Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagasawa (US 2018/0358626).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 10, Nagasawa further discloses an electrolytic solution, an additive, a solvent comprising a compound represented by the following formula (1):
Rf1—O—Rf2 (1)
wherein Rf1 and Rf2 are the same as or different from each other and are each a C2-C4 fluorinated alkenyl group (see paragraphs 102-104 which discloses the composition of the aqueous solution which includes perfluorodivinyl ether, or CF2=CF-O-CF=CF2).
The italicized limitations above are directed toward an intended use of the claimed composition and does not further limit the claim. See MPEP §2111.02.
It is noted that the presence of perfluorodivinyl ether (PEVE) is present in a solvent (such as water) which can function as an electrolyte, as described in paragraph 103 of Nagasawa. As such, without further clarification on what this “electrolyte solution” comprises, the disclosure of Nagasawa reads on this limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9, 11 and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, Nagasawa, teaches the claimed composition. However, Nagasawa teaches the composition as a crosslinking reagent that will not be present, in its original form, after the copolymer is formed. The prior art neither teaches nor suggests such a reactive compound (crosslinking agent, such as the compound of formula (1) present in an electrolyte solution of a lithium battery, electrochemical device or mixed with the claimed formula (2).
Relevant Prior Art
US 2005/0266291 – Also discloses the use of a perfluorodivinyl ether as a crosslinking monomer (see paragraph 66), but does not teach an electrolyte solution in a battery containing such a compound.
US 2007/0072530 - Also discloses the use of a perfluorodivinyl ether as a crosslinking monomer (see paragraph 41), but does not teach an electrolyte solution in a battery containing such a compound.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 6, Applicant argues that Nagasawa does not teach the claimed formula (1) because it is not a free compound in an electrolytic solution or a solvent as it is consumed in the polymerization reaction. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument. Applicant does not claim that the claimed formula is present as a “free compound”. Furthermore, the claim provides little structure or composition outside of the claimed formula. While Nagasawa does indeed teach a polymerization reaction, it also teaches producing a solution/solvent that includes perfluorodivinyl ether (which reads on the claimed formula (1)). In Nagasawa, paragraphs 102-103, it is taught that perfluorodivinyl ether (PEVE) is combined with Na2HPO4, water, perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) and ethyl acetate to produce a solution including a solvent. In this instance, the solvent is water and the Na2HPO4 is soluble in water. This produces a solution which also, as it turns out, contains PEVE and has a electrolytic component to it as a result of the salt NaH2PO4 being dissolved in the water. This is prepared before the polymerization reaction is activated. As such, Nagasawa does indeed teach a solution/solvent that comprises PEVE.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725