DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because it appears “contract unit” should instead be –contact unit--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6,8-13,15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noso USP 11,279,587.
Noso discloses, regarding claim 1, A binding device comprising:
a binding unit (73) that binds a plurality of media;
a first moving unit (71) that moves along a width direction (D2) of the medium;
a second moving unit (72) that is supported by the first moving unit, supports the binding unit, and moves in an inclined direction (DR1,DR2) with respect to the width direction of the medium (see at least fig.9,10,12,13); and
a contact unit (713) that is supported by the first moving unit and comes into contact with a guide unit (74) that extends in a movement direction of the first moving unit (see at least C10/L7-13, fig.4,5),
wherein a bottom surface of the contact unit comes into contact with the guide unit, and the contact unit does not move in the inclined direction with respect to the width direction of the medium (the first moving unit, and therefore the contact unit only moves in a linear fashion, as shown in at least C10/L7-13, fig.9,10,13,14,17-19).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the second moving unit (72) is supported by the first moving unit (71) to be rotatable about a rotary shaft (see pivot point SC adjacent contact member 713 in at least fig.10), and moves in the inclined direction about the rotary shaft (see at least C10/L43-55, fig.4,5).
Regarding claim 3, further comprising:
a guided unit (77) that is disposed at a position away from the rotary shaft (see pivot point SC adjacent contact member 713 in at least fig.10) and is guided by a second guide unit (75) extending in the movement direction of the first moving unit and in a movement direction of the second moving unit,
wherein, in a case where the guided unit is guided to a portion of the second guide unit along the movement direction of the second moving unit, the guided unit moves the second moving unit about the rotary shaft (see at least fig.16-19).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the contact unit (713) is disposed at a bottom surface of the first moving unit (71) (see at least fig.5).
Regarding claim 5, wherein a portion of the contact unit (713) that comes into contact with the guide unit is made of a low friction material (bearings are inherently made of low friction material).
Regarding claim 6, further comprising:
a moving mechanism (774) that is disposed on an inner side in a medium transport direction (D1) with respect to the binding unit and moves the first moving unit (see at least C9/L21-57, fig.7).
Regarding claims 8-13, A post-processing device (5) comprising:
a loading unit (521) on which media are loaded; and
the binding device according to claims 1-6, respectively, that binds the media loaded on the loading unit (fig.1).
Regarding claims 15-19, An image forming apparatus (1) comprising:
an image recording device (4a) that records an image on a medium; and
the post-processing device according to claims 8-12, respectively, that performs post-processing on the medium on which the image is recorded by the image recording device (fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 7,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noso USP 11,279,587 in view of Chung et al. USP 6,164,511.
Noso discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶5 above), and further discloses a third guide unit (7761) that guides the first moving unit (71) (see at least C9/L21-57, fig.7), but does not expressly disclose the third guide unit formed in a rod shape extending in the width direction of the medium.
Chung teaches a third guide unit (500) that is disposed on the inner side in the medium transport direction with respect to the guide unit, is formed in a rod shape extending in the width direction of the medium, and guides the first moving unit (see at least fig.2,4-6).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the third guide unit formed in a rod shape extending in the width direction of the medium, as taught by Chung, in the device of Noso, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing fewer moving parts and thus resulting in lower maintenance costs.
Noso further discloses, regarding claim 14, A post-processing device (5) comprising:
a loading unit (521) on which media are loaded; and
the binding device according to claims 1-6, respectively, that binds the media loaded on the loading unit (fig.1).
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 5/21/2026