upstream message must take from the gateway to a device. ¶ [0170], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0116], ¶ [0123] and ¶ [0139] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the advertisement message, a first address vector recording addresses of networking devices along a route followed by the advertisement message from the leader networking device to the first networking device; and including a second address vector in the unicast message to specify a route for the unicast message in the system of Liu to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060] , ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0 240 ] of Snod grass ). Liu in view of Snodgrass does not explicitly teach the second address vector being a reverse of the first address vector. Examiner makes an official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a reverse of the first address vector as the second address vector in the system of Liu. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice. Regarding claim 16 , Liu teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a second unicast message, the second unicast message including a third join request for the multicast group made by a second networking device and an address vector specifying a route for the second unicast message; and sending the second unicast message to a next networking device included in the address vector. Snodgrass teaches receiving a second unicast message, the second unicast message including a third join request for the multicast group made by a second networking device and an address vector specifying a route for the second unicast message; and sending the second unicast message to a next networking device included in the address vector ( figs. 3C, 27, 30, ¶ [0082] , The Route Data portion of a network message may be thought of as containing a map of the route (via network devices) a downstream message has taken from an end device to the gateway. The route data therefore also defines the route, in reverse, an upstream message must take from the gateway to a device. ¶ [0170], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0121], ¶ [0123], An end computing device seeking to join a cluster in an adaptive route network evaluates the discovered cluster host information returned by each responding cluster host (61). The end computing device selects the cluster host which provides the best overall link quality (62) . ¶ [0129], ¶ [0137] , ¶ [0138 ], ¶ [0139] As shown in FIG. 23, hub 255 has determined that route node 001 provides the best overall link quality, and selects route node 001. Hub 255 transmits a Join Route Message (JRM) to the selected route node 001. ¶ [0151] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive a second unicast message, the second unicast message including a third join request for the multicast group made by a second networking device and an address vector specifying a route for the second unicast message; and to send the second unicast message to a next networking device included in the address vector in the system of Liu to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060] , ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0 240 ] of Snod grass ). Regarding claim 19 , Liu teaches the node device of claim 17. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein: the advertisement includes a first ordered list of addresses indicating a path followed by the advertisement through the mesh network; and the operations further comprise: generat ing a second ordered list of addresses; and including the second ordered list of addresses in the first multicast join message to indicate a path for the first multicast join request to follow through the mesh network. Snodgrass teaches the advertisement includes a first ordered list of addresses indicating a path followed by the advertisement through the mesh network; and the operations further comprise: to generate a second ordered list of addresses; and including the second ordered list of addresses in the first multicast join message to indicate a path for the first multicast join request to follow through the mesh network ( fig s. 1A, 3C, 23. 27, 30, ¶ [0082] , The Route Data portion of a network message may be thought of as containing a map of the route (via network devices) a downstream message has taken from an end device to the gateway. The route data therefore also defines the route, in reverse, an upstream message must take from the gateway to a device. ¶ [0166], all downstream messages in an adaptive route network, including join cluster messages, join route messages, and event messages include a record of the route taken to the gateway. ¶ [0169], the gateway's JRM reply (or any other message requiring a reply from gateway 251 or server, or any message initiated by gateway 251 or server, such as updates to settings or firmware) will follow the same route back to the message originator that was initially taken from the originator to gateway 251. ¶ [0170], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0116], ¶ [0123] and ¶ [0139], hub 255 has determined that route node 001 provides the best overall link quality, and selects route node 001. Hub 255 transmits a Join Route Message (JRM) to the selected route node 001. ¶ [0140] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the advertisement, a first ordered list of addresses indicating a path followed by the advertisement through the mesh network, and to generate a second ordered list of addresses, and include the second ordered list of addresses in the first multicast join message to indicate a path for the first multicast join request to follow through the mesh network in the system of Liu to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060] , ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0 240 ] of Snod grass ). Liu in view of Snodgrass does not explicitly teach reversing the first ordered list of addresses to generate a second ordered list of addresses. Examiner makes an official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to generate the second ordered list of addresses by reversing the first ordered list of addresses in the system of Snodgrass . The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice. 1 2 . Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Snodgrass and Bhatti et al. (US 2009/0201844 A1, hereinafter “Bhatti”). Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, by the node, a plurality of multicast advertisement messages from the multicast group leader, wherein respective paths taken by respective multicast advertisement messages from the plurality of multicast advertisement messages are recorded in the respective multicast advertisement messages; determining, by the node based on respective costs of the respective paths, a first path for the first request, the first path being a reverse of a respective path; and including, by the node, the first path in the first request to specify that the first request is to be transmitted using the first path Snodgrass teaches receiving, by the node, a plurality of advertisement messages from the group leader, wherein respective paths taken by respective advertisement messages from the plurality of advertisement messages are recorded in the respective advertisement messages; determining, by the node based on respective costs of the respective paths, a first path for the first request, the first path being a reverse of a respective path with a best overall link quality; and including, by the node, the first path in the first request to specify that the first request is to be transmitted using the first path ( figs. 3C, 27, 30, ¶ [0082] , The Route Data portion of a network message may be thought of as containing a map of the route (via network devices) a downstream message has taken from an end device to the gateway. The route data therefore also defines the route, in reverse, an upstream message must take from the gateway to a device. ¶ [0170], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0116], Each cluster host that receives the CHDM (the so-called discovered cluster hosts) will respond to the CHDM with an CHDM reply. The CHDM reply will also include the discovered cluster host's number of hops to the respective gateway for that route (0 if the route node is a gateway), and link quality information including both the link between the end computing device and the discovered cluster host as well as quality information concerning the cluster host's route to the gateway. ¶ [0121], Once all replies have been received and acknowledged, the end computing, evaluates the information returned by each cluster host, and selects the cluster host which provides the best overall link quality . ¶ [0123], An end computing device seeking to join a cluster in an adaptive route network evaluates the discovered cluster host information returned by each responding cluster host (61). The end computing device selects the cluster host which provides the best overall link quality (62) . ¶ [0129], ¶ [0137] , ¶ [0138] Once all replies have been received and acknowledged, hub 255 will exit the route node discovery algorithm (60). Hub 255 then evaluates the discovered route information returned by each responding route node and select the route node which provides the best overall link quality . ¶ [0139] As shown in FIG. 23, hub 255 has determined that route node 001 provides the best overall link quality, and selects route node 001. Hub 255 transmits a Join Route Message (JRM) to the selected route node 001. ¶ [0151] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receiv e , by the node, a plurality of multicast advertisement messages from the multicast group leader, wherein respective paths taken by respective multicast advertisement messages from the plurality of multicast advertisement messages are recorded in the respective multicast advertisement messages; to determine, by the node based on respective costs of the respective paths, a first path for the first request, the first path being a reverse of a respective path with a best overall quality and include, by the node, the first path in the first request to specify that the first request is to be transmitted using the first path in the system of Liu to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060] , ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0 240 ] of Snod grass ). Liu in view of Snodgrass does not explicitly teach determine, by the node based on respective costs of the respective paths, a first path for the first request, the first path being a reverse of a respective path with a lowest respective cost. Bhatti teaches determine, by the node based on respective costs of the respective paths, a first path for the first request, the first path being a reverse of a respective path with a lowest respective cost ( ¶ [0031] The joining node can receive multiple JREPs, sent by several of GM, GL, or On-Tree nodes, each of which specifies a route to multicast tree along with the cost for that route. The joining node chooses a route with the lowest cost .). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to determine, by the node based on respective costs of the respective paths, a first path for the first request, the first path being a reverse of a respective path with a lowest respective cost in the system of Liu in view of Snodgrass. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice. 1 3 . Claim s 8, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Snodgrass and Cai et al. (US 2013/0114506 A1, hereinafter “Cai”). Regarding claim 8 , Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, by the node, a first multicast join acknowledgment from the multicast group leader for a second node in the mesh network; forwarding, by the node, the first multicast join acknowledgement to the second node according to a path included in the first multicast join acknowledgement; and transmitting, by the node to the multicast group leader. Snodgrass teaches receiving, by the node, a first multicast join acknowledgment from the multicast group leader for a second node in the mesh network; forwarding, by the node, the first multicast join acknowledgement to the second node according to a path included in the first multicast join acknowledgement ; and transmitting, by the node to the multicast group leader ( ¶ [0124], Once the gateway receives the JCM, it transmits a JCM reply back to the end computing device via the same route. ¶ [0140] The selected route node (001 in this example) will then pass the JRM to gateway 251 via the route to the gateway previously determined during its own route node discovery process. In this example, gateway 251 then transmits a JRM reply back to hub 255 via the route from gateway 251, to hub 001, and finally to hub 255.. ¶ [0141] After hub 255 receives the JRM reply from gateway 251, it will update its 1-byte network address and become a member of the route. As shown in FIG. 25, hub 255 is now a route node with a network address of 003 and a link 54 to the next node (route node hub 001 in this example) along the route from route node 003 to gateway 251. Hub 003 (formerly hub 255) can now be a cluster host and may allow one or more end computing devices to join its cluster, as shown in FIG. 25 ) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive, by the node, a first multicast join acknowledgment from the multicast group leader for a second node in the mesh network; to forward, by the node, the first multicast join acknowledgement to the second node according to a path included in the first multicast join acknowledgement in the system of Liu to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060], ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0240] of Snodgrass ). Liu in view of Snodgrass does not explicitly teach transmitting, by the node to the multicast group leader an indication that the node is a multicast forwarder for the multicast group. However, it is well known in the art to transmit by the node to the group an indication that the node is a forwarder for the group , as evidenced by ¶ [0053] (the sensor may announce a duration of its service as a forwarder station) and ¶ [0058] of Cai. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to transmit by the node to the multicast group leader an indication that the node is a multicast forwarder for the multicast group in the system of Liu in view of Snodgrass to utilize conventional techniques in the art. Regarding claim 15 , Liu teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a multicast join acknowledgment for a second networking device in the mesh network, the multicast join acknowledgement including an address vector specifying a route for the multicast join acknowledgement; forwarding the multicast join acknowledgement to a next networking device in the address vector; and sending to the leader networking device. Snodgrass teaches receiving a multicast join acknowledgment for a second networking device in the mesh network, the multicast join acknowledgement including an address vector specifying a route for the multicast join acknowledgement; forwarding the multicast join acknowledgement to a next networking device in the address vector ( ¶ [0124], Once the gateway receives the JCM, it transmits a JCM reply back to the end computing device via the same route. ¶ [0140] The selected route node (001 in this example) will then pass the JRM to gateway 251 via the route to the gateway previously determined during its own route node discovery process. In this example, gateway 251 then transmits a JRM reply back to hub 255 via the route from gateway 251, to hub 001, and finally to hub 255.. ¶ [0141] After hub 255 receives the JRM reply from gateway 251, it will update its 1-byte network address and become a member of the route. As shown in FIG. 25, hub 255 is now a route node with a network address of 003 and a link 54 to the next node (route node hub 001 in this example) along the route from route node 003 to gateway 251. Hub 003 (formerly hub 255) can now be a cluster host and may allow one or more end computing devices to join its cluster, as shown in FIG. 25 ) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive a multicast join acknowledgment for a second networking device in the mesh network, the multicast join acknowledgement including an address vector specifying a route for the multicast join acknowledgement, and to forward the multicast join acknowledgement to a next networking device in the address vector acknowledgement in the system of Liu to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060], ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0240] of Snodgrass ). Liu in view of Snodgrass does not explicitly teach sending to the leader networking device, a message indicating that the first network device is a multicast forwarding device for the multicast group for a specified duration. However, it is well known in the art to transmit by the node to the group an indication that the node is a forwarder for the group for a specified duration , as evidenced by ¶ [0053] (the sensor may announce a duration of its service as a forwarder station) and ¶ [0058] of Cai. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send to the leader networking device, a message indicating that the first network device is a multicast forwarding device for the multicast group for a specified duration in the system of Liu in view of Snodgrass to utilize conventional techniques in the art. Regarding claim 20 , Liu teaches the node device of claim 17. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a multicast join acknowledgment message for a second node device in the mesh network, the multicast join acknowledgement message including an ordered list of addresses indicating a path through the mesh network to be followed by the multicast join acknowledgement message; transmitting the multicast join acknowledgement message to a next node device in the ordered list of addresses. Snodgrass teaches receiving a multicast join acknowledgment message for a second node device in the mesh network, the multicast join acknowledgement message including an ordered list of addresses indicating a path through the mesh network to be followed by the multicast join acknowledgement message; transmitting the multicast join acknowledgement message to a next node device in the ordered list of addresses ( ¶ [0124], Once the gateway receives the JCM, it transmits a JCM reply back to the end computing device via the same route. ¶ [0140] The selected route node (001 in this example) will then pass the JRM to gateway 251 via the route to the gateway previously determined during its own route node discovery process. In this example, gateway 251 then transmits a JRM reply back to hub 255 via the route from gateway 251, to hub 001, and finally to hub 255.. ¶ [0141] After hub 255 receives the JRM reply from gateway 251, it will update its 1-byte network address and become a member of the route. As shown in FIG. 25, hub 255 is now a route node with a network address of 003 and a link 54 to the next node (route node hub 001 in this example) along the route from route node 003 to gateway 251. Hub 003 (formerly hub 255) can now be a cluster host and may allow one or more end computing devices to join its cluster, as shown in FIG. 25 ) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive a multicast join acknowledgment message for a second node device in the mesh network, the multicast join acknowledgement message including an ordered list of addresses indicating a path through the mesh network to be followed by the multicast join acknowledgement message, to transmitting the multicast join acknowledgement message to a next node device in the ordered list of addresses in the system of Liu to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060], ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0240] of Snodgrass ). Liu in view of S nod grass does not explicitly teach transmitting to the leader device, a message declaring that the node device is acting as a multicast forwarder for the multicast group for a declared duration. However, it is well known in the art to transmit by the node to the group an indication that the node is a forwarder for the group for a specified duration , as evidenced by ¶ [0053] (the sensor may announce a duration of its service as a forwarder station.) and ¶ [0058] of Cai. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to transmit to the leader networking device, a message indicating that the first network device is a multicast forwarding device for the multicast group for a specified duration in the system of Liu in view of Snodgrass to utilize conventional techniques in the art. 1 4 . Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Hughes . Regarding claim 9 , Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the second request is forwardable by one or more additional nodes in the mesh network subject to a maximum hop limit. However, it is well known in the art that a request forwardable by one or more additional nodes in the mesh network is subject to a maximum hop limit, as evidenced by ¶ [0060] and claim 12 of Hughes. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to forward the second request forwardable by one or more additional nodes in the mesh network based on a maximum hop limit in the system of Liu to establish a scope for the broadcast message ( ¶ [0060] of Hughes ). 1 5 . Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Hughes as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Snodgrass. Regarding claim 10 , Liu in view of Hughes teaches th e method of claim 9 . Liu does not explicitly teach comprising; receiving, by the node, a third request from a second node in the mesh network to join the multicast group; and forwarding, by the node, the third request to the multicast group leader according to a path included in the third request. Snodgrass teaches receiving, by the node, a third request from a second node in the mesh network to join the group; and forwarding, by the node, the third request to the group leader according to a path included in the third request ( figs. 3C, 27, 30, ¶ [0082] , The Route Data portion of a network message may be thought of as containing a map of the route (via network devices) a downstream message has taken from an end device to the gateway. The route data therefore also defines the route, in reverse, an upstream message must take from the gateway to a device. ¶ [0170], ¶ [0171], ¶ [0121], ¶ [0123], An end computing device seeking to join a cluster in an adaptive route network evaluates the discovered cluster host information returned by each responding cluster host (61). The end computing device selects the cluster host which provides the best overall link quality (62) . ¶ [0129], ¶ [0137] , ¶ [0138] , ¶ [0139] As shown in FIG. 23, hub 255 has determined that route node 001 provides the best overall link quality, and selects route node 001. Hub 255 transmits a Join Route Message (JRM) to the selected route node 001. ¶ [0140], ¶ [0151] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive, by the node, a third request from a second node in the mesh network to join the multicast group; and to forward, by the node, the third request to the multicast group leader according to a path included in the third request in the system of Liu in view of Hughes to further enhance industrial applicability ( ¶ [0060] , ¶ [0062] and ¶ [0 240 ] of Snod grass ). Double Patenting 16. The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to pre