DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The application claims priority to Foreign application Filed on 08/10/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 12/23/2023 and 04/23/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination (RCE)
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
05/06/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending
in the application. Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Wang et al. (US-20230199614-A1) hereinafter Wang et al.in view of Jaya et al. (US-20240187935-A1) hereinafter “Jaya”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Wang discloses, ‘A base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: a transceiver’ (Fig. 1 includes transceiver for the BS and the terminal);
Regarding claim element, ‘and a controller coupled with the transceiver, and configured to: receive, from a first user equipment (UE) which is a remote UE via a direct path a list of candidate relay UE associated with for the first UE
Determine
Based on parameters of the direct and the indirect path, the parameters including the path identifiers (IDs), priority levels and a number of hop, counts
transmit, to the first UE, information configuring the indirect path for a path change, and
perform [[data]] transmission and reception of data with the first UE by using the direct path and the indirect path simultaneously based on of the data,
Wang discloses, ‘and a controller coupled with the transceiver, and configured to: receive, from a first user equipment (UE) which is a remote UE via a direct path a list of candidate relay UE associated with for the first UE
Determine
Based on parameters of the direct and the indirect path, the parameters including the path identifiers (IDs),
transmit, to the first UE, information configuring the indirect path for a path change, and
perform [[data]] transmission and reception of data with the first UE by using the direct path and the indirect path simultaneously,’
(the BS controller and the transceiver in Fig. 1. And, direct link 621 between the remote UE and the BS [0046], Fig. 6. And the remote UE is configured with multi-path communication with the BS [0046]. That is direct-path 621 and Indirect-path 622 as shown Fig. 6 [0046]. Further, direct path is mentioned without relay UE i.e. a Uu interface uses radio link. And the indirect-path uses one or more radio link via the relay UE between the remote UE and the BS i.e. SL-PC5 UE-UE2N and UE2N-gNB/BS as shown in Fig. 5 [0045-0046]. The network send configuration RRC message to the remote UE [0047]. And, data packets are sent to direct/in-direct simultaneously [0028].
Regarding the path switch, disclosures include: based on the coverage and measurement in the existing direct-path when the remote out-of-coverage, The network can configure remote UE 601 and relay UE 603 to establish the relaying link to enable the indirect path as part of switch procedure. Disclosure further specify the alternatively from the out-of-coverage to in-coverage to add direct-path via Uu RRC message and perform the switch procedure [0047].
List of candidate relay UEs to add indirect-path and determination of direct/indirect-path. The network configure remote/relay-UE to establish indirect-path [0047-0049] and in Fig. 6 to 7. And in Fig. 8 includes SRAP between the remote-UE and the BS; one/more remote-UEs and/or relay-UEs; SRAP-layer-812 for the data transmits/receptions [0050, 0065, 0070] and in Fig. 10.)
And discloses,
‘Wherein the indirect path is determined based on parameters of the direct path and indirect path, the parameters including path identifiers (IDs)’, (determination/selection of path direct/indirect (disclosed above) based on the parameters as stacks (RLC), path/link quality and measurements [0067]. And, parameters for the SRAP includes UE/RBs-ID [0071]. Simultaneously in direct/in-direct uses RLC SRAP data-PDU [0028]. Establish multiple-path and multi-path transceiving in Fig. 2B. And, in Fig. 11 illustrates SRPA/PDCH stack RLC-entities egress-ingress data-packets.),
And didn’t disclose, ‘the parameters including priority levels, and a number of hop counts’, and
‘based on priority level of data’.
Jaya in the relevant art discloses, per-hop-QoS, E2E-QoS, and E2E latency requirement [0087-0088, 0092]. QoS associated to radio link control (RLC), a WTRU determine to perform on RLC channel depends on Q0S priority value configured to the RLC channel [0115].
the remote WTRU may receive information/indication on QoS (e.g., latency, data rate, and/or reliability) when transmitting a PDU in the subsequent hop [0192]. The remote WTRU perform resource re-selection determined updated-QoS (e.g., latency) then transmit the PDUs indicating determined updated QoS during Tx-SL-Hop includes PDU/data associated index and/or priority value [0220]. RLC channel and parameter QoS (e.g., revised priority, PDB, throughput, and/or above threshold, the parameter priority [0170]. E2E RB for the WTRU-to-WTRU-relay RB-ID L2/L3 and RLC-ID of N number RBs mapped-RLC [0172-0173]. QFI associated PDU includes path/route-ID E2E [0174]. QoS per hop and/or E2E indicated hop-count [0195]. Autonomously activate packet duplication/initiate at stacks/adaptation layers, RLC/MAC to increase reliability of QoS.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Wang and to include
with that of Jaya to come up with the claim invention,
Wang discloses the determination of patch/link-change procedure [0047]; uses SRAP for SL-relays [0054] in Fig. 6 to 8 and in Fig. 10. Wang motive, adaptation procedures of SRAP for multiple-paths uses stacks and identifier [0071]; Packet are delivered ingress/egress of RLC entities of multiple transceiver-path; destination node can aggregate the data from the source node received from different relaying nodes. Per packet/RB basis [0033-0034]. Wang motive to perform multi-path based data-Tx [0033] simultaneously in direct/in-direct uses RLC SRAP data-PDU [0028]. Includes multi-path configuration for reliability and throughput [0004, 0006] for the multi-hop [0035, 0049]. And Jaya complements for the path/route-ID to include specific hop count and data priority on both E2E and hop-by-hop basis of QoS parameters ensure latency and reliability Jaya [0092] that is identical motive to Wang.
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The BS of claim 1 (disclosed above),
Wang discloses, ‘wherein the first UE connect to the base station via a second UE which is a relay UE on the indirect path (In Fig. 3 illustrates UE-to-Network relay includes the relay UE (i.e. another remote UE [0028]) between the BS and the remote UE [0012] and that is layer-2 relay mode UE-to-Network [0040] and Fig. 5. In Fig. 6, the indirect path between the UE and the BS uses an intermediate relay-UE that includes an access link between the relay and the BS, and a SL between the remote UE and the relay UE/second remote UE [0046]).
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The BS of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Wang discloses, ‘wherein first UE is configured with a multi-path comprising the direct path and the indirect path.’ (disclosure Claim 15 multipath-module and Fig. 6-7 and Fig. 8.)
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The BS of claim 1 (disclosed above),
Wang discloses, ‘wherein the information configuration the indirect path is transmitted via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message’ (the RRC message [0047];)
Regarding Claim 5,
Wang discloses, ‘A first user equipment (UE) which is a remote UE in a wireless communication system, the first UE comprising: a transceiver’ (Fig. 1 includes transceiver for the BS and the terminal);
Similar to claim 1 disclosed above only inclusion of controller Fig. 1 [0031] for the UE, ‘and a controller coupled with the transceiver, and configured to: transmit, to a base station (BS) via a direct path, information on a list of candidate relay UEs associated with an indirect path for the first UE, receive, from the BS, information configuring the indirect path wherein the indirect path is determined based on parameters of the direct path and the indirect path, the parameters including path identifiers (IDs), priority levels, and a number of hop counts, identify a second UE which is a relay UE on the indirect path, and perform [[data]] transmission and reception of data with the base station by using the direct path and the indirect path simultaneously based on the;
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The UE of claim 5‘ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘wherein the first UE connects to the base station via a second UE which is a relay UE on the indirect path.’
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The first UE of claim 5‘ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 3 disclosed above, ‘wherein first UE is configured with a multi-path comprising the direct path and the indirect path’ (Disclosure claim 15, multi-path module that establishes multiple transceiver paths between the UE and a destination node. wherein at least one transceiver path includes a SL connection with a relay node;
a data module that performs data split or data duplication at SL relay adaptation protocol (SRAP) layer for egress data packets before delivering egress data packets to multiple corresponding radio link control (RLC) entities of a source protocol stack of the UE; and an aggregation module that aggregates ingress data packets received from the multiple transceiver paths.
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The first UE of claim 5‘ (disclosed above),
similar to Claim 4 disclosed above, ‘the information configuration the indirect path is transmitted via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message’.
Regarding Claim 9,
A method claim Similar to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A method performed by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first user equipment (UE) which is a remote UE via a direct path, information on a list of candidate relay UEs associated with an indirect path for the first UE; determining path based on parameters of the direct path and the indirect path, the parameters including path identifiers (IDs), priority levels, and a number of hop counts; transmitting, to the first UE, information configuring the indirect path for a path change; and performing [[data]] transmission and reception of data with the first UE by using the direct path and the indirect path simultaneously based on the; of the data, and
Regarding Claim 10,
A method claim Similar to Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘The method of claim 9, wherein the first UE connects to the base station via a second UE which is a relay UE on the indirect path.’
Regarding Claim 11,
A method claim similar to Claim 3 disclosed above, ‘The method of claim 9, wherein data traffic received from the remote UE via the indirect path is aggregated with data traffic from multiple UEs.’
Regarding Claim 12,
A method claim Similar to Claim 4 disclosed above, ‘The method of claim 9, wherein the information on the one or more radio links includes at least one of a network condition, a congestion indication, or a radio link failure (RLF) indication.’
Regarding Claim 13,
A method claim similar to Claim 5 disclosed above, ‘A method performed by a first user equipment (UE) which is a remote UE in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a base station (BS) via a direct path, information on a list of candidate relay UEs associated with an indirect path for the first UE; receiving, from the BS, information configuring the indirect path wherein the indirect path is determined based on parameters of the direct path and the indirect path, the parameters including path identifiers (IDs), priority levels, and a number of hop counts; identifying a second UE which is a relay UE on the indirect path; and performing [[data]] transmission and reception of data with the base station by using the direct path and the indirect path simultaneously based on the; of the data, and a number of hop counts.’
Regarding Claim 14,
A method claim Similar to Claim 6 disclosed above, ‘The method of claim 13, wherein the first UE connect to the base station via a second UE which is a relay UE on the indirect path.’
Regarding Claim 15,
A method claim Similar to Claim 7 disclosed above, ‘The method of claim 13, wherein first UE is configured with a multi-path comprising the direct path and the indirect path’
Regarding Claim 16,
A method claim Similar to Claim 8 disclosed above, ‘The method of claim 13, wherein the information configuration the indirect path is transmitted via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Arguments and Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are,
Regarding the applicant argument, page-8, “objection to specification”, [0066] “A remote UE may aggregate traffic from multiple remote UEs.” that was previously presented 10/10/2025 in non-Final OA as 112(a). Applicant amended the claim based on lack of spec. Examiner respectfully submits and discretion to applicant as this subject matter not explained and lack details therefore to discard from spec.
Regarding the applicant argument, page-8 and page-9, “35 USC 103 rejection”, “Claim 1 recites a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, where the BS…” that is amended claim 1, examiner presented prior arts based on amended claim limitations. Details relevant disclosures in page-4 to page-8 above.
And specific to claim limitation, determination of indirect-path based on parameters of the direct and the indirect path includes path-id, priority and hop-counts, and performing data transmission/reception on both path simultaneously.
Disclosure Wang,
List of candidate relay UEs to add indirect-path and determination of direct/indirect-path. The network configure remote/relay-UE to establish indirect-path [0047-0049] and in Fig. 6 to 7. And in Fig. 8 includes SRAP between the remote-UE and the BS; one/more remote-UEs and/or relay-UEs; SRAP-layer-812 for the data transmits/receptions [0050, 0065, 0070] and in Fig. 10. Specific parameters stacks (RLC), path/link quality and measurements [0067] for the SRAP includes UE/RBs-ID [0071]. Simultaneously in direct/in-direct uses RLC SRAP data-PDU [0028]. Establish multiple-path and multi-path transceiving in Fig. 2B. And, in Fig. 11 illustrates SRPA/PDCH stack RLC-entities egress-ingress data-packets.
Wang didn’t disclose hop count and priority of data disclosed by Jaya determination of QoS-SL-hop data PDU associated index and/or priority [0220].
Wang motive, adaptation procedures of SRAP for multiple-paths uses stacks and identifier [0071]; Packet are delivered ingress/egress of RLC entities of multiple transceiver-path; destination node can aggregate the data from the source node received from different relaying nodes. Per packet/RB basis [0033-0034]. Wang motive to perform multi-path based data-Tx [0033] simultaneously in direct/in-direct uses RLC SRAP data-PDU [0028]. Includes multi-path configuration for reliability and throughput [0004, 0006] for the multi-hop [0035, 0049]. And Jaya complements for the path/route-ID to include specific hop count and data priority on both E2E and hop-by-hop basis of QoS parameters ensure latency and reliability Jaya [0092] that is identical motive to Wang.
Examiner thanks applicant and attorney for their time and efforts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
5G; NR; Sidelink Relay Adaptation Protocol (SRAP) Specification (3GPP TS 38.351 version 17.0.0 Release 17, 2022-05) (Year: 2022);
R3-181345, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #99; L2-based multi-hop architecture to support IAB architecture requirements; Athens, Greece, 26th February – 2nd March 2018.
Hoang et al. (US-20230300713-A1) identifiers and number of hops for link-selection includes one/more SL-relays [0189, 0191], identifiers-source/relay/destination, QoS [0191] and priority [0318], prioritize number of hops [0330, 0331-0333].
Samian et. al. (US-10129902-B2), a WTRU perform prioritization when it detects a change in hop count Col. 41 [0053-0054], Col. 50 [0056-0057]. The WTRU prioritize data reception Col. 4 [0026]. The WTRU configured to select a pattern to use based on a priority of the data to be transmitted/received Col. 40 [0007-0008].
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466