DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on December 02, 2025 in response to the first office action on merit.
Remarks
Pending claims for reconsideration are claims 1-20. Applicant has
Amended claims 1, 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on December 02, 2025 have been fully considered and they are persuasive; therefore, the prosecution is reopened (see 102 and 103 rejections below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yong (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 2017/0019331 A1 / or “Young” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Yong discloses “A method comprising” (Para 0008: lines 1-3, a method of establishing a tunnel through tunnel capability message is disclosed):
“generating, by a computer networking device, a tunneling capabilities message indicating a plurality of different tunnel types supported by the computer networking device” (Para 0008: lines35-40, a third Network Element (NE) i.e., a “computer networking device” provides tunnel capability message; and where the capability message comprises at least one of a tunnel encapsulation type supported by the third NE);
“transmitting the tunneling capabilities message to a controller” (Para 0008: lines 23-26, the tunnel is established between the third NE and a first NE or a Network Controller; and Para 0008);
“receiving, from the controller, a tunneling selection response message indicating one tunnel type of the plurality of different tunnel types” (Para 0009: lines 25-30, where at least one encapsulation i.e., tunnel type supported by the first NE and the third NE is identified);
“requesting, by the computer networking device, establishment of a tunnel of the one tunnel type indicated by the tunneling selection response message responsive to receiving the tunneling selection response message” (Para 0009: 28-34, tunnel is established);
“and establishing the tunnel of the one tunnel type between the computer networking device and the controller after requesting establishment of the tunnel” (Para 0009: 28-34, tunnel is established between the first NE and the third NE).
Regarding claim 4, in view of claim 1, Yong discloses “wherein the tunneling capabilities message further includes, for each of the plurality of different tunnel types, at least one tunnel type service identifier indicating a service or protocol for messages to be communicated via the corresponding tunnel type” (Para 0009; and 0084)
Regarding claim 6, in view of claim 1, Yong discloses “ further comprising discovering a network address of the controller prior to transmitting the tunneling capabilities message” (Para 0010).
Regarding claim 7, in view of claim 1, Yong discloses “wherein the computer networking device is a networking switch” (Para 0038: a physical switch).
Regarding claim 8, in view of claim 1, Yong discloses “wherein the computer networking device is a wireless access point” (Para 0038-0040).
Regarding claim 9, in view of claim 1, Yong discloses “wherein the one tunnel type indicated by the tunneling selection response message is a tunnel type supported by the controller for normal communication, the controller supporting a second tunnel type for limited communication” (Para 0086).
Regarding claim 10, Yong discloses “A method comprising” (Para 0074: a method of routing data traffic through tunnels is disclosed):
“receiving, by a controller, a tunneling capabilities message indicating a plurality of tunnel types that are supported by a computer networking device” (Fig. 1: Remote Gateway Device 106 i.e., a “computer networking device”; and Para 0075: the Remote Gateway Device 106 informs the Central Gateway System 102 which tunnel or tunnels can be used to communicate by providing a data traffic-to-tunnel information i.e., a “tunneling capabilities message”);
“selecting, by the controller, one of the tunnel types from the plurality of tunnel types indicated by the tunneling capabilities message” (Para 0076: the Central Gateway System 102 implements references of the Remote Gateway Device 106 for tunnel or tunnels selection);;
“transmitting a tunneling selection response message to the computer networking device indicating the selected tunnel type responsive to transmitting the tunneling selection response message” (Para 0076: the Central Gateway System 102 implements references of the Remote Gateway Device 106 for tunnel or tunnels selection);
“receiving, by the controller, a request to establish a tunnel of the selected tunnel type responsive to transmitting the tunneling selection response message” (Para 0081-0082: selects a tunnel for communication);
“and establishing a tunnel of the selected tunnel type between the computer networking device and the controller responsive to receiving the request to establish the tunnel” (Para 0081-0082: tunnel is established).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is directed to a method corresponding to the method recited in claim 4. Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is directed to a method corresponding to the method recited in claim 7. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is directed to a method corresponding to the method recited in claim 8. Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yong in view of Kol et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 2023/0367833 A1 / or “Kol” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, in view of claim 1, Yong discloses negotiating tunneling capabilities between two network elements (Yong, Para 0009).
But Yong fails to specially disclose a SSH tunnel type.
However, Kol discloses “wherein the plurality of different tunnel types includes a secure shell (SSH) tunnel type” (Kol, Para 223, discloses SSH tunnel type among others).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of a SSH tunnel type of Kol to the system of Yong to create a system where a supported tunnel type of SSH is provided and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine to “…enables two-way communication between a client that runs untrusted code in a controlled environment to a remote host that has opted-in to communications from that code…” (Kol, Para 0324).
Regarding claim 3, in view of claim 1, Yong discloses negotiating tunneling capabilities between two network elements (Yong, Para 0009).
But Yong fails to specially disclose a WebSocket tunnel type.
However, Kol discloses “wherein the plurality of different tunnel types includes a WebSocket tunnel type” (Kol, Para 326, discloses WebSocket tunnel type among others).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of a WebSocket tunnel type of Kol to the system of Yong to create a system where a supported tunnel type of WebSocket is provided and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine to “…enables two-way communication between a client that runs untrusted code in a controlled environment to a remote host that has opted-in to communications from that code…” (Kol, Para 0324).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to a method corresponding to the method recited in claim 2. Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a method corresponding to the method recited in claim 3. Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yong in view of Hao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 2018/0102919 A1 / or “Hao” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, in view of claim 4, Yong discloses negotiating tunneling capabilities between two network elements (Yong, Para 0009).
But Yong fails to specially disclose a service chain ID as RestConf.
However, Hao discloses “wherein one of the tunnel type service identifiers indicates a RESTCONF protocol” (Hao, Para 0284, service chain ID as RestConf; and Para 0170).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of a service chain ID as RestConf of Hao to the system of Yong to generate a tunnel destination identifier (Hao, Para 0183) and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine to “… service chain to ensure that the flow of the service chain is steered in only after all tunnels from the ingress SN to the egress SN are established. …” (Hao, Para 0162).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is directed to a method corresponding to the method recited in claim 5. Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yong in view of Hsin-Fu Chiang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 2021/0022197 A1 / or “Chiang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 17, Yong discloses “A method comprising” (Para 0008: lines 1-3, a method of establishing a tunnel through tunnel capability message is disclosed):
“generating, by a computer networking device, a tunneling capabilities message indicating a plurality of different tunnel types supported by the computer networking device” (Para 0008: lines35-40, a third Network Element (NE) i.e., a “computer networking device” provides tunnel capability message; and where the capability message comprises at least one of a tunnel encapsulation type supported by the third NE);
“transmitting the tunneling capabilities message to a controller” (Para 0008: lines 23-26, the tunnel is established between the third NE and a first NE or a Network Controller; and Para 0008);
Yong further discloses using a first tunnel for a first period of time and using a second tunnel for a second period of time (Yong, Para 0086).
But Yong fails to specially disclose expiration of a tunnel establishment request and falling back to a default tunnel.
However, Chiang discloses “identifying that a tunneling selection response message from the controller has not been received after a predetermined time interval has elapsed” (Chiang, Para 0049: a dedicated tunnel setup request involves a dedicated bearer; and Para 0115: lines 4-8, a wait time has expired i.e., a “predetermined time interval has elapsed” for a tunnel initialization request through a first bearer has failed i.e., a first tunnel setup has failed);
“requesting, by the computer networking device, establishment of a tunnel of a default tunnel type [i.e., Note: specification, Fig. 6: Step 622, describes re-connection request using default tunnel type (however, specification failed to specify/describe the default tunnel type)] of the plurality of different tunnel types” (Chiang, Para 0115: lines 9-11, a connection reset request is sent for a subsequent tunnel initialization through a second bearer i.e., a second tunnel i.e., a “default tunnel” setup is established);
“and establishing the tunnel of the default tunnel type between the computer networking device and the controller” (Chiang, Para 0115: lines 12-16, establishes voice services through using a second bearer i.e., a “default tunnel”).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of expiration of a tunnel establishment request and providing service through a “default tunnel” of Chiang to the system Yong to have a system where by a connection reset would avoid a UE power cycle and/or cycle through airplane mode (Chiang, Para 0065; and Para 0105) and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine to provide service through the default tunnel when services through other services not available (Chiang, Para 0014).
Regarding claim 20, in view of claim 17, Yong discloses “wherein the computer networking device is a networking switch” (Para 0038: a physical switch).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yong in view of Chiang and in further view of Kol.
Regarding claim 18, in view of claim 17, Yong discloses negotiating tunneling capabilities between two network elements (Yong, Para 0009).
But Yong and Chiang fail to specially disclose a SSH and WebSocket tunnel types.
However, Kol discloses “wherein the plurality of different tunnel types includes a secure shell (SSH) tunnel type” (Kol, Para 223, discloses SSH tunnel type among others).
“and a Websocket tunnel type” (Kol, Para 1235, discloses WebSocket tunnel type among others).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of SSH and WebSocket tunnel type of Kol to the system of Yong and Chiang to create a system where a supported tunnel type of WebSocket is provided and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine to “…enables two-way communication between a client that runs untrusted code in a controlled environment to a remote host that has opted-in to communications from that code…” (Kol, Para 0324).
Regarding claim 19, in view of claim 18, Yong discloses “wherein the computer networking device is a networking switch” (Para 0038: a physical switch).
Relevant Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
We Xu (US 20170230198 A1) discloses:
[0032] In some network deployment structure, some border device may not support the routing control logic in this example. In this case, the border device may negotiate with the peer border device about its capability to set up a tunnel automatically and to relay a BGP route over the tunnel, before transmitting an announcement thereto. If the peer border device has no such a capability, then the border device may not apply the routing control logic in this example to process the BGP route issued by the peer border device. A capability negotiation procedure maybe performed by extending the BGP protocol in use or applying a message in a self-defined format.
Jing et al. (US 20220124043 A1) discloses:
[0162] A websocket-based (e.g., TCP, UDP, etc.) secure connection is established between the CCM 606 and NCM 636 to exchange MAMS management messages 1030, which are used for configuring the data plane functions (e.g., Gc 1001 and Gs 1040). The MAMS management messages 1030 are discussed in more detail infra.
Contact Information
/ABDULLAH ALMAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2431
/LYNN D FEILD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2431