DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the remarks filed 06/02/2026. Claims 1 - 25 are pending and have
been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 - 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8, 9, 10, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claims 3, 18 and 21, they are rejected as being inconsistent with their respective parent claims. They state “detecting a second trigger condition for transferring display of the video stream back to being displayed on the first device from being displayed on the second device”, however, the parent claim does not establish ever transferring the display of the video stream to the second device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8, 9 and 10 are rejected as being dependent on Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0032809, hereinafter “Xie”) in view of Fang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0216990, hereinafter “Fang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Xie teaches
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more hardware processors (see Xie Paragraph [0025], The memory 10 of the client device 6 may comprise read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), magnetic disk storage media devices, optical storage media devices, flash memory devices, electrical, optical, or other physical/tangible memory storage devices, and any combinations thereof. The processor 8 can comprise at least one microprocessor that executes control process logic instructions 12 stored within memory 10 including operational instructions and software applications stored within such memory, including operation of a conference application module 14 as described herein. Thus, in general, the memory 10 may comprise one or more tangible (non-transitory) computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed (by the processor 8) it is operable to perform the handoff operations described herein in relation to an online conference), cause performance of operations comprising:
executing, by a first application on a first device, a video call function comprising a video call with a second device (see Xie Paragraph [0014], Techniques are described herein in relation to an online conference between a plurality of client devices hosted by at least one server. A first client device receives at least two of an audio session including audio content associated with the online conference, a video session including video content associated with the online conference, and a content session including content associated with the online conference other than audio and video content, Paragraph [0027], The conference application module 14 stored in memory 10 of each client device 6 comprises one or more software applications that facilitate online conferences and/or other types of communications with other client devices 6 over the network, where the conferences are hosted by the host server system 20. In particular, the conference application module 14 includes an audio module 15 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the audio server 22 (via one or more software applications of an audio application module 30 stored in memory 26 of the audio server 22) of the host server system 20 to engage in an audio session during an online conference, where the audio session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive audio content from the audio server 22 for the conference session, Paragraph [0028], The conference application module 14 also includes a video application module 16 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the video server 32 (via one or more software applications of a video application module 40 stored in memory 36 of the video server 32) to engage in a video session during the online conference, where the video session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive video content from the video server 32 for the conference session that is in sync with the audio content of the audio session, Paragraph [0029], The conference application module 14 further includes a content application module 17 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the video server 32 (via one or more software applications of a content application module 50 stored in memory 46 of the content server 42) to engage in a content session during the online conference, where the content session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive content (e.g., shared desktop content) from the content server 42 for the conference session that is in sync with the audio and video content of the audio and video sessions, Paragraph [0030], The conference application module 14 also includes one or more suitable software applications that enable communications with the conference controller 52 (via one or more software applications of a conference control application module 60) to facilitate operations associated with the conference session, including providing a user identification for the client device 6 and controlling transmission of audio, video and content sessions from the audio, video and content servers to the client device 6 (or client devices 6) in order to ensure adequate syncing of the sessions as well as handoff operations between client devices utilizing the techniques described herein, Paragraph [0032], Operation of the system 2 to perform handoff operations between client devices 6 during an online conference is now described with reference to FIGS. 4-8. Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, an online conference is initiated at 70 (note that FIG. 5 generally describes UID values as `XXX` and session type values as `YYY` in the communication messages between client devices and the conference controller). Client devices 6, which can be of various types (e.g., desktop or laptop personal computing devices, smart phones, note pads, etc.), engage in the conference by connecting with the conference controller 52 so as to receive audio, video and/or other content from the audio, video and content servers 22, 32, 42. Client device 6-1 joins the online conference at 72 (e.g., a conference session that includes client devices 6-3 and 6-4 as depicted in FIG. 1) by making a connection request with the conference controller 52, which includes establishing or registering a user ID (UID) for client device 6-1 in relation to the online conference session (e.g., UID=1 for client device 6-1) and also a connection with the audio server 22, the video server 32 and the content server 42 (where communications and exchange of audio, video and other content is facilitated via the conference application modules of the servers and client device). At 74, after establishing such connections, an audio session a1, a video session v1 and a content session c1 associated with the UID are mapped and provided to client device 6-1 via the servers 22, 32, 42. This is schematically depicted in FIG. 6. The registration of a UID for client device 1 and mapping audio session a1, video session v1 and content session c1 to the UID facilitates control of the audio, video and other content provided to the client device 1 (e.g., ensuring that the audio, video and content sessions are synced with each other) as well as providing other client devices engaged in the online conference session with information that audio, video and other content initiates from client device 1), the first application:
causing display of a video stream corresponding to the video call on a first display screen comprised in the first device, the video stream being received from the second device (see Xie Paragraph [0028], The conference application module 14 also includes a video application module 16 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the video server 32 (via one or more software applications of a video application module 40 stored in memory 36 of the video server 32) to engage in a video session during the online conference, where the video session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive video content from the video server 32 for the conference session that is in sync with the audio content of the audio session, Paragraph [0017], a participant in an online conference and user of two or more client devices configured to engage in the conference may be receiving audio, video and content sessions for the online conference at a first client device, such as a smart phone, Paragraph [0042], Referring to FIG. 9, a user interface 200 (e.g., implemented via the conference application module 14 of the client device 6-1) that is displayed by client device 6-1 includes a plurality of display windows and input icons (e.g., buttons, scroll bars, menu bars, etc.) that can be of any conventional or other suitable types for facilitating interactive operations for a user of the client device 6-1 in an online conference session with other users. For example, the user interface 200 can include a window 202 that includes a listing of current participants in the online conference (e.g., optionally including other contact or presence information associated with such participants, communication features such as instant messaging that can be initiated with any of the participants, etc.) and a window 204 that displays, e.g., video or other content (e.g., shared desktop content) from video and content sessions associated with the online conference. Any suitable number of other input icons, such as a transfer button 206, can also be provided. The transfer button 206 allows the user of the client device 6-1 to initiate a handoff request of one or more sessions for the online conference);
capturing voice data and video data, using a camera and a microphone of the first device, for the video call (see Xie Paragraph [0023], An example embodiment of a client device 6 is depicted in the block diagram of FIG. 2. In particular, the client device 6 includes a processor 8, a network interface 9, a memory 10, and a plurality of input and output (I/O) devices (indicated generally as element 7) including, without limitation, a display device (e.g., LCD or any other suitable type of display screen for displaying video content, images, documents or files and any other types of content), a keyboard, a mouse (or other suitable input control device, e.g., touch pad or touch screen), a camera (e.g., to capture and record still images and video content), a microphone (e.g., to record audio content), speaker(s) (to output audio content), etc. The I/O devices 7 allow the client device to engage in online conferences, including capturing and transmission of audio, video and other content by the client device to other client devices over the network 4 as well as receiving such content during an online conference session); and
causing transmission of the voice data and the video data from the first device to the second device (see Xie Paragraph [0023], An example embodiment of a client device 6 is depicted in the block diagram of FIG. 2. In particular, the client device 6 includes a processor 8, a network interface 9, a memory 10, and a plurality of input and output (I/O) devices (indicated generally as element 7) including, without limitation, a display device (e.g., LCD or any other suitable type of display screen for displaying video content, images, documents or files and any other types of content), a keyboard, a mouse (or other suitable input control device, e.g., touch pad or touch screen), a camera (e.g., to capture and record still images and video content), a microphone (e.g., to record audio content), speaker(s) (to output audio content), etc. The I/O devices 7 allow the client device to engage in online conferences, including capturing and transmission of audio, video and other content by the client device to other client devices over the network 4 as well as receiving such content during an online conference session);
detecting, by the first application, a first trigger condition for transferring display of the video stream from being displayed on the first device to being displayed on a third device (see Xie Paragraph [0033], At some point during the online conference session, the user of client device 6-1 may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device. For example, where a client device is a laptop or desktop computing device, the user may desire to have greater mobility (e.g., being able to move around a room while still being engaged in the conference session) by switching the audio and/or video sessions to a smart phone or other mobile computing device while leaving the content session at the computing device having a larger display screen. In another example embodiment, a user may have initiated the online conference session with a mobile device, such as a smart phone (e.g., the user initiated the online conference session before arriving at the user's office), but then may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device (e.g., the user arrives at the office and wants to switch the video and/or content sessions to a desktop computing device, while leaving the audio session connected with the smart phone). Any number of possible scenarios exist where a user may desire, after having initiated an online conference at one client device, to split one or more of the audio, video and content sessions of the online conference such that two (or more) client devices receive audio, video and/or content from the online conference, Paragraph [0034], When the user at client device 6-1 (e.g., a laptop) desires to initiate a handoff of one or more sessions of the online conference session to a second client device 6-2 (e.g., a smart phone), a connection between the conference controller 52 and client device 6-2 is established at 76 using the same UID that has been registered for the first client device 6-1 (e.g., UID=1). For example, a message can be sent from client device 6-1 to client device 6-2 over a suitable device-to-device communication channel that client device 6-2 connect with the conference controller 52 with same UID (UID=1). Alternatively, the system 2 can be configured such that the conference controller 52 connects with client device 6-2, based upon a handoff request from client device 6-1, and registers client device 6-2 with the same UID, Paragraph [0035], At 78, a session handoff request is communicated to the conference controller 52 to handoff at least one session type (e.g., by specifying UID=1 and session type, a1, v1 and/or c1) to client device 6-2 (now also registered with the conference controller 52 with UID=1). For example, client device 6-1 sends a session handoff notification to client device 6-2 (including session type(s) to be handed off), Paragraph [0043], During an online conference, and in response to a user actuating the transfer button 206 (e.g., by clicking on the button via a navigation controllable pointer using a mouse, touch pad or other input control device), a pop-up window 210 appears that lists different client devices also associated with the user from which the user can select to handoff one or more sessions of the ongoing online conference. The list of client devices can be customized to the user's devices, with information associated with each client device (e.g., operating system type, MAC address, etc.) that allows communications to establish the session handoff as previously described herein. In response to selection of a specific client device from the list in window 210, pop-up window 212 depicted in FIG. 11 appears in interface 200. The window 212 provides an option for the user to select one or more sessions (e.g., an audio session, video session, content session) of the online conference session to be transferred to the selected client device); and
responsive to detecting the first trigger condition, the first application splitting the video call function across the first device and the third device (see Xie Paragraph [0033], At some point during the online conference session, the user of client device 6-1 may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device. For example, where a client device is a laptop or desktop computing device, the user may desire to have greater mobility (e.g., being able to move around a room while still being engaged in the conference session) by switching the audio and/or video sessions to a smart phone or other mobile computing device while leaving the content session at the computing device having a larger display screen. In another example embodiment, a user may have initiated the online conference session with a mobile device, such as a smart phone (e.g., the user initiated the online conference session before arriving at the user's office), but then may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device (e.g., the user arrives at the office and wants to switch the video and/or content sessions to a desktop computing device, while leaving the audio session connected with the smart phone). Any number of possible scenarios exist where a user may desire, after having initiated an online conference at one client device, to split one or more of the audio, video and content sessions of the online conference such that two (or more) client devices receive audio, video and/or content from the online conference, Paragraph [0034], When the user at client device 6-1 (e.g., a laptop) desires to initiate a handoff of one or more sessions of the online conference session to a second client device 6-2 (e.g., a smart phone), a connection between the conference controller 52 and client device 6-2 is established at 76 using the same UID that has been registered for the first client device 6-1 (e.g., UID=1). For example, a message can be sent from client device 6-1 to client device 6-2 over a suitable device-to-device communication channel that client device 6-2 connect with the conference controller 52 with same UID (UID=1). Alternatively, the system 2 can be configured such that the conference controller 52 connects with client device 6-2, based upon a handoff request from client device 6-1, and registers client device 6-2 with the same UID, Paragraph [0035], At 78, a session handoff request is communicated to the conference controller 52 to handoff at least one session type (e.g., by specifying UID=1 and session type, a1, v1 and/or c1) to client device 6-2 (now also registered with the conference controller 52 with UID=1). For example, client device 6-1 sends a session handoff notification to client device 6-2 (including session type(s) to be handed off), Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference)) by concurrently performing:
transferring the display of the video stream, corresponding to the video call, from the first device to the third device (see Xie Figure 11, in which first user is selecting what session to transfer to another device on the interface, in which user selects video, Paragraph [0043], During an online conference, and in response to a user actuating the transfer button 206 (e.g., by clicking on the button via a navigation controllable pointer using a mouse, touch pad or other input control device), a pop-up window 210 appears that lists different client devices also associated with the user from which the user can select to handoff one or more sessions of the ongoing online conference. The list of client devices can be customized to the user's devices, with information associated with each client device (e.g., operating system type, MAC address, etc.) that allows communications to establish the session handoff as previously described herein. In response to selection of a specific client device from the list in window 210, pop-up window 212 depicted in FIG. 11 appears in interface 200. The window 212 provides an option for the user to select one or more sessions (e.g., an audio session, video session, content session) of the online conference session to be transferred to the selected client device, Paragraph [0033], At some point during the online conference session, the user of client device 6-1 may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device. For example, where a client device is a laptop or desktop computing device, the user may desire to have greater mobility (e.g., being able to move around a room while still being engaged in the conference session) by switching the audio and/or video sessions to a smart phone or other mobile computing device while leaving the content session at the computing device having a larger display screen. In another example embodiment, a user may have initiated the online conference session with a mobile device, such as a smart phone (e.g., the user initiated the online conference session before arriving at the user's office), but then may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device (e.g., the user arrives at the office and wants to switch the video and/or content sessions to a desktop computing device, while leaving the audio session connected with the smart phone). Any number of possible scenarios exist where a user may desire, after having initiated an online conference at one client device, to split one or more of the audio, video and content sessions of the online conference such that two (or more) client devices receive audio, video and/or content from the online conference, in which the display of the video conference may include the video session and/or the content session) by:
causing display of the video stream on the third device by causing transmission of the video stream from the first device to the third device (see Xie Paragraph [0017], a participant in an online conference and user of two or more client devices configured to engage in the conference may be receiving audio, video and content sessions for the online conference at a first client device, such as a smart phone. The user of the first client device may desire to transfer at least one of the sessions (e.g., the content session) to a second client device, such as a laptop or desktop personal computing device (e.g., to provide a larger display for viewing the content while being able to continue at least the audio session on the user's smart phone). The techniques described herein facilitate such a handoff of a portion of the online conference to a second client device while keeping or maintaining other portions of the online conference at the first client device (e.g., the client device that initiated the handoff operation), Paragraph [0033], At some point during the online conference session, the user of client device 6-1 may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device. For example, where a client device is a laptop or desktop computing device, the user may desire to have greater mobility (e.g., being able to move around a room while still being engaged in the conference session) by switching the audio and/or video sessions to a smart phone or other mobile computing device while leaving the content session at the computing device having a larger display screen. In another example embodiment, a user may have initiated the online conference session with a mobile device, such as a smart phone (e.g., the user initiated the online conference session before arriving at the user's office), but then may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device (e.g., the user arrives at the office and wants to switch the video and/or content sessions to a desktop computing device, while leaving the audio session connected with the smart phone). Any number of possible scenarios exist where a user may desire, after having initiated an online conference at one client device, to split one or more of the audio, video and content sessions of the online conference such that two (or more) client devices receive audio, video and/or content from the online conference, in which the display of the video conference may include the video session and/or the content session, Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference)); and
terminating display of the video stream on the first device (see Xie Paragraph [0036], At 80, one or more connections are established between the client device 6-2 and one or more of the audio, video and content servers 22, 32, 42 based upon the processed session handoff request. In the example embodiment, connections are established between client device 6-2 and the audio server 22 and video server 32 with corresponding audio session a2 and video session v2. In particular, the client controller 52, after receiving the request by the client device 6-2 to handoff audio and video sessions associated with UID=1 to client device 6-2, allows such a request based upon the session status ("to be torn down", reason="transit") assigned to the audio and video sessions based upon the previous leave session request by client device 6-1. As depicted in FIG. 7, connections are established between client device 6-2 and audio server 22 and video server 32, with corresponding audio session a2 and video session v2, Paragraph [0033], At some point during the online conference session, the user of client device 6-1 may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device. For example, where a client device is a laptop or desktop computing device, the user may desire to have greater mobility (e.g., being able to move around a room while still being engaged in the conference session) by switching the audio and/or video sessions to a smart phone or other mobile computing device while leaving the content session at the computing device having a larger display screen. In another example embodiment, a user may have initiated the online conference session with a mobile device, such as a smart phone (e.g., the user initiated the online conference session before arriving at the user's office), but then may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device (e.g., the user arrives at the office and wants to switch the video and/or content sessions to a desktop computing device, while leaving the audio session connected with the smart phone). Any number of possible scenarios exist where a user may desire, after having initiated an online conference at one client device, to split one or more of the audio, video and content sessions of the online conference such that two (or more) client devices receive audio, video and/or content from the online conference, in which the display of the video conference may include the video session and/or the content session),
wherein the third device receives and displays the video stream originating at the second device and received via the first device (see Xie Paragraph [0017], a participant in an online conference and user of two or more client devices configured to engage in the conference may be receiving audio, video and content sessions for the online conference at a first client device, such as a smart phone. The user of the first client device may desire to transfer at least one of the sessions (e.g., the content session) to a second client device, such as a laptop or desktop personal computing device (e.g., to provide a larger display for viewing the content while being able to continue at least the audio session on the user's smart phone). The techniques described herein facilitate such a handoff of a portion of the online conference to a second client device while keeping or maintaining other portions of the online conference at the first client device (e.g., the client device that initiated the handoff operation), Paragraph [0033], At some point during the online conference session, the user of client device 6-1 may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device. For example, where a client device is a laptop or desktop computing device, the user may desire to have greater mobility (e.g., being able to move around a room while still being engaged in the conference session) by switching the audio and/or video sessions to a smart phone or other mobile computing device while leaving the content session at the computing device having a larger display screen. In another example embodiment, a user may have initiated the online conference session with a mobile device, such as a smart phone (e.g., the user initiated the online conference session before arriving at the user's office), but then may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device (e.g., the user arrives at the office and wants to switch the video and/or content sessions to a desktop computing device, while leaving the audio session connected with the smart phone). Any number of possible scenarios exist where a user may desire, after having initiated an online conference at one client device, to split one or more of the audio, video and content sessions of the online conference such that two (or more) client devices receive audio, video and/or content from the online conference, in which the display of the video conference may include the video session and/or the content session, Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference));
continuing by the first application, capturing of the voice data for the video call using the microphone of the first device (see Xie Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference)); and
continuing transmission of the voice data for the video call from the first device to the second device (see Xie Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference));
Xie does not expressively teach
wherein the first device displays on the first display screen, comprised in the first device, application data corresponding to a second application that is different than the first application without displaying on the first display screen the video stream that is being displayed on the third device.
However, Fang teaches
wherein the first device displays on the first display screen, comprised in the first device, application data corresponding to a second application that is different than the first application without displaying on the first display screen the video stream that is being displayed on the third device (see Fang Figures 4C and 4D, which are simultaneous in time, displaying a user’s primary or first device, and a secondary device being a television and Paragraph [0240], After the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the mobile phone returns to the user interface before the video call is generated. For example, the mobile phone displays a home screen before receiving a video call request. As shown in FIG. 4(d), after the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the mobile phone returns to the home screen. In some embodiments, the graphical user interface may include a first notification message 214. The first notification message 214 may display text information, for example, “The video call is being performed on the living room television”, to prompt the user that the video call is being performed on the living room television. In some other embodiments, if the mobile phone displays an interface of another application (such as gallery or reading) or an interface of a video call application before receiving the video call request, after the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the mobile phone may display a corresponding interface before the switching. For a video call initiator, an interface displayed by the video call initiator before the video call request is initiated may include information about a called contact, a chat window with the called contact, or the like. After the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television, the mobile phone may display a response interface before the switching).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of utilizing a first device associated with a user in a video conference with a second device, and displaying video conference stream on a third device also associated with said user while utilizing input data from a first device (as taught in Xie), with concurrently using two devices associated with a user in a video conference and running separate applications on each device (as taught in Fang), the motivation being to improve video conferencing experience by enabling the ability to; utilize superior components across multiple devices, such as a television for a larger display, or using a microphone or camera from a mobile phone with higher quality (see Fang Paragraph [0003] and [0004]), and enable a video conference user to multitask (see Fang Figures 4C and 4D).
Regarding Claim 2, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
concurrently with displaying the video stream corresponding to the video call on the first display screen, playing an audio stream corresponding to the video call on a first audio component corresponding to the first device (see Fang Paragraph [0324], A mobile phone determines that the mobile phone is in a video call state or meets a device interaction condition. Specifically, the mobile phone may determine, by determining whether a camera and a microphone are used by a video call application, or a voice call event occurs when a camera is used by a video call application, or the like, whether the mobile phone is in a video call state or whether a device interaction condition is met, in which audio stream is playing),
wherein further responsive to detecting the first trigger condition, the first device causing playing of the audio stream on a second audio component corresponding to the second device (see Fang Paragraph [0330], The mobile phone sends the video stream to the smart television, Paragraph [0331], After receiving the video stream, the smart television processes the video stream into an image and/or audio and outputs the image and/or audio, Paragraph [0332], the mobile phone may use the video stream as screen projection data to be carried by using a video streaming protocol (Real Time Streaming Protocol, RTSP) and output the screen projection data to the smart television. The smart television performs video streaming protocol receiving and processing and video and audio decoding on the screen projection data, and then renders and outputs the data, Figure 4C and Paragraph [0238], In response to the first switching message, the smart television may display the interface shown in FIG. 4(c). The interface may include a third video display area 221 and a fourth video display area 222. The third video display area 221 displays data collected by a camera of a device of the other party of the video call. The device of the other party may be a mobile phone or a television set, or may be switched from a mobile phone to a television set. The fourth video display area 222 displays data collected by a camera of a device of this party of the video call).
Regarding Claim 3, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
detecting a second trigger condition for transferring display of the video stream back to being displayed on the first device from being displayed on the second device (see Fang Figure 4D, text information displayed on primary (mobile) device with an input option to “switch to the mobile phone” therefore switching the video conference back to the phone from the television); and
responsive to detecting the second trigger condition:
the first device causing display of the video stream, corresponding to the video call, on the first display screen of the first device while the first application continues to utilize the voice data and the video data captured by the first device for the video call (see Fang Figure 4D, text information displayed on primary (mobile) device with an input option (215) to “switch to the mobile phone” therefore switching the video conference back to the phone from the television and Paragraph [0240], The graphical user interface may further include a control 215. If the mobile phone detects an operation performed on the control, the mobile phone may send a third switching message to the smart television 102. In response to the third switching message, the mobile phone may continue the video call and display data collected by the camera of the other party, and the smart television 102 may display an interface displayed before a moment at which the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102).
Regarding Claim 4, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein detecting the first trigger condition includes detecting user engagement with a user interface element on the first device for initiating transfer of the video stream to the second device (see Xie Paragraph [0043], During an online conference, and in response to a user actuating the transfer button 206 (e.g., by clicking on the button via a navigation controllable pointer using a mouse, touch pad or other input control device), a pop-up window 210 appears that lists different client devices also associated with the user from which the user can select to handoff one or more sessions of the ongoing online conference. The list of client devices can be customized to the user's devices, with information associated with each client device (e.g., operating system type, MAC address, etc.) that allows communications to establish the session handoff as previously described herein. In response to selection of a specific client device from the list in window 210, pop-up window 212 depicted in FIG. 11 appears in interface 200. The window 212 provides an option for the user to select one or more sessions (e.g., an audio session, video session, content session) of the online conference session to be transferred to the selected client device. In the example embodiment previously described herein, client device 6-1 can select audio and video sessions in window 212 for handing off or transfer to client device 6-2. In response to making the selections, a window 214 appears in interface 200, as depicted in FIG. 12, which indicates that the handoff process is being implemented. This results in transfer of audio and video content of the ongoing online conference from client device 6-1 to client device 6-2, while any other content (e.g., desktop sharing) associated with the conference is maintained at client device 6-1, Paragraph [0044], Thus, the techniques described herein facilitate transfer of at least one of audio, video and other content from one client device to at least one other client device during an online conference session. This allows flexibility, e.g., for users who may be on the move or may desire to use a mobile device for certain features (e.g., audio and/or video) and another device for other features of the conference. It is noted that a first client device currently receiving audio, video and other content associated with the online conference can implement a handoff of, e.g., the audio session to a second client device (e.g., a smart phone), and the video session to a third client device (e.g., a note pad) while maintaining the content session at the first client device. In addition, any client device which is a recipient of any one or more handoff sessions of an online conference can also implement a handoff of such session(s) back to the original client device or to a further client device in the same or similar manner in relation to how the original client device implemented the handoff, Paragraph [0014], Techniques are described herein in relation to an online conference between a plurality of client devices hosted by at least one server. A first client device receives at least two of an audio session including audio content associated with the online conference, a video session including video content associated with the online conference, and a content session including content associated with the online conference other than audio and video content, Paragraph [0027], The conference application module 14 stored in memory 10 of each client device 6 comprises one or more software applications that facilitate online conferences and/or other types of communications with other client devices 6 over the network, where the conferences are hosted by the host server system 20. In particular, the conference application module 14 includes an audio module 15 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the audio server 22 (via one or more software applications of an audio application module 30 stored in memory 26 of the audio server 22) of the host server system 20 to engage in an audio session during an online conference, where the audio session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive audio content from the audio server 22 for the conference session, Paragraph [0028], The conference application module 14 also includes a video application module 16 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the video server 32 (via one or more software applications of a video application module 40 stored in memory 36 of the video server 32) to engage in a video session during the online conference, where the video session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive video content from the video server 32 for the conference session that is in sync with the audio content of the audio session, Paragraph [0029], The conference application module 14 further includes a content application module 17 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the video server 32 (via one or more software applications of a content application module 50 stored in memory 46 of the content server 42) to engage in a content session during the online conference, where the content session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive content (e.g., shared desktop content) from the content server 42 for the conference session that is in sync with the audio and video content of the audio and video sessions, Paragraph [0030], The conference application module 14 also includes one or more suitable software applications that enable communications with the conference controller 52 (via one or more software applications of a conference control application module 60) to facilitate operations associated with the conference session, including providing a user identification for the client device 6 and controlling transmission of audio, video and content sessions from the audio, video and content servers to the client device 6 (or client devices 6) in order to ensure adequate syncing of the sessions as well as handoff operations between client devices utilizing the techniques described herein, Paragraph [0032], Operation of the system 2 to perform handoff operations between client devices 6 during an online conference is now described with reference to FIGS. 4-8. Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, an online conference is initiated at 70 (note that FIG. 5 generally describes UID values as `XXX` and session type values as `YYY` in the communication messages between client devices and the conference controller). Client devices 6, which can be of various types (e.g., desktop or laptop personal computing devices, smart phones, note pads, etc.), engage in the conference by connecting with the conference controller 52 so as to receive audio, video and/or other content from the audio, video and content servers 22, 32, 42. Client device 6-1 joins the online conference at 72 (e.g., a conference session that includes client devices 6-3 and 6-4 as depicted in FIG. 1) by making a connection request with the conference controller 52, which includes establishing or registering a user ID (UID) for client device 6-1 in relation to the online conference session (e.g., UID=1 for client device 6-1) and also a connection with the audio server 22, the video server 32 and the content server 42 (where communications and exchange of audio, video and other content is facilitated via the conference application modules of the servers and client device). At 74, after establishing such connections, an audio session a1, a video session v1 and a content session c1 associated with the UID are mapped and provided to client device 6-1 via the servers 22, 32, 42. This is schematically depicted in FIG. 6. The registration of a UID for client device 1 and mapping audio session a1, video session v1 and content session c1 to the UID facilitates control of the audio, video and other content provided to the client device 1 (e.g., ensuring that the audio, video and content sessions are synced with each other) as well as providing other client devices engaged in the online conference session with information that audio, video and other content initiates from client device 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein detecting the first trigger condition includes detecting that the second device is available (see Fang Paragraph [0211], For example, after accessing the local area network, the electronic device 100 may broadcast, to the network, that the electronic device 100 has entered the network, and simultaneously obtain attribute information of another device from the network, for example, a device type, a device identifier, and device description information. In some other embodiments, the electronic device 100 may obtain a list of available devices in the network from one device (for example, a router or a control device in the network) in the network. The device list may include a device type, a device identifier, device description information, and the like of each available device. The device type may distinguish between types of terminal devices, such as a television set, a camera, and a PC. The device identifier is used to distinguish different devices. The device description information indicates more specific description information of the device, for example, capability information such as a service or a protocol supported by the device, Paragraph [0214], After accessing the network again or generating an interaction request, the electronic device 100 may monitor whether the smart television 102 is available and whether the stored attribute information changes. If the foregoing information changes, the foregoing information is updated, Paragraph [0317], After determining the service status, the electronic device 100 may determine whether there is currently an available device that can perform interaction. For example, after determining that a mobile phone is currently in a video call state, the mobile phone may determine whether there is a device having a video playback capability in a current device group, for example, a smart television. In some embodiments, the mobile phone may determine, by using the device description capability obtained during device discovery, whether the device has the video playback capability, Paragraph [0218], The first information 203 is used to display identification information of the other party of the video call. As shown in FIG. 3(a), the information may be an account name of a called user of the video call, Paragraph [0219], The second information 204 is used to prompt a current status. As shown in FIG. 3(a), the information may be “Wait for the other party to accept the invitation”, to prompt the user that a current video call request has been sent and the other party has not answered the call, Paragraph [0227], The second information 204 is used to prompt a current status. As shown in FIG. 3(b), the second information may be “Invite you to a video call”, and a prompt indicating that the video call request is received is displayed).
Regarding Claim 6, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein detecting the first trigger condition includes detecting opening of the second application (see Fang Paragraph [0341], the data channel establishment signal may include an application start indication. The indication is used to start the video call application. After receiving the application start indication, the smart television opens the video call application).
Regarding Claim 7, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein detecting the first trigger condition includes detecting user engagement with the first device to minimize the first application (see Fang Figures 4A to 4D, in which when switching, application is minimized on first or primary device and video conference is displayed on television).
Regarding Claim 8, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 3, wherein detecting the second trigger condition includes detecting user engagement with a user interface element on the first device terminating transfer of the video stream to the second device (see Fang Figure 4D, text information displayed on primary (mobile) device with an input option (215) to “switch to the mobile phone” therefore switching the video conference back to the phone from the television and Paragraph [0240], The graphical user interface may further include a control 215. If the mobile phone detects an operation performed on the control, the mobile phone may send a third switching message to the smart television 102. In response to the third switching message, the mobile phone may continue the video call and display data collected by the camera of the other party, and the smart television 102 may display an interface displayed before a moment at which the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102).
Regarding Claim 9, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 3, wherein detecting the second trigger condition includes detecting that the second device is unavailable (see Fang Paragraph [0241], after the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the user may switch, by using an operation shown in FIG. 5(a) and FIG. 5(b), the video call back to the mobile phone for continuing. As shown in FIG. 5(a), when the mobile phone detects a downward interaction gesture on a status bar, in response to the gesture, the mobile phone may display a window 216, a first notification message 214, and a control 215 on a graphical user interface, as shown in FIG. 5(b). An on/off control of a function such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi may be displayed in the window 216. When the mobile phone detects an operation performed on the control 215, the mobile phone may trigger switching of the video call from the smart television 102 back to the mobile phone for continuing).
Regarding Claim 10, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 3, wherein detecting the second trigger condition includes detecting closing of the second application (see Fang Figure 4D, text information displayed on primary (mobile) device with an input option (215) to “switch to the mobile phone” therefore switching the video conference back to the phone from the television and Paragraph [0240], The graphical user interface may further include a control 215. If the mobile phone detects an operation performed on the control, the mobile phone may send a third switching message to the smart television 102. In response to the third switching message, the mobile phone may continue the video call and display data collected by the camera of the other party, and the smart television 102 may display an interface displayed before a moment at which the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102).
Regarding Claim 11, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein an operating system of the first device causes display of the video stream on the second device (see Xie Paragraph [0027], The conference application module 14 stored in memory 10 of each client device 6 comprises one or more software applications that facilitate online conferences and/or other types of communications with other client devices 6 over the network, where the conferences are hosted by the host server system 20. In particular, the conference application module 14 includes an audio module 15 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the audio server 22 (via one or more software applications of an audio application module 30 stored in memory 26 of the audio server 22) of the host server system 20 to engage in an audio session during an online conference, where the audio session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive audio content from the audio server 22 for the conference session, Paragraph [0028], The conference application module 14 also includes a video application module 16 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the video server 32 (via one or more software applications of a video application module 40 stored in memory 36 of the video server 32) to engage in a video session during the online conference, where the video session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive video content from the video server 32 for the conference session that is in sync with the audio content of the audio session, Paragraph [0029], The conference application module 14 further includes a content application module 17 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the video server 32 (via one or more software applications of a content application module 50 stored in memory 46 of the content server 42) to engage in a content session during the online conference, where the content session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive content (e.g., shared desktop content) from the content server 42 for the conference session that is in sync with the audio and video content of the audio and video sessions, Paragraph [0030], The conference application module 14 also includes one or more suitable software applications that enable communications with the conference controller 52 (via one or more software applications of a conference control application module 60) to facilitate operations associated with the conference session, including providing a user identification for the client device 6 and controlling transmission of audio, video and content sessions from the audio, video and content servers to the client device 6 (or client devices 6) in order to ensure adequate syncing of the sessions as well as handoff operations between client devices utilizing the techniques described herein, Paragraph [0032], Operation of the system 2 to perform handoff operations between client devices 6 during an online conference is now described with reference to FIGS. 4-8. Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, an online conference is initiated at 70 (note that FIG. 5 generally describes UID values as `XXX` and session type values as `YYY` in the communication messages between client devices and the conference controller). Client devices 6, which can be of various types (e.g., desktop or laptop personal computing devices, smart phones, note pads, etc.), engage in the conference by connecting with the conference controller 52 so as to receive audio, video and/or other content from the audio, video and content servers 22, 32, 42. Client device 6-1 joins the online conference at 72 (e.g., a conference session that includes client devices 6-3 and 6-4 as depicted in FIG. 1) by making a connection request with the conference controller 52, which includes establishing or registering a user ID (UID) for client device 6-1 in relation to the online conference session (e.g., UID=1 for client device 6-1) and also a connection with the audio server 22, the video server 32 and the content server 42 (where communications and exchange of audio, video and other content is facilitated via the conference application modules of the servers and client device). At 74, after establishing such connections, an audio session a1, a video session v1 and a content session c1 associated with the UID are mapped and provided to client device 6-1 via the servers 22, 32, 42. This is schematically depicted in FIG. 6. The registration of a UID for client device 1 and mapping audio session a1, video session v1 and content session c1 to the UID facilitates control of the audio, video and other content provided to the client device 1 (e.g., ensuring that the audio, video and content sessions are synced with each other) as well as providing other client devices engaged in the online conference session with information that audio, video and other content initiates from client device 1, Paragraph [0044], Thus, the techniques described herein facilitate transfer of at least one of audio, video and other content from one client device to at least one other client device during an online conference session. This allows flexibility, e.g., for users who may be on the move or may desire to use a mobile device for certain features (e.g., audio and/or video) and another device for other features of the conference. It is noted that a first client device currently receiving audio, video and other content associated with the online conference can implement a handoff of, e.g., the audio session to a second client device (e.g., a smart phone), and the video session to a third client device (e.g., a note pad) while maintaining the content session at the first client device. In addition, any client device which is a recipient of any one or more handoff sessions of an online conference can also implement a handoff of such session(s) back to the original client device or to a further client device in the same or similar manner in relation to how the original client device implemented the handoff).
Regarding Claim 12, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein an operating system of the first application causes display of the video stream on the second device (see Xie Paragraph [0027], The conference application module 14 stored in memory 10 of each client device 6 comprises one or more software applications that facilitate online conferences and/or other types of communications with other client devices 6 over the network, where the conferences are hosted by the host server system 20. In particular, the conference application module 14 includes an audio module 15 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the audio server 22 (via one or more software applications of an audio application module 30 stored in memory 26 of the audio server 22) of the host server system 20 to engage in an audio session during an online conference, where the audio session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive audio content from the audio server 22 for the conference session, Paragraph [0028], The conference application module 14 also includes a video application module 16 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the video server 32 (via one or more software applications of a video application module 40 stored in memory 36 of the video server 32) to engage in a video session during the online conference, where the video session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive video content from the video server 32 for the conference session that is in sync with the audio content of the audio session, Paragraph [0029], The conference application module 14 further includes a content application module 17 comprising one or more software applications that communicate with the video server 32 (via one or more software applications of a content application module 50 stored in memory 46 of the content server 42) to engage in a content session during the online conference, where the content session establishes a connection for the client device 6 to receive content (e.g., shared desktop content) from the content server 42 for the conference session that is in sync with the audio and video content of the audio and video sessions, Paragraph [0030], The conference application module 14 also includes one or more suitable software applications that enable communications with the conference controller 52 (via one or more software applications of a conference control application module 60) to facilitate operations associated with the conference session, including providing a user identification for the client device 6 and controlling transmission of audio, video and content sessions from the audio, video and content servers to the client device 6 (or client devices 6) in order to ensure adequate syncing of the sessions as well as handoff operations between client devices utilizing the techniques described herein, Paragraph [0032], Operation of the system 2 to perform handoff operations between client devices 6 during an online conference is now described with reference to FIGS. 4-8. Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, an online conference is initiated at 70 (note that FIG. 5 generally describes UID values as `XXX` and session type values as `YYY` in the communication messages between client devices and the conference controller). Client devices 6, which can be of various types (e.g., desktop or laptop personal computing devices, smart phones, note pads, etc.), engage in the conference by connecting with the conference controller 52 so as to receive audio, video and/or other content from the audio, video and content servers 22, 32, 42. Client device 6-1 joins the online conference at 72 (e.g., a conference session that includes client devices 6-3 and 6-4 as depicted in FIG. 1) by making a connection request with the conference controller 52, which includes establishing or registering a user ID (UID) for client device 6-1 in relation to the online conference session (e.g., UID=1 for client device 6-1) and also a connection with the audio server 22, the video server 32 and the content server 42 (where communications and exchange of audio, video and other content is facilitated via the conference application modules of the servers and client device). At 74, after establishing such connections, an audio session a1, a video session v1 and a content session c1 associated with the UID are mapped and provided to client device 6-1 via the servers 22, 32, 42. This is schematically depicted in FIG. 6. The registration of a UID for client device 1 and mapping audio session a1, video session v1 and content session c1 to the UID facilitates control of the audio, video and other content provided to the client device 1 (e.g., ensuring that the audio, video and content sessions are synced with each other) as well as providing other client devices engaged in the online conference session with information that audio, video and other content initiates from client device 1, Paragraph [0044], Thus, the techniques described herein facilitate transfer of at least one of audio, video and other content from one client device to at least one other client device during an online conference session. This allows flexibility, e.g., for users who may be on the move or may desire to use a mobile device for certain features (e.g., audio and/or video) and another device for other features of the conference. It is noted that a first client device currently receiving audio, video and other content associated with the online conference can implement a handoff of, e.g., the audio session to a second client device (e.g., a smart phone), and the video session to a third client device (e.g., a note pad) while maintaining the content session at the first client device. In addition, any client device which is a recipient of any one or more handoff sessions of an online conference can also implement a handoff of such session(s) back to the original client device or to a further client device in the same or similar manner in relation to how the original client device implemented the handoff).
Regarding Claim 13, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the second device is a television (see Fang Paragraph [0332], the mobile phone may use the video stream as screen projection data to be carried by using a video streaming protocol (Real Time Streaming Protocol, RTSP) and output the screen projection data to the smart television. The smart television performs video streaming protocol receiving and processing and video and audio decoding on the screen projection data, and then renders and outputs the data, Figure 4C and Paragraph [0238], In response to the first switching message, the smart television may display the interface shown in FIG. 4(c). The interface may include a third video display area 221 and a fourth video display area 222. The third video display area 221 displays data collected by a camera of a device of the other party of the video call. The device of the other party may be a mobile phone or a television set, or may be switched from a mobile phone to a television set. The fourth video display area 222 displays data collected by a camera of a device of this party of the video call).
Regarding Claim 14, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein causing display of the video stream on the third device includes transmitting the video stream to a streaming device (see Fang Paragraph [0332], the mobile phone may use the video stream as screen projection data to be carried by using a video streaming protocol (Real Time Streaming Protocol, RTSP) and output the screen projection data to the smart television. The smart television performs video streaming protocol receiving and processing and video and audio decoding on the screen projection data, and then renders and outputs the data).
Regarding Claim 15, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein voice data and video data for the video call are captured by a microphone of the first device and a camera of the first device (see Xie Paragraph [0023], An example embodiment of a client device 6 is depicted in the block diagram of FIG. 2. In particular, the client device 6 includes a processor 8, a network interface 9, a memory 10, and a plurality of input and output (I/O) devices (indicated generally as element 7) including, without limitation, a display device (e.g., LCD or any other suitable type of display screen for displaying video content, images, documents or files and any other types of content), a keyboard, a mouse (or other suitable input control device, e.g., touch pad or touch screen), a camera (e.g., to capture and record still images and video content), a microphone (e.g., to record audio content), speaker(s) (to output audio content), etc. The I/O devices 7 allow the client device to engage in online conferences, including capturing and transmission of audio, video and other content by the client device to other client devices over the network 4 as well as receiving such content during an online conference session).
Regarding Claims 16 - 18, they are rejected similarly as Claims 1 - 3, respectively. The method can be found in Fang (Abstract, method).
Regarding Claims 19 - 21, they are rejected similarly as Claims 1 - 3, respectively. The system can be found in Xie (Paragraph [0008], system).
Regarding Claim 22, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 1, wherein, subsequent to splitting the video call function across the first device and the third device (see Xie Paragraph [0033], At some point during the online conference session, the user of client device 6-1 may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device. For example, where a client device is a laptop or desktop computing device, the user may desire to have greater mobility (e.g., being able to move around a room while still being engaged in the conference session) by switching the audio and/or video sessions to a smart phone or other mobile computing device while leaving the content session at the computing device having a larger display screen. In another example embodiment, a user may have initiated the online conference session with a mobile device, such as a smart phone (e.g., the user initiated the online conference session before arriving at the user's office), but then may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device (e.g., the user arrives at the office and wants to switch the video and/or content sessions to a desktop computing device, while leaving the audio session connected with the smart phone). Any number of possible scenarios exist where a user may desire, after having initiated an online conference at one client device, to split one or more of the audio, video and content sessions of the online conference such that two (or more) client devices receive audio, video and/or content from the online conference, Paragraph [0034], When the user at client device 6-1 (e.g., a laptop) desires to initiate a handoff of one or more sessions of the online conference session to a second client device 6-2 (e.g., a smart phone), a connection between the conference controller 52 and client device 6-2 is established at 76 using the same UID that has been registered for the first client device 6-1 (e.g., UID=1). For example, a message can be sent from client device 6-1 to client device 6-2 over a suitable device-to-device communication channel that client device 6-2 connect with the conference controller 52 with same UID (UID=1). Alternatively, the system 2 can be configured such that the conference controller 52 connects with client device 6-2, based upon a handoff request from client device 6-1, and registers client device 6-2 with the same UID, Paragraph [0035], At 78, a session handoff request is communicated to the conference controller 52 to handoff at least one session type (e.g., by specifying UID=1 and session type, a1, v1 and/or c1) to client device 6-2 (now also registered with the conference controller 52 with UID=1). For example, client device 6-1 sends a session handoff notification to client device 6-2 (including session type(s) to be handed off), Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference)), a camera of the third device captures the video data for the video call (see Fang Paragraph [0342], The server establishes a data transmission channel connected to the smart television. Specifically, the server receives, by using the data transmission channel, the audio and video data sent by the smart television, and the server sends the audio and video data related to the video call to the smart television, Figure 4C and Paragraph [0238], In response to the first switching message, the smart television may display the interface shown in FIG. 4(c). The interface may include a third video display area 221 and a fourth video display area 222. The third video display area 221 displays data collected by a camera of a device of the other party of the video call. The device of the other party may be a mobile phone or a television set, or may be switched from a mobile phone to a television set. The fourth video display area 222 displays data collected by a camera of a device of this party of the video call. The device of this party may be a smart television. The camera may be built in the smart television, or may be externally connected to the smart television).
Regarding Claim 23, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 1, wherein, subsequent to splitting the video call function across the first device and the third device (see Xie Paragraph [0033], At some point during the online conference session, the user of client device 6-1 may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device. For example, where a client device is a laptop or desktop computing device, the user may desire to have greater mobility (e.g., being able to move around a room while still being engaged in the conference session) by switching the audio and/or video sessions to a smart phone or other mobile computing device while leaving the content session at the computing device having a larger display screen. In another example embodiment, a user may have initiated the online conference session with a mobile device, such as a smart phone (e.g., the user initiated the online conference session before arriving at the user's office), but then may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device (e.g., the user arrives at the office and wants to switch the video and/or content sessions to a desktop computing device, while leaving the audio session connected with the smart phone). Any number of possible scenarios exist where a user may desire, after having initiated an online conference at one client device, to split one or more of the audio, video and content sessions of the online conference such that two (or more) client devices receive audio, video and/or content from the online conference, Paragraph [0034], When the user at client device 6-1 (e.g., a laptop) desires to initiate a handoff of one or more sessions of the online conference session to a second client device 6-2 (e.g., a smart phone), a connection between the conference controller 52 and client device 6-2 is established at 76 using the same UID that has been registered for the first client device 6-1 (e.g., UID=1). For example, a message can be sent from client device 6-1 to client device 6-2 over a suitable device-to-device communication channel that client device 6-2 connect with the conference controller 52 with same UID (UID=1). Alternatively, the system 2 can be configured such that the conference controller 52 connects with client device 6-2, based upon a handoff request from client device 6-1, and registers client device 6-2 with the same UID, Paragraph [0035], At 78, a session handoff request is communicated to the conference controller 52 to handoff at least one session type (e.g., by specifying UID=1 and session type, a1, v1 and/or c1) to client device 6-2 (now also registered with the conference controller 52 with UID=1). For example, client device 6-1 sends a session handoff notification to client device 6-2 (including session type(s) to be handed off), Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference)), the third device does not capture any voice data for the video call (see Xie Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference)).
Regarding Claim 24, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 1, wherein, subsequent to splitting the video call function across the first device and the third device (see Xie Paragraph [0033], At some point during the online conference session, the user of client device 6-1 may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device. For example, where a client device is a laptop or desktop computing device, the user may desire to have greater mobility (e.g., being able to move around a room while still being engaged in the conference session) by switching the audio and/or video sessions to a smart phone or other mobile computing device while leaving the content session at the computing device having a larger display screen. In another example embodiment, a user may have initiated the online conference session with a mobile device, such as a smart phone (e.g., the user initiated the online conference session before arriving at the user's office), but then may desire to switch at least one of the audio, video and content sessions to another client device (e.g., the user arrives at the office and wants to switch the video and/or content sessions to a desktop computing device, while leaving the audio session connected with the smart phone). Any number of possible scenarios exist where a user may desire, after having initiated an online conference at one client device, to split one or more of the audio, video and content sessions of the online conference such that two (or more) client devices receive audio, video and/or content from the online conference, Paragraph [0034], When the user at client device 6-1 (e.g., a laptop) desires to initiate a handoff of one or more sessions of the online conference session to a second client device 6-2 (e.g., a smart phone), a connection between the conference controller 52 and client device 6-2 is established at 76 using the same UID that has been registered for the first client device 6-1 (e.g., UID=1). For example, a message can be sent from client device 6-1 to client device 6-2 over a suitable device-to-device communication channel that client device 6-2 connect with the conference controller 52 with same UID (UID=1). Alternatively, the system 2 can be configured such that the conference controller 52 connects with client device 6-2, based upon a handoff request from client device 6-1, and registers client device 6-2 with the same UID, Paragraph [0035], At 78, a session handoff request is communicated to the conference controller 52 to handoff at least one session type (e.g., by specifying UID=1 and session type, a1, v1 and/or c1) to client device 6-2 (now also registered with the conference controller 52 with UID=1). For example, client device 6-1 sends a session handoff notification to client device 6-2 (including session type(s) to be handed off), Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference)), the third device does not capture any voice data or any video data for the video call (see Xie Paragraph [0047], a split or division of a session (e.g., an audio session or a video session) between two client devices. For example, a first client device may request a handoff operation, utilizing techniques of the type such as described herein, to split the transmission portion of a video session (e.g., video content generated at the first client device that is provided to other client devices engaged in the online conference session) from the receiving portion of the video session (e.g., video content received by the first client device in relation to the online conference session). A split of an audio session or a content session, between the transmission portion and the receiving portion, can also be implemented. Thus, instead of a handoff of the entire session to a second client device, the first client device request a handoff of the designated (transmission or receiving) portion of the session, with the processing techniques for handoff being applied in the same or substantially similar manner based upon communications between first client device, second client device and conference controller to achieve the handoff or transfer of the session portion to the second client device, where both the first and second client devices are again assigned the same UID value. Such division of portions of audio, video and content sessions between two or more client devices assigned the same UID value within an online conference session can also be implemented at the initial stage or joining in of the participant with the online conference (e.g., the participant registers two or more client devices with the same UID when joining the online conference)).
Regarding Claim 25, Xie in view of Fang teaches
The non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 1, wherein continuing transmission of the voice data and the video data for the video call from the first device to the second device occurs without causing transmission of the voice data and the video data from the first device to the third device (see Xie Paragraph [0037], At 82, the session(s) of the online conference that have been successfully transferred to client device 6-2 are ended or torn down at the client device 6-1. This is depicted in FIG. 7, in which audio session a1 and video session v1 are torn down and thus terminated at client device 6-1. The result of processing of the handoff request results in one or more portions of the online conference being handled by the first client device (e.g., the content session c1 is associated with client device 6-1) while one or more other portions of the online conference are handled by the second client device (e.g., the audio session a2 and video session v2 are associated with client device 6-2), Paragraph [0038], It is noted that tearing down of one or more sessions (e.g., audio and video sessions) of the online conference session at client device 6-1 is not implemented by the conference controller 52 unless or until successful connection(s) of such session(s) are established at client device 6-2. This ensures that the flow of audio, video and other content of the online conference is not disrupted to the user during the handoff from the first client device 6-1 to the second client device 6-2, therefore a video, audio, and/or content session only occurs at one device at a time).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/CARISSA A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691