DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendments/remarks submitted on 12/29/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 09/25/2025. Independent claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (2025/0142474), Cheng hereinafter, in view of Li et al. (2021/0185611, as submitted in IDS), LJUNG hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 11, Cheng teaches a method (Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0049/¶0076-¶0077/¶0088) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 11, 1104/1106, Fig. 13, 1310a-c, Fig. 14A) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 11/Fig. 13), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 11, 1104/1106, Fig. 13, 1310a-c, Fig. 14A) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 11/Fig. 13), the UE comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 14A, 1402); and a controller (Fig. 14A, 1400) coupled with the transceiver, the controller configured to: receive, from a base station (BS), first configuration information configuring a wake-up signal (WUS) (Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0088 - FIG. 11 shows an example flow chart 1100 for WUS configurations, transmission, and receptions between the gNB 1102, the UE main radio 1104, and the UE WUR 1106…. To wake up the main radio 1104 is equivalent to transitioning the UE from the deep sleep mode (where the UE only receives wakeup signals or any other type of signals that can be received by the WUR 1106 of the UE, for example to wake up the main radio 1104) to another state …..Fig. 11 & ¶0089 - At the operation 1112, the main radio 1104 of the UE receives from the gNB 1102 one or more configurations. Fig. 11 & ¶0090 - At the operation 1114, the main radio 1104 of the UE configures a WUR 1106 of the UE based on the one or more configurations. Also, see ¶0076-¶0077); receive, from the BS, by a wake-up receiver (WUR) of the UE, the WUS on a first slot (Fig. 2/ Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0016 - the resources may include one or more WUS resource blocks (WU-RBs). The one or more configurations may indicate a frequency location, a time duration, a starting position, and a periodicity for the WUS. Fig. 2 & ¶0054 - FIG. 2 shows an example WUS-RB 200…The WUS-RB 200 in FIG. 2 may consist of r contiguous RBs in the frequency domain and span t contiguously multiple slots or orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in the time domain to form a large contiguous time-frequency resource block. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0076 - The information carried by the WUS may be modulated by on-off keying (OOK)… a WUS OFDM symbol may be turned completely off to indicate one bit of information (e.g., bit 0). On the other hand, the signal transmission may be present in one OFDM symbol duration to indicate the other information (e.g., bit 1). The opposite mapping between On/Off and bit 0/1 may also be specified. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0077 - A sequence of bits may be mapped to one WUS transmission. Each bit in the sequence is sequentially mapped to one OFDM symbol duration. The content of the bit determines whether the WUS should be transmitted within the corresponding OFDM symbol duration. Upon being specified, a bit 0 may mean no transmission of the signal and a bit 1 means transmission of the signal in the OFDM symbol duration, and vice versa. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0092 - At the operation 1118, the gNB transmits a WUS to the WUR 1106 of the UE); trigger an activation or a deactivation of a main radio of the UE based on the information on the WUS (Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0049 – If the UE is able to wake up only when the UE is triggered (e.g., paging), power consumption could be dramatically reduced. This can be achieved by using a wake-up signal to trigger the main radio and a separate receiver (e.g., a wake-up receiver) which has the ability to monitor wake-up signals with ultra-low power consumption. The main radio works for transmissions and receptions of data/control channels, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0076 - The information carried by the WUS may be modulated by on-off keying (OOK)… a WUS OFDM symbol may be turned completely off to indicate one bit of information (e.g., bit 0). On the other hand, the signal transmission may be present in one OFDM symbol duration to indicate the other information (e.g., bit 1). The opposite mapping between On/Off and bit 0/1 may also be specified. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0077 - A sequence of bits may be mapped to one WUS transmission. Each bit in the sequence is sequentially mapped to one OFDM symbol duration. The content of the bit determines whether the WUS should be transmitted within the corresponding OFDM symbol duration. Upon being specified, a bit 0 may mean no transmission of the signal and a bit 1 means transmission of the signal in the OFDM symbol duration, and vice versa);
Yet, Cheng does not expressly teach wherein the first configuration information includes information on a slot offset for the WUS; and in case that the activation of the main radio is triggered, receive, from the BS by the main radio, a downlink signal on a second slot which is after the slot offset from the first slot.
However, in the analogous art, LJUNG explicitly discloses wherein the first configuration information includes information on a slot offset for the WUS (Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0013 - A method of operating a terminal includes transmitting a control message to a network. The control message is indicative of a capability of the terminal to support one or more wake-up signals of a set of wake-up signals. The method also includes receiving a configuration control message from the network. The configuration control message is indicative of a subset of the set of wake-up signals….The method further includes detecting a given wake-up signal of the at least one wake-up signal included in the subset at a paging occasion. Fig. 10-12 & ¶0045 - achieved by taking into account the capabilities of the WURs of a plurality of UEs, e.g., per-cell or per-PO. For example, the network may determine the subset of the set of WUSs, i.e., the network may select one or more WUSs from the set of WUSs to transmit prior to the paging occasion and select one or more WUS timings for transmission prior to the paging occasion. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0103 - The corresponding selection and/or other parameters related to the WUS functionality—e.g., the time offset and/or frequency offset of the WUS transmission with respect to the PO—may or may not be signaled to the UEs 101, 102 at 3004 and 3004, using configuration control messages 4001. In other words, the configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the determined subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0104 - The configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the signal design configuration of the WUS(s) included in the subset and transmitted with respect to the PO 211. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0122 - the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603); and in case that the activation of the main radio is triggered, receive, from the BS by the main radio, a downlink signal on a second slot which is after the slot offset from the first slot (Fig.2-3/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0109 - at 3010, the BS 112 transmits the WUS 601, in accordance with the configuration control message 4001. The WUS 601 is communicated at a predefined time offset with respect to the PO 211 and/or at a predefined frequency offset with respect to the PO 211. The WUS 601 can be communicated on the channel 261 (cf. FIG. 3). Fig.2-3/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0111 - both UEs 101, 102 then transition their MRXs 1351 to active state, upon detecting the WUS 601. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0122 - the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0123 - BS 112 determines a subset 651-652 of the set 650 of WUS 601-603: for example, the subset 651 associated with the PO 211 includes the WUS 601, but does not include the WUSs 602, 603. Hence, only the WUS 601 is transmitted ahead of the PO 211 (cf. FIG. 10). The subset 652 associated with the PO 212 includes only the WUS 603 and the subset 653 associated with the PO 213 includes the WUS 601, 603. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0130 - In FIG. 12 the time offset 613 of the WUS 603 at the PO 211 has been increased, e.g., to support respective increased latencies of the UEs 104, 105 to transition the MRX into the active state (as may be indicated by the capability control messages 4011). As a general rule, the time offsets 611-613 may be determined based on the indicated capabilities of the UEs. For example, in connection with PO 212, the WUS 603 has a longer time offset 613.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng’s invention of a system and a method for wakeup signal design to facilitate ultra-low power reception in a wireless communication system to include LJUNG’s invention of a system and a method for supporting heterogeneous capability of terminals to support wake-up signals in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting WUS (Wake up Signal) techniques in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, so that wave-form compatibility issues are addressed when WUR (Wake up receiver) is separately implemented than the main received (MRX) for the WUS signal design in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, LJUNG)
Re. claims 6 and 16, Cheng teaches a method (Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0049/¶0076-¶0077/¶0088) performed by a base station (BS) (Fig. 11, 1102, Fig. 13, 1370 a-b, Fig. 14B) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 11/Fig. 13), and a base station (BS) (Fig. 11, 1102, Fig. 13, 1370 a-b, Fig. 14B) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 11/Fig. 13), the BS comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 14B, 1452); and a controller (Fig. 14B, 1450) coupled with the transceiver, and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), first configuration information on configuring a wake-up signal (WUS) (Fig. 2/ Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0016 - the resources may include one or more WUS resource blocks (WU-RBs). The one or more configurations may indicate a frequency location, a time duration, a starting position, and a periodicity for the WUS. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0088 - FIG. 11 shows an example flow chart 1100 for WUS configurations, transmission, and receptions between the gNB 1102, the UE main radio 1104, and the UE WUR 1106…. To wake up the main radio 1104 is equivalent to transitioning the UE from the deep sleep mode (where the UE only receives wakeup signals or any other type of signals that can be received by the WUR 1106 of the UE, for example to wake up the main radio 1104) to another state …..Fig. 11 & ¶0089 - At the operation 1112, the main radio 1104 of the UE receives from the gNB 1102 one or more configurations. Fig. 11 & ¶0090 - At the operation 1114, the main radio 1104 of the UE configures a WUR 1106 of the UE based on the one or more configurations. Also, see ¶0076-¶0077); transmit, to a wake-up receiver (WUR) of the UE, the WUS on a first slot (Fig. 2/ Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0016 - the resources may include one or more WUS resource blocks (WU-RBs). The one or more configurations may indicate a frequency location, a time duration, a starting position, and a periodicity for the WUS. Fig. 2 & ¶0054 - FIG. 2 shows an example WUS-RB 200…The WUS-RB 200 in FIG. 2 may consist of r contiguous RBs in the frequency domain and span t contiguously multiple slots or orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in the time domain to form a large contiguous time-frequency resource block. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0076 - The information carried by the WUS may be modulated by on-off keying (OOK)… a WUS OFDM symbol may be turned completely off to indicate one bit of information (e.g., bit 0). On the other hand, the signal transmission may be present in one OFDM symbol duration to indicate the other information (e.g., bit 1). The opposite mapping between On/Off and bit 0/1 may also be specified. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0077 - A sequence of bits may be mapped to one WUS transmission. Each bit in the sequence is sequentially mapped to one OFDM symbol duration. The content of the bit determines whether the WUS should be transmitted within the corresponding OFDM symbol duration. Upon being specified, a bit 0 may mean no transmission of the signal and a bit 1 means transmission of the signal in the OFDM symbol duration, and vice versa. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0092 - At the operation 1118, the gNB transmits a WUS to the WUR 1106 of the UE); and in case that an activation of a main radio of the UE is triggered based the WUS (Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0049 – If the UE is able to wake up only when the UE is triggered (e.g., paging), power consumption could be dramatically reduced. This can be achieved by using a wake-up signal to trigger the main radio and a separate receiver (e.g., a wake-up receiver) which has the ability to monitor wake-up signals with ultra-low power consumption. The main radio works for transmissions and receptions of data/control channels, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0076 - The information carried by the WUS may be modulated by on-off keying (OOK)… a WUS OFDM symbol may be turned completely off to indicate one bit of information (e.g., bit 0). On the other hand, the signal transmission may be present in one OFDM symbol duration to indicate the other information (e.g., bit 1). The opposite mapping between On/Off and bit 0/1 may also be specified. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0077 - A sequence of bits may be mapped to one WUS transmission. Each bit in the sequence is sequentially mapped to one OFDM symbol duration. The content of the bit determines whether the WUS should be transmitted within the corresponding OFDM symbol duration. Upon being specified, a bit 0 may mean no transmission of the signal and a bit 1 means transmission of the signal in the OFDM symbol duration, and vice versa),
Yet, Cheng does not expressly teach wherein the first configuration information includes information on a slot offset for the WUS; transmit, to the main radio, a downlink signal on a second slot which is after the slot offset from the first slot.
However, in the analogous art, LJUNG explicitly discloses wherein the first configuration information includes information on a slot offset for the WUS (Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0013 - A method of operating a terminal includes transmitting a control message to a network. The control message is indicative of a capability of the terminal to support one or more wake-up signals of a set of wake-up signals. The method also includes receiving a configuration control message from the network. The configuration control message is indicative of a subset of the set of wake-up signals….The method further includes detecting a given wake-up signal of the at least one wake-up signal included in the subset at a paging occasion. Fig. 10-12 & ¶0045 - achieved by taking into account the capabilities of the WURs of a plurality of UEs, e.g., per-cell or per-PO. For example, the network may determine the subset of the set of WUSs, i.e., the network may select one or more WUSs from the set of WUSs to transmit prior to the paging occasion and select one or more WUS timings for transmission prior to the paging occasion. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0103 - The corresponding selection and/or other parameters related to the WUS functionality—e.g., the time offset and/or frequency offset of the WUS transmission with respect to the PO—may or may not be signaled to the UEs 101, 102 at 3004 and 3004, using configuration control messages 4001. In other words, the configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the determined subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0104 - The configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the signal design configuration of the WUS(s) included in the subset and transmitted with respect to the PO 211. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0122 - the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603); transmit, to the main radio, a downlink signal on a second slot which is after the slot offset from the first slot (Fig.2-3/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0109 - at 3010, the BS 112 transmits the WUS 601, in accordance with the configuration control message 4001. The WUS 601 is communicated at a predefined time offset with respect to the PO 211 and/or at a predefined frequency offset with respect to the PO 211. The WUS 601 can be communicated on the channel 261 (cf. FIG. 3). Fig.2-3/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0111 - both UEs 101, 102 then transition their MRXs 1351 to active state, upon detecting the WUS 601. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0122 - the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0123 - BS 112 determines a subset 651-652 of the set 650 of WUS 601-603: for example, the subset 651 associated with the PO 211 includes the WUS 601, but does not include the WUSs 602, 603. Hence, only the WUS 601 is transmitted ahead of the PO 211 (cf. FIG. 10). The subset 652 associated with the PO 212 includes only the WUS 603 and the subset 653 associated with the PO 213 includes the WUS 601, 603. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0130 - In FIG. 12 the time offset 613 of the WUS 603 at the PO 211 has been increased, e.g., to support respective increased latencies of the UEs 104, 105 to transition the MRX into the active state (as may be indicated by the capability control messages 4011). As a general rule, the time offsets 611-613 may be determined based on the indicated capabilities of the UEs. For example, in connection with PO 212, the WUS 603 has a longer time offset 613).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng’s invention of a system and a method for wakeup signal design to facilitate ultra-low power reception in a wireless communication system to include LJUNG’s invention of a system and a method for supporting heterogeneous capability of terminals to support wake-up signals in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting WUS (Wake up Signal) techniques in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, so that wave-form compatibility issues are addressed when WUR (Wake up receiver) is separately implemented than the main received (MRX) for the WUS signal design in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, LJUNG)
Re. Claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, Cheng and LJUNG teach claims 1, 6, 11 and 16.
Cheng further teaches wherein the first configuration information further includes information on a periodicity of the WUS (Fig. 2/ Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0016 - the resources may include one or more WUS resource blocks (WU-RBs). The one or more configurations may indicate a frequency location, a time duration, a starting position, and a periodicity for the WUS. Also, see claims 1/6, for example, “A user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations including: receiving, using a first type of waveform, one or more configurations, the one or more configurations indicating resources allocated to wakeup signal (WUS) transmission; wherein the resources include one or more WUS resource blocks (WU-RBs), and wherein the one or more configurations indicate a frequency location, a time duration, a starting position, and a periodicity for the WUS. ”)
Re. Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, Cheng and LJUNG teach claims 1, 6, 11 and 16.
Cheng further teaches wherein the WUS includes information on a specific condition for deactivating the main radio, and wherein the specific condition is associated with a signal detection of the main radio. (Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0076 - The information carried by the WUS may be modulated by on-off keying (OOK)… a WUS OFDM symbol may be turned completely off to indicate one bit of information (e.g., bit 0, i.e., deactivation of the main radio). On the other hand, the signal transmission may be present in one OFDM symbol duration to indicate the other information (e.g., bit 1). The opposite mapping between On/Off and bit 0/1 may also be specified. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0077 - A sequence of bits may be mapped to one WUS transmission. Each bit in the sequence is sequentially mapped to one OFDM symbol duration. The content of the bit determines whether the WUS should be transmitted within the corresponding OFDM symbol duration. Upon being specified, a bit 0 (i.e., deactivation of the main radio) may mean no transmission of the signal and a bit 1 means transmission of the signal in the OFDM symbol duration, and vice versa. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0088 - The main radio 1104 of the UE is the radio for normal communications of data/control channels using protocols such as LTE or new radio (NR) communication. To turn off main radio 1104 of the UE is to suspend all normal LTE or NR transmissions and reception of data channels, control channels, and signals).
Re. Claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Cheng and LJUNG teach claims 1, 6, 11 and 16.
Cheng further teaches wherein the WUS indicates one of: (i) the deactivation of the main radio (Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0076 - The information carried by the WUS may be modulated by on-off keying (OOK)… a WUS OFDM symbol may be turned completely off to indicate one bit of information (e.g., bit 0, i.e., deactivation of the main radio). On the other hand, the signal transmission may be present in one OFDM symbol duration to indicate the other information (e.g., bit 1). The opposite mapping between On/Off and bit 0/1 may also be specified. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0077 - A sequence of bits may be mapped to one WUS transmission. Each bit in the sequence is sequentially mapped to one OFDM symbol duration. The content of the bit determines whether the WUS should be transmitted within the corresponding OFDM symbol duration. Upon being specified, a bit 0 (i.e., deactivation of the main radio) may mean no transmission of the signal and a bit 1 means transmission of the signal in the OFDM symbol duration, and vice versa. Fig. 8/Fig. 11 & ¶0088 - The main radio 1104 of the UE is the radio for normal communications of data/control channels using protocols such as LTE or new radio (NR) communication. To turn off main radio 1104 of the UE is to suspend all normal LTE or NR transmissions and reception of data channels, control channels, and signals. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one of” in the limitation.), and ii) the deactivation of the main radio after receiving the downlink signal.
Re. Claims 5 and 15, Cheng and LJUNG teach claims 1, and 11.
Yet, Cheng does not expressly teach transmitting, to the BS, capability information on a WUS reception of the UE; receiving, from the BS, second configuration information configuring a connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) or an idle mode DRX (I-DRX); and in case that the activation of the main radio corresponding to a DRX cycle is triggered based on the second configuration information and the WUS, receiving, from the BS by the main radio, the downlink signal.
However, in the analogous art, LJUNG explicitly discloses transmitting, to the BS, capability information on a WUS reception of the UE (Fig. 10 & Fig. 10-12 & ¶0013 - A method of operating a terminal includes transmitting a control message to a network. The control message is indicative of a capability of the terminal to support one or more wake-up signals of a set of wake-up signals. . Fig. 10-12 & ¶0094 - At 3001, a capability control message 4011 is communicated. The capability control message 4011 is transmitted by the UE 101 and received by the BS 112. For example, the capability control message 4011 may be communicated on a control channel, e.g., the physical uplink control change (PUCCH). For example, the capability control message 4011 may be a Layer 2 or Layer 3 control message. The capability control message 4011 may be relate to RRC/higher-layer signaling. . Fig. 10-12 & ¶0095 - capability control messages 4011 are indicative of a capability of the respective UE 101, 102 to support one or more WUS 601 of a predefined set of WUS 601 (WUS-related capability). Fig. 10-12 & ¶0101 - the capability control message 4011 includes a 3-bit bitmap, where each position 4091-4093 of the 3-bit bitmap indicates the respective capability to support or non-support of a corresponding WUS 601-603)); receiving, from the BS, second configuration information configuring a connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) or an idle mode DRX (I-DRX), (Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0013 - A method of operating a terminal includes transmitting a control message to a network. The control message is indicative of a capability of the terminal to support one or more wake-up signals of a set of wake-up signals. The method also includes receiving a configuration control message from the network. The configuration control message is indicative of a subset of the set of wake-up signals….The method further includes detecting a given wake-up signal of the at least one wake-up signal included in the subset at a paging occasion. Fig. 10-12 & ¶0045 - achieved by taking into account the capabilities of the WURs of a plurality of UEs, e.g., per-cell or per-PO. For example, the network may determine the subset of the set of WUSs, i.e., the network may select one or more WUSs from the set of WUSs to transmit prior to the paging occasion and select one or more WUS timings for transmission prior to the paging occasion. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0103 - The corresponding selection and/or other parameters related to the WUS functionality—e.g., the time offset and/or frequency offset of the WUS transmission with respect to the PO—may or may not be signaled to the UEs 101, 102 at 3004 and 3004, using configuration control messages 4001. In other words, the configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the determined subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0104 - The configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the signal design configuration of the WUS(s) included in the subset and transmitted with respect to the PO 211. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0122 - the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603); and in case that the activation of the main radio corresponding to a DRX cycle is triggered based on the second configuration information and the WUS, receiving, from the BS by the main radio, the downlink signal. (Fig.2-3/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0109 - at 3010, the BS 112 transmits the WUS 601, in accordance with the configuration control message 4001. The WUS 601 is communicated at a predefined time offset with respect to the PO 211 and/or at a predefined frequency offset with respect to the PO 211. The WUS 601 can be communicated on the channel 261 (cf. FIG. 3). Fig.2-3/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0111 - both UEs 101, 102 then transition their MRXs 1351 to active state, upon detecting the WUS 601. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0122 - the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0123 - BS 112 determines a subset 651-652 of the set 650 of WUS 601-603: for example, the subset 651 associated with the PO 211 includes the WUS 601, but does not include the WUSs 602, 603. Hence, only the WUS 601 is transmitted ahead of the PO 211 (cf. FIG. 10). The subset 652 associated with the PO 212 includes only the WUS 603 and the subset 653 associated with the PO 213 includes the WUS 601, 603. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0130 - In FIG. 12 the time offset 613 of the WUS 603 at the PO 211 has been increased, e.g., to support respective increased latencies of the UEs 104, 105 to transition the MRX into the active state (as may be indicated by the capability control messages 4011). As a general rule, the time offsets 611-613 may be determined based on the indicated capabilities of the UEs. For example, in connection with PO 212, the WUS 603 has a longer time offset 613).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng’s invention of a system and a method for wakeup signal design to facilitate ultra-low power reception in a wireless communication system to include LJUNG’s invention of a system and a method for supporting heterogeneous capability of terminals to support wake-up signals in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting WUS (Wake up Signal) techniques in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, so that wave-form compatibility issues are addressed when WUR (Wake up receiver) is separately implemented than the main received (MRX) for the WUS signal design in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, LJUNG)
Re. Claims 10 and 20, Cheng and LJUNG teach claims 6, and 16.
Yet, Cheng does not expressly teach receiving, from the UE, capability information on a WUS reception of the UE; transmitting, to the UE, second configuration information configuring a connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) or an idle mode DRX (I-DRX); and in case that the activation of the main radio corresponding to a DRX cycle is triggered based on the second configuration information and the WUS, transmitting, to the main radio, the downlink signal.
However, in the analogous art, LJUNG explicitly discloses receiving, from the UE, capability information on a WUS reception of the UE; (Fig. 10 & Fig. 10-12 & ¶0013 - A method of operating a terminal includes transmitting a control message to a network. The control message is indicative of a capability of the terminal to support one or more wake-up signals of a set of wake-up signals. . Fig. 10-12 & ¶0094 - At 3001, a capability control message 4011 is communicated. The capability control message 4011 is transmitted by the UE 101 and received by the BS 112. For example, the capability control message 4011 may be communicated on a control channel, e.g., the physical uplink control change (PUCCH). For example, the capability control message 4011 may be a Layer 2 or Layer 3 control message. The capability control message 4011 may be relate to RRC/higher-layer signaling. . Fig. 10-12 & ¶0095 - capability control messages 4011 are indicative of a capability of the respective UE 101, 102 to support one or more WUS 601 of a predefined set of WUS 601 (WUS-related capability). Fig. 10-12 & ¶0101 - the capability control message 4011 includes a 3-bit bitmap, where each position 4091-4093 of the 3-bit bitmap indicates the respective capability to support or non-support of a corresponding WUS 601-603)); transmitting, to the UE, second configuration information configuring a connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) or an idle mode DRX (I-DRX), (Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0013 - A method of operating a terminal includes transmitting a control message to a network. The control message is indicative of a capability of the terminal to support one or more wake-up signals of a set of wake-up signals. The method also includes receiving a configuration control message from the network. The configuration control message is indicative of a subset of the set of wake-up signals….The method further includes detecting a given wake-up signal of the at least one wake-up signal included in the subset at a paging occasion. Fig. 10-12 & ¶0045 - achieved by taking into account the capabilities of the WURs of a plurality of UEs, e.g., per-cell or per-PO. For example, the network may determine the subset of the set of WUSs, i.e., the network may select one or more WUSs from the set of WUSs to transmit prior to the paging occasion and select one or more WUS timings for transmission prior to the paging occasion. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0103 - The corresponding selection and/or other parameters related to the WUS functionality—e.g., the time offset and/or frequency offset of the WUS transmission with respect to the PO—may or may not be signaled to the UEs 101, 102 at 3004 and 3004, using configuration control messages 4001. In other words, the configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the determined subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0104 - The configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the signal design configuration of the WUS(s) included in the subset and transmitted with respect to the PO 211. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0122 - the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603); and in case that the activation of the main radio corresponding to a DRX cycle is triggered based on the second configuration information and the WUS, transmitting, to the main radio, the downlink signal. (Fig.2-3/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0109 - at 3010, the BS 112 transmits the WUS 601, in accordance with the configuration control message 4001. The WUS 601 is communicated at a predefined time offset with respect to the PO 211 and/or at a predefined frequency offset with respect to the PO 211. The WUS 601 can be communicated on the channel 261 (cf. FIG. 3). Fig.2-3/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0111 - both UEs 101, 102 then transition their MRXs 1351 to active state, upon detecting the WUS 601. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0122 - the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0123 - BS 112 determines a subset 651-652 of the set 650 of WUS 601-603: for example, the subset 651 associated with the PO 211 includes the WUS 601, but does not include the WUSs 602, 603. Hence, only the WUS 601 is transmitted ahead of the PO 211 (cf. FIG. 10). The subset 652 associated with the PO 212 includes only the WUS 603 and the subset 653 associated with the PO 213 includes the WUS 601, 603. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0130 - In FIG. 12 the time offset 613 of the WUS 603 at the PO 211 has been increased, e.g., to support respective increased latencies of the UEs 104, 105 to transition the MRX into the active state (as may be indicated by the capability control messages 4011). As a general rule, the time offsets 611-613 may be determined based on the indicated capabilities of the UEs. For example, in connection with PO 212, the WUS 603 has a longer time offset 613).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cheng’s invention of a system and a method for wakeup signal design to facilitate ultra-low power reception in a wireless communication system to include LJUNG’s invention of a system and a method for supporting heterogeneous capability of terminals to support wake-up signals in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting WUS (Wake up Signal) techniques in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, so that wave-form compatibility issues are addressed when WUR (Wake up receiver) is separately implemented than the main received (MRX) for the WUS signal design in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, LJUNG)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/29/2025 with respect to independent claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 9-11 as submitted on 12/29/2025 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Cheng fails to teach the amended claimed limitation, such as, “wherein the first configuration information includes information on a slot offset for the WUS; and in case that the activation of the main radio is triggered, receive, from the BS by the main radio, a downlink signal on a second slot which is after the slot offset from the first slot.”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, LJUNG discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection. For example, in reference to the limitation, “wherein the first configuration information includes information on a slot offset for the WUS”, LJUNG discloses that a method of operating a terminal includes transmitting a control message to a network. The control message is indicative of a capability of the terminal to support one or more wake-up signals of a set of wake-up signals. The method also includes receiving a configuration control message from the network. The configuration control message is indicative of a subset of the set of wake-up signals….The method further includes detecting a given wake-up signal of the at least one wake-up signal included in the subset at a paging occasion. See ¶0013 along with Fig.2/Fig. 10-12.
LJUNG further discloses that the corresponding selection and/or other parameters related to the WUS functionality—e.g., the time offset and/or frequency offset of the WUS transmission with respect to the PO—may or may not be signaled to the UEs 101, 102 at 3004 and 3004, using configuration control messages 4001. In other words, the configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the determined subset. The configuration control messages 4001 may be indicative of the signal design configuration of the WUS(s) included in the subset and transmitted with respect to the PO 211. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. See ¶0103-¶0104 along with Fig.2/Fig. 10-12.
LJUNG also discloses that the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603. See ¶0122 along with Fig.2/Fig. 10-12. Please see the following snapshot of Fig.12 of LJUNG, reproduced below, in support of the aforesaid disclosure.
Now, in reference to the next amended claimed limitation as recited in independent claim 1, for example, “in case that the activation of the main radio is triggered, receive, from the BS by the main radio, a downlink signal on a second slot which is after the slot offset from the first slot”, LJUNG discloses that at 3010, the BS 112 transmits the WUS 601, in accordance with the configuration control message 4001. The WUS 601 is communicated at a predefined time offset with respect to the PO 211 and/or at a predefined frequency offset with respect to the PO 211. The WUS 601 can be communicated on the channel 261 (cf. FIG. 3). Fig.2-3/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0111 - both UEs 101, 102 then transition their MRXs 1351 to active state, upon detecting the WUS 601. Fig.2/Fig. 10-12 & ¶0106 - multiple WUSs of the subset can use different time offsets and/or frequency offsets with respect to the PO. It would be possible that the configuration control message 4001 is indicative of the time offsets and/or frequency offsets of the multiple WUSs of the subset. See ¶0109/¶0106 along with Fig.2/Fig. 10-12.
LJUNG further discloses that the WUSs 601-603 all have different time offsets 611-613 with respect to the start of the POs 211-213. This corresponds to a time division duplex implementation of the WUS 601-603. BS 112 determines a subset 651-652 of the set 650 of WUS 601-603: for example, the subset 651 associated with the PO 211 includes the WUS 601, but does not include the WUSs 602, 603. Hence, only the WUS 601 is transmitted ahead of the PO 211 (cf. FIG. 10). The subset 652 associated with the PO 212 includes only the WUS 603 and the subset 653 associated with the PO 213 includes the WUS 601, 603. See ¶0122-¶0123 along with Fig.2/Fig. 10-12. LJUNG also discloses that the time offset 613 (FIG. 12) of the WUS 603 at the PO 211 has been increased, e.g., to support respective increased latencies of the UEs 104, 105 to transition the MRX into the active state (as may be indicated by the capability control messages 4011). As a general rule, the time offsets 611-613 may be determined based on the indicated capabilities of the UEs. For example, in connection with PO 212, the WUS 603 has a longer time offset 613. See ¶0130 along with Fig.2/Fig. 10-12. Please see the following snapshot of Fig.12 of LJUNG, reproduced next, in support of the aforesaid disclosure.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 6, 11 and 16.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of LJUNG.
Similarly, it is maintained that independent claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of LJUNG.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467