DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 06/09/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 04/22/2026. Claims 16, 24-25, 30 and 34 have been amended. Claims 17-21, 26, 31-32 and 35 have been cancelled. Claims 16, 22-25, 27-30 and 33-34 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Main argument:
First, Park is not prior art. Park was filed on May 14, 2021, which is after the priority date of this application (February 10, 2021). Park claims priority to Korean Application No. 10-2020- 0057975 filed May 14, 2020 ("ParkKoreanPriority"). However, not all cited sections from Park are in ParkKoreanPriority. For example, for rejecting claim 19, the Office Action cites Table 7 of Park. But Table 7 of Park is not in ParkKoreanPriority.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Applicant asserts that Park is not prior art because Table 7 of Park is not expressly reproduced in Korean Application No. 10-2020- 0057975 filed May 14, 2020 ("ParkKoreanPriority"). However, entitlement to the May 14, 2020 effective filing date relies more on whether ParkKoreanPriority’s application provides written-description support for the specific subject matter relied upon in the rejection. The Examiner has reviewed the translated ParkKoreanPriority and determined that the disclosures relied upon in the rejection, including what has been translated and provided previously and reproduced here, are expressly or inherently disclosed therein. Although Table 7 itself is not reproduced in ParkKoreanPriority, the table summarizes or organizes information that is already described in the specification. Accordingly, ParkKoreanPriority is entitled to the May 14, 2020 effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 102(d), and Park qualifies as prior art.
ParkKoreanPriority has been translated and the following cited sections dated 05/14/2020 are recited here regarding Claims 16, 25 and 30. A full machine translation of ParkKoreanPriority is also attached. Please find cited sections on pages 27, 30, 53-54 and 76-82:
Page 27, ¶1, shows “… terminal 1 can perform V2X or SL communication with terminal 2 according to the resource scheduling. For example, terminal 1 can transmit SCI (Sidelink Control Information) to terminal 2 via PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel), and then transmit data based on the SCI to terminal 2 via PSSCH (Physical Sidelink Shared Channel)” which is enough to support “A method, applied in a first communication device, the method comprising:receiving sidelink (SL) control information from a second communication device;”
Page 27, ¶2 shows “… the transmitting terminal may report SL HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) feedback received from the receiving terminal to the base station. In this case, the PUCCH resources and timing for reporting the SL HARQ feedback to the base station may be determined based on the indication in the PDCCH for the base station to allocate resources for SL transmission” which is enough to support “wherein the SL HARQ feedback resource is used for transmitting a HARQ feedback of the SL control information or SL data scheduled by using the SL control information;”
Page 54, ¶1 – “For example, a receiving terminal can determine the frequency domain and/or code domain of a PSFCH resource based on at least one of a slot index associated with PSCCH/PSSCH/PSFCH, a subchannel associated with PSCCH/PSSCH, and/or an identifier for distinguishing each receiving terminal in a group for HARQ feedback …”. Please also see Page 53.
Page 76, Sidelink DRX configurations (equivalent to Table 5 from US 2023/0164768 A1) shows “SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX (per HARQ process): the minimum duration before PSCCH (Sidelink Control Information) & PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is expected by the RX UE’s MAC entity”, which is enough to support “wherein the first timer indicates an expected minimum duration before resource configuration information or grant information for SL retransmission arrives”
Page 76, Sidelink DRX configurations (equivalent to Table 5 from US 2023/0164768 A1) shows “SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX (per HARQ process): the maximum duration until PSCCH (Sidelink Control Information) & PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is received, RX UE monitors PSCCH & PSSCH to receive SL HARQ retransmission transmitted by TX UE”, which is enough to support and the second timer indicates a maximum duration required for receiving the resource configuration information or the grant information for the SL retransmission.”
Page 80, ¶2 shows “… if the RX UE successfully decodes the PSCCH (Sidelink Control Information), it starts the Sidelink HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX timer … When the SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX timer expires, the RX UE transitions to active mode to receive the PSCCH and PSSCH for the SL HARQ retransmission packets transmitted by the TX UE, starts the SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX timer, and received the PSCCH and PSSCH transmitted by the TX UE …”. Please also see Fig. 12 and Pages 76-82, which is enough to support “starting a first timer based on an SL hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback resource, and starting or skipping starting a second timer based on the first timer”.
In conclusion, Fig. 12 and pages 27, 30, 53-54 and 76-82 show enough support in ParkKoreanPriority for the portions cited.
Second Argument:
In any event, even putting aside the priority deficiencies of Park, Park does not disclose skipping sending the HARQ feedback. Rather, the cited sections of Park at best relate to failing to send, instead of skipping sending, the HARQ feedback … This confirms that Park starts the asserted first timer due to failure to send the sidelink HARQ feedback information, not that the RX UE deliberately skips sending the HARQ feedback information.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the amendment(s) made on the independent claims, the Office no longer relies on Park for the claim limitation(s): “skipping sending a HARO feedback, wherein the HARO feedback is an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK)”, and instead introduces Miao (US 2021/0022115 A1). Miao, in ¶0004-¶0005, expressly teaches feedback options that include positive acknowledgment (ACK) or NACK feedback, that the receiving UE determines whether or not to send HARQ feedback and that the UE may skip HARQ feedback when configured criteria are not satisfied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2023/0164768 A1), Park hereinafter.
Re. Claim 25,
Park teaches a method applied in a second communication device, comprising: sending sidelink (SL) control information to a first communication device; (Fig. 10-14, 16 & ¶0009 - a method for a first device to perform sidelink communication may be provided. The method may include: receiving sidelink control information (SCI) from a second device … ¶0169 - In step S1410, a second device according to an embodiment may transmit SCI to a first device);
starting a first timer in a first time unit after an SL hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback resource; (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0009 - determining a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for transmitting sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information related to the data to the second device, based on an index of a slot and an index of a subchannel related to the PSSCH; starting a first timer related to the PSFCH resource … ¶0126 - in an embodiment, an SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX and/or an SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX may operate based on the contents of Table 7 below. Table 7 - For transmissions with HARQ feedback, the RX UE starts SL HARQ RTT timer in the symbol/ slot following the end of PSFCH transmission);
and starting or skipping starting a second timer based on the first timer, (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0100 - In step S1050, the first device according to an embodiment may start a second timer related to a sidelink HARQ retransmission packet for SCI or PSSCH based on that the first timer has expired);
wherein the first timer indicates an expected minimum duration before resource configuration information or grant information for SL retransmission arrives, (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0105 (Table 5) - ✓ SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX (per HARQ process): the minimum duration before PSCCH (Sidelink Control Information) & PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is expected by the RX UE's MAC entity);
and the second timer indicates a maximum duration required for receiving the resource configuration information or the grant information for the SL retransmission (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0105 (Table 5) - ✓ SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX (per HARQ process): the maximum duration until PSCCH (Sidelink Control Information) & PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is received. Please also see ¶0106).
Re. Claim 27, Park teaches Claim 25.
Park further teaches the method further comprises: stopping the second timer if the second timer is running (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0106 - When an SL HARQ retransmission transmitted by a TX UE is received while an SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX timer is running, an RX UE may stop the SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX timer).
Re. Claim 28, Park teaches Claim 25.
Park further teaches the starting or skipping starting the second timer based on the first timer comprises: when the first timer expires, starting the second timer (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0107 - … if SL dix-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX is expired, may transition to an active state and start an SL drx-Retransmission-Timer-RX timer).
Re. Claim 29, Park teaches Claim 25.
Park further teaches the starting or skipping starting the second timer based on the first timer comprises: when the first timer expires, based on that the second communication device successfully receives a HARQ feedback, the HARQ feedback comprises a feedback of the SL control information or SL data scheduled by using the SL control information, and the HARQ feedback is a negative acknowledgment (NACK), (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0112 - If an RX UE receives a PSCCH and PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission transmitted by a TX UE, but the decoding of the PSSCH fails again (PSCCH decoding succeeds, PSSCH decoding fails) and transmits a HARQ NACK to the TX UE, the RX UE may restart a Sidelink HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX timer and transition to sleep mode until the Sidelink HARQ-WIT-Timer-RX expires);
or based on that the second communication device fails to receive the HARQ feedback, (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0132 - For example, sidelink HARQ feedback information may not be transmitted to the TX UE through the PSFCH resource 1110 based on a first priority value related to the sidelink HARQ feedback information. In a more specific example, the sidelink HARQ feedback information may not be transmitted to the TX UE, based on the first priority value being greater than a second priority value related to an uplink transmission to a base station);
or based on that the second communication device sends the HARQ feedback to a third communication device and the HARQ feedback is the NACK, (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0121 - When an RX UE also has SL data (e.g., SL HARQ feedback) to be transmitted to the counterpart UE and UL data to be transmitted to a base station occurs at the same time, the RX UE may compare the SL data and the UL data with priority, and may transmit data having a higher priority first. If the priority of UL data is high in the priority comparison, there may be a problem in that an SI, HARQ feedback cannot be transmitted to a TX UE and UL data must be transmitted to a base station. ¶0122 - If PSCCH and PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission transmitted by a TX UE are received, but decoding of PSSCH fails again (decoding of PSCCH succeeds, decoding of PSSCH fails), and HARQ NACK is transmitted to the TX UE, an RX UE may restart an Sidelink HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX timer and transition to sleep mode until an Sidelink HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX timer expires…);
starting the second timer (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0100 - In step S1050, the first device according to an embodiment may start a second timer related to a sidelink HARQ retransmission packet for SCI or PSSCH based on that the first timer has expired. ¶0122 - When an Sidelink HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX timer expires, an RX UE may start an SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX timer by transitioning back to an active state to receive a PSCCH and PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission that a TX LIE retransmits. Please also see ¶0133).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 22-24, 30 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, and further in view of Miao (US 2021/0022115 A1).
Re. Claim 16, Park teaches a method, applied in a first communication device, the method comprising: receiving sidelink (SL) control information from a second communication device; (Fig. 10-14, 16 & ¶0009 - a method for a first device to perform sidelink communication may be provided. The method may include: receiving sidelink control information (SCI) from a second device …);
starting a first timer in a first time unit after an SL hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback resource, wherein the SL HARQ feedback resource is used for transmitting the HARQ feedback of the SL control information or SL data scheduled by using the SL control information; (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0009 - determining a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for transmitting sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information related to the data to the second device, based on an index of a slot and an index of a subchannel related to the PSSCH; starting a first timer related to the PSFCH resource … ¶0126 - in an embodiment, an SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX and/or an SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX may operate based on the contents of Table 7 below. Table 7 - For transmissions with HARQ feedback, the RX UE starts SL HARQ RTT timer in the symbol/ slot following the end of PSFCH transmission);
and starting or skipping starting a second timer based on the first timer, (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0100 - In step S1050, the first device according to an embodiment may start a second timer related to a sidelink HARQ retransmission packet for SCI or PSSCH based on that the first timer has expired);
wherein the first timer indicates an expected minimum duration before resource configuration information or grant information for SL retransmission arrives, (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0105 (Table 5) - ✓ SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX (per HARQ process): the minimum duration before PSCCH (Sidelink Control Information) & PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is expected by the RX UE's MAC entity);
and the second timer indicates a maximum duration required for receiving the resource configuration information or the grant information for the SL retransmission (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0105 (Table 5) - ✓ SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX (per HARQ process): the maximum duration until PSCCH (Sidelink Control Information) & PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is received. Please also see ¶0106).
Yet, Park does not explicitly teach skipping sending a HARO feedback, wherein the HARQ feedback is an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK):
However, in the analogous art, Miao explicitly teaches skipping sending a HARO feedback, wherein the HARQ feedback is an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK): (¶0004 - First, a negative acknowledgment (NACK) only feedback option is supported. Second, a positive acknowledgment (ACK) or NACK feedback option is supported. ¶0005 - This pre-configuration can allow the UE to skip HARQ feedback transmission when both criteria, including a distance criterion and an RSRP criterion, are not met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Miao to the teaching of Park. The motivation would be because the invention describes processes to enable location based sidelink (SL) feedback transmission, such as by user equipment (UE) (¶0004, Miao).
Re. Claim 22, Park and Miao teach Claim 16.
Park further teaches the starting or skipping starting the second timer based on the first timer comprises: when the first timer expires, and the first communication device successfully decodes or fails to decode the SL control information or the SL data scheduled by using the SL control information, starting the second timer (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0107 - For example, SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX may be defined as a minimum time required to monitor PSCCH and/or PSSCH for sidelink HARQ retransmission packet transmitted by a TX UE, when a MAC entity of an RX UE receives and successfully decodes the PSCCH (sidelink control information) transmitted by a TX UE, and fails to decode the received PSSCH (sidelink data) and transmits the HARQ NACK to the TX UE. That is, it may mean that a PSCCH and/or PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is not transmitted from a TX UE before an SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX expires. … if SL dix-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX is expired, may transition to an active state and start an SL drx-Retransmission-Timer-RX timer).
Re. Claim 23, Park and Miao teach Claim 16.
Park further teaches the starting or skipping starting the second timer based on the first timer comprises: when the first timer expires, starting the second timer (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0107 - … if SL dix-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX is expired, may transition to an active state and start an SL drx-Retransmission-Timer-RX timer).
Re. Claim 24, Park and Miao teach Claim 16.
Park further teaches based on prioritization (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0127 (Table 8) - For transmissions will HARQ feedback, the RX UE starts the SL HARQ RTT timer in the symbol/slot following the end of PSFCH transmission. Proposal 25 if the RX UE does not transmit PSFCH for a HARQ enabled transmission (e.g. due to UL/SL prioritization) the RX UE still starts the HARQ RTT timer in the symbol/slot following the end of PSFCH resource. Please also see ¶0121));
Yet, Park does not explicitly teach wherein the skipping sending the HARQ feedback comprises: skipping sending the HARQ feedback
However, in the analogous art, Miao explicitly teaches wherein the skipping sending the HARQ feedback comprises: skipping sending the HARQ feedback (¶0005 - This pre-configuration can allow the UE to skip HARQ feedback transmission when both criteria, including a distance criterion and an RSRP criterion, are not met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Miao to the teaching of Park. The motivation would be because the invention describes processes to enable location based sidelink (SL) feedback transmission, such as by user equipment (UE) (¶0004, Miao).
Re. Claim 30, Park teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations including: (Fig. 10-14, 16 & ¶0010 - The first device may comprise: one or more memories storing instructions; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, wherein the one or more processors may execute the instructions to… ¶0166 - a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions may be proposed. The instructions, when executed, may cause a first device to);
receiving sidelink (SL) control information from a second communication device; (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0009 - a method for a first device to perform sidelink communication may be provided. The method may include: receiving sidelink control information (SCI) from a second device …);
starting a first timer in a first time unit after an SL hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback resource} wherein the SL HARQ feedback resource is used for transmitting the HARQ feedback of the SL control information or SL data scheduled by using the SL control information: (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0009 - determining a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for transmitting sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information related to the data to the second device, based on an index of a slot and an index of a subchannel related to the PSSCH; starting a first timer related to the PSFCH resource …);
and starting or skipping starting a second timer based on the first timer, (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0100 - In step S1050, the first device according to an embodiment may start a second timer related to a sidelink HARQ retransmission packet for SCI or PSSCH based on that the first timer has expired);
wherein the first timer indicates an expected minimum duration before resource configuration information or grant information for SL retransmission arrives, (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0105 (Table 5) - ✓ SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX (per HARQ process): the minimum duration before PSCCH (Sidelink Control Information) & PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is expected by the RX UE's MAC entity);
and the second timer indicates a maximum duration required for receiving the resource configuration information or the grant information for the SL retransmission (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0105 (Table 5) - ✓ SL drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX (per HARQ process): the maximum duration until PSCCH (Sidelink Control Information) & PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is received. Please also see ¶0106).
Yet, Park does not explicitly teach skipping sending a HARO feedback, wherein the HARO feedback is an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK);
However, in the analogous art, Miao explicitly teaches skipping sending a HARO feedback, wherein the HARO feedback is an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK); (¶0004 - First, a negative acknowledgment (NACK) only feedback option is supported. Second, a positive acknowledgment (ACK) or NACK feedback option is supported. ¶0005 - This pre-configuration can allow the UE to skip HARQ feedback transmission when both criteria, including a distance criterion and an RSRP criterion, are not met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Miao to the teaching of Park. The motivation would be because the invention describes processes to enable location based sidelink (SL) feedback transmission, such as by user equipment (UE) (¶0004, Miao).
Re. Claim 33, Park and Miao teach Claim 30.
Park further teaches the starting or skipping starting the second timer based on the first timer comprises: when the first timer expires, and the SL control information or the SL data scheduled by using the SL control information is successfully decoded or fails to be decoded, starting the second timer; or when the first timer expires, starting the second timer (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0107 - For example, SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX may be defined as a minimum time required to monitor PSCCH and/or PSSCH for sidelink HARQ retransmission packet transmitted by a TX UE, when a MAC entity of an RX UE receives and successfully decodes the PSCCH (sidelink control information) transmitted by a TX UE, and fails to decode the received PSSCH (sidelink data) and transmits the HARQ NACK to the TX UE. That is, it may mean that a PSCCH and/or PSSCH for SL HARQ retransmission is not transmitted from a TX UE before an SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX expires. … if SL dix-HARQ-RTT-Timer-RX is expired, may transition to an active state and start an SL drx-Retransmission-Timer-RX timer).
Re. Claim 34, Park and Miao teach Claim 30.
Park further teaches based on prioritization (Fig. 10-14 & ¶0127 (Table 8) - For transmissions will HARQ feedback, the RX UE starts the SL HARQ RTT timer in the symbol/slot following the end of PSFCH transmission. Proposal 25 if the RX UE does not transmit PSFCH for a HARQ enabled transmission (e.g. due to UL/SL prioritization) the RX UE still starts the HARQ RTT timer in the symbol/slot following the end of PSFCH resource. Please also see ¶0121));
Yet, Park does not explicitly teach wherein the skipping sending the HARQ feedback comprises: skipping sending the HARQ feedback
However, in the analogous art, Miao explicitly teaches wherein the skipping sending the HARQ feedback comprises: skipping sending the HARQ feedback (¶0005 - This pre-configuration can allow the UE to skip HARQ feedback transmission when both criteria, including a distance criterion and an RSRP criterion, are not met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Miao to the teaching of Park. The motivation would be because the invention describes processes to enable location based sidelink (SL) feedback transmission, such as by user equipment (UE) (¶0004, Miao).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ji et al. (US 2024/0014978) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-5 and ¶0114-¶0115.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465