DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 11/10/2025 and the Remarks filed 02/26/2026:
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11-14, 16, 17, and 20 are pending (see “Response to Arguments” below).
Claims 4, 7, 10, 15, 18, and 19 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11-14, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Hudelson et al. (US20220355381), and further in view of Nimmo et al. (US6454077).
Regarding claim 1, Hudelson teaches a system for additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional object (Figure 10), the system comprising:
a powder compaction apparatus comprising at least one compaction roller (roller 1001;
Figure 10) configured to spread and compact a powder material across a powder bed ([0005]
and [0062] FIG. 10 depicts a roller 1001 traversing a large section of the bed);
a printing apparatus configured to selectively bind or fuse the powder material ([0004],
[0027] FIG. 3 is a plot of experimentally observed sintered density as a function of green density
of printed parts. For parts below a threshold green density, the sintering process will produce
parts with a lower final density, since a sintering process is occurring then a printing apparatus
is required such that sintering can occur);
wherein at least a portion of the at least one compaction roller is made from silicon
carbide ([0024] a roller may be made from a ceramic, carbide, or nitride such as alumina, silicon
carbide),
wherein the at least one compaction roller comprises a work zone having a first end and
a second end (see annotated Figure 7 on pg. 7 of the Office Action mailed 05/23/2025).
While Hudelson teaches the roller rotates, Hudelson fails to explicitly teach the
components that cause the roller to rotate, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related
art of rollers for components that cause a roller to rotate.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to rollers for conveying material, Nimmo teaches a roller comprises a work zone having a first end and a second end (see annotated Figure 1 below),
a first bearing zone extending axially from the first end of the work zone, and a second bearing zone extending axially from the second end of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 below and the axles 60 surrounded by bearing assembly units 20 in Figure 2),
wherein the first bearing zone is connected to the first end of the work zone via a first joint, and wherein the second bearing zone is connected to the second end of the work zone via a second joint (col 4 line 39-44). The first and second joint allow for a worn bearing zone to be quickly removed and replaced without having to also replace the work zone (col 3 line 45-52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first end and second end of Hudelson comprise a first bearing zone extending axially from the first end of the work zone and a second bearing zone extending axially from the second end of the work zone, and for the first and second bearing zone to be connected to the first and second end of the work zone, respectively, via a first and second joint, as taught by Nimmo, to achieve the predictable result of imparting rotational movement to the compaction roller. The connecting joints have a known benefit of quickly removing and replacing worn bearing zones without having to also replace the work zone portion of the roller.
Regarding claim 3, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to claim 1. Further, Hudelson teaches wherein at least a portion of the at least one compaction roller has a surface finish of less than 50 microinches Ra ([0026] Typical roughness levels that may provide a desirable effect during powder spreading may be in the range of 0.1-0.5 μm Ra, more preferably 0.2-0.4 μm; 0.2 μm converts to 8 microinches and converts to 16 microinches).
Regarding claim 5, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to claim 1. Further, Hudelson teaches wherein the work zone has a surface finish of less than 50
microinches Ra ([0026] Typical roughness levels that may provide a desirable effect during
powder spreading may be in the range of 0.1-0.5 μm Ra, more preferably 0.2-0.4 μm; 0.2 μm
converts to 8 microinches and converts to 16 microinches).
Regarding claim 6, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to claim 1. Further, Hudelson teaches wherein the work zone is cylindrical with a circular cross-section (see annotated Figure 7 in the rejection of claim 4 on pg. 7 of the Office Action mailed
05/23/2025).
Regarding claim 8, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to claim 1. Further, Hudelson teaches the roller may consist of multiple materials to utilize varying
functionalities for each component, and for other reasons such as cost, toughness, ductility,
and efficiency of manufacture ([0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one of the first bearing
zone and the second bearing zone of Hudelson modified with Nimmo be made from a material
different than the work zone, as suggested by Hudelson, since one of ordinary skill would be
motivated to choose a material for the work zone and the bearing zones based on functional needs such as toughness or ductility, cost, or efficiency of manufacture. For example, the work
zone may be desired to have a high hardness to prevent abrasion or smoothing while in use
([0024]), while the bearings may have higher ductility requirements when imparting rotation to
the roller.
Regarding claim 9, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to claim 1. Further, Hudelson teaches wherein the work zone is made from silicon carbide ([0024] a roller may be made from a ceramic, carbide, or nitride such as alumina, silicon carbide,
aluminum nitride, or other suitable ceramic, carbide, or nitride material), and that the roller
may consist of multiple materials to utilize varying functionalities for each component, and for
other reasons such as cost, toughness, ductility, and efficiency of manufacture ([0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first bearing zone and the
second bearing zone of Hudelson modified Nimmo be made from metal, since one of
ordinary skill would be motivated to choose a material for the work zone and the bearing zones
based on functional needs such as toughness or ductility, cost, or efficiency of manufacture. For
example, the work zone may be desired to have a high hardness to prevent abrasion or
smoothing while in use ([0024]), while the bearings may have higher ductility requirements
when imparting rotation to the roller.
Regarding claim 11, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to
claim 1.
Further, Nimmo teaches wherein at least one of the first joint and the second joint is a tongue-and-groove joint (see six inwardly projecting tabs 66 (FIG. 3) each having an outwardly projecting V-shaped cam surface 67 that are cammed inwardly by the hexagonal tapered shoulder 56 into shaft member 35 in Figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one of the first joint and the second joint of Hudelson modified with Nimmo be a tongue-and-groove joint, as taught by Nimmo, for the benefit of quickly removing and replacing worn bearing zones without having to also replace the work zone portion of the roller.
Regarding claim 12, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to
claim 1. Further, Hudelson teaches wherein the compaction roller is configured to spin around a
longitudinal axis and traverse in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see
annotated Figure on pg. 3 of Office Action mailed 05/23/2025).
Regarding claim 13, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to
claim 1. Hudelson teaches the system further comprising a powder dispensing apparatus
(powder dispenser system 1002 in Figure 10) configured to dispense a predetermined amount
of the powder material on a top surface of the powder bed ([0062] a roller 1001 traversing a
large section of the bed 1002 with variations in the amount of material metered across the bed
by powder dispenser system 1003).
Regarding claim 14, Hudelson teaches a system (Figure 10) for additive manufacturing
of a three-dimensional object, the system comprising:
a powder compaction apparatus comprising at least one compaction roller (roller 1001;
Figure 10) configured to spread and compact a powder material across a powder bed ([0005]
and [0062] FIG. 10 depicts a roller 1001 traversing a large section of the bed); and
a printing apparatus configured to selectively bind or fuse the powder material ([0004],
[0027] FIG. 3 is a plot of experimentally observed sintered density as a function of green density
of printed parts. For parts below a threshold green density, the sintering process will produce
parts with a lower final density, since a sintering process is occurring then a printing apparatus
is required such that sintering can occur); and
wherein the at least one compaction roller comprises a cylindrical work zone having a
first end and a second end (see annotated Figure 7 in the rejection of claim 4 above), and
wherein the cylindrical work zone is made from silicon carbide ([0024] a roller may be
made from a ceramic, carbide, or nitride such as alumina, silicon carbide) and has a surface
finish of less than 50 microinches Ra ([0026] Typical roughness levels that may provide a
desirable effect during powder spreading may be in the range of 0.1-0.5 μm Ra, more
preferably 0.2-0.4 μm; 0.2 μm converts to 8 microinches and converts to 16 microinches).
While Hudelson teaches the roller rotates, Hudelson fails to explicitly teach the
components that cause the roller to rotate, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related
art for components that cause a roller to rotate.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to rollers for conveying material, Nimmo teaches a roller comprises a work zone having a first end and a second end (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim1 above),
a first bearing zone extending axially from the first end of the work zone, and a second bearing zone extending axially from the second end of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above and the axles 60 surrounded by bearing assembly units 20 in Figure 2),
wherein the first bearing zone is connected to the first end of the work zone via a first joint, and wherein the second bearing zone is connected to the second end of the work zone via a second joint (col 4 line 39-44). The first and second joint allow for a worn bearing zone to be quickly removed and replaced without having to also replace the work zone (col 3 line 45-52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first end and second end of Hudelson comprise a first bearing zone extending axially from the first end of the work zone and a second bearing zone extending axially from the second end of the work zone, and for the first and second bearing zone to be connected to the first and second end of the work zone, respectively, via a first and second joint, as taught by Nimmo, to achieve the predictable result of imparting rotational movement to the compaction roller. The connecting joints have a known benefit of quickly removing and replacing worn bearing zones without having to also replace the work zone portion of the roller.
Regarding claim 16, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to
claim 14.
Further, Nimmo teaches wherein at least one of the first joint and the second joint is a tongue-and-groove joint (see six inwardly projecting tabs 66 (FIG. 3) each having an outwardly projecting V-shaped cam surface 67 that are cammed inwardly by the hexagonal tapered shoulder 56 into shaft member 35 in Figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one of the first joint and the second joint of Hudelson modified with Nimmo be a tongue-and-groove joint, as taught by Nimmo, for the benefit of quickly removing and replacing worn bearing zones without having to also replace the work zone portion of the roller.
Regarding claim 17, Hudelson teaches a compaction roller configured for use in a
system for additive manufacturing of a three-dimensional object, the compaction roller (roller
1001; Figure 10) comprising:
a cylindrical work zone having a first end and a second (see annotated Figure 7 in the
rejection of claim 4 on pg. 7 of the Office Action mailed 05/23/2025), wherein at least the
cylindrical work zone is made from silicon carbide ([0024] a roller may be made from a ceramic,
carbide, or nitride such as alumina, silicon carbide), and wherein the cylindrical work zone has a
surface finish of less than 50 microinches Ra.
While Hudelson teaches the roller rotates, Hudelson fails to explicitly teach the components that cause the roller to rotate, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related
art for components that cause a roller to rotate.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to rollers for conveying material, Nimmo teaches a roller comprises a work zone having a first end and a second end (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim1 above),
a first bearing zone extending axially from the first end of the work zone, and a second bearing zone extending axially from the second end of the work zone (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above and the axles 60 surrounded by bearing assembly units 20 in Figure 2),
wherein the first bearing zone is connected to the first end of the work zone via a first joint, and wherein the second bearing zone is connected to the second end of the work zone via a second joint (col 4 line 39-44). The first and second joint allow for a worn bearing zone to be quickly removed and replaced without having to also replace the work zone (col 3 line 45-52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first end and second end of Hudelson comprise a first bearing zone extending axially from the first end of the work zone and a second bearing zone extending axially from the second end of the work zone, and for the first and second bearing zone to be connected to the first and second end of the work zone, respectively, via a first and second joint, as taught by Nimmo, to achieve the predictable result of imparting rotational movement to the compaction roller. The connecting joints have a known benefit of quickly removing and replacing worn bearing zones without having to also replace the work zone portion of the roller.
Regarding claim 20, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to
claim 17.
Further, Nimmo teaches wherein at least one of the first joint and the second joint is a tongue-and-groove joint (see six inwardly projecting tabs 66 (FIG. 3) each having an outwardly projecting V-shaped cam surface 67 that are cammed inwardly by the hexagonal tapered shoulder 56 into shaft member 35 in Figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one of the first joint and the second joint of Hudelson modified with Nimmo be a tongue-and-groove joint, as taught by Nimmo, for the benefit of quickly removing and replacing worn bearing zones without having to also replace the work zone portion of the roller.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudelson et al.
(US20220355381) and Nimmo et al. (US6454077), and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN110509405- Machine translation used herein).
Regarding claim 2, Hudelson modified with Nimmo teaches the system according to claim 1. However, Hudelson fails to teach wherein the silicon carbide is a reaction-bonded silicon carbide.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to silicon carbide rollers, Zhang teaches
wherein the silicon carbide is a reaction-bonded silicon carbide (“A reaction sintered silicon
carbide anti roll bar, comprising a roller main body”- see pg. 2 paragraph 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the silicon carbide roller of Hudelson modified
with Nimmo be a reaction-bonded silicon carbide, as taught by Zhang, to achieve the predictable result of forming a silicon carbide roller. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the silicon carbide of Hudelson to be a reaction-bonded silicon carbide, since both Hudelson and Zhang are directed to forming silicon carbide rollers, and since Hudelson is silent as to how the silicon carbide roller is formed, one of ordinary skill would look to Zhang on how to form the silicon carbide roller.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11-14, 16, 17 and 20 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Hudelson et al. (US20220355381), and further in view of Zhou (CN110948864A) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hudelson et al. (US20220355381), and further in view of Nimmo et al. (US6454077).
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743