Response to Amendment
Applicant’s 4-30-2026 Amendment was received. Claims 1, 6, and 9 were amended. Claim 4 was cancelled. New Claim 21 was presented. Claims 6-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 5, and 21 are examined in this action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a working assembly in Claim 1; a transmission mechanism in Claim 1; and a guard adjustment mechanism in Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0165152 to Tokunaga in view of CN 103402682 A and US 5,924,208 to Saeki.
In re Claim 1, Tokunaga teaches a power tool (see Figs. 2 and 4-5), comprising:
a housing (see Figs. 4-5, #31/40);
a motor mounted in the housing (see Figs. 4-5, #34), the motor having a motor shaft (see Fig. 5, #34a);
a power supply (see Fig. 4, #38), configured to provide energy for the motor (see para. 0081, teaching the motor is started with the battery);
a working assembly (see Figs. 4-5, #37), configured to rotate about a rotating axis (see Fig. 5, axis, J2); and
a transmission mechanism (see Fig. 5, #35a), having a transmission shaft (see Fig. 5, output shaft #8), the transmission shaft being connected with the motor shaft (see Fig. 5, #8 is connected to #34a), to transmit power from the motor to the working assembly (see Par. 0082),
and an axis of the rotating axis of the working assembly intersects an axis of the transmission shaft (the axis of J2 and the axis of the transmission shaft #8 intersect – see Fig. 5);
wherein a shaft shoulder is formed on an end portion of the rotating axis (see Fig. 5, #36 showing a shoulder adjacent to number #36).
Tokunaga does not teach wherein the motor is an outer rotor motor or
the working assembly is clamped between a first fixing plate and a second fixing plate disposed on opposite side of working assembly along rotating axis, the first fixing plate being positioned between the shaft shoulder and the working assembly,
wherein a bolt is threadedly engaged with a threaded hole formed in an end surface of the rotating axis, and
wherein the bolt is configured to apply an axial compressive force to the second fixing plate such that the second fixing plate, the working assembly, and the first fixing plate are simultaneously pressed against the shaft shoulder along the rotating axis to thereby secure the working assembly to the rotating axis.
However, CN 103402682 A teaches that it is known in the art of power tools to use an outer rotor motor (see CN 103402682 A, Para. 0003-0005 and 0009-00012). In the same field of invention, electrical power tools, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to replace the inner rotator motor of Tokunaga with an outer rotator motor, as taught by CN 103402682 A. Doing so provides a motor that provides a higher torque and lower vibration (see CN 103402682 A, Para. 0009-0012).
Saeki teaches a working assembly is clamped between a first fixing plate (see Fig. 2-5, #3) and a second fixing plate (see Figs. 2-5, #4) disposed on opposite side of working assembly along rotating axis,
wherein a bolt is threadedly engaged with a threaded hole formed in an end surface of the rotating axis (see Fig. 2-5, #23, which is threaded into the rotating axis), and
wherein the bolt is configured to apply an axial compressive force to the second fixing plate such that the second fixing plate, the working assembly, and the first fixing plate are simultaneously pressed (see Col. 4, ll. 10-15, teaching the screw “tightened” which applies axial compressive force to #4, the cutting blade #11, and #3).
In the same field of invention, connections for rotating cutting blades, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to replace the connection structure of modified Tokunaga with that of Saeki. Doing so is the substation of one known blade connecting structure for another known blade connecting structure to attach a rotating blade (see MPEP 2143, I, B). The structure of Saeki allows the user to have different sized blades used on the tool without the loss parts (see Saeki, Fig. 1, Col. 44 – 68).
Such a combination would provide for the first fixing plate being positioned between the shaft shoulder and the working assembly (see Saeki, Fig. 3, #3 in view of Tokunaga, Fig. 5, #36) wherein the bolt is configured to apply an axial compressive force to the second fixing plate such that the second fixing plate, the working assembly, and the first fixing plate are simultaneously pressed against the shaft shoulder along the rotating axis to thereby secure the working assembly to the rotating axis (see Saeki, Figs. 2-5, #3/4/11 in view of Tokunaga Fig. 5, #36)
In re Claim 2, modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 1, teaches the power tool according to claim 1, wherein the transmission shaft and the motor shaft are on a same axis and are connected by a coupling (see Tokunaga, Fig. 5, #8 and #34A are aligned in the same axis and are coupled together, this connection, under the broadest reasonable interpretation is a coupling);
a bevel gear assembly (see Tokunaga, Fig. 5, #35a/35b) is arranged between the transmission shaft and the rotating axis (see Tokunaga, Fig. 5, showing #35a/35b between #8 and #36/J2), the bevel gear assembly comprises a driving bevel gear (Tokunaga, #35a) and a driven bevel gear (Tokunaga, #34b), the driving bevel gear is arranged on the transmission shaft (Tokunaga, #35 is on #8), and the driven bevel gear is arranged on the rotating axis (Tokunaga, #34a is on #J2/36).
In re Claim 21, modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein circumferential edges of the first fixing plate and the second fixing plate bear against the working assembly (see Saeki, Fig. 2-5, each of #3 and #4 have “cutout” middle portions which do not contact a straight surface of the blade), and middle parts of the first fixing plate and the second fixing plate do not contact the working assembly (see Saeki, Figs. 2-5, #3/4, each having a “cutout” middle portion which does not contact the straight side surface of the blade).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0165152 to Tokunaga in view of CN 103402682 A and US 5,924,208 to Saeki, and further in view of US 2008/0153404 to Schmidberger-Brinek.
In re Claim 3, modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 1, teaches further comprising a cover (see Tokunaga, Fig. 5, #33), wherein the cover is provided on an outer side of the transmission shaft (see Tokunaga, Fig. 5, #33), the working assembly is a cutter (see Tokunaga, Fig. 5, #37 which is a cutter), and a blade guard (see Tokunaga, Fig. 5, #39) mounted on an outer side of the cutter, and the blade guard is fixedly connected to the cover through a mounting base (see Tokunaga, Fig. 5, structure “below” #33 in which #39 is connected);
Modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 1, does not teach the power tool further comprises a guard adjustment mechanism, and the guard adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust an angle of the blade guard.
However, Schmidberger-Brinek teaches that it is known in the art to provide a guard adjustment mechanism, and the guard adjustment mechanism is configured to adjust an angle of the blade guard (see Figs. 1-4, teaching structure for rotationally locking the guard; see also Para. 0008; 0010; 0029; and 0039).
In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add the rotation structure of Schmidberger-Brinek to the device of modified Tokunaga. Doing so allows the user to rotate the guard depending on the type of cut thereby protecting the operator of the tool (see Schmidberger-Brinek, Para. 0037).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0165152 to Tokunaga in view of CN 103402682 A and US 5,924,208 to Saeki, US 2008/0153404 to Schmidberger-Brinek, and further in view of US 6,277,013 to Sasaki 013 and CN 102029562 A.
In re Claim 5, modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 3, does not teach further comprising a cutter limiting device, wherein the cutter limiting device comprises a limiting button, a limiting column and a spring, the limiting button is mounted on the housing, one end of the limiting column is connected with the limiting button, and the other end of the limiting column is provided with a gasket, and the spring sleeves the limiting column and is arranged between the gasket and the limiting button; a plurality of limiting holes matched with the limiting column are arranged on the driven bevel gear, and when the limiting column extend into one of plurality of the limiting holes, the driven bevel gears are locked, so that the cutters are locked.
However, Sasaki 013 teaches a cutter limiting device (see Sasaki 013, Fig. 3, #125, 126, 127, 128), wherein the cutter limiting device comprises a limiting button (see Sasaki 013, top of #126), a limiting column (see Sasaki 013, shaft of #127 below #126 in Fig. 3) and a spring (see Sasaki 013, Fig. 3, #127), the limiting button is mounted on the housing (s see Sasaki 013, Fig. 3, #127 is located in the housing), one end of the limiting column is connected with the limiting button (see Sasaki 013, end of #125 is a button for the user to depress), and the spring sleeves the limiting column (see Sasaki 013, Fig. 3, #127 surrounding #125); a plurality of limiting holes (see Sasaki 013, Fig. 3, #128) matched with the limiting column are arranged on the driven bevel gear (see Sasaki 013, Fig. 3, #128 in gear #119), and when the limiting column extend into one of plurality of the limiting holes (see Sasaki 013, Fig. 3, the end of #125 enters into #128), the driven bevel gears are locked, so that the cutters are locked (see Sasaki, Col. 5, ll. 60 - Col. 6, ll. 5).
In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add the locking assembly of Sasaki 013. Doing so allows the user to replace the blade by securing the spindle and unscrewing the nut (see Sasaki013, Col. 5, ll. 60 – Col. 6, ll. 5)
Additionally, CN 102029562 A teaches that it is known in the art of power tools to provide at the other end of the limiting column is provided with a gasket (see Fig. 1, O-ring, #10). In the same field of invention, power tools, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add an O-ring to the locking mechanism of modified Tokunaga. Doing so avoids external impurities entering, the lubricate leaking, there by service life and durability of the gear are improvise (see CN 102029562 A, 1abstract)
Such a combination would provide for the spring and is arranged between the gasket and the limiting button.
Claim 21 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0165152 to Tokunaga in view of CN 103402682 A and US 5,924,208 to Saeki, and further in view of US 2,167,744 to Cosby.
If it is argued that modified Tokunaga, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein circumferential edges of the first fixing plate and the second fixing plate bear against the working assembly, and middle parts of the first fixing plate and the second fixing plate do not contact the working assembly.
Cosby teaches that it is known in the art of attaching circular blades wherein circumferential edges of the first fixing plate and the second fixing plate bear against the working assembly (see Cosby, Fig. 2, #19/17/15), and middle parts of the first fixing plate and the second fixing plate do not contact the working assembly (see Cosby, Fig. 2, #19/17/15; see also Col. 2, ll. 37-49). In the same field of invention, connections for circular blades, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to use the convex washer or disks taught by Cosby. Doing so is the substation of one known blade attachment structure for another known blade attachment structure to attach a blade (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In re Claim 1, Applicant argues that US 2012/0165152 to Tokunaga in view of CN 103402682 A does not teach new limitations “wherein a shaft shoulder is formed on an end portion of the rotating axis and the working assembly is clamped between a first fixing plate and a second fixing plate disposed on opposite side of working assembly along rotating axis, the first fixing plate being positioned between the shaft shoulder and the working assembly, wherein a bolt is threadedly engaged with a threaded hole formed in an end surface of the rotating axis, and wherein the bolt is configured to apply an axial compressive force to the second fixing plate such that the second fixing plate, the working assembly, and the first fixing plate are simultaneously pressed against the shaft shoulder along the rotating axis to thereby secure the working assembly to the rotating axis.” The Examiner agrees. However, as noted above US 5,924,208 to Saeki teaches these limitations in a blade attachment structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724