DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nie et al. (2012/0246942), hereinafter Nie.
Regarding claim 1, Nie teaches a power tool, comprising:
a housing 1 comprising a support portion 5;
a cutting unit 6 for cutting a target object; and
a driving device (41, 42, 43) configured to drive the cutting unit, wherein the cutting unit moves between a first position (small opening) and a second position (large opening) relative to the support portion under the action of the driving device; and
the cutting unit implements a blade lifting motion under the action of the driving device when the cutting unit moves from the first position to the second position;
wherein the blade lifting motion comprises a first mode and a second mode; in the first mode, a time for the cutting unit to implement the blade lifting motion is a first blade lifting time; in the second mode, a time for the cutting unit to implement the blade lifting motion is a second blade lifting time; and the first blade lifting time is less than the second blade lifting time.
See Figs. 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 3, a blade lifting switch 9 is best seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claims 4-5, the blade lifting switch on provided on the handle is best seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 6, Nie teaches the blade lifting switch 50 having two operating modes (B and C).
Regarding claims 7-9, Nie teaches the blade lifting switch 9 having three positions (A, B, C).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Nie teaches the blade lifting time between 0.5-0.8 seconds.
Regarding claim 14, Niew teaches a controller in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 15, Nie teaches a battery pack 2 in Fig.2.
Regarding claim 16, Nie teaches a power tool, comprising:
a cutting unit 6 for cutting a target object; and
a housing comprising a support portion 5 for supporting the target object;
wherein the cutting unit is configured to be movable relative to the support portion to a first position and a second position, the cutting unit implements a blade lifting motion when moving from the first position to the second position, the blade lifting motion comprises a first mode and a second mode, in the first mode, a time for the cutting unit to implement the blade lifting motion is a first blade lifting time, in the second mode, a time for the cutting unit to implement the blade lifting motion is a second blade lifting time, and the first blade lifting time is less than the second blade lifting time.
See Figs. 1 and 2.
Regarding claims 17-19, Nie teaches the blade lifting time between 0.5-0.8 seconds.
Regarding claim 20, Nie teaches a power tool, comprising:
a cutting unit 6 for cutting a target object; and
a housing comprising a support portion 5 for supporting the target object;
wherein the cutting unit is configured to be movable relative to the support portion to a first position and a second position, the cutting unit implements a blade lifting motion when moving from the first position to the second position, the blade lifting motion comprises a first mode and a second mode, in the first mode, the cutting unit implements the blade lifting motion at a first blade lifting speed, in the second mode, the cutting unit implements the blade lifting motion at a second blade lifting speed, and the first blade lifting speed is greater than the second blade lifting speed.
See Figs. 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie et al. (2012/0246942), hereinafter Nie, in view of Oberheim (2011/0043153).
Regarding claim 11, Nie teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the motor having two power modes.
Oberheim teaches a motor having at least two power modes for adjusting the power of the motor according to a desire of an operator. See the Abstract.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to provide the power tool of Nie a motor having two power modes as taught by Oberheim for adjusting the power of the motor according to a desire of an operator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: claim 10 is allowable for setting a transmission device having two different transmission stages.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724