DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the pending claims, 1-7, 9-20, received 10 September 2025. Accordingly, the detailed action of claims 1-7, 9-20 is as follows:
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: processing function generator configured to…, deployment topology generator configured to…., deployment optimizer configured to… in claim 1-10, 12-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites, “each resource…comprises a unique resource ID that includes metadata indicating the capabilities of the respective resource”, however, the examiner is unable to find support for said feature. After careful review of applicant’s specification, the examiner is only able to find support for a resource or resource ID associated with metadata [0048], the unique identity as an attribute field in the metadata record [0050], metadata records associated with the unique resource ID [0051] and creating a unique identity or address [0052]. The examiner is unable to find support for a resource ID that has metadata information including the capabilities as the unique identifier.
Claim 12 recites similar claim language as claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Claims 2-7, 9-11, 13-20 depend on the independent claims and are therefore rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7, 10-11, 12-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al (US 20210004273 A1, hereafter referred to as You) in view of Tembey et al (US 20190327144 A1, hereafter referred to as Tembey) in view of Xu et al (US 20190140972 A1, hereafter referred to as Xu) in view of Kinney, Jr (US 10402227 B1, hereafter referred to as Kinney).
Regarding claim 1, You teaches system for deploying a processing function workflow, the system comprising:
a processing function generator configured to build the processing function workflow that includes a processing function (You [0040-0041] discloses building a workflow that includes a plurality of tasks [0020, 0018]) and to determine deployment criteria for the processing function that includes an input dataset for the processing function (You [0038] discloses identifying the nature and format of associated media data, including determining requirements [0098]) and at least one atomic compute function for executing the processing function within the workflow (You [0041, 0043] discloses a task as a running instance of a media processing function which performs a media processing operation for delivering media data and metadata to be consumed by other tasks, wherein the functions are identified from a received workflow description [0093]);
wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to query a processing resource database to identify the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network (You [0094] discloses determining resource availability from the cloud infrastructure where resources are instantiated).
However, You does not explicitly teach a deployment topology generator configured to generate a plurality of topologies of a plurality of resources available in a cloud computing network and based on the determined deployment criteria, with the generated plurality of topologies indicating different configurations of physical and software resources for executing the processing function and at least one of a plurality of processors configured for executing the atomic compute function of the processing function; and a deployment optimizer configured to select a topology of the plurality of topologies to deploy the processing function within the cloud computing network, wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to query a processing resource database to identify respective capabilities of the plurality of resources, wherein each resource of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network comprises a unique resource ID that includes metadata indicating the capabilities of the respective resource, such that the deployment topology generator is configured to generate the plurality of topologies of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network based on the unique resource ID for each resource.
Tembey, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to query a processing resource database to identify the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network and the respective capabilities of the plurality of resources (Tembey [0088-0089] teaches obtaining resource information via a DAL wherein the resource information provides availability, capacity, performance, identification, usage and attributes of the resources [0090, 0093, 0183, and 0140]), wherein each resource of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network comprises a identifier that includes metadata indicating the capabilities of the respective resource (Tembey [0088-0089] teaches obtaining resource information including abstracted configuration information, attributes, performance, availability and identification [0088-0089 and 0093]), such that the deployment topology generator is configured to generate the plurality of plans of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network based on the unique resource ID for each resource (Tembey [0144-0148] teaches generating a plurality of plans including the resources based on the obtained resource information [0140-0143]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify You in view of Tembey in order to configure a query to identify the plurality of resources available, as taught by You, further return respective capabilities of the plurality of resources wherein each resource of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network comprises a identifier that includes metadata indicating the capabilities of the respective resource, such that the deployment topology generator is configured to generate the plurality of topologies of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network based on the identifier for each resource, as taught by Tembey.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to provide improved visibility regarding system configurations not previously available thereby improving provisioning flexibility and resource allocation Tembey [0031-0034]).
Xu, in an analogous art, teaches , wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to query a processing resource database to identify respective capabilities of the plurality of resources (Xu [0008, 0051] teaches querying a management unit to identify capabilities of the resources), wherein each resource of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network comprises a unique resource ID (Xu [0054-0055] teaches the resources are associated with a unique capability identifier and unique resource identifier) that includes metadata indicating the capabilities of the respective resource (Xu [0054-0055] discloses the capability information includes a capability description information and additional attributes).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify You-Tembey in view of Xu in order to configure the resource identifier and corresponding metadata capabilities as taught by You-Tembey, to be a unique resource ID that includes metadata indicating the capabilities of the resource, as taught by Xu.
KSR rationale B, simple substitution of one known element (resource identifier, as taught by You-Tembey) for another known element (unique resource ID, as taught by Xu) in order to yield predictable results (identifying a resource, ID and capabilities for provisioning and deployment) supports the conclusion of obviousness.
However, You-Tembey-Xu does not explicitly teach the identifier as a unique resource ID plurality of plans as topologies, such that You-Tembey-Xu does not teach a deployment topology generator configured to generate a plurality of topologies of a plurality of resources available in a cloud computing network and based on the determined deployment criteria, with the generated plurality of topologies indicating different configurations of physical and software resources for executing the processing function and at least one of a plurality of processors configured for executing the atomic compute function of the processing function; and a deployment optimizer configured to select a topology of the plurality of topologies to deploy the processing function within the cloud computing network.
Kinney, in an analogous art, teaches a deployment topology generator configured to generate a plurality of topologies of a plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network and based on the determined deployment criteria (Kinney [10:44-18] teaches generating a plurality of configurations of the available resources based on based on job definitions), with the generated plurality of topologies indicating different configurations of the physical and software resources for executing the processing function and at least one of the plurality of processors configured for executing the atomic compute function of the processing function (Kinney [13:12-47] teaches a plurality of configurations for executing tasks associated with a received job definition); and
a deployment optimizer configured to select a topology of the plurality of topologies to deploy the processing function within the cloud computing network (Kinney [12:11] discloses selecting a recommended or optimal configuration of computing resources).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify You in view of Kinney in order to configure the media processing workflow, as taught by You, to include a deployment topology generator configured to generate a plurality of topologies of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network and based on the determined deployment criteria, with the generated plurality of topologies indicating different configurations of the physical and software resources for executing the processing function and at least one of the plurality of processors configured for executing the atomic compute function of the processing function and a deployment optimizer configured to select an optimal topology of the plurality of topologies to deploy the processing function within the cloud computing network, as taught by Kinney.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to optimize a computing environment for execution of processing tasks (Kinney [3:20-27]).
However, You-Kinney does not explicitly teach wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to dynamically select a different topology of the plurality of topologies to deploy the processing function within the cloud computing network in response to a change of a format of the input dataset.
Regarding claim 2, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
Additionally, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the system wherein the deployment optimizer is configured to select an optimal topology to deploy the processing function within the cloud computing network (Kinney [12:11] discloses selecting a recommended or optimal configuration of computing resources), with the optimal topology being selected to include the at least one processor for optimizing accessibility of the electronic memory to execute the atomic compute function (Kinney [9:64-27 and 8:58-10] teaches optimization including selecting resources based on specified requirements including processor type).
Regarding claim 3, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
Additionally, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the system wherein the processing function generator is configured to build a media production that includes the processing function (You [0040-0041] discloses building a workflow that includes a plurality of tasks [0020, 0018]) and to determine the deployment criteria for the processing function that includes an input dataset for the processing function (You [0038] discloses identifying the nature and format of associated media data, including determining requirements [0098]) and at least one atomic compute function for executing the processing function within a generated media production workflow (You [0041, 0043] discloses a task as a running instance of a media processing function which performs a media processing operation for delivering media data and metadata to be consumed by other tasks, wherein the functions are identified from a received workflow description [0093]).
Regarding claim 4, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the limitations of claim 2, as set forth above.
Additionally, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the system wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to select the topology to optimize the accessibility of the electronic memory to execute the atomic compute function (Kinney [9:64-27 and 8:58-10] teaches optimization including selecting resources based on specified requirements including processor type) based on at least one of a network type, network bandwidth, network latency, processor type, and processor location within the cloud computing network (Kinney [9:64-27] discloses an optimization factor is based on a required processor type and number and network resource usage [16:65-36]).
Regarding claim 5, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the limitations of claim 4, as set forth above.
Additionally, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the system wherein the deployment topology generator is configured to generate the plurality of topologies such that the processing function is executed at or below a maximum required time threshold (Kinney [20:3-26] discloses generating and selecting an optimal configuration to optimize a goal, wherein the goals include execution time, and completion by or deadline time [4:15-26]).
Regarding claim 6, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
Additionally, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the system wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to decompose the processing function into a plurality of atomic functions that are allocated to respective resources of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network ((You [table 3 and 0065] discloses a requirement descriptor indicating workflow functions are able to be split).
Regarding claim 7, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
Additionally, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the system wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to select the topology of the plurality of topologies based on availabilities and capabilities of the plurality of resources in the cloud computing network (Kinney [5:11-17 and 18:35-43] discloses selection of resources with capabilities that meet or exceed job definition requirements and based on varying availability [17:30-37]).
Regarding claim 10, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
Additionally, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the system wherein the input dataset comprises video content provided by at least one content generating device for producing a media production by a media production workflow (You [0038] teaches media data from a video camera source for input into the media workflow) and the processing function comprises at least one of image scaling, encoding and decoding of the video content (You [0046]).
Regarding claim 11, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
Additionally, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the system further comprising:
Memory (You [Fig 7 and 0114]); and
a processor configured to execute software on the memory, that when executed, configures the processor as the processing function generator, the deployment topology generator, and the deployment optimizer (You [0114] discloses loading processes into memory and executing by the processor).
Regarding claims 12-17 and 19-20, they do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claims 1-4, 6-7 and 10-11.
Therefore, claims 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 1-4, 6-7 and 10-11.
Regarding claim 18, it does not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claims 1 and 12.
Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 1 and 12.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al (US 20210004273 A1, hereafter referred to as You) in view of Tembey et al (US 20190327144 A1, hereafter referred to as Tembey) in view of Xu et al (US 20190140972 A1, hereafter referred to as Xu) in view of Kinney, Jr (US 10402227 B1, hereafter referred to as Kinney), as applied above regarding claim 1, further in view of Amini et al (US 20180103505 A1, hereafter referred to as Amini).
Regarding claim 9, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney teaches the limitations of claim 8, as set forth above.
However, You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney does not teach wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to dynamically select a different topology of the plurality of topologies to deploy the processing function within the cloud computing network in response to a change of a format of the input dataset.
Amini, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the deployment optimizer is further configured to dynamically select a different topology within the cloud computing network in response to a change of at least one of a format and a type of the input dataset (Amini [0042, 0043 and 0051] teaches changing the topology of the network to dynamically select a different topology in response to determined changes in the packet [0053] payload, wherein the determined payload includes bits of a first format of content (video [0037, 0039, 0043]), second format of content (file [0043], or other format of content (voice and audio [0046]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify You-Kinney in view of Amini in order to configure the deployment optimizer configured to select a topology of the plurality of topologies to deploy the processing function within the cloud computing network, as taught by You-Tembey-Xu-Kinney, to dynamically select a different topology within the cloud computing network in response to a change of at least one of a format and a type of the input dataset, as taught by Amini.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to improve the performance of the network (Amini [0034 and 0043]) leading to increased throughput improving the experience of the client device using the provisioned resources (Amini [0043]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 12-14, 17-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4-5 and 8, 14-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11765039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 9, 12-14, 17-18, the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof. Although the conflicting claims are not identical they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5, 7, 9, 12-14, 17-18 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 4-5 and 8, 14-15 of the patent. That is claims 1-5, 7, 9, 12-14, 17-18 are anticipated by claims 1, 4-5, 12 and 14-15 of the patent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Giardina et al (US 9130943 B1);
Adams et al (US 20130219397 A1);
SHEAN TOKUTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2446
/SHEAN TOKUTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446