DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The Office Action is in response to the application filed June 27, 2024. Amended claims 1-16, 18-20, and 30-41 are being examined on the merits herein.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-16, 18-20, and 30-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of US 11,865,102. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant claims are drawn to a botanical drug substance comprising greater than or equal to 90% (w/w) CBD based on total amount of cannabinoid in the botanical drug substance and the remainder comprises other cannabinoids, wherein the other cannabinoids comprise tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), wherein the THC is present as a mixture of trans-THC and cis-THC. The patented claims are drawn to a cannabidiol (CBD) preparation comprising greater than or equal to 90% (w/w) CBD based on total amount of cannabinoid in the preparation and the remainder comprises other cannabinoids, wherein the other cannabinoids comprise tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), wherein the THC is present as a mixture of trans-THC and cis-THC, and wherein the ratio of trans-THC to cis-THC is about 0.7:1.0 to about 5.0:1.0. The instant claims embrace the patented claims.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable.
Claims 1-16, 18-20, and 30-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of US 11,207,292. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant claims are drawn to a botanical drug substance comprising greater than or equal to 90% (w/w) CBD based on total amount of cannabinoid in the botanical drug substance and the remainder comprises other cannabinoids, wherein the other cannabinoids comprise tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), wherein the THC is present as a mixture of trans-THC and cis-THC. The patented claims are drawn to a cannabidiol (CBD) preparation comprising greater than or equal to 95% (w/w) CBD based on total amount of cannabinoid in the preparation and the remainder comprises other cannabinoids, wherein the other cannabinoids comprise tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) wherein the THC is present as a mixture of trans-THC and cis-THC, and wherein the ratio of trans-THC to cis-THC is about 0.7:1.0 to about 2.0:1.0. The instant claims embrace the patented claims.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guy (GB 2531282) of record (IDS 5/6/24, page 10/47, reference #223) in view of Smith (Phytochemistry, 1977) of record (IDS 5/6/24, page 36/47, reference #493).
Guy teaches the CBD is present as a highly purified extract of cannabis which comprises at least 98% (w/w) CBD. Preferably the extract further comprises up to 1% CBDV (cannabidivarin) and less than 0.15% THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) (abstract; claims 1-7).
Guy teaches the purity of the CBD drug substance achieved is greater than 98%. The other cannabinoids which may occur in the extract are: CBDA, CBDV, CBD-C4 and THC [0054]; Table 1).
Guy teaches distinct chemotypes of Cannabis sativa L. plant have been produced to maximize the output of the specific chemical constituents, the cannabinoids. One type of plant produces predominantly CBD [0055].
Guy teaches the phytocannabinoids can be isolated from plants to produce a highly purified extract or can be reproduced synthetically ([0003]; [0042]).
Guy teaches pharmaceutical formulations wherein the CBD is used in combination with one or more concomitant anti-epileptic drugs (AED) (abstract).
Guy does not specifically teach wherein the THC is present as a mixture of trans-THC and cis-THC as required by the limitations of claim 1 or the specific trans-THC to cis-THC ratios as recited in claims 5, 20, 30, 31, 37, 39, and 41.
Smith teaches Cannabis sativa plant samples having CBD-THC ratios of about 16:1 had trans-THC to cis-THC ratios of about 1:1 or 2:1, whereas samples having phenotype ratios less than 1 had trans-THC-cis-THC 10:1 (page 1088, column 2, 1st full ¶).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have expected, with a reasonable degree, that the compositions as taught by Guy contain THC as a mixture of trans-THC and cis-THC. The motivation, provided by Smith, teaches that Cannabis sativa plant samples having CBD-THC ratios of about 16:1 (~94% CBD) have trans-THC to cis-THC ratios of about 1:1 or 2:1. Thus, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious that the at least 98% CBD compositions as taught by Guy would also contain a mixture of trans-THC and cis-THC as required by the limitations of the instant claims and in varying ratios, depending on the amount of CBD and THC present in the composition.
Additionally, employing a pharmaceutically acceptable carriers and excipients and the form of the pharmaceutical composition are generally considered prima facie obvious.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited reference.
Conclusion
Claims 1-16, 18-20, and 30-41 are not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627