Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21,24-32 and 35-43 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-26 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filsfils et al. (US 2021/0092053 A1; hereinafter “Filsfils1”), in view of Agarwal et al. (US 2015/0089032 A1; hereinafter “Agarwal”).
Regarding claim 21, Filsfils1 teaches a network device (FIG. 6 computer 600), comprising: one or more memories storing instructions (FIG. 6 RAM 608 and ROM 610); and one or more processors (FIG. 6 processors 604) coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to cause the network device to ([0073] the computer 600 has access to computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the computer 600):
receive a packet (FIG. 4 step 402), wherein the packet comprises a destination address ([0049] receive, a packet having an IPv6 header including a destination address field) and a behavior instruction ([0045] receive a micro SID (behavior instruction; [0018]) to be placed into IPv6 packet); and
forward, based on a first forwarding behavior indicated by the behavior instruction (FIG. 4 step 404), the packet to a node indicated by the destination address (FIG. 4 step 406; [0012] modifying the first destination address to result in a second destination address, and sending, from the first network node, the IPv6 packet populated with the second destination address)
wherein the network device is a first node in a packet forwarding system ([0012] by a first network node located in a first domain of a multi-domain network),
the packet forwarding system comprises a plurality of nodes (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2), at least two nodes of the plurality of nodes have a capability to perform the first forwarding behavior on the packet based on the behavior instruction in the packet ([0045] the nodes 302 in each domain receives advertisement messages to enable block swapping for the IPv6 packet), and the first node belongs to the at least two nodes (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2).
However, Filsfils1 does not teach wherein the behavior instruction comprises a first function field, the destination address field comprises a second function field, the first function field indicates a first forwarding behavior, and the second function field indicates a second forwarding behavior; and forward, based on a combination of the first forwarding behavior indicated by the first function field and the second forwarding behavior indicated by the second function field, the packet to a node indicated by the destination address field.
In an analogous art, Agarwal teaches wherein the behavior instruction comprises a first function field, the destination address field comprises a second function field, the first function field indicates a first forwarding behavior, and the second function field indicates a second forwarding behavior ([0017] the controller installs a rewrite rule in the source edge switch to rewrite the destination address field of a packet to a selected shadow MAC address, thereby providing a behavior instruction that performs a first forwarding behavior, [0071] the selected shadow MAC address corresponds to one of a plurality of pre-installed paths in the switches, such that the destination address field itself functions as a field that indicates a second forwarding behavior corresponding to a particular forwarding path); and
forward, based on a combination of the first forwarding behavior indicated by the first function field and the second forwarding behavior indicated by the second function field, the packet to a node indicated by the destination address field ([0071] rewriting the destination address field to a selected shadow MAC address activates a corresponding preconfigured path in the switches, and that destination edge switches are preconfigured to receive packets for shadow MAC addresses, thereby establishing that packet forwarding is performed based on a combination of the destination-address rewrite behavior and the shadow-MAC based path selection behavior, and that the packet is forwarded to the node indicated by the destination address field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the destination address field as taught by Agarwal within the parameter of Filsfils1. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide scalable network configuration that is cost effective, which will enhance user experience (Agarwal [0019]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein the behavior instruction further comprises a locator field or a parameter field ([0004] The SID in SRv6 represents a 128-bit structure consisting of two parts, the locator and the function), the locator field indicates an aggregation address of the packet forwarding system ([0004] The locator represents an address of a particular SRv6 node or segment), and
the parameter field indicates an execution parameter of the first forwarding behavior ([0018] a new type of micro SID instruction whose behavior is the replacement of the current micro SID-domain-block with a specific new micro SID-domain-block, [0028] intermediary nodes in the path execute the function to, for example, forward the IPv6 packet 112).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein the first forwarding behavior ([0004] the function) comprises: encrypted forwarding (FIG. 1; [0025] The data centers 104 includes security devices, [0026] The multi-domain network 102 forwards a data packet (IPv6 packet 112) to a destination device based on a destination address 114):
slice resource forwarding based on a specified network slice ([0031] In FIG. 1, the source device 116 utilizes micro SID-domain-blocks that are assigned to each domain in the multi-domain network (FIG. 1 domains 106 108 110). Accordingly, when the source device 116 populates the destination address 114 with the list of micro SIDs, the source device 116 utilizes a block swapping mechanism to swap SID-domain-blocks in the destination address 114);
forwarding based on a specified routing table ([0003]-[0004] segment identifiers (SIDs) are advertised using routing protocols and are used to program forwarding information at each node. Accordingly, each node maintains a routing table that records advertised SIDs and their associated forwarding functions, and performs forwarding by executing the forwarding instructions in the stack of SIDs provided in the data packet, thereby steering data packets through an engineered path in the network independently of the IGP shortest paths).
nodes can simply perform the forwarding instructions in the stack of SIDs provided in the data packet, thereby steering data packets through an engineered path in the network independently of the IGP shortest paths).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein: the packet is a segment routing packet based on internet protocol version 6 (IPv6) and an IPv6 header, a segment routing header (SRH) ([0014] segment routing over IPv6 (hereinafter “SRv6”) comprises a technique places an ordered list of segment identifiers (hereinafter “SIDs”) into a header of the IPv6 packet. A source device can specify the path using a listing of SIDs in a segment routing extension header (SRH) of the header of the IPv6 packet).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein the at least two nodes each store a forwarding table ([0003] forwarding information programmed at each node), the forwarding table records a correspondence between the behavior instruction and the first forwarding behavior ([0003] where segment identifiers (SIDs) are advertised and used to program forwarding information at each node, [0004] where each SID comprises a function that is executed locally by the node to perform forwarding), and the one or more processors further execute the instructions to cause the network device to ([0073] the computer 600 has access to computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the computer 600):
determine, based on the forwarding table ([0003] forwarding information programmed at each node), the first forwarding behavior indicated by the behavior instruction ([0028] Each micro SID is associated with a locator and a function such that intermediary nodes in the path execute the function to, for example, forward the IPv6 packet 112 onto the next node or segment in the micro SID listing).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to cause the network device to ([0073] the computer 600 has access to computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the computer 600):
generate the forwarding table ([0003] forwarding information programmed at each node) based on obtained configuration information ([0003] where segment identifiers (SIDs) are advertised and used to program forwarding information at each node, [0004] where the programmed forwarding information is used to perform forwarding instructions carried in the stack of SIDs), wherein the configuration information comprises the behavior instruction and the first forwarding behavior ([0004] The SID in SRv6 represents a 128-bit structure consisting of two parts, the locator and the function, [0028] Each micro SID is associated with a locator and a function such that intermediary nodes in the path execute the function to, for example, forward the IPv6 packet 112 onto the next node or segment in the micro SID listing).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein a length of the behavior instruction is less than 128 bits ([0015] the size of SIDs to be smaller than a complete IPv6 address (referred to herein as “micro SIDs” or “compressed SIDs”)).
Claims 27-28, 32, 35-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filsfils1, in view of Agarwal, and further in view of Filsfils et al. (US 2023/0336450 A1; hereinafter “Filsfils2”).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal does not teach wherein the SRH comprises a tag field; and the tag field carries the behavior instruction.
In an analogous art, Filsfils2 Teaches wherein the SRH comprises a tag field; and the tag field carries the behavior instruction (FIG. 1; [0033] the first indication and/or the second indication are included within a first field (e.g., Tag field) of the segment routing header of the packet, [0052] the source node 118(1) encodes the Tag field of the segment routing header to indicate what type of telemetry data is to be encoded by the downstream nodes 118(2)-118(4)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a tag field as taught by Filsfils2 within the parameter of Filsfils1 and Agarwal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network path tracing and delay measurement techniques by reducing telemetry data overhead and simplifying packet processing for enhanced system efficiency (Filsfils2 [0021]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal does not teach wherein the SRH comprises a flags field and a segment list, the segment list comprises a plurality of identification fields, a last identification field in the segment list carries the behavior instruction, and the flags field indicates that a value of the last identification field comprises the behavior instruction.
In an analogous art, Filsfils2 Teaches wherein the SRH comprises a flags field and a segment list ([0034] a flag field of the segment routing header, [0052] a segment list of the segment routing header),
the segment list comprises a plurality of identification fields, a last identification field in the segment list carries the behavior instruction ([0052] the telemetry data is carried in a last segment identifier field of a segment list of the segment routing header), and
the flags field indicates that a value of the last identification field comprises the behavior instruction ([0052] set a value of the segment routing header “T” flag to enable the downstream nodes to read a Tag field of the segment routing header. Additionally, the source node encodes the Tag field to indicate what type of telemetry data is to be encoded as well as an offset within the telemetry carrier (the segment identifier field of the segment list)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the SRH as taught by Filsfils2 within the parameter of Filsfils1 and Agarwal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network path tracing and delay measurement techniques by reducing telemetry data overhead and simplifying packet processing for enhanced system efficiency (Filsfils2 [0002]).
Regarding claim 32, Filsfils1 teaches a network device (FIG. 10 computer 1000), comprising: one or more memories storing instructions (FIG. 10 RAM 1008 and ROM 1010); and one or more processors (FIG. 10 processors 1004) coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to cause the network device to ([0108] the computer 1000 has access to computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the computer 1000):
send the packet to a first node (FIG. 1 118(2)) ([0033] the IPv6 packet 112 is send to the intermediary node 118(1) according to the micro SID instruction included in the destination address 114), wherein the network device is a second node (FIG. 1 118(1)) in a packet forwarding system (FIG. 1 a system-architecture 100),
at least two nodes in the packet forwarding system forward ([0028] forward the IPv6 packet 112 onto the next node or segment in the micro SID listing),
the packet to a third node indicated by a value of the destination address field (FIG. 3; [0045] the nodes 302 in each domain receives advertisement messages 306/308 that indicate the block swapping instruction (e.g., micro SID) to be placed into IPv6 packet 112 headers (e.g., destination address field)).
However, Filsfils1 does not teach encapsulate a behavior instruction into a packet, wherein the behavior instruction comprises a first function field, the packet comprises a destination address field and a segment list corresponding to a forwarding path of the packet, the segment list comprises a plurality of segment identifiers, and each of the plurality of segment identifiers further comprises a second function field, the first function field indicates first forwarding behavior; based on a combination of a first forwarding behavior indicated by the first function field and second forwarding behavior indicated by a corresponding second function field of a segment identifier in the destination address field of the packet.
In an analogous art, Agarwal teaches the segment list comprises a plurality of segment identifiers ([0021] teaches that the same destination network address may be mapped to multiple shadow MAC addresses, each corresponding to a forwarding path and used by switches for forwarding, thereby forming a list of multiple identifiers that define a forwarding path) and
each of the plurality of segment identifiers further comprises a second function field, the first function field indicates first forwarding behavior ([0055],[0072] teach that a behavior instruction includes a first function field used to rewrite the destination address of a packet to perform a forwarding action, [0021] teaches that each shadow MAC address is used by switches to perform forwarding, thereby associating forwarding behavior with each identifier); and
based on a combination of a first forwarding behavior indicated by the first function field and second forwarding behavior indicated by a corresponding second function field of a segment identifier in the destination address field of the packet ([0071] rewriting the destination address field to a selected shadow MAC address activates a corresponding preconfigured path in the switches, and that destination edge switches are preconfigured to receive packets for shadow MAC addresses, thereby establishing that packet forwarding is performed based on a combination of the destination-address rewrite behavior and the shadow-MAC based path selection behavior, and that the packet is forwarded to the node indicated by the destination address field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the destination address field as taught by Agarwal within the parameter of Filsfils1. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide scalable network configuration that is cost effective, which will enhance user experience (Agarwal [0019]).
However, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal does not teach encapsulate a behavior instruction into a packet, wherein the behavior instruction comprises a first function field, the packet comprises a destination address field and a segment list corresponding to a forwarding path of the packet.
In an analogous art, Filsfils2 teaches encapsulate a behavior instruction into a packet, wherein the behavior instruction comprises a first function field ([0030] teaches that an SRv6 uSID path tracing instruction specifies a path tracing action and prompts a node to encapsulate the packet with an SR Policy/IPv6 header), the packet comprises a destination address field ([0030] discloses encapsulating the packet with SR Policy/IPv6 header, [0052] encapsulating the packet with a segment routing header in an IPv6 packet) and a segment list corresponding to a forwarding path of the packet ([0052] discloses that the source node encapsulates the packet with a segment routing header, where telemetry data is carried in a last segment identifier field of a segment list of the segment routing header).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify SRv6 uSID instructions as taught by Filsfils2 within the parameter of Filsfils1 and Agarwal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network path tracing and delay measurement techniques by reducing telemetry data overhead and simplifying packet processing for enhanced system efficiency (Filsfils2 [0002]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Filsfils1, Agarwal and Filsfils2, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein: the behavior instruction further comprises a locator field or a parameter field ([0004] The SID in SRv6 represents a 128-bit structure consisting of two parts, the locator and the function); and
the locator field indicates an aggregation address of the packet forwarding system ([0004] The locator represents an address of a particular SRv6 node or segment), and
the parameter field indicates an execution parameter of the first forwarding behavior ([0018] a new type of micro SID instruction whose behavior is the replacement of the current micro SID-domain-block with a specific new micro SID-domain-block, [0028] intermediary nodes in the path execute the function to, for example, forward the IPv6 packet 112).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Filsfils1, Agarwal and Filsfils2, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein the first forwarding behavior ([0004] the function) comprises: encrypted forwarding (FIG. 1; [0025] The data centers 104 includes security devices, [0026] The multi-domain network 102 forwards a data packet (IPv6 packet 112) to a destination device based on a destination address 114);
slice resource forwarding based on a specified network slice ([0031] In FIG. 1, the source device 116 utilizes micro SID-domain-blocks that are assigned to each domain in the multi-domain network (FIG. 1 domains 106 108 110). Accordingly, when the source device 116 populates the destination address 114 with the list of micro SIDs, the source device 116 utilizes a block swapping mechanism to swap SID-domain-blocks in the destination address 114);
forwarding based on an allocated network resource; or forwarding based on a specified routing table ([0004] nodes can simply perform the forwarding instructions in the stack of SIDs provided in the data packet, thereby steering data packets through an engineered path in the network independently of the IGP shortest paths).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Filsfils1, Agarwal and Filsfils2, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein the packet is a segment routing packet based on internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and an IPv6 header, a segment routing header (SRH) ([0014] segment routing over IPv6 (hereinafter “SRv6”) comprises a technique places an ordered list of segment identifiers (hereinafter “SIDs”) into a header of the IPv6 packet. A source device can specify the path using a listing of SIDs in a segment routing extension header (SRH) of the header of the IPv6 packet).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Filsfils1, Agarwal and Filsfils2, specifically Filsfils2 teaches wherein the SRH comprises a tag field, and the tag field carries the behavior instruction (FIG. 1; [0033] the first indication and/or the second indication are included within a first field (e.g., Tag field) of the segment routing header of the packet, [0052] the source node 118(1) encodes the Tag field of the segment routing header to indicate what type of telemetry data is to be encoded by the downstream nodes 118(2)-118(4)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a tag field as taught by Filsfils2 within the parameter of Filsfils1 and Agarwal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide network operators with improved visibility into their underlying networks (Filsfils2 [0020]).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Filsfils1, Agarwal and Filsfils2, specifically Filsfils2 Teaches wherein the SRH comprises a flags field and a segment list ([0034] a flag field of the segment routing header, [0052] a segment list of the segment routing header),
the segment list comprises a plurality of identification fields, a last identification field in the segment list carries the behavior instruction ([0052] the telemetry data is carried in a last segment identifier field of a segment list of the segment routing header), and
the flags field indicates that an identifier carried in the last identification field is the behavior instruction ([0052] set a value of the segment routing header “T” flag to enable the downstream nodes to read a Tag field of the segment routing header. Additionally, the source node encodes the Tag field to indicate what type of telemetry data is to be encoded as well as an offset within the telemetry carrier (the segment identifier field of the segment list)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the SRH as taught by Filsfils2 within the parameter of Filsfils1 and Agarwal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide network operators with improved visibility into their underlying networks (Filsfils2 [0020]).
Regarding claim 40, Filsfils1 teaches a packet forwarding system (FIG. 1 a system-architecture 100), wherein the packet forwarding system comprises:
a plurality of nodes (FIG. 1 domain 2 108) comprising a first node (FIG. 1 node 118(3)) and at least two second nodes (FIG. 1 node 118(4) and 118(5)); wherein the first node (FIG. 6 computer 600) comprises: one or more first memories storing instructions (FIG. 6 RAM 608 and ROM 610); and
one or more first processors (FIG. 6 processors 604) coupled to the one or more first memories, wherein the one or more first processors execute the instructions to cause the first node to ([0073] the computer 600 has access to computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the computer 600):
send the packet (FIG. 4 step 402), so that the at least two second nodes forward, based on a first forwarding behavior indicated by the first function field in the packet (FIG. 4 step 404), the packet to a third node indicated by a value of the destination address field (FIG. 4 step 406; [0012] modifying the first destination address to result in a second destination address, and sending, from the first network node, the IPv6 packet populated with the second destination address, [0004]; [0028] wherein the SID comprises a locator and a function field, and the intermediary nodes execute the function field to forward the IPv6 packet to the next node);
wherein each (FIG. 6 computer 600) of the at least two second nodes (FIG. 1 node 118(4) and 118(5)) comprises:
one or more second memories storing instructions (FIG. 6 RAM 608 and ROM 610); and one or more second processors (FIG. 6 processors 604) coupled to the one or more second memories, wherein the one or more second processors execute the instructions to cause a respective second node to ([0073] the computer 600 has access to computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the computer 600):
receive the packet comprising the destination address field and the behavior instruction ([0033] the IPv6 packet 112 is send to the intermediary node 118(1) according to the micro SID instruction included in the destination address 114, [0045] receive a micro SID (behavior instruction; [0018]) to be placed into IPv6 packet); and
the packet to the third node indicated by the destination address field (FIG. 3; [0045] the nodes 302 in each domain receives advertisement messages 306/308 that indicate the block swapping instruction (e.g., micro SID) to be placed into IPv6 packet 112 headers (e.g., destination address field)).
However, Filsfils1 does not teach encapsulate a behavior instruction into a packet, wherein the packet comprises a destination address field, the behavior instruction comprises a first function field, and the first function field indicates first forwarding behavior; wherein the destination address field comprises a second function field, and the second function field indicates a second forwarding behavior; and forward, based on a combination of the first forwarding behavior indicated by the first function field and the second forwarding behavior indicated by the second function field.
In an analogous art, Agarwal teaches the behavior instruction comprises a first function field, and the first function field indicates first forwarding behavior; wherein the destination address field comprises a second function field, and the second function field indicates a second forwarding behavior ([0017] the controller installs a rewrite rule in the source edge switch to rewrite the destination address field of a packet to a selected shadow MAC address, thereby providing a behavior instruction that performs a first forwarding behavior, [0071] the selected shadow MAC address corresponds to one of a plurality of pre-installed paths in the switches, such that the destination address field itself functions as a field that indicates a second forwarding behavior corresponding to a particular forwarding path); and
forward, based on a combination of the first forwarding behavior indicated by the first function field and the second forwarding behavior indicated by the second function field ([0071] rewriting the destination address field to a selected shadow MAC address activates a corresponding preconfigured path in the switches, and that destination edge switches are preconfigured to receive packets for shadow MAC addresses, thereby establishing that packet forwarding is performed based on a combination of the destination-address rewrite behavior and the shadow-MAC based path selection behavior, and that the packet is forwarded to the node indicated by the destination address field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the destination address field as taught by Agarwal within the parameter of Filsfils1. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide scalable network configuration with consistent updates in software defined networks (Agarwal [0001]).
However, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal does not teach encapsulate a behavior instruction into a packet, wherein the behavior instruction comprises a first function field, the packet comprises a destination address field and a segment list corresponding to a forwarding path of the packet.
In an analogous art, Filsfils2 teaches encapsulate a behavior instruction into a packet, wherein the behavior instruction comprises a first function field ([0030] teaches that an SRv6 uSID path tracing instruction specifies a path tracing action and prompts a node to encapsulate the packet with an SR Policy/IPv6 header), the packet comprises a destination address field ([0030] discloses encapsulating the packet with SR Policy/IPv6 header, [0052] encapsulating the packet with a segment routing header in an IPv6 packet) and a segment list corresponding to a forwarding path of the packet ([0052] discloses that the source node encapsulates the packet with a segment routing header, where telemetry data is carried in a last segment identifier field of a segment list of the segment routing header).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify SRv6 uSID instructions as taught by Filsfils2 within the parameter of Filsfils1 and Agarwal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network path tracing and delay measurement techniques by reducing telemetry data overhead and simplifying packet processing for enhanced system efficiency (Filsfils2 [0002]).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein the second forwarding behavior comprises copying a value of a segment list (SL) to the destination address field or forwarding the packet to a specified neighboring node ([0004] After completion of a segment, the next segment is copied in the IPv6 destination address header from a location in a Segment Routing Header (SRH) indicated by an index (‘Segment Left’) in the SRH in the SRH, [0028] intermediary nodes in the path execute the function to, for example, forward the IPv6 packet onto the next node or segment, [0033] the IPv6 packet 112 is sent to the intermediary node 118(1) and forwards the IPv6 packet 112 onto the intermediary node 118(2)).
However, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal does not teach wherein the first forwarding behavior comprises encrypted forwarding.
In an analogous art, Filsfils2 teaches wherein the first forwarding behavior comprises encrypted forwarding ([0112] while many of the examples are described with respect to IPsec protocols, it should be understood that the techniques described are applicable to other protocols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify IPsec protocols as taught by Filsfils2 within the parameter of Filsfils1 and Agarwal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network path tracing and delay measurement techniques by reducing telemetry data overhead and simplifying packet processing for enhanced system efficiency (Filsfils2 [0002]).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein the second forwarding behavior comprises copying a value of a segment list (SL) to the destination address field or forwarding the packet to a specified neighboring node ([0004] After completion of a segment, the next segment is copied in the IPv6 destination address header from a location in a Segment Routing Header (SRH) indicated by an index (‘Segment Left’) in the SRH in the SRH, [0028] intermediary nodes in the path execute the function to, for example, forward the IPv6 packet onto the next node or segment, [0033] the IPv6 packet 112 is sent to the intermediary node 118(1) and forwards the IPv6 packet 112 onto the intermediary node 118(2)).
However, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal does not teach wherein the first forwarding behavior comprises encrypted forwarding.
In an analogous art, Filsfils2 teaches wherein the first forwarding behavior comprises encrypted forwarding ([0112] while many of the examples are described with respect to IPsec protocols, it should be understood that the techniques described are applicable to other protocols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify IPsec protocols as taught by Filsfils2 within the parameter of Filsfils1 and Agarwal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network path tracing and delay measurement techniques by reducing telemetry data overhead and simplifying packet processing for enhanced system efficiency (Filsfils2 [0002]).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal, specifically Filsfils1 teaches wherein the second forwarding behavior comprises copying one of the plurality of segment identifiers in the segment list to the destination address field or forwarding the packet to a specified neighboring node ([0004] After completion of a segment, the next segment is copied in the IPv6 destination address header from a location in a Segment Routing Header (SRH) indicated by an index (‘Segment Left’) in the SRH in the SRH, [0028] Each micro SID is associated with a locator and a function such that intermediary nodes in the path execute the function to, for example, forward the IPv6 packet onto the next node or segment in the micro SID listing, [0033] the IPv6 packet 112 is sent to the intermediary node 118(1) and forwards the IPv6 packet 112 onto the intermediary node 118(2) that is the closest border router).
However, the combination of Filsfils1 and Agarwal does not teach wherein the first forwarding behavior comprises encrypted forwarding.
In an analogous art, Filsfils2 teaches wherein the first forwarding behavior comprises encrypted forwarding ([0112] while many of the examples are described with respect to IPsec protocols, it should be understood that the techniques described are applicable to other protocols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify IPsec protocols as taught by Filsfils2 within the parameter of Filsfils1 and Agarwal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network path tracing and delay measurement techniques by reducing telemetry data overhead and simplifying packet processing for enhanced system efficiency (Filsfils2 [0002]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2015/0092778 A1 (Jackson et al.) discloses a method for a forwarding element that forwards packets.
US 2019/0149449 A1 (Morris) discloses methods and systems are described for associating a name with a network path.
US 2022/0210064 A1 (Dutta) discloses embodiments for address registration in a communication system are presented.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413