&&&Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 12-17, & 21-23 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-10, 12-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Strang, U.S. 2020/0325703 (see IDS) in view of Shute et al., U.S. 2008/0266111 and Thompson, U.S. 2004/0051597.
On claim 1, Strang cites except as underlined:
A container bolt seal, comprising:
a rod portion having a first end
[0050-51] and figures 1A and 5A, shank 124, which is the same as the claimed “shank,” while the claimed “first end” is the same as the cited “head 122.”
and a second end;
As above, locking tip portion 125, which is the same as the claimed “second end.”
a head located at the first end of the rod portion, wherein at least one outer cross-sectional dimension of the head is greater than a largest outer cross-sectional dimension of the rod portion;
As above, head 122 with housing 126, wherein the combination of both elements is larger in diameter than shank 124.
a locking member, wherein at least one outer cross-sectional dimension of the locking member is greater than the largest outer cross-sectional dimension of the rod portion;
Figure 1A, locking body 110, which fits over tip portion 125
an energy distribution element disposed in the head;
Figure 1A and [0065] Power supply 140 forms part of the electronic module 170 which is provided within the housing 126 of the bolt 120 for bolt seal assembly 100. One or more batteries form a part of the power supply 140 which powers the various devices of the electronic module 170, particularly the small satellite trans-receiver 134, the cellular modem 132 and the GPS antenna module 135.
wherein the locking member is configured for placement on the second end of the rod portion, and
See above and figure 5A
wherein the locking member becomes non-removably attached to the rod portion after placement on the second end of the rod portion; and
[0050] Referring to FIG. 1A, the bolt member 120 comprises a head 122 with the shank 124 extending therefrom with an engagement structure adapted for being locked into permanent engagement with the locking body 110 when the shank 124 is axially displaced along the length of the cavity 115 during the process of insertion of the shank 124 into the cavity 115.
a wireless transceiver;
Figure 1A and [0065] Power supply 140 forms part of the electronic module 170 which is provided within the housing 126 of the bolt 120 for bolt seal assembly 100. One or more batteries form a part of the power supply 140 which powers the various devices of the electronic module 170, particularly the small satellite trans-receiver 134, the cellular modem 132 and the GPS antenna module 135.
an electronic processor, wherein the electronic processor facilitates wireless communications via the wireless transceiver,
figure 9 and [0053] discloses In the preferred embodiment, the small satellite module 134 may be provided in the form of a MYRIOTA satellite module which comprises a software defined radio coupled to the microprocessor 138. The sensors 136 may be capable of sensing any tampering and the microprocessor 138 may be programmed to activate the small satellite module 134 when the sensors 136 detect movements that satisfies any pre-defined criteria. Once the small satellite module 134 is activated, the module 134 is able to communicate with low Earth orbit satellites that typically orbit the earth at an altitude of 600 kms and 800 kms every 90 minutes and can receive data packets from the bolt assembly 100 in regular intervals. It is understood that each low earth satellite visits every part of the globe at least four times a day with typical revisit times ranging between one and three hours.
And
[0063] Advantageously, some embodiments of the bolt assembly 100 described herein may provide the ability to monitor the status of the seal of the bolt assembly in real time, either through a satellite receiver or a cellular modem.
wherein the wireless communications comprise a first message transmitted by the container bolt seal indicative of a first time of a bolt-sealing event and a first location of the bolt-sealing event
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
(the cited “bolt being in the locked position” is considered the same as “bolt-sealing).
and
atransmitted by the container bolt seal indicative of a second time of a status event and a second location of the status event,
wherein the bolt-sealing event is when the locking member becomes non-removably attached to the rod portion after placement on the second end of the rod portion,
and wherein the status event is subsequent to the bolt-sealing event.
See [0052] regarding the detection of a tampering event after the cited locking of the bolt has been carried out.
and a third message receive by the container bolt seal including information for controlling the container bolt seal;
and a circuit that is configured to become closed upon the locking member becoming attached to the second end of the rod portion, wherein the circuit, when closed, is routed from the energy distribution element to the locking member and triggers transmission of the first message.
Regarding the excepted: wherein the wireless communications comprise a first message transmitted by the container bolt seal indicative of a first time of a bolt-sealing event and a first location of the bolt-sealing event,
and
at least one second message transmitted by the container bolt seal indicative of a second time of a status event and a second location of the status event,
Strang, [0052], discloses
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
[0063] Advantageously, some embodiments of the bolt assembly 100 described herein may provide the ability to monitor the status of the seal of the bolt assembly in real time, either through a satellite receiver or a cellular modem.
Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted underlined claim limitations. However, Strang disclosed a prior practice wherein:
[0004] Cargo containers are shipped via land, sea and air transportation and are subject to tampering and vandalism. It is important that such tampering be immediately noted to preclude theft of valuable cargo. To assist in such theft and tampering prevention, prior art seals are assigned serial numbers. These seals are then assigned and locked to the assigned container. The serial number, container number, the carrier, and the location of the cargo are recorded manually or entered into a local computer. The entry then is manually made to show that the container is being shipped out of that location. Should a seal be tampered with, this most likely will occur at a different time and different location.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the prior practice disclosed in [0004] using the features disclosed in [0052 and 63] such that the claimed invention is realized.
As disclosed in [0004], the prior practice involved manually sealing of an assigned container with the cited seal and recording the event. Subsequent manual inspections would reveal any tampering, likely recorded at the cited “different time and different location.” One of ordinary skill would have used the structure disclosed in Strang, [0052] to automatically record the initial bolt sealing event’s location and time using the cited accelerometers and GNSS module. One of ordinary skill, apprised of the known features discussed in Strang, would have used is automated features to realize an embodiment meeting the claimed invention.
Regarding the excepted:
“second message transmitted by the container bolt seal indicative of a second time of a status event and a second location of the status event,” Strang discloses:
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
And
figure 9 and [0053] discloses In the preferred embodiment, the small satellite module 134 may be provided in the form of a MYRIOTA satellite module which comprises a software defined radio coupled to the microprocessor 138. The sensors 136 may be capable of sensing any tampering and the microprocessor 138 may be programmed to activate the small satellite module 134 when the sensors 136 detect movements that satisfies any pre-defined criteria. Once the small satellite module 134 is activated, the module 134 is able to communicate with low Earth orbit satellites that typically orbit the earth at an altitude of 600 kms and 800 kms every 90 minutes and can receive data packets from the bolt assembly 100 in regular intervals. It is understood that each low earth satellite visits every part of the globe at least four times a day with typical revisit times ranging between one and three hours.
And
[0054] As previously described, the electronic module 170 also includes a cellular modem 132 which may function in combination with the small satellite module 134 and the antenna module 135. Each of the small satellite module 134, the cellular modem 132 and the antenna module are coupled to the microprocessor 138 for receiving and processing positioning signals (to indicate the location of the bolt seal assembly using the antenna module 135) and transmitting such signals to a remotely located communication centre.
Strang doesn’t specifically disclose these excepted features. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, based on the operation of Strang, for one of ordinary skill to derive actions which functionally meet the claimed invention.
As disclosed in Strang, above, satellite module 134 is used to communicate the location and status of the bolt seal assembly. Furthermore, Strang disclosed module 134 is able to communicate with low Earth orbit satellites that typically orbit the earth at an altitude of 600 kms and 800 kms every 90 minutes and can receive data packets from the bolt assembly 100 in regular interval. The data includes any tampering of the bolt.
While Strang doesn’t specifically disclose the bolt embodiment meeting the claimed “second message transmitted by the container bolt seal indicative of a second time of a status event and a second location of the status event,” Strang’s embodiment is disclosing the bolt assembly, in concert with the cited modem 134, communicating the status of the bolt’s integrity along with a 90 minute interval. Thus, one of ordinary skill, apprise with these known elements, would have provided an embodiment meeting the claimed “second message” based on the known operation of Strang’s cited bolt embodiment.
Regarding the excepted:
“a circuit that is configured to become closed upon the locking member becoming attached to the second end of the rod portion, wherein the circuit, when closed, is routed from the energy distribution element to the locking member and triggers transmission of the first message,”
Strang discloses:
[0051] In the present embodiment, the actuation switch 171 is arranged to so that when a magnetic field is brought into close proximity with the actuation switch 171, the reeds break from each other to break an electrical contact and keep the electronic module 170 in a deactivated state. The magnetic field in this embodiment is provided by a magnetic member 113 that is located within the housing of the locking body 110. The magnetic member 117 is located in a cavity of the locking body housing 111 such that in the initial attached configuration, the magnetic member 117 is located adjacent a side wall portion 111A of the locking body housing 111 that is frangibly attached to a portion 126A of the electronic housing 126 that lies adjacent to the magnetic actuation switch 171. Once the locking body 110 is torn or detached from the electronic housing 126, the actuation switch 171 activates the electronic devices housed within the electronic housing 126.
In other words, Strang’s embodiment is “armed” when the abovementioned reed switches are placed in an open condition, which is different from the claimed invention and therefore, Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of electronic locks, Shute discloses:
Figures 22, 23, and [0063] Housing 211 further defines a second chamber 338 between front 212 and back 214 thereof and adjacent the innermost pair of aligned projections 335a, 336a. Second chamber 338 houses a spring plunger 340, a spring 342 and a push pin 344 of a switch. Spring plunger 340 defines a circular recess 346 that is complementary sized to receive the tip of head 330 therein. Spring plunger 340 is movable within second chamber 338 and may be urged toward interior wall 347 thereof by head 330. In a first position (FIG. 22), spring plunger 340 is disposed adjacent projections 335a, 336a. In a second position (FIG. 23) spring plunger 340 has been forced inwardly away from projections 335a, 336a by head 330. Spring 342 is compressed and push pin 344 is moved into switch housing 345. Spring plunger 340, spring 342, push pin 344 and the switch housing 345 therefor comprise a portion of a switch mechanism for arming the alarm components within housing 211.
[0058] A cable 222 extends outwardly away from housing 211 to secure tag 210 to product 224. While the drawings do not show the electrical circuitry that connects the various alarm components together, it will be understood that such circuitry is provided within housing 211 and through cable 222. Interruption of any of the circuits by attempting to cut or remove cable 222, prying open door 228 or attempting to remove product 224 from the store, will trigger one or more of the alarms retained within the housing.
In short, Shute’s embodiment discloses a type of locking mechanism wherein upon the embodiment having a spring plunger positioned in the manner described, the locking mechanism becomes armed and is a closed circuit. [0058] further supports this notion describing an interruption of the circuitry (which is taken to mean making an open circuit) that causes the triggering of alarms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Strang’s open circuit arming embodiment with a closed circuit arming feature disclosed in Shute such that the claimed invention is realized. One of ordinary skill would have substituted one known arming embodiment for another known arming embodiment and the substitution of these two known circuits would have realized a known embodiment meeting the claimed invention.
Regarding the excepted: and triggers transmission of the first message, Strang cites:
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time.
And
[0058] The electronic module 170 carries out monitoring and tracking of the bolt seal assembly 100. In the preferred embodiment, the seal status is monitored and tracked via a cellular telephone communications network or by using a small satellite network.
The claimed invention is requiring that upon arming the claimed bolt assembly, the location and status of the bolt is automatically transmitted. However, Strang doesn’t disclose this feature.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in include into Strang the ability for the bolt assembly to provide the claimed “first message.” Per the applicant’s published specification of the Abstract, the “first message” the first message is described as:
a first message indicative of a time and location of a bolt-sealing event.
As disclosed in Strang, the status and location of the bolt can be given at any time as the bolt is tracked. This would likely include the time and location the bolt was armed. However, while Strang didn’t disclose this feature, the passages suggest this information would be available to one of ordinary skill at any time. Furthermore, the claimed “triggers transmission” indicates an automatic transmission of the bolt arming event. Per MPEP 2144.04:
III. AUTOMATING A MANUAL ACTIVITY
In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (Appellant argued that claims to a permanent mold casting apparatus for molding trunk pistons were allowable over the prior art because the claimed invention combined "old permanent-mold structures together with a timer and solenoid which automatically actuates the known pressure valve system to release the inner core after a predetermined time has elapsed." The court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art.).
Accordingly, Strang discloses an embodiment wherein in order to determine the status of the bolt, the tracking of the location and status of the bolt would be at least provided for in a manual manner, as opposed to the requirement for the invention to report the status and location of the bolt arming event in an automated manner. Hence, unless automating the claimed triggering provides something new and unexpected and the citations otherwise provides the cited but albeit manual version of the claimed invention, automating a manual activity would be considered patentable subject matter.
Regarding the excepted: “a third message receive by the container bolt seal including information for controlling the container bolt seal,”
Strang discloses a remote mode 134 used to send and receive information to a security bolt embodiment. However, Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of remote locking systems, Thompson discloses:
[0015] Accordingly, the remote transmitter 31 may send signals to arm/disarm a full security system, to lock or unlock vehicle doors, and/or to remote the vehicle engine, for example. Other similar operations are also contemplated by the present invention as will be appreciated by those skilled in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Strang the remote control features disclosed in Thompson such that the claimed invention is realized. Thompson discloses a known feature for remotely arming and disarming a security lock and one of ordinary skill would have included this feature into Strang for the convenience of disarming the bolt alarm system from a distance.
On claim 2, Strang cites:
The container bolt seal of claim 1, further comprising a sensor to detect the bolt-sealing event, the sensor configured to detect: a change in resistance, an open circuit, a closed circuit, a change in inductance, a change in capacitance, or a change in conductance.
[0017] In an embodiment, the one or more sensing arrangements comprises an electrical connection between the electronic module and a conducting member extending along a length of the shank whereby changes or disruption in electrical connectivity between the electronic module and the conducting member results in information related to the change or disruption being communicated to the remote communication centre.
or
any combination thereof.
On claim 4, Strang cites except:
The container bolt seal of claim 1, wherein the wireless communications further comprise a fourth message indicative of a third.
Strang cites:
[0052] and figure 1A. In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted limitations. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to infer, from the operations disclosed in Strang to arrive at an embodiment obviating the claimed invention.
In the claimed invention, the invention asserts “communicating a fourth message” a “third time and a third location” to report if a bolt-cutting or bolt unlocking has occurred.
While Strang doesn’t specifically disclose these exact steps nor a “fourth message,” Strang includes the means to detect tampering, to include the time of the tampering, as well as the location. The claimed “unlocking” is analogous to a purposeful “tampering,” that is, a legitimate user, in Strang, is separating the bolt 120 from locking body 110 to access the contents of a secured container. Strang’s mechanisms will invariably detect this “purposeful tampering” to include recording the time and location of this tampering. Additionally, labeling a message as a “fourth message” to include a specific ordinal numerical order doesn’t make the limitation patentable as at least Strang disclose at least a message for determining the bolt-cutting or bolt unlocking.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to try and include into Strang the claimed features based on the known operation of the locking system disclosed in Strang. One of ordinary skill, based on how the structure and operation of the device disclosed in Strang, would have arrived the claimed embodiment.
On claim 7, Strang cites:
The container bolt seal of claim 1, wherein the status event is indicative of a condition in which neither the head nor the locking member are separated from the rod portion.
[0052] Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
By logical inference and inferred inherency, the claim limitations are requiring a status event where “neither the head nor the locking member are separated from the rod portion.” Accordingly, [0052] discloses sensors 136 determining if a tampering event has occurred. If not tampering has occurred, that is, no unlocking has occurred, the conditions spelled out in Strang satisfy the claimed requirements.
On claim 8, Strang cites:
The container bolt seal of claim 1, wherein:
the largest outer cross-sectional dimension of the rod portion is sufficiently small so as to permit the rod portion to pass through a standard-sized lock-receiving aperture in a container door locking handle retainer or secure cam position;
a largest outer cross-sectional dimension of the head is sufficiently large so as to prohibit the head from passing through the standard-sized lock-receiving aperture in the container door locking handle retainer or secure cam position; and
a largest outer cross-sectional dimension of the locking member is sufficiently large so as to prohibit the locking member from passing through the standard-sized lock-receiving aperture in the container door locking handle retainer or secure cam position.
Strang cites:
[0048] FIGS. 1 to 6 illustrate a first embodiment an electronic bolt assembly 100 which is suitable for locking a hasp of a cargo container. The bolt assembly 100 comprises a bolt member 120 having a head 122 enclosing electronic devices (having one or more tracking and communication devices and an electronic circuit to communicate the electronic bolt seal assembly's location to a remote communication center) and an elongate shank 124 which can be permanently locked into a locking body 110. The locking body 110 comprises a housing 111 that is frangibly or tearably attached to a housing 126 for the head 122. The invention described herein is in no way limited to the shape and configuration of the bolt 120 or the locking body 110 and several possible configurations for non-releasable engagement of the bolt 120 with the locking body 110.
On claim 9, Strang cites:
The container bolt seal of claim 1, wherein the locking member becoming non-removably attached to the rod portion comprises the locking member becoming unremovable from the rod portion without destructive force being applied to the rod portion, the locking member, or both.
[0050] Referring to FIG. 1A, the bolt member 120 comprises a head 122 with the shank 124 extending therefrom with an engagement structure adapted for being locked into permanent engagement with the locking body 110 when the shank 124 is axially displaced along the length of the cavity 115 during the process of insertion of the shank 124 into the cavity 115.
On claim 10, Strang cites:
The container bolt seal of claim 1, element comprises a battery, a capacitor, a solar cell, a kinetic energy collecting mechanism, or any combination thereof.
[0065] Power supply 140 forms part of the electronic module 170 which is provided within the housing 126 of the bolt 120 for bolt seal assembly 100. One or more batteries form a part of the power supply 140 which powers the various devices of the electronic module 170…
On claim 12, Strang cites:
The container bolt seal of claim 1, wherein the head is formed integrally with the rod portion.
[0050] Referring to FIG. 1A, the bolt member 120 comprises a head 122 with the shank 124 extending therefrom with an engagement structure adapted for being locked into permanent engagement with the locking body 110 when the shank 124 is axially displaced along the length of the cavity 115 during the process of insertion of the shank 124 into the cavity 115.
On claim 13, Strang cites:
The container bolt seal of claim 1, wherein: the second end of the rod portion comprises a male tapered section; and the locking member comprises a female receptable for receiving the male tapered section.
[0050] Referring to FIG. 1A, the bolt member 120 comprises a head 122 with the shank 124 extending therefrom with an engagement structure adapted for being locked into permanent engagement with the locking body 110 when the shank 124 is axially displaced along the length of the cavity 115 during the process of insertion of the shank 124 into the cavity 115.
On claim 14, Strang cites: The container bolt seal of claim 1, wherein: the wireless communications comprise LTE Cat 1 communications; and the container bolt seal complies with an International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 17712 standard, a Customs Trade Partnership Against Terrorism (CTPAT) standard, any one or more similar standards, or any combination thereof.
[0064] It will of course be appreciated that the cellular technology utilised in the embodiments of the invention can be any suitable cellular technology or mix of cellular technologies such as LTE Cat-M1, Cat-M2, NB-IoT, Quad Band GSM, etc.
On claim 21, Strang cites:
The container bolt seal of claim 1, wherein the wireless communications further comprise a plurality of additional messages indicative of the status event, wherein the plurality of additional messages are periodically transmitted by the container bolt seal at a user-programmable interval.
[0053] In the preferred embodiment, the small satellite module 134 may be provided in the form of a MYRIOTA satellite module which comprises a software defined radio coupled to the microprocessor 138. The sensors 136 may be capable of sensing any tampering and the microprocessor 138 may be programmed to activate the small satellite module 134 when the sensors 136 detect movements that satisfies any pre-defined criteria. Once the small satellite module 134 is activated, the module 134 is able to communicate with low Earth orbit satellites that typically orbit the earth at an altitude of 600 kms and 800 kms every 90 minutes and can receive data packets from the bolt assembly 100 in regular intervals. It is understood that each low earth satellite visits every part of the globe at least four times a day with typical revisit times ranging between one and three hours.
[0060] The microprocessor 138, in some embodiments, may be programmed to detect a seal state of the bolt assembly 100 using the sensors 136 at predetermined intervals (for example, every 5 minutes). Simultaneously, the microprocessor 138 may also use the GPS antenna module 135 to receive position data for the bolt seal assembly 100. In combination, in the event of tampering, this position data along with the seal state would allow a user to determine when tampering took place during transit. In this particular embodiment, the position data and seal state can be transmitted to the remote communication center 10 at each interval using the small satellite receiver 134. Once the bolt assembly 100 is within range of a cellular network, the tracking and communication device may switch to using the cellular modem 132 to minimise data transmission costs.
[0061] While the examples above use a 5 minute interval, it will be appreciated that the interval could be any amount of time and, in particular, could be performed every second, minute or hour, as required.
The claimed “a plurality of additional messages indicative of the status event, wherein the plurality of additional messages are periodically transmitted by the container bolt seal at a user-programmable interval” is met wherein in each of those data packets sent at the predetermined intervals.
Claims 5 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Strang, U.S. 2020/0325703 (see IDS) in view of Shute et al., U.S. 2008/0266111 and Yazdi et al., U.S. 2017/0103683.
On claim 5, Strang cites except as underlined:
The container bolt seal of claim 4, further comprising a sensor to detect the bolt-cutting event , the sensor configured to detect: a change in resistance, an open circuit, a close circuit, a change in inductance, a change in capacitance, or a change in conductance.
Strang cites:
[0052] and figure 1 Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
And
[0017] In an embodiment, the one or more sensing arrangements comprises an electrical connection between the electronic module and a conducting member extending along a length of the shank whereby changes or disruption in electrical connectivity between the electronic module and the conducting member results in information related to the change or disruption being communicated to the remote communication centre.
Strang’s embodiment discloses a tamper sensor detection feature, which means if there is an action taken to compromise the integrity of the cited bolt, the sensor would sense this action. However, Strang does not disclose the tamper detection feature operating in the claimed manner.
In the same art of bolt-seals, Yazdi cites:
[0093] According to an alternate embodiment of the present invention, the electrical contact may be a carbon slug which functions as an in-series electrical contact for the resistive sensor. The carbon slug is pressed into a blind hole in the bolt lock during manufacture. It is not evident to personnel who install the bolt-seal. The resistive sensor wire is also connected to the circuit board in the enclosure at the top of the bolt-seal. When the bolt lock snaps into place, the wire makes contact with the carbon slug, allowing the carbon slug to serve the purposes of continuity and ohmic resistance. Furthermore, because the carbon slug is in intimate contact with the bolt lock and the bolt lock is in intimate contact with the bolt shank, a closed circuit is established from the circuit board, down through the insulated hole in the bolt shank to the carbon slug wire contact, through the bolt lock, into the bolt shank, and back to the circuit board. Therefore, when the bolt shank is cut or the bolt lock is forced off, this closed circuit is opened and triggers the electronics to recognize a breach event. In embodiments incorporating the reusable design, where the electronic enclosure can be unscrewed from the bolt head, there will be an additional wire (or bolt head wire) leading from the circuit board, through the threaded boss of plastic enclosure, and through a molded-in contact intended to touch the head of the bolt shank. Preferably, the bolt head wire will be in-series with the resistive sensor wire. When the bolt-seal installation is completed, there is no visible evidence of wires. Furthermore, even before the bolt shank and bold lock are mated, only the contact between the wire and carbon slug is visible
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to into Strang’s embodiment the features of Yazdi such that the claimed invention is realized. Yazdi discloses a known form of operation wherein tamper detection includes
One of ordinary skill would have substituted the known features of tamper detection as disclosed in Yazdi in place of the bolt compromise detection features of Strang and the results of the substitution would have realized an embodiment meeting the claimed invention.
On claim 15, Strang cites except for the underlined:
An apparatus, comprising:
a rod having an integrated head disposed at a first end of the rod, wherein the rod has a first outside cross-section dimension,
[0050] Referring to FIG. 1A, the bolt member 120 comprises a head 122 with the shank 124 extending therefrom with an engagement structure adapted for being locked into permanent engagement with the locking body 110 when the shank 124 is axially displaced along the length of the cavity 115 during the process of insertion of the shank 124 into the cavity 115.
and
wherein a second outside cross-section dimension of the head is greater than the first outside cross-section dimension of the rod;
see [0050] and figure 1A above.
a cap element, wherein a third outside cross-section dimension of the cap element is greater than the first outside cross-section dimension of the rod,
figure 1A, locking body 110.
wherein the rod has a second end opposite to the first end, and wherein the cap element becomes permanently attached to the rod after placement on the second end;
[0050] Referring to FIG. 1A, the bolt member 120 comprises a head 122 with the shank 124 extending therefrom with an engagement structure adapted for being locked into permanent engagement with the locking body 110 when the shank 124 is axially displaced along the length of the cavity 115 during the process of insertion of the shank 124 into the cavity 115.
an energy distribution element;
[0065] Power supply 140 forms part of the electronic module 170 which is provided within the housing 126 of the bolt 120 for bolt seal assembly 100. One or more batteries form a part of the power supply 140 which powers the various devices of the electronic module 170…
an antenna;
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time.
and
a processing system configured to be powered by the energy distribution element,
See above, microprocessor 138
wherein the processing system facilitates wireless communications via the antenna,
See [0052] above
wherein the wireless communications comprise a first message transmitted by the apparatus indicative of a first time of a locking event and a first location of the locking event
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
and a second message transmitted by the apparatus indicative of a second time of a removal event and a second location of the removal event, a third message receive by the apparatus including information for controlling the apparatus wherein the locking event is when the cap element becomes permanently attached to the rod after placement on the second end of the rod, wherein the removal event is subsequent to the locking event, and wherein the removal event is when either of the integrated head or the cap element are destructively separated from the rod.
Strang cites:
[0052] and figure 1A. In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted limitations.
In the same art of bolt-seals, Yazdi cites:
[0093] According to an alternate embodiment of the present invention, the electrical contact may be a carbon slug which functions as an in-series electrical contact for the resistive sensor. The carbon slug is pressed into a blind hole in the bolt lock during manufacture. It is not evident to personnel who install the bolt-seal. The resistive sensor wire is also connected to the circuit board in the enclosure at the top of the bolt-seal. When the bolt lock snaps into place, the wire makes contact with the carbon slug, allowing the carbon slug to serve the purposes of continuity and ohmic resistance. Furthermore, because the carbon slug is in intimate contact with the bolt lock and the bolt lock is in intimate contact with the bolt shank, a closed circuit is established from the circuit board, down through the insulated hole in the bolt shank to the carbon slug wire contact, through the bolt lock, into the bolt shank, and back to the circuit board. Therefore, when the bolt shank is cut or the bolt lock is forced off, this closed circuit is opened and triggers the electronics to recognize a breach event. In embodiments incorporating the reusable design, where the electronic enclosure can be unscrewed from the bolt head, there will be an additional wire (or bolt head wire) leading from the circuit board, through the threaded boss of plastic enclosure, and through a molded-in contact intended to touch the head of the bolt shank. Preferably, the bolt head wire will be in-series with the resistive sensor wire. When the bolt-seal installation is completed, there is no visible evidence of wires. Furthermore, even before the bolt shank and bold lock are mated, only the contact between the wire and carbon slug is visible
The above cited “shank is cut” would be considered the same as the claimed “removal event.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to into Strang’s embodiment the features of Yazdi such that the claimed invention is realized. Yazdi discloses a known form of operation wherein tamper detection includes determining a bolt shank being severed.
One of ordinary skill would have substituted the known features of tamper detection as disclosed in Yazdi in place of the bolt compromise detection features of Strang and the results of the substitution would have realized an embodiment meeting the claimed invention.
Regarding the excepted: “a third message receive by the apparatus including information for apparatus,”
Strang discloses a remote mode 134 used to send and receive information to a security bolt embodiment. However, Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of remote locking systems, Thompson discloses:
[0015] Accordingly, the remote transmitter 31 may send signals to arm/disarm a full security system, to lock or unlock vehicle doors, and/or to remote the vehicle engine, for example. Other similar operations are also contemplated by the present invention as will be appreciated by those skilled in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Strang the remote control features disclosed in Thompson such that the claimed invention is realized. Thompson discloses a known feature for remotely arming and disarming a security lock and one of ordinary skill would have included this feature into Strang for the convenience of disarming the bolt alarm system from a distance.
On claim 16, Strang cites:
The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the energy distribution element,
Figures 2 and 3, power supply 140
the antenna,
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 and processor 138. See also figure 9,
and the processing system are disposed in the integrated head.
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) See also figure 9, element 138.
On claim 17, Strang cites except:
The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the energy distribution element, the antenna, and the processing system are disposed in the cap element.
Figure 5A shows cap element 110 and head figure 4 including the above elements
Strang, as indicated in the rejection of claim 16, discloses an embodiment wherein the claimed head includes the claimed elements. Strang, while disclosing cap element 110, Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to include into Strang an embodiment meeting the claimed limitations wherein the excepted claim limitations are found in the cited cap element.
While clearly Strang doesn’t disclose the claimed features as being found in the cap element 110, unless the reference otherwise functionally discloses the claimed structural elements and the positioning of the claimed structure doesn’t provide something new or unexpected, merely rearranging the position of the claimed elements won’t be considered patentable subject matter.
MPEP 2144.04,“Rearrangement of Parts.”
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Strang, U.S. 2020/0325703 (see IDS) in view of Shute et al., U.S. 2008/0266111 and Thompson, U.S. 2004/0051597 and Jones et al., U.S.2020/0219054.
On claim 23, Strang cites except: The container bolt seal of claim 1, wherein the third message is received from a cloud server.
As disclosed in the rejection of claim 1, Strang and Thompson disclosed a remote transmission used to arm/disarm and lock/unlock vehicle security systems. Neither citations disclosed the use of cloud servers used to deliver the claimed “third message.” However, in the related art of security systems, Jones cites:
[0069] These components on circuit board 302 are connected to GPS unit 308 through wires 326. Circuit board 302 is connected to antenna 306 via external antenna connection 328. The electronic components of electronic tracking device 300 work together to allow the device to monitor the movements and ambient environment of the pallet in which the electronic tracking device 300 is embedded. The tracking and/or environmental data gathered by the electronic tracking device 300 may be stored locally within memory of the device 300 and then sent to a central processing unit (e.g., cloud server) via the cellular radio 310 when a cellular connection is available.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strang’s communications modem 134 to communicate information using cloud server to deliver the cited control signals such that the claimed invention is realized. As disclosed in Jones, using a cloud server is just another source of commands from which a user would obtain communications data, such as the control signals disclosed in Strang and one of ordinary skill would have used these known elements to communicate control signals such that the claimed invention is realized.
Claims 22 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Strang, U.S. 2020/0325703 (see IDS) in view of Shute et al., U.S. 2008/0266111 and Thompson, U.S. 2004/0051597 and Yazdi et al., U.S. 2017/0103683 and Dobson et al ,U.S. 2011/0018707.
On claim 22, Strang cites except as underlined:
The apparatus of claim 15, further comprising:
a sensor disposed in the integrated head, the sensor including at least one of: a light sensor, a temperature sensor, or a humidity sensor.
Strang, Abstract, discloses:
the electronic module having one or more tracking and communication devices and an electronic circuit to communicate the electronic bolt seal assembly's location to a remote communication center wherein the one or more sensors further comprise an accelerometer for sensing movement and orientation of the bolt member.
Strang doesn’t disclose the claimed “sensor including at least one of: a light sensor, a temperature sensor, or a humidity sensor.”
In the same art of shipping container tracking and locking features, Dobson cites:
[0028] The invention combines a lockable shipping container with a variety of wireless communications technologies (including, but not limited to: Radio Frequency Identification, cellular communications, and satellite communications) and a sensor interface to allow the detection of selected events or environmental factors (including but not limited to: tilting, vibration, and tamper switches, air pressure, temperature and humidity sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to include into Strang’s sensors the added features of temperature and humidity sensors such that the claimed invention is realized. Dobson discloses known sensing devices used to track and determine the environmental conditions of the secured shipping container and one of ordinary skill would have incorporated these features to determine the immediate environmental conditions of the shipping container.
Regarding the excepted: a sensor disposed in the integrated head, Strang cites:
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
Strang, while citing the sensor and the bolt, Strang doesn’t disclose the sensors being disposed in the integrated head. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to include into Strang the feature of having the cited sensor “disposed in the integrated head.” Unless placing the cited sensors in the head provides something new or unexpected and the citation otherwise functionally carries out the claimed invention, making the sensors disposed in the bolt isn’t considered patentable subject matter.
MPEP 2144.04 Making Integral.
B. Making Integral
In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice."); but see Schenck v. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to a vibratory testing machine (a hard-bearing wheel balancer) comprising a holding structure, a base structure, and a supporting means which form "a single integral and gaplessly continuous piece." Nortron argued that the invention is just making integral what had been made in four bolted pieces. The court found this argument unpersuasive and held that the claims were patentable because the prior art perceived a need for mechanisms to dampen resonance, whereas the inventor eliminated the need for dampening via the one-piece gapless support structure, showing insight that was contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art.)
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Strang, U.S. 2020/0325703 (see IDS) in view of Shute et al., U.S. 2008/0266111 and Thompson, U.S. 2004/0051597 and Yazdi et al., U.S. 2017/0103683 and Arguin, U.S. 2009/0072554 (see IDS).
On claim 18, Strang cites except as underlined:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a processing system including a processor,
a first data feed
[0052] Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
The cited “sense the integrity” is considered analogous to the data feed being received.
And
figure 9 and [0053] discloses In the preferred embodiment, the small satellite module 134 may be provided in the form of a MYRIOTA satellite module which comprises a software defined radio coupled to the microprocessor 138. The sensors 136 may be capable of sensing any tampering and the microprocessor 138 may be programmed to activate the small satellite module 134 when the sensors 136 detect movements that satisfies any pre-defined criteria. Once the small satellite module 134 is activated, the module 134 is able to communicate with low Earth orbit satellites that typically orbit the earth at an altitude of 600 kms and 800 kms every 90 minutes and can receive data packets from the bolt assembly 100 in regular intervals. It is understood that each low earth satellite visits every part of the globe at least four times a day with typical revisit times ranging between one and three hours.
from a first container bolt seal, wherein the first container bolt seal comprises a first rod portion having a first end and a second end,
wherein the first container bolt seal further comprises a first head located at the first end of the first rod portion,
wherein the first container bolt seal further comprises a first locking member, wherein the first rod portion is sized such that at least a part of the first rod portion can fit through a standard-sized hole in a door locking handle retainer of a shipping container or a standard-sized hole in a secure cam position of a shipping container,
wherein the first head is sized such that the first head cannot fit through the standard-sized hole in the door locking handle retainer of the shipping container or the standard-sized hole in the secure cam position of the shipping container,
wherein the first container bolt seal is installed by passing the second end of the first rod portion through the standard-sized hole and then attaching the first locking member to the second end of the first rod portion,
wherein the first container bolt seal further comprises a first electronic processor,
wherein the first electronic processor facilitates wireless transmission of the first data feed and wireless reception of a second data feed,
wherein the first data feed comprises an attachment message transmitted by the first container bolt seal indicative of a first time of either the first head or the first locking member being separated from the first rod portion and a first location of the first locking member being attached to the second end of the first rod portion,
[0050] Referring to FIG. 1A, the bolt member 120 comprises a head 122 with the shank 124 extending therefrom with an engagement structure adapted for being locked into permanent engagement with the locking body 110 when the shank 124 is axially displaced along the length of the cavity 115 during the process of insertion of the shank 124 into the cavity 115.
And
[0052] In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
transmitting, by the processing system, the second data feed to the first container bolt seal, wherein the second data feed comprises information for controlling the first container bolt seal;
and
wherein the first data feed further comprises a removal message indicative of a second time and a second location of either the first head or the first locking member being separated from the first rod portion;
and
displaying by the processing system, on a graphical user interface (GUI), geospatial information from the first data feed,
wherein the displaying comprises displaying on a map the first location and displaying on the map the second location.
Regarding the excepted “displaying…of the geospacial information,” Strang cites:
[0052] and figure 1A. In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted “displaying…on a GUI. In the same art of electronic seal tracking, Arguin cites:
[0025] The present invention also provides a universal tracking system that is capable of providing authorized users access to the exact location of a cargo shipment using the onboard GPS. The onboard GPS receives its location which gets transmitted via GSM and GPRS. This would typically be transmitted via the Short Message Service (SMS), but can be transmitted via any available technology. Once transmitted, an individual phone, PDA, computer or web-based service can display the location of the shipment. The transmissions of locations are saved to allow for the automated plotting of the route a shipment has taken.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to include into Strang the displaying disclosed in Arguin such that Strang’s bolt assembly 100’s status is displayed on the display disclosed in Arguin where the modification meets the claimed limitations. One of ordinary skill would have the advantage of having a visual representation of the status of the bolt 100 disclosed in Strang.
Furthermore, claim 18 includes a substantial structural set of claim limitations. Unless the cited structure is required to carry out the functional aspect of the method, the claim structure isn’t considered required to carry out the claimed invention.
Ex Parte Pfeiffer, 1962 C.D. 408 (1961). To be entitled to weight in method claims, the recited structure limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative senses, and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure.
Ex Parte Kangas 125 USPQ 419 (PTO Bd. App 1960)The mere inclusion of structure in a method claim does not render it unstatutory or fatally defective. The structural limitation is of no patentable moment unless it affects the process in a manipulative sense.
Regarding the excepted: wherein the first data feed further comprises a removal message indicative of a second time and a second location of either the first head or the first locking member being separated from the first rod portion
Strang cites:
[0052] and figure 1A. In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time. Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted limitations.
In the same art of bolt-seals, Yazdi cites:
[0093] According to an alternate embodiment of the present invention, the electrical contact may be a carbon slug which functions as an in-series electrical contact for the resistive sensor. The carbon slug is pressed into a blind hole in the bolt lock during manufacture. It is not evident to personnel who install the bolt-seal. The resistive sensor wire is also connected to the circuit board in the enclosure at the top of the bolt-seal. When the bolt lock snaps into place, the wire makes contact with the carbon slug, allowing the carbon slug to serve the purposes of continuity and ohmic resistance. Furthermore, because the carbon slug is in intimate contact with the bolt lock and the bolt lock is in intimate contact with the bolt shank, a closed circuit is established from the circuit board, down through the insulated hole in the bolt shank to the carbon slug wire contact, through the bolt lock, into the bolt shank, and back to the circuit board. Therefore, when the bolt shank is cut or the bolt lock is forced off, this closed circuit is opened and triggers the electronics to recognize a breach event. In embodiments incorporating the reusable design, where the electronic enclosure can be unscrewed from the bolt head, there will be an additional wire (or bolt head wire) leading from the circuit board, through the threaded boss of plastic enclosure, and through a molded-in contact intended to touch the head of the bolt shank. Preferably, the bolt head wire will be in-series with the resistive sensor wire. When the bolt-seal installation is completed, there is no visible evidence of wires. Furthermore, even before the bolt shank and bold lock are mated, only the contact between the wire and carbon slug is visible
The above cited “shank is cut” would be considered the same as the claimed “removal event.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to into Strang’s embodiment the features of Yazdi such that the claimed invention is realized. Yazdi discloses a known form of operation wherein tamper detection includes determining a bolt shank being severed.
One of ordinary skill would have substituted the known features of tamper detection as disclosed in Yazdi in place of the bolt compromised detection and transmission features of Strang and the results of the substitution would have realized an embodiment meeting the claimed invention.
Regarding the excepted: “transmitting, by the processing system, the second data feed to the first container bolt seal, wherein the second data feed comprises information for controlling the first container bolt seal,” Strang discloses a remote mode 134 used to send and receive information to a security bolt embodiment. However, Strang doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of remote locking systems, Thompson discloses:
[0015] Accordingly, the remote transmitter 31 may send signals to arm/disarm a full security system, to lock or unlock vehicle doors, and/or to remote the vehicle engine, for example. Other similar operations are also contemplated by the present invention as will be appreciated by those skilled in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Strang the remote control features disclosed in Thompson such that the claimed invention is realized. Thompson discloses a known feature for remotely arming and disarming a security lock and one of ordinary skill would have included this feature into Strang for the convenience of disarming the bolt alarm system from a distance.
On claim 19, Strang, Yazdi, and Arguin cites:
The method of claim 18, wherein:
the first data feed further comprises at least one status message indicative of a status time and a status location of a status event that is subsequent to transmission of the attachment message and prior to transmission of the removal message;
[0052] and figure 1A. In the preferred embodiment, the tracking and communication devices forming a part of the electronic module 170 may include a satellite modem 134, a cellular modem 132 and an antenna module 135 (such as a Global Navigation Satellite System-GNSS module) coupled to a processing unit (such as microprocessor 138) for receiving and processing positioning signals from GPS satellites which indicate the location of the bolt assembly 100 at any given time.
the method further comprises receiving, by the processing system, the at least one status message;
[0052] Sensors 136 in the form of accelerometers and/or compass and/or gyroscopes may also be additionally be provided to sense the integrity of the bolt 120 in the locked position whereby tampering of the bolt member 120 is sensed by the sensor 136 and information related to any tampering is also processed by the processing unit 138.
and the displaying, on the GUI, further comprises displaying on the map the status location.
[0025] The present invention also provides a universal tracking system that is capable of providing authorized users access to the exact location of a cargo shipment using the onboard GPS. The onboard GPS receives its location which gets transmitted via GSM and GPRS. This would typically be transmitted via the Short Message Service (SMS), but can be transmitted via any available technology. Once transmitted, an individual phone, PDA, computer or web-based service can display the location of the shipment. The transmissions of locations are saved to allow for the automated plotting of the route a shipment has taken.
Arguin cites:
[0025] The present invention also provides a universal tracking system that is capable of providing authorized users access to the exact location of a cargo shipment using the onboard GPS. The onboard GPS receives its location which gets transmitted via GSM and GPRS. This would typically be transmitted via the Short Message Service (SMS), but can be transmitted via any available technology. Once transmitted, an individual phone, PDA, computer or web-based service can display the location of the shipment. The transmissions of locations are saved to allow for the automated plotting of the route a shipment has taken.
Also see the rejection of claim 18 which discloses the same or similar subject matter.
On claim 20, Strang, Yazdi, and Arguin cites except as underlined:
The method of claim 18, further comprising:
receiving, by the processing system, a second data feed from a second container bolt seal,
wherein the second container bolt seal comprises a second rod portion having a third end and a fourth end,
wherein the second container bolt seal further comprises a second head located at the third end of the second rod portion,
wherein the second container bolt seal further comprises a second locking member,
wherein the second rod portion is sized such that at least a part of the second rod portion can fit through another standard-sized hole in another door locking handle retainer of another shipping container or another standard-sized hole in another secure cam position of another shipping container,
wherein the second head is sized such that the second head cannot fit through the another standard-sized hole in the another door locking handle retainer of the another shipping container or the another standard-sized hole in the another secure cam position of the another shipping container, wherein the second container bolt seal is installed by passing the fourth end of the second rod portion through the another standard-sized hole and then attaching the second locking member to the fourth end of the second rod portion,
wherein the second container bolt seal further comprises a second electronic processor,
wherein the second electronic processor facilitates another wireless transmission of the second data feed, wherein the second data feed comprises another attachment message indicative of a third time and a third location of the second locking member being attached to the fourth end of the second rod portion, and
wherein the second data feed further comprises another removal message indicative of a fourth time and a fourth location of either the second head or the second locking member being separated from the second rod portion; and
displaying by the processing system, on the GUI, another geospatial information from the second data feed, wherein the displaying the another geospatial information comprises displaying on the map the third location and displaying on the map the fourth location.
In the rejection of claim 18, Strang, Yazdi, and Arguin disclosed a method directed to monitoring and displaying data associated with a tamper detection bolt coupled to a first container.
Furthermore, Strang discloses:
[0004] Cargo containers (emphasis added) are shipped via land, sea and air transportation and are subject to tampering and vandalism. It is important that such tampering be immediately noted to preclude theft of valuable cargo.
In short, Strang discloses at least a multiple number of cargo containers are present during transportation, suggesting at least a taper detection bolt is assigned to each container. However, neither Strang nor Arguin discloses “receiving” and “displaying” data associated with an additional container.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to include into Strang, Yazdi, and Arguin the feature of having a plurality of containers, and therefore, a plurality of tamper detection bolts assigned to each container of a plurality of containers with each tamper detection bolt system monitoring and displaying the status of each individual bolt.
Unless presenting an invention with multiple versions of an embodiment expressed as a single item in the reference is something provides something new or unexpected, merely claiming a plurality of an embodiment where a single version is anticipated by the references doesn’t make the claimed invention patently distinct from the prior art. MPEP 2144.04:
Duplication of Parts
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAL EUSTAQUIO whose telephone number is (571)270-7229. The examiner can normally be reached on 8am-5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Brian Zimmerman, can be reached at (571) 272-3059. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application lnformation Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAlR only. For more information about the PAlR system, see http:/lpair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAlR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-91 99 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CAL J EUSTAQUIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686