Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 12-24-2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12-24-2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “shaft sleeve,” of Claim 4, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The shaft sleeve is not labeled with a reference number in the figures or in the specification. No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, “two step structures” of Claim 4, must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. Two step structures are not labeled with a reference number in the figures or in the specification. No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, “two cutters having inner holes with different diameters” of Claim 4, must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, a gasket, in Claim 5, must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a working assembly in Claim 1; a transmission mechanism in Claim 1; and a guard adjustment mechanism in Claim 3;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0165152 to Tokunaga in view of CN 103402682 A.
In re Claim 1, Tokunaga teaches a power tool (see Figs. 2 and 4-5), comprising:
a housing (see Figs. 4-5, #31/40);
a motor mounted in the housing (see Figs. 4-5, #34), the motor having a motor shaft (see Fig. 5, #34a);
a power supply (see Fig. 4, #38), configured to provide energy for the motor (see para. 0081, teaching the motor is started with the battery);
a working assembly (see Figs. 4-5, #37), rotating along a rotating axis thereof (see Fig. 5, axis, J2); and
a transmission mechanism (see Fig. 5, #35a), having a transmission shaft (see Fig. 5, output shaft #8), the transmission shaft being connected with the motor shaft (see Fig. 5, #8 is connected to #34a), so as to transmit power from the motor to the working assembly (see Par. 0082);
and an axis of the rotating axis of the working assembly intersects an axis of the transmission shaft (the axis of J2 and the axis of the transmission shaft #8 intersect – see Fig. 5).
Tokunaga does not teach wherein the motor is an outer rotor motor.
However, CN 103402682 A teaches that it is known in the art of power tools to use an outer rotor motor (see CN 103402682 A, Para. 0003-0005 and 0009-00012). In the same field of invention, electrical power tools, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to replace the inner rotator motor of Tokunaga with an outer rotator motor, as taught by CN 103402682 A. Doing so provides a motor that provides a higher torque and lower vibration (see CN 103402682 A, Para. 0009-0012).
In re Claim 2, modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 1, teaches the power tool according to claim 1, wherein the transmission shaft and the motor shaft are on a same axis and are connected by a coupling (see Fig. 5, #8 and #34A are aligned in the same axis and are coupled together, this connection, under the broadest reasonable interpretation is a coupling);
a bevel gear assembly (see Fig. 5, #35a/35b) is arranged between the transmission shaft and the rotating axis (see Fig. 5, showing #35a/35b between #8 and #36/J2), the bevel gear assembly comprises a driving bevel gear (#35a) and a driven bevel gear (#34b), the driving bevel gear is arranged on the transmission shaft (#35 is on #8), and the driven bevel gear is arranged on the rotating axis (#34a is on #J2/36).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0165152 to Tokunaga in view of CN 103402682 A, and further in view of US 2008/0153404 to Schmidberger-Brinek.
In re Claim 3, modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 1, teaches further comprising a cover, wherein the cover is provided on an outer side of the transmission shaft, the working assembly is a cutter, and a blade guard is mounted on an outer side of the cutter, and the blade guard is fixedly connected to the cover through a mounting base;
Modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 1, does not teach the power tool further comprises a guard adjustment mechanism, and the guard adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust an angle of the blade guard.
However, Schmidberger-Brinek teaches that it is known in the art to provide a guard adjustment mechanism, and the guard adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust an angle of the blade guard (see Figs. 1-4, teaching structure for rotationally locking the guard; see also Para. 0008; 0010; 0029; and 0039).
In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add the rotation structure of Schmidberger-Brinek to the device of modified Tokunaga. Doing so allows the user to rotate the guard depending on the type of cut thereby protecting the operator of the tool (see Schmidberger-Brinek, Para. 0037).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0165152 to Tokunaga in view of CN 103402682 A, and further in view of US 2008/0153404 to Schmidberger-Brinek.
In re Claim 4, modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 3, teaches wherein a bearing is mounted in the mounting base (see Fig. 5, #36b), the bearing is sleeved on the rotating axis and arranged between the mounting base and the rotating axis (see Fig. 5, the bearing #36 is between the mounting base and the axis), a shaft sleeve is provided between the rotating axis and the cutter, and the shaft sleeve is coupled with the rotating axis (see Fig. 5, #37a).
Modified Tokunaga does not teach two step structures with different diameters are arranged on an outer side of the shaft sleeve, so as to adapt to two cutters having inner holes with different diameters.
However, Hall teaches that it is known to provide step structures with two different diameters arranged on the outer side of the shaft sleeve, so as to adapt to two cutters having inner holds with different diameters (see Hall, Fig. 1, #16, Fig. 3, #18, Fig. 4, #15; see also Figs. 6-7).
In the same field of invention, spindles for circular saw blades, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to change the output spindle of Hall to provide two different diameters arranged on the outer side of the shaft sleeve, so as to adapt to two cutter having inner holds with different diameters. Doing so allows the user to use the tool with differs sized blades thereby making the tool more versatile.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0165152 to Tokunaga in view of CN 103402682 A, and US 2008/0153404 to Schmidberger-Brinek, and further in view of US 6,277,013 to Sasaki and CN 102029562 A.
In re Claim 5, modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 3, does not teach further comprising a cutter limiting device, wherein the cutter limiting device comprises a limiting button, a limiting column and a spring, the limiting button is mounted on the housing, one end of the limiting column is connected with the limiting button, and the other end of the limiting column is provided with a gasket, and the spring sleeves the limiting column and is arranged between the gasket and the limiting button; a plurality of limiting holes matched with the limiting column are arranged on the driven bevel gear, and when the limiting column extend into one of plurality of the limiting holes, the driven bevel gears are locked, so that the cutters are locked.
However, Sasaki teaches a cutter limiting device (see Sasaki, Fig. 3, #125, 126, 127, 128), wherein the cutter limiting device comprises a limiting button (top of #126), a limiting column (shaft of #127 below #126 in Fig. 3) and a spring (see Fig. 3, #127), the limiting button is mounted on the housing (see Fig. 3, #127 is located in the housing), one end of the limiting column is connected with the limiting button (end of #125 is a button for the user to depress), and the spring sleeves the limiting column (see Fig. 3, #127 surrounding #125); a plurality of limiting holes (see Fig. 3, #128) matched with the limiting column are arranged on the driven bevel gear (see Fig. 3, #128 in gear #119), and when the limiting column extend into one of plurality of the limiting holes (see Fig. 3, the end of #125 enters into #128), the driven bevel gears are locked, so that the cutters are locked (see Sasaki, Col. 5, ll. 60 - Col. 6, ll. 5).
In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add the locking assembly of Sasaki. Doing so allows the user to replace the blade by securing the spindle and unscrewing the nut (see Sasaki, Col. 5, ll. 60 – Col. 6, ll. 5)
Additionally, CN 102029562 A teaches that it is known in the art of power tools to provide at the other end of the limiting column is provided with a gasket (see Fig. 1, o-ring, #10). In the same field of invention, power tools, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add an o-ring to the locking mechanism of modified Tokunaga. Doing so avoids external impurities entering, the lubricate leaking, there by service life and durability of the gear are improvise (see CN 102029562 A, 1abstract)
Such a combination would provide for the spring and is arranged between the gasket and the limiting button.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724