DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Statutory Category
Claims 1-20 are directed to a method and an apparatus, which falls within the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A: Prong 1: Judicial Exception
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an Abstract Idea, specifically, Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, and Mental Processes.
The claims recite the steps of:
determining or generating a relationship (mapping) between MAC address, location identifier and EVSE identifier
using that mapping to activate an EV charger
Claim 16 recites:
observing timing of EVSE in-user status
observing timing that vehicle became connected
generating the mapping
activating the charger.
These limitations are merely data manipulation. Mental process because a person could
maintain a table of MAC addresses (or any other personal identification) and locations and decide which charger to activate. Certain Method of organizing human activity because of resource allocation.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration into a Practical Application
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claims merely recite generating a relationship and activating an electric vehicle supply equipment device. The claims do not require an improvement of battery chemistry, charging protocol, power deliver, EVSE control algorithms, communications between a vehicle/user and EVSE charging station, or charging efficiency.
Claim 8 recites, “…activation allows charge to flow…” This limitation does not integrate the exception into a practical application because the claims is not controlling current, adjusting voltage, or performing a power conversion.
Step 2B, Prong 2: Additional elements
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements include:
cloud server
vehicle
EVSE
Charge management service
GPS
MAC address
HMI
These claims are recited at a high level of generality and perform their well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of storing, transmitting, receiving, processing and displaying information. These elements merely implement the Abstract idea using generic computer technology and do not provide an inventive concept sufficient to transform the judicial exception into patent eligible subject matter.
For these, reasons, Claims 1 – 20 are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thanayankizil (US 20240381079)
Regarding claim 1, Thanayankizil teaches a method for charging a traction battery, comprising: generating a relationship between a media access control address value and a public location identification value (paragraph [0034] discloses wherein a relationship is generated with a host vehicle with a Media Access Control address and a public location, a public accessible Electric Vehicle charging station (EVCS)); and
activating an electric vehicle supply equipment device via referencing the relationship according to the media access control address value (paragraph [0034] discloses wherein this information is used to automatically enable charging).
Figure 1 shows an Electric vehicle charging station
Regarding claim 2, Thanayankizil teaches method of claim 1, where the relationship is further based on an electric vehicle supply equipment identification value (paragraph [0034] discloses wherein the relationship is based on an electric vehicle supply equipment identification value, interpreted as an EVCS ID).
Regarding claim 3, Thanayankizil teaches method of claim 1, further comprising activating the electric vehicle supply equipment device via sending the location identification value and an electric vehicle supply equipment identification value to a charge management service (paragraph [0033] discloses wherein a real time location of vehicle and the electric vehicle charging station is sent to a management controller).
Regarding claim 4, Thanayankizil teaches method of claim 1, where the relationship is generated via a cloud server (paragraph [0030] discloses wherein cloud-based computing is used).
Regarding claim 5, Thanayankizil teaches the method of claim 1, where the media access control address value is associated with the electric vehicle supply equipment device (paragraph [0034] discloses wherein the Media Access Control address is associated with the Electric vehicle supply station, interpreted as an Electric vehicle charging station).
Regarding claim 6, Thanayankizil teaches the method of claim 1, where the location identification value is selected via a user and a software application (paragraphs [0031] and [0039] discloses wherein the location value is performed by a user and software application).
Regarding claim 7, Thanayankizil teaches the method of claim 1, where activating the electric vehicle supply equipment device includes sending a request from a cloud server to a charge management service that may selectively activate the electric vehicle supply equipment device (paragraph [0052] discloses wherein the user may request activating charging).
Regarding claim 8, Thanayankizil teaches method of claim 1, where activating the electric vehicle supply equipment device allows charge to flow from the electric vehicle supply equipment device to the traction battery (paragraph [0052] discloses wherein the EVCS provides charging to the vehicle battery).
Regarding claim 9, Thanayankizil teaches a system, comprising: a cloud server configured to communicate with a vehicle, an electric vehicle supply equipment, and an external charge management service, the cloud server including executable instructions that cause the cloud server to: generate a relationship between a media access control address, a location identification value, and an electric vehicle supply equipment identification value (paragraph [0034] discloses wherein a relationship is generated with a host vehicle with a Media Access Control address and a public location, a public accessible Electric Vehicle charging station (EVCS)); and
request activation of electric vehicle supply equipment according to the relationship between the media access control address, the location identification value, and the electric vehicle supply equipment identification value (paragraph [0034] discloses wherein this information is used to automatically enable charging).
Regarding claim 10, Thanayankizil teaches the system of claim 9, where the location identification value identifies a unique geographical location of electric vehicle supply equipment (paragraph [0033] discloses wherein a real time location of vehicle and the electric vehicle charging station is sent to a management controller).
Regarding claim 11 Thanayankizil teaches the system of claim 10, where the electric vehicle supply equipment identification value identifies an individual electric vehicle supply equipment device at the unique geographical location (paragraph [0033] discloses wherein a real time location of vehicle and the electric vehicle charging station is sent to a management controller).
Regarding claim 12, Thanayankizil teaches the system of claim 9, further comprising an in-vehicle human/machine interface and additional executable instructions to supply data to the in-vehicle human/machine interface so that the location identification value and the electric vehicle supply equipment identification value may be determined according to a user selection (paragraph [0030] discloses a human machine interface to supply data. Disclosed as a user-input device and a vehicle-output device, telematics unit 42 may be equipped with an electronic video display device and assorted input controls 46 (e.g., buttons, knobs, switches, trackpads, keyboards, touchscreens, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Thanayankizil teaches the system of claim 9, further comprising additional executable instructions that cause the cloud server to update the relationship in response to the media access control address not being associated with location identification value (paragraph [0030] discloses wherein cloud-based computing is used).
Regarding claim 14, Thanayankizil teaches the system of claim 13, where the relationship is updated in response to an indication that charge is being supplied to the vehicle (paragraph [0034] discloses wherein the relationship is automated or updated in response to the charge being supplied to the vehicle).
Regarding claim 15, Thanayankizil teaches the system of claim 9, where activation is requested via sending a message from the cloud server to a charge management service (paragraph [0030] discloses wherein cloud-based computing is used).
Regarding claim 16, Thanayankizil teaches a method for charging a traction battery, comprising: generating a request to activate electric vehicle supply equipment so as to deliver electric charge to a vehicle in response to a mapping of an electric vehicle supply equipment media access control address value (paragraph [0034] discloses wherein a relationship is generated with a host vehicle with a Media Access Control address and a public location, a public accessible Electric Vehicle charging station (EVCS)) to a location identification value based on timing of electric vehicle supply equipment in-use status and timing of an alert that the vehicle is electrically coupled to an electric vehicle supply equipment device (paragraph [0034] discloses wherein this information is used to automatically enable charging).
Regarding claim 17, Thanayankizil teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising communicating the electric vehicle supply equipment media access control address value from the vehicle to a cloud server (paragraph [0030] discloses wherein cloud-based computing is used).
Regarding claim 18, Thanayankizil teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising communicating the in-use status from the electric vehicle supply equipment device to the cloud server (paragraph [0030] discloses wherein cloud-based computing is used).
Regarding claim 19, Thanayankizil teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising generating the location identification value from GPS coordinates of the vehicle (paragraph [0031] discloses wherein the location is generated from a GPS value).
Regarding claim 20, Thanayankizil teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising communicating the electric vehicle supply equipment in-use status from the electric vehicle supply equipment device to the cloud server (paragraph [0030] discloses wherein cloud-based computing is used).
Conclusion
The Prior Art Made Of Record And Not Relied Upon Is Considered Pertinent To Applicant's Disclosure.
Us 20230128979 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Kinsey; Jeffrey Et Al.
Us 20240083453 A1 Coordinated Scheduling EVstations Caveney; Derek S.
Us 20230382259 A1 Wireless Network Connections EV Chargers Allamsetty; Chakravarthy K.
Us 20230069189 A1 Vehicle Control Method Li; Zhanliang Et Al.
Us 20220379765 A1 Allocation Of Charging Rates Meyer; Ramsey Et Al.
Us 20230264582 A1 User Negotiation Charging Station Maeda; Eri Izumi Et Al.
Us 20220144120 A1 Techniques For Configuring EVSE Feldman; Daniel Et Al.
Us 20220270000 A1 Vehicle And Method Of Controlling The Same Kim; Hyeonjun
Us 20230382245 A1 Active Pairing Method Seong; Jae Yong Et Al.
Us 20220116231 A1 Chain Of Authentication Choi; Unho
Us 20210004848 A1 Management System Nakajima; Yoshihiro Et Al.
Us 20210044452 A1 Network Arrangement Reber; Volker Et Al.
Us 20160176307 A1 Dynamically Providing Information About Charging Stations Becker; Gernot
Us 20170043674 A1 Automatically Selecting Charging Routine Deboer, Iii; John R.
Us 9139091 B1 Assigning Advisor Accounts Penilla; Angel A. Et Al.
Us 20140062401 A1 Power Control Apparatus Gadh; Rajit Et Al.
Us 20130043306 A1 Accessing Charging Capabilities Acosta-Cazaubon; Jesus Et Al.
Us 20110178701 A1 In Route Navigation Gupta; Rajarshi Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859