DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non final office action in response to applicant’s amendments/remarks submitted on 05/18/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 03/18/2026. Independent claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (2022/0279447), Zhou hereinafter, in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN2# 108; R2-1914988; Source: Xiaomi Communications; Title: Procedures on how the PDCCH-WUS works with C-DRX; Reno, Nevada, US, 18 – 22 November 2019, as submitted in IDS, R2-1914988_ Xiaomi hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 11, Zhou teaches a method (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134/¶0159-¶0164) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 20-21, UE) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134/¶0157/¶0159-¶0164), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 20-21) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134/¶0157/¶0159-¶0164), the UE comprising: at least one a transceiver (Fig. 21, 1202); and at least one processor (Fig. 20-21/1102/1201) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (Fig. 21, 1201), at least one memory (Fig. 20-21, 1101), communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions (Fig. 20 & ¶0258) executable by the at least one processor (Fig. 20-21 & ¶0258) individually or in any combination to cause the UE (Fig. 20-21) to: receive, from the BS, first configuration information configuring a WUS (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 – In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. If the terminal device detects a PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device wakes up and monitors a PDCCH within a DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time. If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Also, see ¶0159-¶0164); wherein the first configuration information includes information on a time offset between the WUS and a PDCCH based on the required time offset and information on a required time for deactivating a main radio of the UE (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 - In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. If the terminal device detects a PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device wakes up and monitors a PDCCH within a DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time. If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0159 - S101: A terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of a WUS exists in a first time window, or that a first time window includes no monitoring occasion of a WUS in at least one search space set configured for the terminal device. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0160 - S102: The terminal device monitors a PDCCH in an on duration time period of a DRX state. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0162 - The terminal device may determine a specific time location of the WUS search time window based on an end time point of the WUS search time window, an offset (offset) between the end time point of the WUS search time window and a start time point of DRX ON, and a length of the WUS search time window, where the specific time location of the WUS search time window is a start time point of the WUS search time window. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0164 - In the case of the low frequency band, that is, when a network device sends a WUS through one search space set, if all monitoring occasions of the WUS fall outside the first time window (that is, the terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of the WUS exists in the first time window), as shown in FIG. 6, when DRX_On arrives, the terminal device wakes up and monitors the PDCCH.), receive, from the BS, by a wake-up receiver (WUR) of the UE, the WUS on a first slot, trigger an activation or a deactivation of the main radio based on the WUS (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 - In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. If the terminal device detects a PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device wakes up and monitors a PDCCH within a DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time. If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0159 - S101: A terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of a WUS exists in a first time window, or that a first time window includes no monitoring occasion of a WUS in at least one search space set configured for the terminal device. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0160 - S102: The terminal device monitors a PDCCH in an on duration time period of a DRX state. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0162 - The terminal device may determine a specific time location of the WUS search time window based on an end time point of the WUS search time window, an offset (offset) between the end time point of the WUS search time window and a start time point of DRX ON, and a length of the WUS search time window, where the specific time location of the WUS search time window is a start time point of the WUS search time window. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0164 - In the case of the low frequency band, that is, when a network device sends a WUS through one search space set, if all monitoring occasions of the WUS fall outside the first time window (that is, the terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of the WUS exists in the first time window), as shown in FIG. 6, when DRX_On arrives, the terminal device wakes up and monitors the PDCCH.); in case that the activation of the main radio is triggered, receive, from the BS by the main radio, the PDCCH on a second slot which is after the time offset from the first slot, wherein the deactivation of the main radio is triggered after the required time from a reception of a signal for a sleep (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 - In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. If the terminal device detects a PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device wakes up and monitors a PDCCH within a DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time. If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0162 - The terminal device may determine a specific time location of the WUS search time window based on an end time point of the WUS search time window, an offset (offset) between the end time point of the WUS search time window and a start time point of DRX ON, and a length of the WUS search time window, where the specific time location of the WUS search time window is a start time point of the WUS search time window. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0164 - In the case of the low frequency band, that is, when a network device sends a WUS through one search space set, if all monitoring occasions of the WUS fall outside the first time window (that is, the terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of the WUS exists in the first time window), as shown in FIG. 6, when DRX_On arrives, the terminal device wakes up and monitors the PDCCH).
Yet, Zhou does not expressly teach transmit, to a base station (BS), information on a required time offset for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception after a wake-up signal (WUS),
However, in the analogous art, R2-1914988_ Xiaomi explicitly discloses transmit, to a base station (BS), information on a required time offset for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception after a wake-up signal (WUS) (Fig. 1 & §2 - Regarding to the procedures of how the PDCCH-WUS works with DRX, the UE shall first indicate by dedicated signalling to gNB its capability for wake-up signal which may include the information of the supported minimum time offset before on duration C-DRX at which the WUS is transmitted. If gNB supports PDCCH-WUS, the gNB can make a right decision on whether to configure WUS and enable WUS for the UE. Of course, gNB can disable WUS for the UE if needed. A possible WUS process goes as the follows: Step 1 <Fig.1>, The UE indicates its WUS capability to gNB which may include the information of the supported minimum time offset before on duration C-DRX at which the WUS is transmitted…… Step 5 <Fig.1>, UE applies UE-specific WUS-configuration for monitoring, i.e. if it detects the WUS, the UE will monitoring PDCCH for the following Onduration. Of course, during the DRX short cycles, the UE does not need to monitor WUS ),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring PDCCH WUS < physical downlink control channel-based wake-up signal> in a WUS search time window by a user equipment (UE) operating in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system to include R2-1914988_ Xiaomi’s invention of a system and a method for indication of PDCCH-WUS <physical downlink control channel-based wake-up signal> to a user equipment (UE) in waking up for monitoring during onDuration in C-DRX <Connected Discontinuous Reception> for the UE operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting of PDCCH-based power saving signal configured with a monitoring occasion offset relative to a beginning of DRX ON based on Rel-15 search space principle with possible new search space parameters for the the UE operating in a wireless communication system. (§1, R2-1914988_ Xiaomi)
Re. claims 6 and 16, Zhou teaches a method (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134/¶0159-¶0164) performed by a base station (BS) (Fig. 20-21/Fig. 24-25, Network device) in a wireless communication system ()Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134/¶0157/¶0159-¶0164, and a base station (BS) (Fig. 20-21/Fig. 24-25, Network device) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134/¶0157/¶0159-¶0164), the BS comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig. 21, 1201); at least one processor (Fig. 20-21/1102/1201) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (Fig. 21, 1201); and at least one memory (Fig. 20-21, 1101), communicatively coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 20-21/1102/1201), storing instructions (Fig. 20 & ¶0258) executable by the at least one processor (Fig. 20-21/1102/1201) individually or in any combination to cause the BS: transmit, to the UE, first configuration information configuring a (WUS) (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 – In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. If the terminal device detects a PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device wakes up and monitors a PDCCH within a DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time. If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Also, see ¶0159-¶0164), wherein the first configuration information includes information on a time offset between the WUS and a PDCCH based on the required time offset and information on a required time for deactivating a main radio of the UE (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 - In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. If the terminal device detects a PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device wakes up and monitors a PDCCH within a DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time. If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0159 - S101: A terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of a WUS exists in a first time window, or that a first time window includes no monitoring occasion of a WUS in at least one search space set configured for the terminal device. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0160 - S102: The terminal device monitors a PDCCH in an on duration time period of a DRX state. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0162 - The terminal device may determine a specific time location of the WUS search time window based on an end time point of the WUS search time window, an offset (offset) between the end time point of the WUS search time window and a start time point of DRX ON, and a length of the WUS search time window, where the specific time location of the WUS search time window is a start time point of the WUS search time window. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0164 - In the case of the low frequency band, that is, when a network device sends a WUS through one search space set, if all monitoring occasions of the WUS fall outside the first time window (that is, the terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of the WUS exists in the first time window), as shown in FIG. 6, when DRX_On arrives, the terminal device wakes up and monitors the PDCCH.), transmit, to a wake-up receiver (WUR) of the UE, the WUS on a first slot (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 - In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. If the terminal device detects a PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device wakes up and monitors a PDCCH within a DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time. If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0159 - S101: A terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of a WUS exists in a first time window, or that a first time window includes no monitoring occasion of a WUS in at least one search space set configured for the terminal device. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0160 - S102: The terminal device monitors a PDCCH in an on duration time period of a DRX state. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0162 - The terminal device may determine a specific time location of the WUS search time window based on an end time point of the WUS search time window, an offset (offset) between the end time point of the WUS search time window and a start time point of DRX ON, and a length of the WUS search time window, where the specific time location of the WUS search time window is a start time point of the WUS search time window. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0164 - In the case of the low frequency band, that is, when a network device sends a WUS through one search space set, if all monitoring occasions of the WUS fall outside the first time window (that is, the terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of the WUS exists in the first time window), as shown in FIG. 6, when DRX_On arrives, the terminal device wakes up and monitors the PDCCH), and in case that an activation of a main radio of the UE is triggered based on the WUS, transmit, to the main radio, the PDCCH on a second slot which is after the time offset from the first slot, wherein a deactivation of the main radio is triggered after the required time from a reception of a signal for a sleep (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 - In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. If the terminal device detects a PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device wakes up and monitors a PDCCH within a DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time. If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0162 - The terminal device may determine a specific time location of the WUS search time window based on an end time point of the WUS search time window, an offset (offset) between the end time point of the WUS search time window and a start time point of DRX ON, and a length of the WUS search time window, where the specific time location of the WUS search time window is a start time point of the WUS search time window. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0164 - In the case of the low frequency band, that is, when a network device sends a WUS through one search space set, if all monitoring occasions of the WUS fall outside the first time window (that is, the terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of the WUS exists in the first time window), as shown in FIG. 6, when DRX_On arrives, the terminal device wakes up and monitors the PDCCH).
Yet, Zhou does not expressly teach receive, from a user equipment (UE), information on a required time offset for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception after a wake-up signal (WUS),
However, in the analogous art, R2-1914988_ Xiaomi explicitly discloses receive, from a user equipment (UE), information on a required time offset for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception after a wake-up signal (WUS), (Fig. 1 & §2 - Regarding to the procedures of how the PDCCH-WUS works with DRX, the UE shall first indicate by dedicated signalling to gNB its capability for wake-up signal which may include the information of the supported minimum time offset before on duration C-DRX at which the WUS is transmitted. If gNB supports PDCCH-WUS, the gNB can make a right decision on whether to configure WUS and enable WUS for the UE. Of course, gNB can disable WUS for the UE if needed. A possible WUS process goes as the follows: Step 1 <Fig.1>, The UE indicates its WUS capability to gNB which may include the information of the supported minimum time offset before on duration C-DRX at which the WUS is transmitted…… Step 5 <Fig.1>, UE applies UE-specific WUS-configuration for monitoring, i.e. if it detects the WUS, the UE will monitoring PDCCH for the following Onduration. Of course, during the DRX short cycles, the UE does not need to monitor WUS ),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring PDCCH WUS < physical downlink control channel-based wake-up signal> in a WUS search time window by a user equipment (UE) operating in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system to include R2-1914988_ Xiaomi’s invention of a system and a method for indication of PDCCH-WUS <physical downlink control channel-based wake-up signal> to a user equipment (UE) in waking up for monitoring during onDuration in C-DRX <Connected Discontinuous Reception> for the UE operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting of PDCCH-based power saving signal configured with a monitoring occasion offset relative to a beginning of DRX ON based on Rel-15 search space principle with possible new search space parameters for the the UE operating in a wireless communication system. (§1, R2-1914988_ Xiaomi)
Re. Claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, Zhou and R2-1914988_ Xiaomi teach claims 1, 6, 11 and 16.
Zhou further teaches wherein the first configuration information further includes information on a periodicity of the WUS (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0048 - a network device may configure a transmission periodicity of a search space set to be greater than a length of the WUS search time window. When the network device sends the PDCCH WUS on a group-based PDCCH, downlink signaling overheads can be reduced. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0135 - WUS search time window and the search space set that are configured by the network device are independent of each other. To be specific, the terminal device determines that the WUS search time window depends only on a length of the time window, the time offset, and the start time point of DRX_ON, and the configuration of the WUS search time window is independent of the time period parameter configured in the search space set. In some cases, for example, when a length of the transmission periodicity of the search space set is greater than the length of the WUS search time window, the transmission occasion of the PDCCH WUS may fall outside the WUS search window, so that no transmission occasion of the PDCCH WUS exists in the WUS search window. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0139 - network device may configure the transmission periodicity of the search space set to be greater than the length of the WUS search time window. When the network device sends the PDCCH WUS on the group-based PDCCH, downlink signaling overheads can be reduced. Fig. 5-9 & ¶0166 - a duration length of one transmission periodicity of the search space set may be greater than a duration length of the WUS search time window.)
Re. Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, Zhou and R2-1914988_ Xiaomi claims 1, 6, 11 and 16.
Zhou further teaches wherein the first configuration information includes information on a specific condition for deactivating the main radio, wherein the specific condition is associated with a signal detection of the main radio, and the PDCCH includes the signal for the sleep. (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 - In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. …… If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0164 - In the case of the low frequency band, that is, when a network device sends a WUS through one search space set, if all monitoring occasions of the WUS fall outside the first time window (that is, the terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of the WUS exists in the first time window), as shown in FIG. 6.).
Re. Claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Zhou and R2-1914988_ Xiaomi teach claims 1, 6, 11 and 16.
Zhou further teaches wherein the WUS indicates the deactivation of the main radio after receiving the downlink signal (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0134 - In discussion of the PDCCH WUS in 3GPP, it is determined that there is a time offset (offset) between a transmission time point of the PDCCH WUS and a start time point of DRX_On. A method for configuring the transmission time point of the WUS is as follows: A period of time prior to DRX_ON (for example, several specified time slots prior to DRX_ON) is specified as a WUS search time (which may also be referred to as a WUS search time window in this specification), as shown in FIG. 5. …… If the terminal device monitors no PDCCH WUS within the WUS search time, the terminal device continues to remain in the sleep state in the DRX_ON time period corresponding to the WUS search time, and does not monitor a PDCCH. Fig. 5-7 & ¶0164 - In the case of the low frequency band, that is, when a network device sends a WUS through one search space set, if all monitoring occasions of the WUS fall outside the first time window (that is, the terminal device determines that no monitoring occasion of the WUS exists in the first time window), as shown in FIG. 6).
Re. Claims 5 and 15, Zhou and R2-1914988_ Xiaomi teach claims 1, and 11.
Yet, Zhou does not expressly teach transmitting, to the BS, capability information on a WUS reception of the UE; receiving, from the BS, second configuration information configuring a connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) or an idle mode DRX (I-DRX); and in case that the activation of the main radio corresponding to a DRX cycle is triggered based on the second configuration information and the WUS, receiving, from the BS by the main radio, the PDCCH.
However, in the analogous art, R2-1914988_ Xiaomi teach explicitly discloses transmitting, to the BS, capability information on a WUS reception of the UE (Fig. 1 & § 2- Step 1: The UE indicates its WUS capability to gNB which may include the information of the supported minimum time offset before on duration C-DRX at which the WUS is transmitted); receiving, from the BS, second configuration information configuring a connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) or an idle mode DRX (I-DRX), (Fig. 1 & § 2 - Regarding to the procedures of how the PDCCH-WUS works with DRX, the UE shall first indicate by dedicated signalling to gNB its capability for wake-up signal which may include the information of the supported minimum time offset before on duration C-DRX at which the WUS is transmitted. Fig. 1 & Step 2: After acquisition of the UE capability, if gNB supports WUS and makes the right decision to enable WUS for the UE, the gNB can indicate the UE-specific WUS configuration to the UE along with UE’s DRX configuration or after UE’s DRX configuration considering UE’s WUS capability.); and in case that the activation of the main radio corresponding to a DRX cycle is triggered based on the second configuration information and the WUS, receiving, from the BS by the main radio, the PDCCH. (Fig. 1 & § 2 & Steps 3-5: After receiving the configuration, UE enables WUS; When DL data for the UE arrives at gNB, gNB will use WUS prior to the onDuration for the scheduling; UE applies UE-specific WUS-configuration for monitoring, i.e. if it detects the WUS, the UE will monitoring PDCCH for the following Onduration. Please see snapshot next)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring PDCCH WUS < physical downlink control channel-based wake-up signal> in a WUS search time window by a user equipment (UE) operating in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system to include R2-1914988_ Xiaomi’s invention of a system and a method for indication of PDCCH-WUS <physical downlink control channel-based wake-up signal> to a user equipment (UE) in waking up for monitoring during onDuration in C-DRX <Connected Discontinuous Reception> for the UE operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting of PDCCH-based power saving signal configured with a monitoring occasion offset relative to a beginning of DRX ON based on Rel-15 search space principle with possible new search space parameters for the the UE operating in a wireless communication system. (§1, R2-1914988_ Xiaomi)
Re. Claims 10 and 20, Zhou and R2-1914988_ Xiaomi teach claims 6, and 16.
Yet, Zhou does not expressly teach receiving, from the UE, capability information on a WUS reception of the UE; transmitting, to the UE, second configuration information configuring a connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) or an idle mode DRX (I-DRX); and in case that the activation of the main radio corresponding to a DRX cycle is triggered based on the second configuration information and the WUS, transmitting, to the main radio, the PDCCH.
However, in the analogous art, R2-1914988_ Xiaomi explicitly discloses receiving, from the UE, capability information on a WUS reception of the UE; (Fig. 1 & § 2- Step 1: The UE indicates its WUS capability to gNB which may include the information of the supported minimum time offset before on duration C-DRX at which the WUS is transmitted); transmitting, to the UE, second configuration information configuring a connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) or an idle mode DRX (I-DRX), (Fig. 1 & § 2 - Regarding to the procedures of how the PDCCH-WUS works with DRX, the UE shall first indicate by dedicated signalling to gNB its capability for wake-up signal which may include the information of the supported minimum time offset before on duration C-DRX at which the WUS is transmitted. Fig. 1 & Step 2: After acquisition of the UE capability, if gNB supports WUS and makes the right decision to enable WUS for the UE, the gNB can indicate the UE-specific WUS configuration to the UE along with UE’s DRX configuration or after UE’s DRX configuration considering UE’s WUS capability.); and in case that the activation of the main radio corresponding to a DRX cycle is triggered based on the second configuration information and the WUS, transmitting, to the main radio, the downlink signal. (Fig. 1 & § 2 & Steps 3-5: After receiving the configuration, UE enables WUS; When DL data for the UE arrives at gNB, gNB will use WUS prior to the onDuration for the scheduling; UE applies UE-specific WUS-configuration for monitoring, i.e. if it detects the WUS, the UE will monitoring PDCCH for the following Onduration. Please see snapshot next).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring PDCCH WUS < physical downlink control channel-based wake-up signal> in a WUS search time window by a user equipment (UE) operating in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system to include R2-1914988_ Xiaomi’s invention of a system and a method for indication of PDCCH-WUS <physical downlink control channel-based wake-up signal> to a user equipment (UE) in waking up for monitoring during onDuration in C-DRX <Connected Discontinuous Reception> for the UE operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting of PDCCH-based power saving signal configured with a monitoring occasion offset relative to a beginning of DRX ON based on Rel-15 search space principle with possible new search space parameters for the the UE operating in a wireless communication system. (§1, R2-1914988_ Xiaomi)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/18/2026 with respect to independent claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 9-11 as submitted on 05/18/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Cheng (2025/0142474 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference) or Li et al. (2021/0185611[Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference) fail to teach amended claimed limitations as submitted on 05/18/2026. None of them are used in the instant office action, hence, moot.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, the combination of Zhou et al. (2022/0279447 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference) and R2-1914988_ Xiaomi (new reference as submitted in IDS) discloses the amended claimed limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 6, 11 and 16.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (2022/0279447 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference), in view of R2-1914988_ Xiaomi (new reference as submitted in IDS).
Similarly, it is maintained that independent claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (2022/0279447 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference), in view of R2-1914988_ Xiaomi (new reference as submitted in IDS).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TSG-RAN2 Meeting#108; R2-1915263; Source: Huawei, HiSilicon; Title: Further discussion on the impact of PDCCH-WUS; Reno, Nevada, USA, 18th –22th Nov, 2019. See §2.2. <snapshot>
3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #108; R2-1914394; Source: OPPO; Title: Remaining issues on PDCCH-based WUS; Reno, USA, 18th Nov– 22nd Nov 2019. See §2.2 - Exception conditions for UE not monitoring PDCCH-WUS & §3 snapshot below.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467