DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted August 8, 2023 and January 21, 2025 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 16, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishinaka et al. US-20130022865-A1 (hereinafter “Nishinaka”).
Regarding Claim 1, Nishinaka discloses an electrode plate 10 in Fig. 5, comprising
an insulating substrate (insulating resin layer) 13 in Fig. 5 (see paragraph [0047]);
a conductive layer (metal layer) 14, arranged on a surface of the insulating substrate 13 in Fig. 5 (see paragraph [0048]);
an active material layer 12, applied on a surface of the conductive layer 14 away from the insulating substrate 13 in Fig. 5 (see paragraphs [0047]-[0048]),
wherein
the conductive layer 14 comprises a first part coated with the active material layer 12 and a second part (exposed part) 11a not coated with the active material layer 12, and the first part and the second part are arranged along a first direction in Figs. 5 and 6 (see paragraph [0073]); and
the conductive layer has a resistivity of ρ1, a specific heat capacity of C, a density of ρ2, and a constant K=ρ1/(C∙ρ2) (a skilled artisan would recognize these are properties of metals and as such would be properties of the metal conductive layer).
Nishinaka further discloses the positive electrode may comprise aluminum foil with a d1 thickness (corresponding to d1) of 4-20 µm and a length of the coated part (corresponding with the W measurement) of 280 mm (see paragraphs [0049], [0072], and [0130]-[0131]). Based on the resistivity, heat capacity, and density of copper foil, K=0.0120 (Ω∙mm4∙°C)/J (as disclosed in paragraph [0162] of the published instant application), and therefore d1/(K∙W) ranges from 0.0012-0.0060 J/(Ω∙mm4∙°C). This falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of 0.001 J/(Ω∙mm4∙°C)≤ d1/(K∙W)≤0.0075 J/(Ω∙mm4∙°C).
Regarding Claim 2, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above). Nishinaka further discloses the thickness of the aluminum foil may be 6.5 µm (see paragraphs [0130]-[0131]). This would result in d1/(K∙W) being 0.002 J/(Ω∙mm4∙°C), which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of 0.002 J/(Ω∙mm4∙°C)≤ d1/(K∙W)≤0.003 J/(Ω∙mm4∙°C).
Regarding Claim 4, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above). Nishinaka further discloses the electrode plate further comprising a tab 41 in Fig. 6 (see paragraph [0073]), wherein
the tab is welded to the second part 11a to form a first welding portion in Fig. 6 (see paragraphs [0073], [0097], and [0100]); and
in the first direction, an end of the tab facing away from the active material layer 12 protrudes from the second part 11a in Fig. 6 (see paragraphs [0073] and [0110]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 4 (see rejection of Claim 4 above). Nishinaka further discloses the tab has a thickness (corresponding a d2 measurement) of 100 µm, which is greater than d1 (which was 4-20 µm) (meeting Claim 5) (see paragraphs [0049] and [0073]). Further, the tab thickness of 100 µm falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of the tab thickness d2 being 1 µm-100 µm (meeting Claim 6).
Regarding Claim 16, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 4 (see rejection of Claim 4 above). Nishinaka further discloses a battery cell in Fig. 1 (see paragraphs [0003], [0005], and [0043]), comprising:
a casing (external canister) 60 in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0105]);
an electrode assembly (electrode group) 50 accommodated in the casing 60, wherein the electrode assembly 50 comprises the electrode plate 10 according to the aforementioned claim 4 in Fig. 1 (see paragraphs [0024] and [0105]-[110]);
and an electrode lead-out structure (electrode terminal) 64, arranged on the casing 60 and connected to the tab 41 in Fig. 1 (see paragraphs [0105]-[0110]).
Regarding Claim 24, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 4 (see rejection of Claim 4 above). Nishinaka further discloses a battery comprising the battery cell according to claim 16 (see paragraph [0154]).
Regarding Claim 25, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 4 (see rejection of Claim 4 above). Nishinaka further discloses an electrical device, comprising the battery cell according to claim 16, and the battery cell is used to provide electric energy (see paragraph [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7-9, 12, 14-15, 17, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishinaka in view of Zhou et al. CN-208507818-U (US-20220093934-A1 used as translation and cited in PTO-892) (hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding Claim 3, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above).
Nishinaka is silent on wherein d1 is 0.5 μm-5 μm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electrode structures (see abstract), Zhou discloses using a conductive layer with a thickness of 0.1 to 10 μm (corresponding with a d1 measurement) (see paragraph [0039]). This substantially overlaps with and therefore renders obvious the claimed range of wherein d1 is 0.5 μm-5 μm.
Zhou additionally discloses by making conductive layer relatively thin, the burr formed on the conductive layer during the cutting process is too small to pierce the separator having a thickness of dozens of micrometers, thereby avoiding a short circuit and improving safety performance (see paragraphs [0036] and [0039]). So, a skilled artisan would be motivated to lessen the conductive layer thickness to avoid piercing the separator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode plate of Nishinaka wherein d1 is 0.5 μm-5 μm.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 4 (see rejection of Claim 4 above).
Nishinaka is silent on the electrode plate further comprising an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer is connected to the tab and covers at least part of the first welding portion and wherein a part of the adhesive layer is located between the active material layer and the tab in the first direction, applied on the second part, and connected to the active material layer.
However, Zhou discloses an electrode plate 1 comprising an adhesive layer (third protective layer made of insulating glue) 16, wherein the adhesive layer 16 is connected to the tab 13 and covers at least part of the first welding portion (welded zone) W and wherein a part of the adhesive layer is located between the active material layer 12 and the tab 13 in the first direction, applied on the second part 1122 (uncoated protrusion portion), and connected to the active material layer 12 in Figs. 6-7 and 12 (see paragraphs [0003], [0034], [0038], and [0048]-[0049]).
Zhou further discloses the aforementioned structure protects the protrusion portion and separates the separator from the welded zone, thereby improving safety performance and the current passing performance (see paragraphs [0004], [0036], and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode plate disclosed by Nishinaka wherein the adhesive layer is connected to the tab and covers at least part of the first welding portion and wherein a part of the adhesive layer is located between the active material layer and the tab in the first direction, applied on the second part, and connected to the active material layer, as disclosed by Zhou, in order to improve safety performance and the current passing performance.
Regarding Claim 9, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 7 (see rejection of Claim 7 above).
Nishinaka is silent on an insulating layer, wherein at least part of the insulating layer is located on a side of the adhesive layer away from the first welding portion and is connected to the adhesive layer.
However, Zhou discloses an insulating layer (first protective layer made of insulating glue) 14 wherein at least part of the insulating layer 14 is located on a side of the adhesive layer 16 away from the first welding portion W and is connected to the adhesive layer 16 in Figs. 6-7 and 12 (see paragraphs [0003], [0034], [0038], and [0048]-[0049]).
Zhou further discloses the aforementioned structure protects the protrusion portion and separates the separator from the welded zone, thereby improving safety performance and the current passing performance (see paragraphs [0004], [0036], and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode plate disclosed by Nishinaka wherein at least part of the insulating layer is located on a side of the adhesive layer away from the first welding portion and is connected to the adhesive layer, as disclosed by Zhou, in order to improve safety performance and the current passing performance.
Regarding Claim 12, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 4 (see rejection of Claim 4 above).
Nishinaka is silent on the electrode plate further comprising an insulating layer, wherein the insulating layer is connected to the tab and the active material layer and covers at least part of the first welding portion.
However, Zhou discloses an electrode plate 1 comprising an insulating layer 16, wherein the insulating layer 16 is connected to the tab 13 and the active material layer 12 and covers at least part of the first welding portion W in Figs. 6-7 and 12 (see paragraphs [0003], [0034], [0038], and [0048]-[0049]).
Zhou further discloses the aforementioned structure protects the protrusion portion and separates the separator from the welded zone, thereby improving safety performance and the current passing performance (see paragraphs [0004], [0036], and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode plate disclosed by Nishinaka wherein the insulating layer is connected to the tab and the active material layer and covers at least part of the first welding portion, as disclosed by Zhou, in order to improve safety performance and the current passing performance.
Regarding Claim 14, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 9 (see rejection of Claim 9 above).
Nishinaka is silent on wherein in the first direction, the part of the tab protruding from the conductive layer is not coated with an insulating layer.
However, Zhou discloses an electrode plate 1 comprising an insulating layer (first protective layer made of insulating glue) 16, wherein in the first direction, the part of the tab 13 protruding from the conductive layer 112 is not coated with an insulating layer 16 in Figs. 6-7 and 12 (see paragraphs [0003], [0034], [0038], and [0048]-[0049]).
Zhou further discloses the aforementioned structure protects the protrusion portion and separates the separator from the welded zone, thereby improving safety performance and the current passing performance (see paragraphs [0004], [0036], and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode plate disclosed by Nishinaka wherein in the first direction, the part of the tab protruding from the conductive layer is not coated with an insulating layer, as disclosed by Zhou, in order to improve safety performance and the current passing performance.
Regarding Claim 15, Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claim 4 (see rejection of Claim 4 above). Nishinaka further discloses the battery cell may be a wound cell (see paragraph [0155]).
Nishinaka is silent on wherein the tab comprises a plurality of tab portions arranged at intervals along a second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the thickness direction of the electrode plate; and in the first direction, the tab portions protrude from the second part.
However, Zhou discloses a plurality of conductive structures 13 (which have tab portions) are located on the electrode plate, the electrode is wound, and the plurality of conductive structures 13 are welded to a connecting piece 6 in Figs. 3-6 (see paragraphs [0034]-[0035]). As such, a skilled artisan would recognize multiple tab portions as an appropriate structure in the art for producing wound electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode plate disclosed by Nishinaka wherein the tab comprises a plurality of tab portions arranged at intervals along a second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the thickness direction of the electrode plate; and in the first direction, the tab portions protrude from the second part, as disclosed by Zhou, as an appropriate structure for producing electrodes.
Regarding Claim 17, Nishinaka discloses the battery cell according to Claim 16 (see rejection of Claim 16 above). Nishinaka further discloses two conductive layers are provided on two sides of the insulating substrate, respectively in Fig. 5 (see paragraph [0048]).
Nishinaka is silent on the tab comprises a first tab and a second tab, and the first tab and the second tab are welded to the second parts of the two conductive layers, respectively.
However, Zhou discloses a plurality of conductive structures 13 (which have tab portions) are located on the electrode plate, the electrode is wound, and the plurality of conductive structures 13 are welded to a connecting piece 6 in Figs. 3-6 (see paragraphs [0034]-[0035]). As such, a skilled artisan would recognize multiple tab portions as an appropriate structure in the art for producing wound electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode plate disclosed by Nishinaka wherein the tab comprises a plurality of tab portions arranged at intervals along a second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the thickness direction of the electrode plate; and in the first direction, the tab portions protrude from the second part, as disclosed by Zhou, as an appropriate structure for producing electrodes.
Regarding Claim 22, Nishinaka discloses the battery cell according to Claim 16 (see rejection of Claim 16 above). Nishinaka further discloses the battery cell may be a wound cell (see paragraph [0155]).
Nishinaka is silent on wherein the tab is wound in a plurality of turns along the winding direction, and an end of the tab in a plurality of turns facing away from the active material layer is flattened to form an end surface, and the electrode lead-out structure is welded to the end surface.
However, Zhou discloses a plurality of conductive structures 13 (which have tab portions) are located on the electrode plate, the electrode is wound, and the plurality of conductive structures 13 are welded to a connecting piece 6 in Figs. 3-6 (see paragraphs [0015] and [0034]-[0036]). Zhou further discloses the tab may be flattened (bent) such that the space in height occupied by the current guiding portion P and the conductive structure can be reduced, thereby enhancing the energy density of the secondary battery in Fig. 10 (see paragraphs [0015] and [0036]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate way in the art for producing wound electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cell disclosed by Nishinaka wherein the tab is wound in a plurality of turns along the winding direction, and an end of the tab in a plurality of turns facing away from the active material layer is flattened to form an end surface, and the electrode lead-out structure is welded to the end surface, as disclosed by Zhou, to produce a wound electrode with enhanced energy density.
Regarding Claim 23, Nishinaka discloses the battery cell according to Claim 16 (see rejection of Claim 16 above). Nishinaka further discloses the battery cell may be a wound cell (see paragraph [0155]).
Nishinaka is silent on wherein the tab is wound in a plurality of turns along the winding direction; and the tab comprises a plurality of tab portions arranged at intervals along the winding direction, and the plurality of tab portions are bent toward a winding center of the electrode plate to form an end surface, and the electrode lead-out structure is welded to the end surface.
However, Zhou discloses a plurality of conductive structures 13 (which have tab portions) are located on the electrode plate, the electrode is wound, and the plurality of conductive structures 13 are welded to a connecting piece 6 in Figs. 3-6 (see paragraphs [0015] and [0034]-[0036]). Zhou further discloses the tab may be flattened (bent) such that the space in height occupied by the current guiding portion P and the conductive structure can be reduced, thereby enhancing the energy density of the secondary battery in Fig. 10 (see paragraphs [0015] and [0036]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate way in the art for producing wound electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cell disclosed by Nishinaka wherein the tab is wound in a plurality of turns along the winding direction; and the tab comprises a plurality of tab portions arranged at intervals along the winding direction, and the plurality of tab portions are bent toward a winding center of the electrode plate to form an end surface, and the electrode lead-out structure is welded to the end surface, as disclosed by Zhou, to produce a wound electrode with enhanced energy density.
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishinaka in view of Zhou as applied to Claims 9 and 12 above, and further in view of Takada et al. US-20160336553-A1 (hereinafter “Takada”).
Regarding Claims 10-11 and 13, modified Nishinaka discloses the electrode plate according to Claims 9 and 12 (see rejection of Claims 9 and 12 above).
Modified Nishinaka is silent on wherein both the insulating layer and the adhesive layer comprise an adhesive, a weight ratio of the adhesive in the insulating layer to the insulating layer is N1, a weight ratio of the adhesive in the adhesive layer to the adhesive layer is N2, and N1 is smaller than N2 and wherein the insulating layer completely covers the adhesive layer, wherein the insulating layer comprises ceramic particles and an adhesive, and a weight ratio of the adhesive to the insulating layer is greater than or equal to 0.1.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electrode insulating layers (see abstract), Takada discloses a first insulating layer (functioning as an adhesive layer) made of an adhesive resin on an electrode terminal covered by a second insulating layer (meeting Claim 11) made of an adhesive resin, wherein an insulating filler is included in at least one of the layers (see paragraphs [0024], [0130]-[0133] and [0136]). Takada additionally discloses no insulating filler is included in the first insulating layer and 5 wt% of insulating filler is included in the second insulating layer in example A2 (see paragraphs [0371]-[0372] and [0386]-[0387] and Tables 1 and 2 Ex. A2). As such, the weight ratio of the adhesive in the insulating layer to the insulating layer is 95% (0.95) and the weight ratio of the adhesive in the adhesive layer is 100% (thus N1 is smaller than N2) (meeting Claims 10 and 13).
Takada also discloses the insulating filler may be alumina or silica (which the published instant specification identifies as ceramic materials in paragraphs [0184] and [0197]) (meeting Claim 13) (see paragraphs [0147]).
Takada additionally discloses the insulating filler improves anti-blocking properties and insulation properties (see paragraphs [0025] and [0027] and Table 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode plate disclosed by modified Nishinaka wherein both the insulating layer and the adhesive layer comprise an adhesive, a weight ratio of the adhesive in the insulating layer to the insulating layer is N1, a weight ratio of the adhesive in the adhesive layer to the adhesive layer is N2, and N1 is smaller than N2, wherein the insulating layer completely covers the adhesive layer, and wherein the insulating layer comprises ceramic particles and an adhesive, and a weight ratio of the adhesive to the insulating layer is greater than or equal to 0.1, as disclosed by Takada, in order to improve anti-blocking properties and insulation properties.
Claims 18-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishinaka in view of Zhou as applied to Claims 16 and 17 above, and further in view of Tian et al. US-20210288389-A1 (hereinafter “Tian”).
Regarding Claims 18-19 and 21, modified Nishinaka discloses the battery cell according Claims 16 and 17 (see rejection of Claims 16 and 17 above).
Nishinaka is silent on wherein the electrode lead-out structure has a connecting portion, and in the first direction, the connecting portion is located on the side of the first tab away from the active material layer, and the connecting portion abuts against and is welded to the first tab, and abuts against and is welded to the second tab; the connecting portion has a thickness of t, and the first tab in the flattened state protruding beyond the first welding portion along the first direction has a size of h2, and t and h2 satisfy: 2.5≤h2/t≤10; and the second tab in the flattened state protruding beyond the first welding portion along the first direction has a size of h3, and t and h3 satisfy: 2.5≤h3/t≤10 and wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a separator, and the separator is laminated and wound with the electrode plates; and in the first direction, a minimum distance between a surface of the connecting portion abutting against the first tab and the separator is S1, the connecting portion has a thickness of t, and S1≥0.75t.
However, in the same field of endeavor of wound battery (see abstract), Tian discloses a wound battery comprising multiple tabs and a connecting portion disposed between the first uncoated region and the separator, and further discloses if a projection of the first tab overlaps a projection of the ending separator, in order to avoid increasing an overall thickness of the electrode assembly and maintain evenness of the overall thickness of the electrode assembly, the thickness t of the first connecting piece satisfies a formula: t≤(4t1+t2+t3)+(t4+3t6)−t3 and if the projection of the first tab does not overlap the projection of the ending separator, the thickness of the first connecting piece satisfies a formula: t≤(4t1+t2+t3)−(t4+3t6−t3) (see paragraphs [0006]-[0011], [0017]-[0018], and [0064]-[0067]). Tian further discloses to ensure levelness of an innermost coil of the electrode assembly, the first connecting piece does not overlap the ending separator (see paragraph [0064]). As such, based on the teachings of Tian, a skilled artisan can find the optimal thickness of the connecting piece based on the projection of the tab and projection of the separator in order to avoid increasing an overall thickness of the electrode assembly and maintain evenness of the overall thickness of the electrode assembly.
Tian additionally discloses this structure achieves the purposes of enhancing a current-carrying capacity of the battery and reducing a temperature rise while also avoiding excess thickness (see abstract and paragraphs [0019] and [0065]-[0067]). Combined with the teachings of Nishinaka and Zhou, a skilled artisan is capable of determining the optimal dimensions of the separator and bending and welding the tab to the connecting piece.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cell of Nishinaka wherein the electrode lead-out structure has a connecting portion, and in the first direction, the connecting portion is located on the side of the first tab away from the active material layer, and the connecting portion abuts against and is welded to the first tab, and abuts against and is welded to the second tab; the connecting portion has a thickness of t, and the first tab in the flattened state protruding beyond the first welding portion along the first direction has a size of h2, and t and h2 satisfy: 2.5≤h2/t≤10; and the second tab in the flattened state protruding beyond the first welding portion along the first direction has a size of h3, and t and h3 satisfy: 2.5≤h3/t≤10 and wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a separator, and the separator is laminated and wound with the electrode plates; and in the first direction, a minimum distance between a surface of the connecting portion abutting against the first tab and the separator is S1, the connecting portion has a thickness of t, and S1≥0.75t, as disclosed by Tian, in order to achieve the purposes of enhancing a current-carrying capacity of the battery and reducing a temperature rise while also avoiding excess thickness.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishinaka as applied to Claim 16, and further in view of Ishikawa US-20120164503-A1 (hereinafter “Ishikawa”).
Regarding Claim 20, Nishinaka discloses the battery cell according to Claim 16 (see rejection of Claim 16 above). Nishinaka further discloses the battery cell may be a wound cell (see paragraph [0155]).
Nishinaka is silent on wherein the electrode plate is wound in a plurality of turns; and in radial direction of the electrode assembly, a distance between two adjacent turns of the electrode plate is d3, and 0.2 mm≤d3≤0.4 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of wound batteries (see abstract), Ishikawa discloses providing gaps between turns of a wound electrode body to absorb the expansion of the electrode plate but too large of gaps cannot allow sufficient reactions to occur in the curved part in charge/discharge, and the battery capacity may decrease and the electrode plates may become misaligned in an axial direction of the electrode group in transferring the electrode group because the turns are loosely wound and cause a short circuit (see paragraphs [0011], [0015], and [0022]). As such, the size of the gaps between turns is a result effective variable and the discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cell disclosed by Nishinaka wherein the electrode plate is wound in a plurality of turns; and in radial direction of the electrode assembly, a distance between two adjacent turns of the electrode plate is d3, and 0.2 mm≤d3≤0.4 mm, as disclosed by Ishikawa, in order to absorb the expansion of the electrode plate and avoid decreased capacity and short circuits.
Conclusion
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729