DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 09/10/2026:
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-14, 16, 17, and 20 are pending.
Claims 4, 6-8, 10, 15, 18, and 19 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 11-14, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Hudelson et al. (US20220355381), and further in view of Bennett et al. (US20210347675).
Regarding claim 1, Hudelson teaches a system for additive manufacturing of a three-
dimensional object (Figure 10), the system comprising:
a powder compaction apparatus comprising at least one compaction roller (roller 1001;
Figure 10) configured to spread and compact a powder material across a powder bed ([0005]
and [0062] FIG. 10 depicts a roller 1001 traversing a large section of the bed);
a printing apparatus configured to selectively bind or fuse the powder material ([0004],
[0027] FIG. 3 is a plot of experimentally observed sintered density as a function of green density
of printed parts. For parts below a threshold green density, the sintering process will produce
parts with a lower final density, since a sintering process is occurring then a printing apparatus is required such that sintering can occur);
wherein at least a portion of the at least one compaction roller is made from silicon
carbide ([0024] a roller may be made from a ceramic, carbide, or nitride such as alumina, silicon
carbide),
wherein the at least one compaction roller comprises a work zone made from silicon carbide ([0024] A roller may be manufactured from a metal, such as a tool steel, a stainless steel, or an alloy of aluminum, or any suitable metal. Alternatively, a roller may be made from a ceramic, carbide, or nitride such as alumina, silicon carbide, aluminum nitride, or other suitable ceramic, carbide, or nitride materials) having a first end and a second end and a cylindrical section between the first end and the second end (see annotated Figure 7 on pg. 7 of the Office Action mailed 05/23/2025).
While Hudelson teaches the roller rotates, Hudelson fails to explicitly teach the
components that cause the roller to rotate, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related
art of rollers for components that cause a roller to rotate.
In the field reasonably pertinent to the problem of conveying rollers subjected to harsh environmental or processing conditions, Bennett teaches a conveying roller comprises:
a work zone (roll 12; Figure 1) made from a ceramic ([0029] the conveyor roll 12 may be made of a low thermal expansion ceramic material, such as sinter bonded amorphous silica particles, or a composite material, such as fused silica, metal-ceramic, or other composite ceramic material) and having a first end and a second end and a cylindrical section between the first end and the second end (see annotated Figure 1 below),
a first bearing zone (end cap assembly 14; Figure 1) made from a material different from the work zone ([0037] Components of the end cap assembly 14 may he made of any suitable material and in any suitable manner. For example, the end cap 26 may be made of cast metal, such as stainless steel or any other suitable metal alloy) and having a first cylindrical section joined to the first end of the work zone and extending axially from the second end of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 below),
and a second bearing zone (end cap assembly 14; Figure 1) made from a material different from the work zone ([0037] Components of the end cap assembly 14 may be made of any suitable material and in any suitable manner. For example, the end cap 26 may be made of cast metal, such as stainless steel or any other suitable metal alloy) and having a second cylindrical section joined to the second end of the work zone and extending axially from the second end of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 below),
wherein the first and second cylindrical sections have same diameter as the cylindrical section of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 below), and the first and second bearing zones are joined to the work zone such that the first and second bearing zones and the work zone rotate in unison ([0028] the rightmost end cap assembly 14 shown in FIG. 1 may be attached to a drive pulley 18, and the drive pulley 18 may be connected to a drive system, such as a belt drive system, for rotating the conveyor roll arrangement 10). The roller comprising a work zone, first bearing zone, and second bearing zone where the work zone is comprised of a material different from the first and second bearing zone allows for the different components to be either efficiently replaced or reused and avoids the replacement of the entire roller when only a portion has been damaged ([0045] With any of the above configurations, end caps may be efficiently replaced as needed. For example, if a bearing freezes on an end cap and/or damages a mounting surface of the end cap, a replacement end cap may be installed as long as the corresponding conveyor roll is not damaged. Furthermore, some or all of the end cap retention arrangement may be reused if not damaged).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first end and second end of Hudelson
comprise a first bearing zone extending axially from and connected to the first end of the work zone and a second bearing zone extending axially from and connected to the second end of the work zone, where the work zone is comprised of a material different from the first and second bearing zone, as taught by Bennett, for the benefit of efficiently replacing or reusing the different components that enable the roller’s rotating motion as it conveys material. Further, the different components made from different materials avoids the replacement of the entire roller when only a portion has been damaged.
Regarding claim 3, Hudelson modified with Bennett teaches the system according to
claim 1. Further, Hudelson teaches wherein at least a portion of the at least one compaction
roller has a surface finish of less than 50 microinches Ra ([0026] Typical roughness levels that
may provide a desirable effect during powder spreading may be in the range of 0.1-0.5 μm Ra,
more preferably 0.2-0.4 μm; 0.2 μm converts to 8 microinches and converts to 16 microinches).
Regarding claim 5, Hudelson modified with Bennett teaches the system according to
claim 1. Further, Hudelson teaches wherein the work zone has a surface finish of less than 50 microinches Ra ([0026] Typical roughness levels that may provide a desirable effect during
powder spreading may be in the range of 0.1-0.5 μm Ra, more preferably 0.2-0.4 μm; 0.2 μm
converts to 8 microinches and converts to 16 microinches).
Regarding claim 9, Hudelson modified with Bennett teaches the system according to
claim 1.
Further, Bennett teaches wherein the first bearing zone and the second bearing zone are made from metal ([0037] Components of the end cap assembly 14 may be made of any suitable material and in any suitable manner. For example, the end cap 26 may be made of cast metal, such as stainless steel or any other suitable metal alloy).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second bearing zone be made from metal, as taught by Bennett, for the benefit of efficiently replacing or reusing the different components that enable the roller’s rotating motion as it conveys material. Further, the different components made from different materials avoids the replacement of the entire roller when only a portion has been damaged.
Regarding claim 11, Hudelson modified with Bennett teaches the system according to claim 1.
Further, Bennett teaches wherein at least one of the first bearing zone and the second bearing zone is joined to the work zone via one of a tongue-and-groove joint ([0029] Referring to FIGS. 3A-8, each end of the conveyor roll 12 may include one or more recessed sections, such as flat sections 20, for receiving a portion of one of the end cap assemblies 14), a threaded joint, and a pinned joint ([0036] Returning to FIGS. 3A-5, the endcap assembly 14 further includes one or more fasteners 66 that are each insertable into an opening 32 of the end cap 26 and configured to cooperate with one of the spring members 46 and 48 to apply a retention force to assist in retaining the end cap 26 on the conveyor roll 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the end cap assembly 14 includes six fasteners 66, such as threaded screws or set screws, that are each engaged with one of the threaded openings 32 of the tubular portion 28 of the end cap 26).
Regarding claim 12, Hudelson modified with Bennett teaches the system according to
claim 1. Further, Hudelson teaches wherein the compaction roller is configured to spin around a
longitudinal axis and traverse in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see
annotated Figure on pg. 3 of Office Action mailed 05/23/2025).
Regarding claim 13, Hudelson modified with Bennett teaches the system according to
claim 1. Hudelson teaches the system further comprising a powder dispensing apparatus
(powder dispenser system 1002 in Figure 10) configured to dispense a predetermined amount
of the powder material on a top surface of the powder bed ([0062] a roller 1001 traversing a
large section of the bed 1002 with variations in the amount of material metered across the bed
by powder dispenser system 1003).
Regarding claim 14, Hudelson teaches a system (Figure 10) for additive manufacturing
of a three-dimensional object, the system comprising:
a powder compaction apparatus comprising at least one compaction roller (roller 1001;
Figure 10) configured to spread and compact a powder material across a powder bed ([0005]
and [0062] FIG. 10 depicts a roller 1001 traversing a large section of the bed); and
a printing apparatus configured to selectively bind or fuse the powder material ([0004],
[0027] FIG. 3 is a plot of experimentally observed sintered density as a function of green density of printed parts. For parts below a threshold green density, the sintering process will produce
parts with a lower final density, since a sintering process is occurring then a printing apparatus
is required such that sintering can occur); and
wherein the at least one compaction roller comprises a cylindrical work zone made from silicon carbide having a first end and a second end (see annotated Figure 7 on pg. 7 of the Office Action mailed 05/23/2025), and
wherein the cylindrical work zone is made from silicon carbide ([0024] a roller may be
made from a ceramic, carbide, or nitride such as alumina, silicon carbide) and has a surface
finish of less than 50 microinches Ra ([0026] Typical roughness levels that may provide a
desirable effect during powder spreading may be in the range of 0.1-0.5 μm Ra, more
preferably 0.2-0.4 μm; 0.2 μm converts to 8 microinches and converts to 16 microinches).
While Hudelson teaches the roller rotates, Hudelson fails to explicitly teach the
components that cause the roller to rotate, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related
art for components that cause a roller to rotate.
In the field reasonably pertinent to the problem of conveying rollers subjected to harsh environmental or processing conditions, Bennett teaches a conveying roller comprises:
a work zone (roll 12; Figure 1) made from a ceramic ([0029] the conveyor roll 12 may be made of a low thermal expansion ceramic material, such as sinter bonded amorphous silica particles, or a composite material, such as fused silica, metal-ceramic, or other composite ceramic material) and having a first end and a second end and a cylindrical section between the first end and the second end (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above),
a first bearing zone (end cap assembly 14; Figure 1) made from a material different from the work zone ([0037] Components of the end cap assembly 14 may he made of any suitable material and in any suitable manner. For example, the end cap 26 may be made of cast metal, such as stainless steel or any other suitable metal alloy) and having a first cylindrical section joined to the first end of the work zone and extending axially from the second end of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above),
and a second bearing zone (end cap assembly 14; Figure 1) made from a material different from the work zone ([0037] Components of the end cap assembly 14 may be made of any suitable material and in any suitable manner. For example, the end cap 26 may be made of cast metal, such as stainless steel or any other suitable metal alloy) and having a second cylindrical section joined to the second end of the work zone and extending axially from the second end of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the first and second cylindrical sections have same diameter as the cylindrical section of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above), and the first and second bearing zones are joined to the work zone such that the first and second bearing zones and the work zone rotate in unison ([0028] the rightmost end cap assembly 14 shown in FIG. 1 may be attached to a drive pulley 18, and the drive pulley 18 may be connected to a drive system, such as a belt drive system, for rotating the conveyor roll arrangement 10). The roller comprising a work zone, first bearing zone, and second bearing zone where the work zone is comprised of a material different from the first and second bearing zone allows for the different components to be either efficiently replaced or reused and avoids the replacement of the entire roller when only a portion has been damaged ([0045] With any of the above configurations, end caps may be efficiently replaced as needed. For example, if a bearing freezes on an end cap and/or damages a mounting surface of the end cap, a replacement end cap may be installed as long as the corresponding conveyor roll is not damaged. Furthermore, some or all of the end cap retention arrangement may be reused if not damaged).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first end and second end of Hudelson
comprise a first bearing zone extending axially from and connected to the first end of the work zone and a second bearing zone extending axially from and connected to the second end of the work zone, where the work zone is comprised of a material different from the first and second bearing zone, as taught by Bennett, for the benefit of efficiently replacing or reusing the different components that enable the roller’s rotating motion as it conveys material. Further, the different components made from different materials avoids the replacement of the entire roller when only a portion has been damaged.
Regarding claim 16, Hudelson modified with Bennett teaches the system according to claim 14.
Further, Bennett teaches wherein at least one of the first bearing zone and the second bearing zone is joined to the work zone via one of a tongue-and-groove joint ([0029] Referring to FIGS. 3A-8, each end of the conveyor roll 12 may include one or more recessed sections, such as flat sections 20, for receiving a portion of one of the end cap assemblies 14), a threaded joint, and a pinned joint ([0036] Returning to FIGS. 3A-5, the endcap assembly 14 further includes one or more fasteners 66 that are each insertable into an opening 32 of the end cap 26 and configured to cooperate with one of the spring members 46 and 48 to apply a retention force to assist in retaining the end cap 26 on the conveyor roll 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the end cap assembly 14 includes six fasteners 66, such as threaded screws or set screws, that are each engaged with one of the threaded openings 32 of the tubular portion 28 of the end cap 26).
Regarding claim 17, Hudelson teaches a compaction roller configured for use in a
system for additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional object, the compaction roller (roller
1001; Figure 10) comprising:
a cylindrical work zone made from silicon carbide ([0024] a roller may be made from a ceramic, carbide, or nitride such as alumina, silicon carbide) having a first end and a second (see annotated Figure 7 in the rejection of claim 4 on pg. 7 of the Office Action mailed 05/23/2025), and
wherein the cylindrical work zone has a surface finish of less than 50 microinches Ra ([0026] Typical roughness levels that may provide a desirable effect during powder spreading may be in the range of 0.1-0.5 μm Ra, more preferably 0.2-0.4 μm; 0.2 μm converts to 8 microinches and converts to 16 microinches).
While Hudelson teaches the roller rotates, Hudelson fails to explicitly teach the
components that cause the roller to rotate, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related
art for components that cause a roller to rotate.
In the field reasonably pertinent to the problem of conveying rollers subjected to harsh environmental or processing conditions, Bennett teaches a conveying roller comprises:
a work zone (roll 12; Figure 1) made from a ceramic ([0029] the conveyor roll 12 may be made of a low thermal expansion ceramic material, such as sinter bonded amorphous silica particles, or a composite material, such as fused silica, metal-ceramic, or other composite ceramic material) and having a first end and a second end and a cylindrical section between the first end and the second end (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above),
a first bearing zone (end cap assembly 14; Figure 1) made from a material different from the work zone ([0037] Components of the end cap assembly 14 may he made of any suitable material and in any suitable manner. For example, the end cap 26 may be made of cast metal, such as stainless steel or any other suitable metal alloy) and having a first cylindrical section joined to the first end of the work zone and extending axially from the second end of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above),
and a second bearing zone (end cap assembly 14; Figure 1) made from a material different from the work zone ([0037] Components of the end cap assembly 14 may be made of any suitable material and in any suitable manner. For example, the end cap 26 may be made of cast metal, such as stainless steel or any other suitable metal alloy) and having a second cylindrical section joined to the second end of the work zone and extending axially from the second end of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the first and second cylindrical sections have same diameter as the cylindrical section of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above), and the first and second bearing zones are joined to the work zone such that the first and second bearing zones and the work zone rotate in unison ([0028] the rightmost end cap assembly 14 shown in FIG. 1 may be attached to a drive pulley 18, and the drive pulley 18 may be connected to a drive system, such as a belt drive system, for rotating the conveyor roll arrangement 10). The roller comprising a work zone, first bearing zone, and second bearing zone where the work zone is comprised of a material different from the first and second bearing zone allows for the different components to be either efficiently replaced or reused and avoids the replacement of the entire roller when only a portion has been damaged ([0045] With any of the above configurations, end caps may be efficiently replaced as needed. For example, if a bearing freezes on an end cap and/or damages a mounting surface of the end cap, a replacement end cap may be installed as long as the corresponding conveyor roll is not damaged. Furthermore, some or all of the end cap retention arrangement may be reused if not damaged).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first end and second end of Hudelson
comprise a first bearing zone extending axially from and connected to the first end of the work zone and a second bearing zone extending axially from and connected to the second end of the work zone, where the work zone is comprised of a material different from the first and second bearing zone, as taught by Bennett, for the benefit of efficiently replacing or reusing the different components that enable the roller’s rotating motion as it conveys material. Further, the different components made from different materials avoids the replacement of the entire roller when only a portion has been damaged.
Regarding claim 20, Hudelson modified with Bennett teaches the system according to claim 17.
Further, Bennett teaches wherein at least one of the first bearing zone and the second bearing zone is joined to the work zone via one of a tongue-and-groove joint ([0029] Referring to FIGS. 3A-8, each end of the conveyor roll 12 may include one or more recessed sections, such as flat sections 20, for receiving a portion of one of the end cap assemblies 14), a threaded joint, and a pinned joint ([0036] Returning to FIGS. 3A-5, the endcap assembly 14 further includes one or more fasteners 66 that are each insertable into an opening 32 of the end cap 26 and configured to cooperate with one of the spring members 46 and 48 to apply a retention force to assist in retaining the end cap 26 on the conveyor roll 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the end cap assembly 14 includes six fasteners 66, such as threaded screws or set screws, that are each engaged with one of the threaded openings 32 of the tubular portion 28 of the end cap 26).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudelson et al.
(US20220355381) and Bennett et al. (US20210347675), and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN110509405- Machine translation used herein).
Regarding claim 2, Hudelson modified with Bennett teaches the system according
to claim 1. However, Hudelson fails to teach wherein the silicon carbide is a reaction-bonded
silicon carbide.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to silicon carbide rollers, Zhang teaches wherein the silicon carbide is a reaction-bonded silicon carbide (“A reaction sintered silicon
carbide anti roll bar, comprising a roller main body”- see pg. 2 paragraph 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the silicon carbide roller of Hudelson modified
with Bennett be a reaction-bonded silicon carbide, as taught by Zhang, to achieve the
predictable result of forming a silicon carbide roller. There would have been a reasonable
expectation of success for the silicon carbide of Hudelson to be a reaction-bonded silicon
carbide, since both Hudelson and Zhang are directed to forming silicon carbide rollers, and
since Hudelson is silent as to how the silicon carbide roller is formed, one of ordinary skill would look to Zhang on how to form the silicon carbide roller.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 14, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hudelson et al. (US20220355381) and Bennett et al. (US20210347675).
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743