DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to communication filed on 6/24/2026.
The instant application having application No. 18/446,766 filed on August 9, 2023, presents claims 1-20 for examination. The instant application has no priority data.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 15, and 18 are amended, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Amendment
(A). Regarding 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection: Applicant's amendment is not persuasive, the amended claims are still abstract idea without significantly, the rejection to the claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 is maintained.
(B). Regarding art rejection: In regards to pending claims Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive; further, Applicant’s amendments to claims necessitated new ground of rejections made in the following office action.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amended claim 1 recites “obtain a first data set indicative of a first executable code version of a software package, the first data set comprising first information generated prior to first debugging information associated with the first executable code version of the software package, and a second data set indicative of a second executable code version of the software package, the second data set comprising second information generated prior to second debugging information associated with the second executable code version of the software package,”. The claimed features “the first data set comprising first information generated prior to first debugging information associated with the first executable code version of the software package, …, the second data set comprising second information generated prior to second debugging information associated with the second executable code version of the software package,” are not described in the specification of the application. The instant spec discloses, (see p4 last to p5 first paragraph of the instant spec), “FIG. 1 illustrates an example of a software package hierarchy 100 with which one or more illustrative embodiments can be implemented. More particularly, assume that software package hierarchy 100 represents a software release comprising multiple functional components, i.e., Component 1, Component 2,…, Component N, with self-contained features/tasks. Each component may have additional sub-components. Assume further as shown, at a bottom level of software package hierarchy 100, changes associated with each component/sub-component can be captured in the form of attribute categories or attributes, i.e., Attribute 1, Attribute 2, Attribute 3,…, Attribute M. Examples of attributes include, but are not limited to, total number of bug fixes, severity of bug fixes, total number of new features, criticality of features, security hot-fix, total lines-of-code, dependency components predecessor, dependency components successor, platforms affected, and reboot requirement. It is realized herein that this set of attributes can form a basis for vectorization of features that can be processed in an automated fashion.” Wherein bug fixes suggest debugging has been done. The amended claims 15 and 18 recite those same features as in amended claim1, and are rejected for the same reason. Dependent claims 2-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected for the same reason because of their dependencies from their respective independent claims 1, 15, or 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claim 1, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to an apparatus claim under Step 1.
Under Prong 1, Step 2A:
However, the limitations of claim 1,
“obtain a first data set indicative of a first executable code version of a software package, the first data set comprising first information generated prior to first debugging information associated with the first executable code version of the software package, and a second data set indicative of a second executable code version of the software package, the second data set comprising second information generated prior to second debugging information associated with the second executable code version of the software package, wherein the software package is a binary software package including pre-built executable code;
perform a semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, including semantically comparing at least portions of the first information with at least portions of the second information, to compute a difference between the first data set and the second data set which is indicative of a corresponding difference between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package; and
generate a third data set, based on the semantic comparison, indicative of an impact to a computing system relative to the computing system executing the first executable code version of the software package versus executing the second executable code version of the software package.”
as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. E.g. human can manually perform a semantic comparison as defined in the claim, can manually compute a difference as defined in the claim, can manually generate a third data set as defined in the claim. Note that the executable code is not actually involved in the process. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1 Step 2A.
Under Prong 2, Step 2A:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the following additional elements
“An apparatus comprising:
at least one processing platform comprising at least one processor coupled to at least one memory, wherein the at least one processing platform is configured to:
obtain a first data set indicative of a first executable code version of a software package, the first data set comprising first information generated prior to first debugging information associated with the first executable code version of the software package, and a second data set indicative of a second executable code version of the software package, the second data set comprising second information generated prior to second debugging information associated with the second executable code version of the software package, wherein the software package is a binary software package including pre-built executable code;”
Wherein “an apparatus”, “one processing platform”, “one processor”, and “one memory” are cited as generic computer components, or merely as a tool to implement the identified abstract idea, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f). Obtaining data is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g). Note that the data sets are indicative of executable code versions of the software package, but are not actual executable code, and are, in fact, source code. See p5 last paragraph to p7 of the instant specification. “wherein the software package is a binary software package including pre-built executable code.” as drafted, is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements “an apparatus”, “one processing platform”, “one processor”, and “one memory” are mere use of generic computer to implement the abstract idea, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, thus, are not an inventive concept. “obtain a first data set … and a second data set …;” is insignificant extra-solution activity and is recognized as well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d), II, Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. “wherein the software package is a binary software package including pre-built executable code.” as drafted, is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, and does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. See MPEP § 2106.05(h). Accordingly, the claim does not appear to be patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claim 15, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a computer program product claim under Step 1.
This claim recites a computer program product to implement a method that is disclosed in claim 1 and therefore recites the same abstract idea as claim 1, please see the office action analysis regarding claim 1.
Claim 15 recites one additional element that is not recited in claim 1, i.e. a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, but the storage medium is cited as generic computer component, or merely as a tool to implement the identified abstract idea, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
With respect to claim 18, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a method claim under Step 1.
This claim recites a method that is disclosed in claim 1 and therefore recites the same abstract idea as claim 1, please see the office action analysis regarding claim 1.
Claim 18 does not recite any additional elements that are not recited in claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, “wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to represent each component in the software package as a multi-dimensional vector, wherein each dimension of the multi-dimensional vector represents an attribute of the component.” The limitation of representing each component in the software package as a multi-dimensional vector, wherein each dimension of the multi-dimensional vector represents an attribute of the component, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of a generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “one processing platform”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “one processing platform” language, “representing” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually represent each component in the software package as a multi-dimensional vector, wherein each dimension of the multi-dimensional vector represents an attribute of the component. The one processing platform is cited as generic computer component, or merely as a tool to implement the identified abstract idea, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
With respect to claim 3, “wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to represent the multi-dimensional vectors for the components in the software package as a matrix, wherein one of rows and columns of the matrix represent the components and the other of the rows and columns of the matrix represent attributes of the components.” Similar to claim 2, the “representing” process is mental process, and the one processing platform is cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claim 4, “wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to pre-process data in the matrix to convert categorical criteria into numeric features and normalize the numeric features.” Similar to claim 2, the “pre-processing” process is mental process, and the one processing platform is cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claim 5, “wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to represent a matrix for the first executable code version of the software package as a first point-cloud and a matrix of the second executable code version of the software package as a second point-cloud.” Similar to claim 2, the “representing” process is mental process, and the one processing platform is cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claim 6, “wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to convert the first point-cloud into a first mesh and the second point-cloud into a second mesh.” Similar to claim 2, the “converting” process is mental process, and the one processing platform is cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claim 7, “wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to compute distances between elements of the first point-cloud and the second mesh and distances between the second point-cloud and the first mesh.” Similar to claim 2, the “computing” process is mental process, and the one processing platform is cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claim 8, “wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to compute an overall objective distance score between the first point-cloud and the second point-cloud based on the computed distances.” Similar to claim 2, the “computing” process is mental process, and the one processing platform is cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claim 9, “wherein the overall objective distance score represents the corresponding difference between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package.” The claim further limits the overall objective distance score of claim 8, it recites same abstract idea as claim 8.
With respect to claim 10, “wherein the at least one processing platform is further configured to generate a scoring data structure wherein the overall objective distance score computed between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package is stored in the scoring data structure.” Similar to claim 2, the “generating” process is mental process, and the one processing platform is cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above. “Storing” process is recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions, refer to MPEP 2106.05(d), II, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. for retrieving and storing data.
With respect to claim 11, “wherein one or more other overall objective distance scores computed between other executable code versions of the software package are stored in the scoring data structure.” The “storing” process is insignificant extra-solution activity such as data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g) , and is recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions, refer to MPEP 2106.05(d), II, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. for retrieving and storing data.
With respect to claim 12, “wherein, when generating the scoring data structure, the at least one processing platform is further configured to normalize the overall objective distance scores.” Similar to claim 2, the “generating” and “normalizing” processes are mental processes, and the one processing platform is cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claim 13, “wherein, when generating the scoring data structure, the at least one processing platform is further configured to use a hyper-parameter threshold value to determine a criticality of an upgrade between executable code versions of the software package.” Similar to claim 2, the “generating” and “determining” processes are mental processes, and the one processing platform is cites as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claim 14, “wherein, when generating the scoring data structure, the at least one processing platform is further configured to categorize executable code version differences into color-coded bands to reflect the criticality of the upgrade between the executable code versions of the software package.” Similar to claim 2, the “generating” and “categorizing” processes are mental processes, and the one processing platform is cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claims 16 and 19, “wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the one or more software programs, when executed by the at least one processing device, further causes the at least one processing device to perform a distance score calculation process to compute the difference between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package.” Similar to claim 2, the “computing” process is mental process; the one or more software programs, and one processing device are cited as a generic computer component. See analysis of claim 2 above.
With respect to claims 17 and 20, “wherein the one or more software programs, when executed by the at least one processing device, further causes the at least one processing device to generate a scoring data structure, wherein a distance score computed between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package is stored in the scoring data structure along with one or more other distance scores computed between other executable code versions of the software package.” Similar to claim 10, the “generating” process is mental process; the one or more software programs, and one processing device are cited as a generic computer component. “The storing” is recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions, refer to MPEP 2106.05(d), II, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. for retrieving and storing data. See analysis of claim 10 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari (US 20140173559 A1 – hereinafter Tiwari) in view of YAMAGUCHI et al. (US 20260133795 A1 – hereinafter YAMAGUCHI).
With respect to claim 1 (Currently Amended), Tiwari discloses An apparatus comprising:
at least one processing platform comprising at least one processor coupled to at least one memory, wherein the at least one processing platform is configured to (e.g. Fig. 8):
obtain a first data set indicative of a first executable code version of a software package, the first data set comprising first information generated prior to first debugging information associated with the first executable code version of the software package, and a second data set indicative of a second executable code version of the software package, the second data set comprising second information generated prior to second debugging information associated with the second executable code version of the software package, wherein the software package is a binary software package including pre-built executable code (e.g. para [0032], “In step 210, server system 150 receives identifiers of a first source code and a second source code of a software (sought to be compared). …” wherein the identifiers and corresponding source codes read on a first data set and a second data set. Para [0050], “A developer of a user application designed to operate with the older version (1.0) of the operating system may wish to migrate the user application to the newer version (2.0) of the operating system. …. The developer may accordingly wish to identify the differences between the source codes (in particular, the header files) of the different versions of the software (operating system).” This paragraph suggests that the source code corresponds to its executable code which is binary code. Thus, the source code identifiers are data set that are indicative of executable code, para [0050] discloses the operations are before migrating the user application to the newer version, i.e. prior to debugging);
perform a semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, including semantically comparing at least portions of the first information with at least portions of the second information, to compute a difference between the first data set and the second data set which is indicative of a corresponding difference between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package (e.g. para [0037], “ In step 270, server system 150 compares the determined constructs to identify the differences between the listings and thereby the differences between the sources codes (of different versions of a software). The comparison and determination of the differences in a construct may be performed as per the syntax (and semantics) of the programming language.. …”); and
Tiwari does not appear to explicitly disclose
generate a third data set, based on the semantic comparison, indicative of an impact to a computing system relative to the computing system executing the first executable code version of the software package versus executing the second executable code version of the software package.
However, this is taught in analogous art, YAMAGUCHI (e.g. para [0047], “Next, the code difference analysis unit 12 performs code difference analysis on the list Δ of code differences (differences in method information) between the new version and the old version of the library based on the call graph G.sub.O, and outputs an analysis result Δ.sub.S (S106). …” wherein call graph comparison is analogous to semantics comparison. para [0053], “If Δ.sub.F is an empty set, the user determines that there is no likelihood that the library update could affect the overall software operation, and if otherwise, determines that there is a likelihood that the operation could be affected.” Wherein likelihood that the operation could be affected reads on an impact to a computing system relative to the computing system executing the executable code.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Tiwari with the invention of YAMAGUCHI because it provides techniques to enhance software development support for determining a likelihood of impact that a software update could have on operations of software. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques to enhance software development support for determining a likelihood of impact that a software update could have on operations of software as suggested by YAMAGUCHI (see para [0011-0013]).
With respect to claim 15 (Currently Amended), it is directed to a computer program product to implement the method disclosed in claim 1, please see the rejections directed to claim 1 above which also cover the limitations recited in claim 15. Note that, Tiwari teaches A computer program product comprising a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored therein one or more software programs wherein, when executed by at least one processing device, causes the at least one processing device to (e.g. Fig. 8):
With respect to claim 18 (Currently Amended), it is directed to a method disclosed in claim 1, please see the rejections directed to claim 1 above which also cover the limitations recited in claim 18.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI as applied to claim 1, in further view of Herzog et al. (US 20220303352 A1 -- hereinafter Herzog).
With respect to claim 2, Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI anticipates The apparatus of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly anticipate wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to represent each component in the software package as a multi-dimensional vector, wherein each dimension of the multi-dimensional vector represents an attribute of the component. However, this is taught in analogous art, Herzog (e.g. para [0127], “ In some implementations, a given application fingerprint may be represented as a vector that includes a plurality of values that represent the corresponding process attributes. Thus, the vector may be viewed as an embedding of the corresponding process attributes in a multi-dimensional vector space. …”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ji with the invention of Herzog because it provides techniques for uniquely representing a software application. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for uniquely representing a software application (Herzog, para [0123]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI and Herzog as applied to claim 2, in further view of LI et al. (CN 114327608 A -- hereinafter LI, refer to the attached NPL translation copy).
With respect to claim 3, Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI and Herzog discloses The apparatus of claim 2, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to represent the multi-dimensional vectors for the components in the software package as a matrix, wherein one of rows and columns of the matrix represent the components and the other of the rows and columns of the matrix represent attributes of the components. However, this is taught in analogous art, LI (e.g. p4, paragraph 7, “in S2, constructing the entity attribute matrix of the code module from the code data to be reconstructed comprises”, p4, paragraph 9, “in the formula, v (atti, entj) represents the value of the attribute i of the entity j; atti belongs to entj or atti, entj represents attribute i represents the method belonging to the entity j represents the class or the entity j represented by the class.” Wherein v(atti, entj) is a two dimensional matrix, one of rows and columns of the matrix represent entities which read on components, and the other of the rows and columns of the matrix represent attributes of the entities.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ji with the invention of LI because it provides techniques for reconstructing software code with improved security, readability and reusability. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for reconstructing software code with improved security, readability and reusability (LI, p3, paragraph 5).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog and LI as applied to claim 3, in further view of Salameh et al. (US 20230083161 A1 -- hereinafter Salameh).
With respect to claim 4, Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog and Li discloses The apparatus of claim 3, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to pre-process data in the matrix to convert categorical criteria into numeric features and normalize the numeric features. However, this is taught in analogous art, Salameh (e.g. para [0044], “… As described above, the portion of the input data to which the one or more machine learning models may be applied may include information extracted or derived from the input data, such as by converting frames of video data into a data structure that represents the video frame content as an array or matrix of numeric values (e.g., values derived from grey scale levels, luminance, etc.). Additionally, the video frame data may be subjected to other processing prior to generating the data structure, such as normalization, down-sampling, scaling, or other processes.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Salameh because it provides techniques for converting non-numeric matrix data into numeric matric data so it can be input into a computer and processed. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for converting non-numeric matrix data into numeric matrix data so it can be input into a computer and processed (Salameh, para [0026]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog and LI as applied to claim 3, in further view of Wang et al. (US 11327021 B1 -- hereinafter Wang)
With respect to claim 5 (Previously presented), Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog and Li discloses The apparatus of claim 3, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to represent a matrix for the first executable code version of the software package as a first point-cloud and a matrix of the second executable code version of the software package as a second point-cloud. However, this is taught in analogous art, Wang (e.g. col 10 line 64 to col 11 line 10, “… Point cloud plots are generated from the matrix components X, Y, Z, R, G, and B by using a point cloud function for point cloud generation.” Ji and Li teach a matrix representing the executable code versions, see office action regarding claim 3 above. The point cloud generation technique applies to the instant case, hence renders the claim feature obvious.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Wang because it provides techniques for point cloud generation from a matrix that facilitate matrix data analysis. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for point cloud generation from a matrix that facilitate matrix data analysis (Wang, col 10 line 64 to col 11 line 10).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI and Wang as applied to claim 5, in further view of Fleishman et al. (US 20180286120 A1 -- hereinafter Fleishman)
With respect to claim 6, Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, Li and Wang discloses The apparatus of claim 5, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to convert the first point-cloud into a first mesh and the second point-cloud into a second mesh. However, this is taught in analogous art, Fleishman (e.g. para [0030], “… For computer-implemented 3D rendering and modelling, a point-cloud is often converted to a polygon mesh or triangle mesh. The meshes are a collection of vertices, edges and faces which represent a surface of an object or of a collection of objects. Computer hardware and software have been optimized for such mesh models.” The mesh conversion technique applies to the instant case, hence renders the claim feature obvious.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Fleishman because it provides techniques for converting a point-cloud to a mesh which is optimal for analysis by computer hardware and software. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for converting a point-cloud to a mesh which is optimal for analysis by computer hardware and software (Fleishman, para [0030]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang and Fleishman as applied to claim 6, in further view of PUJADES et al. (US 20200058137 A1 -- hereinafter PUJADES)
With respect to claim 7, Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang and Fleishman discloses The apparatus of claim 6, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to compute distances between elements of the first point-cloud and the second mesh and distances between the second point-cloud and the first mesh. However, this is taught in analogous art, PUJADES (e.g. para [0196], “… The distance Es2m (cf. Eq. 21) of the scan to the model mesh was measured by computing the Euclidean distance of each scan point to the mesh surface. ....” The method for measuring the distance between scan point to the model mesh applies to the instant case, hence renders the claim feature obvious.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of PUJADES because it provides techniques for measuring distance from a point to a mesh which is applicable for calculating distance between two point-clouds. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for measuring distance from a point to a mesh which is applicable for calculating distance between two point-clouds (PUJADES, para [0196]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman and PUJADES as applied to claim 7, in further view of SHARMA et al. (WO 2024188414 A1 -- hereinafter SHARMA)
With respect to claim 8, Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman and PUJADES discloses The apparatus of claim 7, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the at least one processing platform is further configured to compute an overall objective distance score between the first point-cloud and the second point-cloud based on the computed distances. However, this is taught in analogous art, SHARMA (e.g. para [0039], “… For example, a respective similarity score and/or a respective dissimilarity score can be obtained by calculating the point-cloud distance D (Oi, O2) between the aligned down-sampled point cloud model 50 of the object 10 and each of the database point cloud models 40. ....” The method for measuring the distance between two point-clouds applies to the instant case, hence renders the claim feature obvious.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of SHARMA because it provides more advantageous techniques for comparing point cloud models. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing more advantageous techniques for comparing point cloud models (SHARMA, para [0053]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES and SHARMA as applied to claim 8, in further view of Schutt et al. (US 20230208880 A1 -- hereinafter Schutt)
With respect to claim 9 (Previously Presented), Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES and SHARMA discloses The apparatus of claim 8, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the overall objective distance score represents the corresponding difference between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package. However, this is taught in analogous art, Schutt (e.g. para [0029], “… In some embodiments, machine learning module 112 may be trained to identify graph edit distance thresholds that can be applied to an overall score to determine whether the difference between two software packages is substantial or not. ....” the difference between two software packages represents the corresponding difference between the executable code versions of the two software packages.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Schutt because it provides techniques for automatically analyzing software packages to apply security policies, to identify the degree of differences between compared software packages. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for automatically analyzing software packages to apply security policies, to identify the degree of differences between compared software packages (Schutt, para [0010]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES, SHARMA and Schutt as applied to claim 9, in further view of Huang et al. (US 20200301968 A1 -- hereinafter Huang)
With respect to claim 10 (Previously presented), Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES, SHARMA and Schutt discloses The apparatus of claim 9, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processing platform is further configured to generate a scoring data structure wherein the overall objective distance score computed between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package is stored in the scoring data structure. However, this is taught in analogous art, Huang (e.g. para [0097], “… The data processing system 102 can store the second classification score in the scores 132
data structure for further processing.” Huang’s teaching renders the claim feature obvious)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Huang because it provides techniques for storing intermediate result data for further processing. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for storing intermediate result data for further processing (Huang, para [0097]).
With respect to claim 11 (Previously presented), Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES, SHARMA, Schutt and Huang discloses The apparatus of claim 10, Huang further disclose wherein one or more other overall objective distance scores computed between other executable code versions of the software package are stored in the scoring data structure (e.g. para [0097], “… The data processing system 102 can store the second classification score in the scores 132 data structure for further processing.” Para [0053], “Scores 132 can refer to a classification score of the application. Scores 132 can include a first classification score, second classification score, third classification score or combined classification score for an application. …” Huang’s teaching renders the claim feature obvious. For motivation to combine, please refer to office action regarding claim 10 above.)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES, SHARMA, Schutt and Huang as applied to claim 11, in further view of Salameh et al. (US 20230083161 A1 -- hereinafter Salameh)
With respect to claim 12, Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES, SHARMA, Schutt and Huang discloses The apparatus of claim 11, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when generating the scoring data structure, the at least one processing platform is further configured to normalize the overall objective distance scores. However, this is taught in analogous art, Salameh (e.g. para [0044], “… As described above, the portion of the input data to which the one or more machine learning models may be applied may include information extracted or derived from the input data, such as by converting frames of video data into a data structure that represents the video frame content as an array or matrix of numeric values (e.g., values derived from grey scale levels, luminance, etc.). Additionally, the video frame data may be subjected to other processing prior to generating the data structure, such as normalization, down-sampling, scaling, or other processes.” Salameh’s teaching renders the claim feature obvious.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Salameh because it provides techniques for converting non-numeric matrix data into numeric matric data and normalizing the numeric data so it can be input into a computer and processed. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for converting non-numeric matrix data into numeric matrix data and normalizing the numeric data so it can be input into a computer and processed (Salameh, para [0026]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES, SHARMA, Schutt, Huang and Salameh as applied to claim 12, in further view of FARRE et al. (EP 4114028 A1 -- hereinafter FARRE, please refer to the attached FOR reference copy)
With respect to claim 13 (Previously presented), Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES, SHARMA, Schutt, Huang and Salameh discloses The apparatus of claim 12, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when generating the scoring data structure, the at least one processing platform is further configured to use a hyper-parameter threshold value to determine a criticality of an upgrade between executable code versions of the software package. However, this is taught in analogous art, FARRE (e.g. para [0077], “… For example a predetermined or dynamically determined threshold similarity criterion may
be an adjustable hyperparameter of trained content subsection boundary prediction ML model 460, used to predict the boundaries of content subsections. ....” FARRE’s teaching renders the claim feature obvious.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of FARRE because it provides techniques for tuning hyperparameters of content subsection boundary prediction ML model 160/260/460 so as to improve its predictive performance. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for tuning hyperparameters of an ML model so as to improve its predictive performance (FARRE, para [0080]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES, SHARMA, Schutt, Huang, Salameh and FARRE as applied to claim 13, in further view of Abuelsaad et al. (US 20150293762 A1 -- hereinafter Abuelsaad)
With respect to claim 14 (Previously presented), Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES, SHARMA, Schutt, Huang, Salameh and FARRE discloses The apparatus of claim 13, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when generating the scoring data structure, the at least one processing platform is further configured to categorize executable code version differences into color-coded bands to reflect the criticality of the upgrade between the executable code versions of the software package. However, this is taught in analogous art, Abuelsaad (e.g. para [0090], “… As an example, the recommendation may include presenting the set of program files with a color coding that is based on the probabilities.” Wherein the files read on version of the software package, probabilities read on criticality, the differences between program files are indicative of executable code versions of the program files. Abuelsaad’s teaching renders the claim feature obvious.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Abuelsaad because it provides techniques for identifying program files within one or more programs that will likely require update to implement a proposed programming task. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for identifying program files within one or more programs that will likely require update to implement a proposed programming task (Abuelsaad, para [0008, 0090]).
Claims 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI, Herzog, LI, Wang, Fleishman, PUJADES and SHARMA as applied to claims 15 and 18 respectively, in further view of Schutt et al. (US 20230208880 A1 -- hereinafter Schutt)
With respect to claim 16 (Previously Presented), Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI discloses The computer program product of claim 15, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, when performing the semantic comparison of at least a portion of the first data set with at least a portion of the second data set, the one or more software programs, when executed by the at least one processing device, further causes the at least one processing device to perform a distance score calculation process to compute the corresponding difference between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package. However, this is taught in analogous art, Schutt (e.g. para [0029], “… In some embodiments, machine learning module 112 may be trained to identify graph edit distance thresholds that can be applied to an overall score to determine whether the difference between two software packages is substantial or not. ....” the difference between two software packages represents the corresponding difference between the executable code versions of the two software packages.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Schutt because it provides techniques for automatically analyzing software packages to apply security policies, to identify the degree of differences between compared software packages. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for automatically analyzing software packages to apply security policies, to identify the degree of differences between compared software packages (Schutt, para [0010]).
With respect to claim 19 (Previously Presented), it recites same features as claim 16, and is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari in view of YAMAGUCHI and Schutt as applied to claims 16, and 19 respectively, in further view of Huang et al. (US 20200301968 A1 -- hereinafter Huang)
With respect to claim 17 (Previously presented), Tiwari as modified by YAMAGUCHI and Schutt discloses The apparatus of claim 16, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more software programs, when executed by the at least one processing device, further causes the at least one processing device to generate a scoring data structure, wherein a distance score computed between the first executable code version of the software package and the second executable code version of the software package is stored in the scoring data structure along with one or more other distance scores computed between other executable code versions of the software package. However, this is taught in analogous art, Huang (e.g. para [0097], “… The data processing system 102 can store
the second classification score in the scores 132 data structure for further processing.” Huang’s teaching renders the claim feature obvious)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the invention of Huang because it provides techniques for storing intermediate result data for further processing. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for storing intermediate result data for further processing (Huang, para [0097]).
With respect to claim 20 (Previously presented), it recites same features as claims 17, and is rejected for the same reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At p9 fifth paragraph of the Remarks, Applicant argued that “the claims do not recite an abstract idea of a mental process, and even if one were to assume for purposes of argument only that the claims did recite an abstract idea, the claims clearly integrate any such abstract idea into a practical application in the field of computer technology (e.g., binary software package execution), in a manner that provides an improvement in computer technology.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, because, as set forth in the office action above, the limitations “perform a semantic comparison …” and “generate a third data set …” of claim 1, are mental processes, as human can manually perform a semantic comparison of two data sets as defined in the claim, and can manually generate a third data set as defined in the claim. Note that the processes do not involve processing of executable code. The additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and do not constitute an inventive concept.
Applicant’s other arguments with respect to 101 and art rejections are moot upon new ground of rejections made in the office action above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZENGPU WEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2197