DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 and 29-30 have been cancelled.
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 04/01/2026. Claims 11-28 and 31 through 42 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Park does not teach "perform, based at least in part on the one or more second frequency resources at least partially overlapping the one or more first frequency resources in the frequency domain, an adjustment procedure for the one or more first frequency resources to obtain one or more third frequency resources for communication of the first signal”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Park teaches For existing PDSCH frequency-domain resource allocation, if the scheduled RBs for the PDSCH belong and/or are
overlap with the muted DL RBs, the overlapped RB(s) may be considered as rate matched (adjustment procedure) or the WTRU may not expect the overlapping-RB overlapping is the same as frequency resource overlapping. For further reduced RB indication (frequency adjustment) the WTRU may determine the muted (adjusting) DL RBs (frequency resources) by intersecting first RBs matched to (frequency resources adjusted to) the muted (adjusted) BWP (subband) (e.g., corresponding to the value of the BI field) and second RBs corresponding to the frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) field value (at least paragraph 45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-28 and 31-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2024/0372661 A1).
For claim 11 Park teaches a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1B “WTRU (UE) 102”), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fig. 1B “memory 130 and memory 132”); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, from a network entity, a first control message indicating one or more first frequency resources associated with a first signal having a first communication direction between the UE and the network entity, the one or more first frequency resources allocated within a sub-band full duplex slot (paragraph 105 “Flexible (e.g., subband-wise) slot format indications may be provided. In examples, the WTRU may receive, for one or more subband(s), an indication of the set of frequency resources corresponding to the subband…the WTRU may receive an indication for each subband applicable to one or more (e.g., all) time slots or time symbols”, paragraph 136 “FIG. 6 illustrates examples of SBFD operations based on Mixed UL/DL types”, and paragraph 137 “ the WTRU may receive the indication selecting a first frequency region is set as ‘UL’ (SB), a second frequency region (e.g., adjacent to the first frequency region) is set as ‘DL’ (SB), and a third frequency region (e.g., adjacent to the second frequency region) is set as ‘DL’ (SB)”);
receive, from the network entity, a second control message indicating one or more second frequency resources associated with a second signal having a second communication direction between the UE and the network entity that is different from the first communication direction, wherein the one or more second frequency resources are allocated within the sub-band full duplex slot and at least partially overlap the one or more first frequency resources in a frequency domain (paragraph 105 “Flexible (e.g., subband-wise) slot format indications may be provided. In examples, the WTRU may receive, for one or more subband(s), an indication of the set of frequency resources corresponding to the subband…the WTRU may receive an indication for each subband applicable to one or more (e.g., all) time slots or time symbols”, paragraph 136 “FIG. 6 illustrates examples of SBFD operations based on Mixed UL/DL types”, paragraph 137 “ the WTRU may receive the indication selecting a first frequency region is set as ‘UL’ (SB), a second frequency region (e.g., adjacent to the first frequency region) is set as ‘DL’ (SB), and a third frequency region (e.g., adjacent to the second frequency region) is set as ‘DL’ (SB)”, and paragraph 145 “overlapped frequency-domain resources”);
perform, based at least in part on the one or more second frequency resources at least partially overlapping the one or more first frequency resources in the frequency domain, an adjustment procedure for the one or more first frequency resources to obtain one or more third frequency resources for communication of the first signal (paragraph 145 and Fig. 6 “applying rate match (adjustment procedure) to de-overlap overlapped frequency resources”-design configuration); and
communicate, in accordance with the adjustment procedure, the first signal via the one or more third frequency resources, the second signal via the one or more second frequency resources, or both, during the sub-band full duplex slot (paragraph 145 and Fig. 6 “applying rate match (adjustment procedure) to d-overlap overlapped frequency resources”-design configuration).
For claim 12 Park teaches the UE, wherein:
the one or more first frequency resources and the one or more third frequency resources are allocated within a first sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the first communication direction (Fig. 6 “illustrates various types frequency resources within SBFD”); and
the one or more second frequency resources are allocated at least partially within the first sub-band or at least partially within a guard band between the first sub-band and a second sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the second communication direction (Fig. 6 “illustrates various types frequency resources within SBFD”).
For claim 13 Park teaches the UE of claim 12, wherein, to perform the adjustment procedure, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select the one or more third frequency resources from the one or more first frequency resources, wherein a resource separation between the one or more third frequency resources and the one or more second frequency resources in the frequency domain satisfies a threshold quantity of resource blocks corresponding to a size of the guard band (Fig. 6 “frequency resource allocation examples” and paragraph 180 “in examples, the cancelling/skipping condition may be based on determining a ratio R1 of a first number of RB(s) for the UL resource being fully overlapped with the first set of RBs to a second number of RB(s) for the UL resource being not overlapped with the first set of RBs If the ratio R1 is less than a threshold (e.g., RUL), R1 transmission of the UL resource may be cancelled/skipped on the symbol (e.g., and other associated symbol(s) for the UL resource)” and paragraph 83 “guard band”).
For claim 14 Park teaches the UE of claim 13, wherein, to select the one or more third frequency resources, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select the one or more third frequency resources from a portion of the one or more first frequency resources that does not overlap the one or more second frequency resources (Fig. 6 “frequency resource allocation examples”-design configuration options).
For claim 15 Park teaches the UE of claim 13, wherein, to communicate the first signal, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
apply rate matching to the one or more third frequency resources based at least in part on selecting the one or more third frequency resources (paragraph 196-197 “applying the muting (e.g., or rate matching or RB(s)-level frequency resource skipping, or RB (s)-level puncturing, etc.)”); and
communicate the first signal in accordance with a data rate that is based at least in part on applying the rate matching (as discussed in claim 11 and design configuration options).
For claim 16 Park teaches the UE of claim 12, wherein, to perform the adjustment procedure, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
shift, within the first sub-band, the one or more first frequency resources to obtain the one or more third frequency resources, wherein the one or more first frequency resources and the one or more third frequency resources comprise a same quantity of resource blocks (Fig. 6 “frequency resource allocation examples”-design configuration options).
For claim 17 Park teaches the UE, wherein:
the one or more second frequency resources are allocated within a first sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the second communication direction (Fig. 6 “frequency resource allocation examples”-design configuration options); and
the one or more first frequency resources are allocated at least partially within the first sub-band, wherein performing the adjustment procedure is based at least in part on the one or more first frequency resources being allocated at least partially within the first sub-band (Fig. 6 “frequency resource allocation examples”-design configuration options- and as discussed in claim 11).
For claim 18 Park teaches the UE, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select a type of the adjustment procedure from a plurality of types of adjustment procedures in accordance with one or more rules that are based at least in part on the one or more second frequency resources at least partially overlapping the one or more first frequency resources in the frequency domain (paragraph 196-197 “applying the muting (e.g., or rate matching or RB(s)-level frequency resource skipping, or RB (s)-level puncturing, etc.)” and as discussed in claim 11).
For claim 19 Park teaches the UE, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a third control message indicating a type of the adjustment procedure, wherein the adjustment procedure is performed in accordance with the type (paragraph 196-197 “applying the muting (e.g., or rate matching or RB(s)-level frequency resource skipping, or RB (s)-level puncturing, etc.)” and as discussed in claim 11).
For claim 20 Park teaches the UE, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a third control message that dynamically schedules the first signal or activates the first signal for semi-persistent scheduling, wherein the third control message is specific to the UE, associated with a group of UEs comprising the UE, or broadcast to each UE of a cell comprising the UE (paragraph 106 “subband-specific slot format indication may be provided. In examples, a WTRU may receive an indication of a slot format for a plurality of subbands (e.g., each of a plurality of subbands”, paragraph 5 “WTRU may be configured by higher layers or ( e.g., dynamically) scheduled to transmit a UL signal”, and paragraph 110 “Subband-specific UL-DL configuration information may be provided. The WTRU may receive UL-DL configuration information from higher layers for at least one subband (e.g. , each of at least one subband)”).
For claim 21 Park teaches the UE, wherein:
the first signal is dynamically scheduled and the second signal is periodically scheduled or semi-persistently scheduled (paragraph 5 “dynamic scheduling” and paragraph 82 “a WTRU may be configured with various types of periodic/semi persistent”);
the first signal is periodically scheduled or semi-persistently scheduled and the second signal is dynamically scheduled (paragraph 5 “dynamic scheduling” and paragraph 82 “a WTRU may be configured with various types of periodic/semi persistent”); or
the first signal is periodically scheduled (paragraph 5 “dynamic scheduling” and paragraph 82 “a WTRU may be configured with various types of periodic/semi persistent”) or
semi-persistently scheduled and the second signal is periodically scheduled or semi-persistently scheduled (paragraph 5 “dynamic scheduling” and paragraph 82 “a WTRU may be configured with various types of periodic/semi persistent”).
For claim 22 Park teaches a network entity (pargraph 25 “Base station”), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (as discussed in claim 11); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (as discussed in claim 11) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first control message indicating one or more first frequency resources associated with a first signal having a first communication direction between the network entity and the UE, the one or more first frequency resources allocated within a sub-band full duplex slot (as discussed in claim 11);
transmit, to the UE, a second control message indicating one or more second frequency resources associated with a second signal having a second communication direction between the network entity and the UE that is different from the first communication direction, wherein the one or more second frequency resources are allocated within the sub-band full duplex slot and at least partially overlap the one or more first frequency resources in a frequency domain (as discussed in claim 11); and
communicate, with the UE, the first signal via one or more third frequency resources, the second signal via the one or more second frequency resources, or both, during the sub-band full duplex slot, wherein the one or more third frequency resources be based at least in part on an adjustment procedure for the one or more first frequency resources, and wherein the adjustment procedure is based at least in part on the one or more second frequency resources at least partially overlapping the one or more first frequency resources in the frequency domain (as discussed in claim 11).
For claim 23 Park teaches the network entity, wherein:
the one or more first frequency resources and the one or more third frequency resources are allocated within a first sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the first communication direction (as discussed in claim 12); and
the one or more second frequency resources are allocated at least partially within the first sub-band or at least partially within a guard band between the first sub-band and a second sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the second communication direction (as discussed in claim 12).
For claim 24 Park teaches the network entity of claim 23, wherein the one or more third frequency resources are selected from the one or more first frequency resources, wherein a resource separation between the one or more third frequency resources and the one or more second frequency resources in the frequency domain satisfies a threshold quantity of resource blocks corresponding to a size of the guard band (as discussed in claim 13).
For claim 25 Park teaches the network entity of claim 23, wherein the one or more first frequency resources are shifted within the first sub-band to obtain the one or more third frequency resources, wherein the one or more first frequency resources and the one or more third frequency resources comprise a same quantity of resource blocks (as discussed in claim 16).
For claim 26 Park teaches the network entity, wherein:
the one or more second frequency resources are allocated within a first sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the second communication direction (as discussed in claim 17); and
the one or more first frequency resources are allocated at least partially within the first sub-band (as discussed in claim 17).
For claim 27 Park teaches the network entity, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
transmit, to the UE, a third control message indicating a type of adjustment procedure for the one or more first frequency resources, wherein communicating the first signal via the one or more third frequency resources is based at least in part on transmitting the third control message (as discussed in claim 19).
For claim 28 Park teaches the network entity, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
transmit a third control message that dynamically schedules the first signal or activates the first signal for semi-persistent scheduling, wherein the third control message is specific to the UE, associated with a group of UEs comprising the UE, or broadcast to each UE of a cell comprising the UE (as discussed in claim 20).
For claim 31 Park teaches a method by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a first control message indicating one or more first frequency resources associated with a first signal having a first communication direction between the UE and the network entity, the one or more first frequency resources allocated within a sub-band full duplex slot (as discussed in claim 11);
receiving, from the network entity, a second control message indicating one or more second frequency resources associated with a second signal having a second communication direction between the UE and the network entity that is different from the first communication direction, wherein the one or more second frequency resources are allocated within the sub-band full duplex slot and at least partially overlap the one or more first frequency resources in a frequency domain (as discussed in claim 11);
performing, based at least in part on the one or more second frequency resources at least partially overlapping the one or more first frequency resources in the frequency domain, an adjustment procedure for the one or more first frequency resources to obtain one or more third frequency resources for communication of the first signal (as discussed in claim 11); and
communicating, in accordance with the adjustment procedure, the first signal via the one or more third frequency resources, the second signal via the one or more second frequency resources, or both, during the sub-band full duplex slot (as discussed in claim 11).
For claim 32 Park teaches the method, wherein:
the one or more first frequency resources and the one or more third frequency resources are allocated within a first sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the first communication direction (as discussed in claim 12); and
the one or more second frequency resources are allocated at least partially within the first sub-band or at least partially within a guard band between the first sub-band and a second sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the second communication direction (as discussed in claim 12).
For claim 33 Park teaches the method of claim 32, further comprising:
selecting the one or more third frequency resources from the one or more first frequency resources, wherein a resource separation between the one or more third frequency resources and the one or more second frequency resources in the frequency domain satisfies a threshold quantity of resource blocks corresponding to a size of the guard band (as discussed in claim 13).
For claim 34 Park teaches the method of claim 33, further comprising:
selecting the one or more third frequency resources from a portion of the one or more first frequency resources that does not overlap the one or more second frequency resources (as discussed in claim 14).
For claim 35 Park teaches the method of claim 33, further comprising: applying rate matching to the one or more third frequency resources based at least in part on selecting the one or more third frequency resources; and communicating the first signal in accordance with a data rate that is based at least in part on applying the rate matching (as discussed in claim 15).
For claim 36 Park teaches the method of claim 32, further comprising:
shifting, within the first sub-band, the one or more first frequency resources to obtain the one or more third frequency resources, wherein the one or more first frequency resources and the one or more third frequency resources comprise a same quantity of resource blocks (as discussed in claim 16).
For claim 37 Park teaches a method by a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a first control message indicating one or more first frequency resources associated with a first signal having a first communication direction between the network entity and the UE, the one or more first frequency resources allocated within a sub-band full duplex slot (as discussed in claim 11);
transmitting, to the UE, a second control message indicating one or more second frequency resources associated with a second signal having a second communication direction between the network entity and the UE that is different from the first communication direction, wherein the one or more second frequency resources are allocated within the sub-band full duplex slot and at least partially overlap the one or more first frequency resources in a frequency domain (as discussed in claim 11); and
communicating, with the UE, the first signal via one or more third frequency resources, the second signal via the one or more second frequency resources, or both, during the sub-band full duplex slot, wherein the one or more third frequency resources be based at least in part on an adjustment procedure for the one or more first frequency resources (as discussed in claim 11), and
wherein the adjustment procedure is based at least in part on the one or more second frequency resources at least partially overlapping the one or more first frequency resources in the frequency domain (as discussed in claim 11).
For claim 38 Park teaches the method, wherein:
the one or more first frequency resources and the one or more third frequency resources are allocated within a first sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the first communication direction (as discussed in claim 12); and
the one or more second frequency resources are allocated at least partially within the first sub-band or at least partially within a guard band between the first sub-band and a second sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the second communication direction (as discussed in claim 12).
For claim 39 Park teaches the method of claim 38, wherein the one or more third frequency resources are selected from the one or more first frequency resources, wherein a resource separation between the one or more third frequency resources and the one or more second frequency resources in the frequency domain satisfies a threshold quantity of resource blocks corresponding to a size of the guard band (as discussed in claim 13).
For claim 40 Park teaches the method of claim 38, wherein the one or more first frequency resources are shifted within the first sub-band to obtain the one or more third frequency resources, wherein the one or more first frequency resources and the one or more third frequency resources comprise a same quantity of resource blocks (as discussed in claim 16).
For claim 41 Park teaches the method of claim 37, wherein:
the one or more second frequency resources are allocated within a first sub-band of the sub-band full duplex slot configured for the second communication direction (as discussed in claim 17); and
the one or more first frequency resources are allocated at least partially within the first sub-band (as discussed in claim 17).
For claim 42 Park teaches the method of claim 37, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a third control message indicating a type of adjustment procedure for the one or more first frequency resources, wherein communicating the first signal via the one or more third frequency resources is based at least in part on transmitting the third control message (as discussed in claim 19).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Awadin et al. (US 2024/0015546 A1).
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415