Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Specification The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 , 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagasawa (US 2018/0358626) . Regarding claims 1 , 8 and 10 , Nagasawa further discloses an electrolytic solution, an additive, a solvent comprising a compound represented by the following formula (1): Rf 1 —O—Rf 2 (1) wherein Rf 1 and Rf 2 are the same as or different from each other and are each a C2-C4 fluorinated alkenyl group (see paragraphs 102-104 which discloses the composition of the aqueous solution which includes perfluorodivinyl ether, or CF 2 =CF-O-CF=CF 2 ) . The italicized limitations above are directed toward an intended use of the claimed composition and does not further limit the claim. See MPEP §2111.02. It is noted that the presence of perfluorodivinyl ether (PEVE) is present in a solvent (such as water) which can function as an electrolyte, as described in paragraph 103 of Nagasawa. As such, without further clarification on what this “electrolyte solution” comprises , the disclosure of Nagasawa reads on this limitation. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 2-7, 9, 11 and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, Nagasawa, teaches the claimed composition. However, Nagasawa teaches the composition as a crosslinking reagent that will not be present, in its original form, after the copolymer is formed. The prior art neither teaches nor suggests such a reactive compound (crosslinking agent, such as the compound of formula (1) present in an electrolyte solution of a lithium battery, electrochemical dev ice or mixed with the claimed formula (2). Relevant Prior Art US 2005/0266291 – Also discloses the use of a perfluorodivinyl ether as a crosslinking monomer (see paragraph 66), but does not teach an electrolyte solution in a battery containing such a compound. US 2007/0072530 - Also discloses the use of a perfluorodivinyl ether as a crosslinking monomer (see paragraph 41), but does not teach an electrolyte solution in a battery containing such a compound. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MATTHEW J MERKLING whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9813 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Thursday 8am-6pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Basia Ridley can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1453 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725