Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/13/2026.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The basis that the Groupings A and B “identify shared subject matter relating to a power converter” is not persuasive as the existence of shared subject matter does not negate the differences as identified in the 6/25/2026 restriction requirement.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 6 additional boost converter or charge pump converter coupled between the battery and the output node not shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 8 are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform to current U.S. practice, because the language of the claim does not provide the necessary clarity and precision required thereby making the scope of the invention sought to be patented undeterminable from the language of the claim with any reasonable degree of certainty. The claim generally recites what the apparatus does, without requisite structure to perform said claimed operation.
Particularly, the following limitations are unclear:
7. The power converter of claim 4, wherein, in a discharging phase of the battery, the second dc-dc converter is configured to convert a battery voltage outputted by the battery to a first voltage received by the first dc-dc converter, and the first dc-dc converter is configured to regulate and provide the system output voltage, in response to the first voltage from the second dc-dc converter. (Pure narrative language directed to the operation of the converter and fails to recite any additional structure to be added to the apparatus claim).
8. The power converter of claim 4, wherein, in a charging phase of the battery, the first dc-dc converter is configured to provide the system output voltage, in response to the regulated DC input voltage from the programmable power supply circuit, and the second dc-dc converter is configured to provide a charging voltage to the battery, in response to the regulated DC input voltage from the programmable power supply circuit. (Pure narrative language directed to the operation of the converter and fails to recite any additional structure to be added to the apparatus claim).
The narrative language of the claims further fails to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim as required by MPEP 2173.05(g), and is thus indefinite. The above functional language purports to define the invention by reciting a function or result achieved by the invention, thereby making the boundaries of the claim scope ambiguous and unclear. The Examiner acknowledges that an apparatus may be claimed via positively recited structure and/or through use of functional language however said function must be tied to identifiable structure/component in order for said otherwise narrative language to functionally limit said structure (see MPEP 2114), else the claim simply becomes a narrative recitation of the desired function/result achieved of the device, as with the present case. As such, it is noted per MPEP 2114 that an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function noting that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (see MPEP 2114).
Because of the great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of the claim(s), it is not proper to reject the present claim(s) 7-8 on the basis of prior art. (See MPEP 2173.06 and In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 9, 11-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alves et al. US 2018/0301986 in view of Landesfeind et al. (Land) US 2024/0339684.
Alves teaches:
4. A power converter for use with a power supply circuit, comprising:
a charging circuit configured to couple to the power supply circuit (ie 114, FIG1), the power supply circuit being configured to provide a DC input voltage, the charging circuit comprising: a first dc-dc converter (102) configured to couple to the power supply circuit and configured to convert the regulated DC input voltage to a system output voltage at an output node (ie 110); and
a battery (116) configured to couple electrically coupled to the first dc-dc converter, and configured to be charged or discharged (FIG2E), directly or indirectly via the output node (110), wherein the charging circuit further comprises a second dc-dc converter (104) configured to be coupled in series between the programmable power supply circuit and the battery (FIG2C operation), wherein one of the first dc-dc converter and the second dc-dc converter is an unregulated converter (202).
Alves fails to teach the power supply being a programmable power supply.
Land teaches a charging power supply being a programmable power supply (read on by Adjustable Voltage Source (AVS) 54 @ [0050]). It would have been obvious to include the AVS taught by Land in place of the charging source of Alves with the motivation of flexibility and precise matching to non-standard, custom and deeply discharged battery packs.
Alves further teaches:
5. The power converter of claim 4, wherein the first dc-dc converter and the second dc-dc converter are configured to operate simultaneously (ie operation of FIG2C).
9. The power converter of claim 4, further comprising: a charger transistor (208, FIG2) configured to be coupled in series between the first dc-dc converter (202) and the battery via the output node (218) and configured to enable or disable charging or discharging of the battery.
11. The power converter of claim 19, wherein the charger transistor is configured to be coupled between the first dc-dc converter and the second dc-dc converter (via common connection 218, FIG2).
Alves teaches:
12. A power converter for use with a power supply circuit, comprising:
a charging circuit configured to couple to the power supply circuit (ie 114, FIG1), the power supply circuit being configured to provide a DC input voltage, the charging circuit comprising: a first dc-dc converter (102) configured to couple to the power supply circuit and configured to convert the regulated DC input voltage to a system output voltage at an output node (ie 110); and
a battery (116) configured to couple electrically coupled to the first dc-dc converter, and configured to be charged or discharged (FIG2E), directly or indirectly via the output node (110),
wherein the charging circuit further comprises a second dc-dc converter (104) configured to be coupled in series between the programmable power supply circuit and the battery (FIG2C operation), wherein one of the first dc-dc converter and the second dc-dc converter is an unregulated converter (202) wherein the first dc-dc converter and the second dc-dc converter are configured to operate simultaneously (ie operation of FIG2C).
Alves fails to teach the power supply being a programmable power supply.
Land teaches a charging power supply being a programmable power supply (read on by Adjustable Voltage Source (AVS) 54 @ [0050]). It would have been obvious to include the AVS taught by Land in place of the charging source of Alves with the motivation of flexibility and precise matching to non-standard, custom and deeply discharged battery packs.
Alves further teaches:
13. The power converter of claim 12, wherein the first dc-dc converter and the second dc-dc converter are configured to be electrically coupled in parallel (via common grounds, FIG1, as seen at common output connection 110).
14. The power converter of claim 12, further comprising: a charger transistor (208, FIG2) configured to be coupled in series between the first dc-dc converter and the battery via the output node and configured to enable or disable charging or discharging of the battery.
16. The power converter of claim 14, wherein the charger transistor is configured to be coupled between the first dc-dc converter and the second dc-dc converter (via common connection 218, FIG2).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alves et al. US 2018/0301986 in view of Landesfeind et al. (Land) US 2024/0339684 and Narayanan et al. (Nara) US 2021/0213833.
Alves teaches wherein the converter is a boost or charge pump but fails to teach:
6. (Original) The power converter of claim 4, further comprising: a boost converter or a charge pump converter coupled between the battery and the output node.
Nara teaches a power converter battery charger comprising a first converter (ie 60 and/or 62) futher comprising a boost converter of charge pump (See 64, FIG3, @ [0019]).
It would have been obvious to incorporate the boost converter as taught by Nara into the system of Alves with the motivation that cascading converters achieves a higher total voltage conversion ration for better efficiency and stability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim,but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836