DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190187171 (herein Takizawa) in view of US 20200158751 (herein Malvern).
Regarding claim 1, Takizawa teaches a physical quantity sensor (gyro sensor element 4, [0060]) comprising:
when directions orthogonal to one another are a first direction, a second direction, and a third direction (x, y, and z directions as shown in Fig. 1, respectively),
a fixed portion fixed to a base body (fixed part 42 on substrate 2, [0062]);
a support beam having one end coupled to the fixed portion (elastic parts 43, [0069]);
a fixed electrode portion provided at the base body (fixed drive parts 45, [0069]); and
a movable body (mass part 41, [0069]),
wherein the fixed electrode portion includes a first fixed electrode group including a first fixed electrode, a second fixed electrode group including a second fixed electrode, a third fixed electrode group including a third fixed electrode, and a fourth fixed electrode group including a fourth fixed electrode (Fig. 3 teaches fixed drive parts 45, each having four comb-like shapes as described in [0074]; when viewing Fig. 3: a corresponding first fixed electrode group includes two leftmost comb shape electrodes on bottom left part 45 in the [-X, -Y] direction; a corresponding second fixed electrode group includes two rightmost comb shape electrodes on bottom left part 45; a corresponding third fixed electrode group includes two leftmost comb shape electrodes on bottom right part 45 in the [+X, -Y] direction; a corresponding fourth fixed electrode group includes two rightmost comb shape electrodes on bottom right part 45),
the movable body includes a movable electrode portion (drive part 44, [0069]), the movable electrode portion includes
a first movable electrode group including a first movable electrode facing the first fixed in the first direction (the two leftmost comb shapes of bottom left part 44 in the [-X, -Y] direction, with the lower one corresponding to the first movable electrode),
a second movable electrode group including a second movable electrode facing the second fixed electrode in the first direction (the two rightmost comb shapes of bottom left part 44 in the [-X, -Y] direction, with the lower one corresponding to the second movable electrode),
a third movable electrode group including a third movable electrode facing the third fixed electrode in the first direction (the two leftmost comb shapes of bottom right part 44 in the [+X, -Y] direction, with the lower one corresponding to the third movable electrode), and
a fourth movable electrode group including a fourth movable electrode facing the fourth fixed electrode in the first direction (the two rightmost comb shapes of bottom right part 44 in the [+X, -Y] direction, with the lower one corresponding to the fourth movable electrode),
the first movable electrode group, the second movable electrode group, the third movable electrode group, and the fourth movable electrode group are arranged in this order along the first direction (see configuration of drive parts 44 described in the above limitations in Fig. 3),
when an imaginary line extending in the second direction from a center of the fixed portion is an axis of symmetry, the first movable electrode is disposed line-symmetrically with the fourth movable electrode, and the second movable electrode is disposed line-symmetrically with the third movable electrode (Fig. 3 teaches corresponding symmetry of drive parts 44 described in the above limitations).
Further regarding claim 1, Takizawa does not teach, “a thickness along the third direction of the second movable electrode is different from a thickness along the third direction of the first movable electrode, a thickness along the third direction of the third movable electrode is different from a thickness along the third direction of the fourth movable electrode.” However, Malvern teaches it is known in the art to provide different thicknesses of moving capacitive electrode fingers 50 and 52 ([0069], Figs. 7A-C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to incorporate the different moving electrode fingers 50 and 52 into the finger shapes of drive parts 44 of Takizawa.
Regarding claim 2, Takizawa teaches wherein the support beam includes a first support beam having one end fixed to the fixed portion and extending in the first direction, and a second support beam having one end fixed to the fixed portion and extending in an opposite direction of the first direction (Fig. 3 teaches two elastic parts 43 that extend in the +X and -X directions), the movable body includes a first coupling portion having one end side coupled to the other end of the first support beam and extending in the second direction, a second coupling portion having one end side coupled to the other end of the second support beam and extending in the second direction (see support beams 48, Fig. 3), and a base coupling the first coupling portion to the second coupling portion and extending in the first direction (see frame 473 and portion along X-direction that hold comb shapes of 44, Fig. 3), and the first movable electrode group, the second movable electrode group, the third movable electrode group, and the fourth movable electrode group are coupled to the base (Fig. 3 teaches beams that connect to drive parts 44 that correspond to the present configuration).
Regarding claim 3, Takizawa teaches wherein the fixed portion includes a first fixed portion, and a second fixed portion disposed away from the first fixed portion in an opposite-side direction of the first direction (see fixed parts 42 with corresponding portions in Fig. 3), the support beam includes a first support beam having one end fixed to the first fixed portion and extending in an opposite direction of the first direction, and a second support beam having one end fixed to the second fixed portion and extending in the first direction (Fig. 3 teaches two elastic parts 43 that extend in the +X and -X directions), the movable body includes a coupling portion having one end side coupled to other end of the first support beam and other end of the second support beam and extending in the second direction (see center elastic parts 43, Fig. 3), a first base coupled to the other end side of the coupling portion and extending in the first direction, and a second base coupled to other end side of the coupling portion and extending in the opposite direction of the first direction (Fig. 3 teaches beams that connect to drive parts 44 that correspond to the present configuration), the first movable electrode group and the second movable electrode group are coupled to the second base, and the third movable electrode group and the fourth movable electrode group are coupled to the first base (Fig. 3 teaches parts 44 along X-direction that are connected to comb shapes).
Regarding claim 4, Takizawa teaches wherein the support beam includes a first support beam having one end fixed to the fixed portion and extending in the first direction, and a second support beam having one end fixed to the fixed portion and extending in an opposite direction of the first direction (Fig. 3 teaches two elastic parts 43 that extend in the opposite directions), the movable body includes a first coupling portion having one end side coupled to other end of the first support beam and extending in the second direction, a second coupling portion having one end side coupled to other end of the second support beam and extending in the second direction (see portions of frame 473 in Fig. 3 connected to center elastic parts 43), a first base extending from the first coupling portion in the opposite direction of the first direction, and a second base extending from the second coupling portion in the first direction, the first movable electrode group and the second movable electrode group are coupled to the second base, and the third movable electrode group and the fourth movable electrode group are coupled to the first base (Fig. 3 teaches parts 44 along X-direction that are connected to comb shapes).
Regarding claim 5, Takizawa teaches wherein the fixed portion includes a first fixed portion, and a second fixed portion disposed away from the first fixed portion in an opposite direction of the first direction (see two bottom fixed parts 42 in Fig. 3), the support beam includes a first support beam having one end fixed to the first fixed portion and extending in the opposite direction of the first direction, and a second support beam having one end fixed to the second fixed portion and extending in the first direction (Fig. 3 shows two bottom elastic parts 43), the movable body includes a coupling portion having one end side coupled to other end of the first support beam and other end of the second support beam and extending in the second direction (see portion of bottom of frame 473 in Fig. 3 connected to center elastic parts 43), a first base coupled to the coupling portion and extending in the first direction, and a second base coupled to the coupling portion and extending in the opposite direction of the first direction, the first movable electrode group and the second movable electrode group are coupled to the second base, and the third movable electrode group and the fourth movable electrode group are coupled to the first base (Fig. 3 teaches parts 44 along X-direction that are connected to comb shapes).
Regarding claim 6, Takizawa teaches An inertial measurement unit (gyro sensor 1, [0060]) comprising: the physical quantity sensor according to claim 1 (see rejection above, in view of Malvern); and a controller configured to perform control based on a detection signal output from the physical quantity sensor (control IC 2360, [0166]).
For the above claims, one would be motivated to combine Takizawa with Malvern as explained in rejection of claim 1 so for at least the purpose of finetuning degree of overlap between interdigitated fingers which determine the electric field and thus capacitance/sensitivity ([0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Takizawa remains relevant art even after the present amendments. The Office switched the positions of X and Y axes to fit the instant interpretation. Applicant states “the locational relationship between the fixed electrode and the movable electrode” of US 20210123944 (herein Tanaka) face along the Z axis (p. 10). The Office agreed, but cited Malvern to teach it is known in the art to vary movable electrode thicknesses when finger electrodes are in an equivalent locational relationship.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8497619 (herein Medhat) is relevant prior art because it teaches equivalent electrode groups with comb shapes equivalent to the present invention (see Fig. 13), wherein the combination of Medhat and Malvern would also teach all limitations of claim 1.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP T FADUL/Examiner, Art Unit 2852 /WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852