DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 4/30/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 have been amended.
Claims 21-40 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant did not provide any arguments beyond the Remarks that were filed on 4/30/2026, which was replied to with an Advisory Action of 5/14/2026.
Though Examiner would like to point out regarding Applicant’s arguments in those Remarks, that they have been further considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection in this Office Action does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2023/0164669 A1), hereinafter “Liu”, in view of Fan et al. (English translation of CN 109246792 A), hereinafter “Fan”, in further view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0183067 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wang, and further in view of Zisimopoulos et al. (US 2024/0015811 A1), hereinafter “Zisimopoulos”.
Claims 21-30 are directed to method claims that recite similar limitations to apparatus claims 31-40. Therefore, the rejections for claims 21-30 are similar to those put forth in claims 31-40. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Re. Claim 31, Liu teaches the following limitations:
An apparatus, comprising: one or more processors, (¶0009 The device includes a processor, a transceiver, a memory and executable programs running on the processor.)
configured to: obtain a first group of parameters corresponding to a first mode, (¶0168-¶0169 the configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs indicate different uplink access configurations for access. [i.e. uplink access represents a first mode] The SIB1 includes an initial uplink BWP information element (IE). The configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs are carried by different initial uplink BWP IEs. the configuration information for the first type of UEs [i.e. first group of parameters] and the configuration information for the second type of UEs indicate different uplink access configurations for access. The SIB1 includes an initial uplink BWP information element (IE). & ¶0171 The configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs are carried by a same initial uplink BWP IE [i.e. obtaining the first group parameters in the IE])
wherein the first group of parameters are predefined parameters corresponding to initial access, (¶0053 the initial access may be configured for the two types of UEs respectively based on the capabilities of the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs in an initial access phase of the two types of UEs. & ¶0171 The configuration information for the first type of UEs [i.e. first group of parameters corresponding to initial access] and the configuration information for the second type of UEs are carried by a same initial uplink BWP IE, and the same initial uplink BWP IE includes different random access channel common configurations for the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs.) *Examiner notes that only one limitation has been examined due to the presence of the word “or”.
Yet, Liu does not teach: and initiate, based on the first group of parameters, an initial access to the network device when there is a compatibility problem between the terminal device and the network device, wherein the compatibility problem is a parameter compatibility problem between the terminal device and the network device relating to a network in which the initial access is initiated.
However, in the analogous art, Fan teaches such a limitation:
and initiate, based on the first group of parameters, an initial access to the network device when there is a compatibility problem between the terminal device and the network device. (¶0005-¶0006 If it is registered with both the 4G and 5G core networks, the UE can initiate services to both the 4G and 5G core networks [i.e. being registered on the 4G network so it can initiate services requires a first group of parameters being configured for initial access to the networks, where 5G parameters would be mapped as a second group of parameters]. if a UE in a 5G non-connected state initiates access to the 5G core network, and the 5G core network rejects the UE access for some reason, the UE access fails and needs to return to the original state. ¶0067-¶0069 the UE may or may not have been registered on the 4G core network before sending the first access request… after the UE receives the information that the 5G core network rejects the first access request [i.e. compatibility problem during initial access], it can send a second access request through the wireless connection re-established with the 4G access network [i.e. initiate initial access (access request) based on first group of parameters (4G network configuration)]. ¶0076 the 4G/5G access network [i.e. 4G/5G network access through single device] transparently transmits the information of rejecting the first access request to the UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Fan’s teaching of initiating, upon a compatibility problem, initial access to a network device based on a first group of parameters, because It would enable the device to return to an original state based on a first group of parameters when initiating access to a network fails. (see Fan ¶0006)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the compatibility problem is a parameter compatibility problem between the terminal device and the network device relating to a network in which the initial access is initiated.
However, in the analogous art, Wang teaches such a limitation:
wherein the compatibility problem is a parameter compatibility problem between the terminal device and the network device relating to a network in which the initial access is initiated. (¶0039 In block S103, in response to a second operator to which the terminal belongs being different from the first operator, stopping a random access retry to the target base station and initiating random access to other base station except the target base station. In an embodiment, the terminal may read operator identity information from a SIM or UIM card, [i.e. operator identity information are parameters for terminal to connect to a specific network] in which the identity information may indicate that the terminal belongs to the second operator. & ¶0046 It may be understood that, when the first operator is different from the second operator, the terminal judges that a failure of the access may be due to a compatibility issue caused by different operators and the possibility that a access retry may solve the compatibility issue is not high. Therefore, in order to access the network as soon as possible, the terminal does not initiate new random access to the target base station, but initiates the new random access to other base station instead, [i.e. when a compatibility issue arises due to mismatched/incompatible parameters for network access, the device initiates access to a different base station to maintain connection to the network rather than retrying initial access on the base station with incompatible parameters] thereby avoiding the terminal in a state where its service is unavailable for a long time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu and Fan’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Wang’s teaching of the compatibility problem being a parameter compatibility problem between the terminal device and network device which causes the device to perform initial access based on a first set of configuration parameters, and allows a fallback service option to avoid the terminal being in a state where its service is unavailable for a long time. (see Wang ¶0046)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the first mode corresponds to the compatibility problem existing, and the first group of parameters is different from a group of parameters configured to be used when no compatibility problem exists.
However, in the analogous art, Zisimopoulos teaches:
wherein the first mode corresponds to the compatibility problem existing, (¶0034 A UE that travels to a geographic territory may expect the RAN to operate according to the first variant but may discover that the RAN is configured to operate according to an incompatible variant of the RAT. & ¶0064 the UE 120 may use an RRC protocol to initiate a wireless connection with the selected base station. For example, the UE 120 may send an RRC connection request to the selected base station. & ¶0077 the RRC configuration message 570 may include a configuration setting or parameter associated with a feature defined in the second variant that is not defined in the first variant. For example, the RRC configuration message 570 may include an information element for a modulation scheme setting, phase transform precoding setting, or another feature that is unique to the second variant of the 5G NR RAT. The UE 120 may determine (shown at block 580) that the first base station 510 and the UE 120 are configured to operate according to incompatible variants of the 5G NR RAN based on the contents of the RRC configuration message 570. In some implementations, the UE 120 may include, in the RRC connection request message 565, an indication related to an incompatible capability parameter related to the second variant even though the UE 120 does not support the second variant. [i.e. RRC message 570 includes configuration parameters for initiating a wireless connection (initial access) corresponding to a second variant (mode) in which there is a compatibility issue. Therefore, the RRC configuration between UE and base station using the second variant (first mode) corresponds to a mode in which there is a compatibility problem existing])
and the first group of parameters is different from a group of parameters configured to be used when no compatibility problem exists. (¶0006-¶0007 The method may include receiving indicia that indicates whether a first base station is configured to operate according to a first variant of a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second variant of the first RAT. The first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology. The first variant may be compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology. The second variant may be a forked deviation of the first variant. The second variant may be based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology. & ¶0035 Depending on what changes are adopted in a particular variant implemented by RAN, the variant may be compatible or incompatible with a variant implemented by the UE. In some implementations, compatible variants are those which implement the same standards compliant version of the RAT. A UE may receive indicia that indicates whether a base station of a RAN implements a first variant of a RAT or a second variant of the RAT. & ¶0064 the UE 120 may use an RRC protocol to initiate a wireless connection & ¶0077 the RRC configuration message 570 may include a configuration setting or parameter associated with a feature defined in the second variant that is not defined in the first variant. If the first base station 510 responds with the RRC configuration message 570 including an information element related to the incompatible capability parameter, the UE 120 may assume that the first base station 510 is configured to operate according to the incompatible second variant of the 5G NR RAT. Thus, the UE 120 may discover that the first base station 510 is configured to operate according to the second variant either by receiving an unsolicited configuration setting or parameter associated with a feature defined in the second variant that is not defined in the first variant [i.e. the first and second variant (modes) are defined by different configuration parameters in the RRC message for initiating access. The first variant is considered compatible, therefore with this mode’s parameters no compatibility problem exists. The second variant is considered incompatible, therefore with this mode’s parameters there exists a compatibility problem. The two groups of parameters are different depending on if there is a compatibility issue or not.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu, Fan, and Wang’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Zisimopoulos’s teaching of the first group of parameters being different to a group of parameters used when there is no compatibility issue, because it would allow a UE to initiate wireless connection with a network device when there exists compatibility issues, by receiving indication of the incompatible parameters when initiating the connection. (see Zisimopoulos ¶0077)
Re. Claim 32, Liu combined with Fan, Wang, and Zisimopoulos teaches claim 31.
Liu further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine the first group of parameters from at least two groups of parameters (¶0168-¶0169 the configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs indicate different uplink access configurations for access [i.e. two configurations for access are two groups of parameters to determine from])
based on at least one of the following: a capability of the terminal device, (¶0053 the initial access may be configured for the two types of UEs respectively based on the capabilities of the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs in an initial access phase of the two types of UEs.)
Re. Claim 33, Liu combined with Fan, Wang, and Zisimopoulos teaches claim 31.
Fan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive first indication information from the network device, (¶0017, 0028 the information for rejecting the first access request received includes: indication information. ¶0124 the 4G/5G access network sends the information of rejecting the first access request to the UE. [i.e. sending first indication information to terminal device])
wherein (¶0017 the information for rejecting the first access request includes: indication information on whether the 4G core network allows access.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu, Wang, and Zisimopoulos’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Fan’s teaching of receiving first indication information indicating that the network device supports initial access, because it would enable the device to have knowledge that it can connect to the network in scenario where a first access request is rejected. (see Fan ¶0017)
Re. Claim 34, Liu combined with Fan, Wang, and Zisimopoulos teaches claim 31.
Fan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive second indication information from the network device, (¶0076 the 4G/5G access network transparently transmits the information of rejecting the first access request [i.e. second indication information] to the UE.)
wherein the second indication information indicates that the compatibility problem exists between the terminal device and the network device, (¶0076 the 4G/5G access network transparently transmits the information of rejecting the first access request to the UE. [I.e. indicating a compatibility problem exists by rejecting the access request])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu, Wang, and Zisimopoulos’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Fan’s teaching of receiving second indication information indicating that a compatibility problem exists between a terminal and a network device, because it would enable the device to have knowledge that a first access request is rejected so that it can respond accordingly. (see Fan ¶0017)
Re. Claim 35, Liu combined with Fan, Wang, and Zisimopoulos teaches claim 31.
Fan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: send third indication information to the network device, (¶0009 when the user terminal receives information sent by the 5G core network rejecting the first access request, the user terminal initiates a second access request [i.e. third indication information] to the 4G core network and communicates with the 4G core network;)
wherein the third indication information indicates that the compatibility problem exists between the terminal device and the network device, (¶0062 After receiving the information rejecting the first access request, the UE sends a second access request to the 4G core network [I.e. second access request indicating a compatibility problem exists by rejection of the first access request])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu, Wang, and Zisimopoulos’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Fan’s teaching of sending third indication information indicating that a compatibility problem exists between a terminal and a network device, because it would enable the device to have knowledge that a first access request is rejected so that it can respond accordingly. (see Fan ¶0017)
Re. Claim 36, Liu teaches:
A apparatus comprising: one or more processors, (¶0009 The device includes a processor, a transceiver, a memory and executable programs running on the processor.)
configured to: obtain a second group of parameters corresponding to a first mode, (¶0168-¶0169 the configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs indicate different uplink access configurations for access [i.e. uplink access represents a first mode] …The SIB1 includes an initial uplink BWP information element (IE). The configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs are carried by different initial uplink BWP IEs… the configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs [i.e. second group of parameters] indicate different uplink access configurations for access. The SIB1 includes an initial uplink BWP information element (IE). & ¶0171 The configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs are carried by a same initial uplink BWP IE [i.e. obtaining the first/second group parameters in the IE])
wherein the second group of parameters are predefined parameters corresponding to initial access, (¶0053 the initial access may be configured for the two types of UEs respectively based on the capabilities of the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs in an initial access phase of the two types of UEs. & ¶0171 The configuration information for the first type of UEs [i.e. first /second group of parameters corresponding to initial access] and the configuration information for the second type of UEs are carried by a same initial uplink BWP IE, and the same initial uplink BWP IE includes different random access channel common configurations for the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs.) *Examiner notes that only one limitation has been examined due to the presence of the word “or”.
Yet, Liu does not teach: and when a compatibility problem exists between the terminal device and the network device, accept, based on the second group of parameters, an initial access initiated by the terminal device.
However, in the analogous art, Fan teaches such a limitation:
and when a compatibility problem exists between the terminal device and the network device, accept, based on the second group of parameters, an initial access initiated by the terminal device. (¶0005-¶0006 If it is registered with both the 4G and 5G core networks, the UE can initiate services to both the 4G and 5G core networks [i.e. being registered on the 4G network so it can initiate services requires a first group of parameters being configured for initial access to the networks, where network side 4G registration parameters would be mapped as a second group of parameters]. if a UE in a 5G non-connected state initiates access to the 5G core network, and the 5G core network rejects the UE access for some reason, the UE access fails and needs to return to the original state. ¶0067-¶0069 the UE may or may not have been registered on the 4G core network before sending the first access request… after the UE receives the information that the 5G core network rejects the first access request [i.e. compatibility problem during initial access], it can send a second access request through the wireless connection re-established with the 4G access network [i.e. initiate initial access (second access request) based on second group of parameters (network side 4G access configuration)]. ¶0076 the 4G/5G access network [i.e. 4G/5G network access through single device] transparently transmits the information of rejecting the first access request to the UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Fan’s teaching of initiating, upon a compatibility problem, initial access to a network device based on a first group of parameters, because It would enable the device to return to an original state based on a first group of parameters when initiating access to a network using a second group of parameters fails. (see Fan ¶0006)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the compatibility problem is a parameter compatibility problem between the terminal device and the network device relating to a network in which the initial access is initiated.
However, in the analogous art, Wang teaches such a limitation:
wherein the compatibility problem is a parameter compatibility problem between the terminal device and the network device relating to a network in which the initial access is initiated. (¶0039 In block S103, in response to a second operator to which the terminal belongs being different from the first operator, stopping a random access retry to the target base station and initiating random access to other base station except the target base station. In an embodiment, the terminal may read operator identity information from a SIM or UIM card, [i.e. operator identity information are parameters for terminal to connect to a specific network] in which the identity information may indicate that the terminal belongs to the second operator. & ¶0046 It may be understood that, when the first operator is different from the second operator, the terminal judges that a failure of the access may be due to a compatibility issue caused by different operators and the possibility that a access retry may solve the compatibility issue is not high. Therefore, in order to access the network as soon as possible, the terminal does not initiate new random access to the target base station, but initiates the new random access to other base station instead, [i.e. when a compatibility issue arises due to mismatched/incompatible parameters for network access, the device initiates access to a different base station to maintain connection to the network rather than retrying initial access on the base station with incompatible parameters] thereby avoiding the terminal in a state where its service is unavailable for a long time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu and Fan’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Wang’s teaching of the compatibility problem being a parameter compatibility problem between the terminal device and network device which causes the device to perform initial access based on a first set of configuration parameters, and allows a fallback service option to avoid the terminal being in a state where its service is unavailable for a long time. (see Wang ¶0046)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the first mode corresponds to the compatibility problem existing, and the first group of parameters is different from a group of parameters configured to be used when no compatibility problem exists.
However, in the analogous art, Zisimopoulos teaches:
wherein the first mode corresponds to the compatibility problem existing, (¶0034 A UE that travels to a geographic territory may expect the RAN to operate according to the first variant but may discover that the RAN is configured to operate according to an incompatible variant of the RAT. & ¶0064 the UE 120 may use an RRC protocol to initiate a wireless connection with the selected base station. For example, the UE 120 may send an RRC connection request to the selected base station. & ¶0077 the RRC configuration message 570 may include a configuration setting or parameter associated with a feature defined in the second variant that is not defined in the first variant. For example, the RRC configuration message 570 may include an information element for a modulation scheme setting, phase transform precoding setting, or another feature that is unique to the second variant of the 5G NR RAT. The UE 120 may determine (shown at block 580) that the first base station 510 and the UE 120 are configured to operate according to incompatible variants of the 5G NR RAN based on the contents of the RRC configuration message 570. In some implementations, the UE 120 may include, in the RRC connection request message 565, an indication related to an incompatible capability parameter related to the second variant even though the UE 120 does not support the second variant. [i.e. RRC message 570 includes configuration parameters for initiating a wireless connection (initial access) corresponding to a second variant (mode) in which there is a compatibility issue. Therefore, the RRC configuration between UE and base station using the second variant (first mode) corresponds to a mode in which there is a compatibility problem existing])
and the first group of parameters is different from a group of parameters configured to be used when no compatibility problem exists. (¶0006-¶0007 The method may include receiving indicia that indicates whether a first base station is configured to operate according to a first variant of a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second variant of the first RAT. The first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology. The first variant may be compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology. The second variant may be a forked deviation of the first variant. The second variant may be based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology. & ¶0035 Depending on what changes are adopted in a particular variant implemented by RAN, the variant may be compatible or incompatible with a variant implemented by the UE. In some implementations, compatible variants are those which implement the same standards compliant version of the RAT. A UE may receive indicia that indicates whether a base station of a RAN implements a first variant of a RAT or a second variant of the RAT. & ¶0064 the UE 120 may use an RRC protocol to initiate a wireless connection & ¶0077 the RRC configuration message 570 may include a configuration setting or parameter associated with a feature defined in the second variant that is not defined in the first variant. If the first base station 510 responds with the RRC configuration message 570 including an information element related to the incompatible capability parameter, the UE 120 may assume that the first base station 510 is configured to operate according to the incompatible second variant of the 5G NR RAT. Thus, the UE 120 may discover that the first base station 510 is configured to operate according to the second variant either by receiving an unsolicited configuration setting or parameter associated with a feature defined in the second variant that is not defined in the first variant [i.e. the first and second variant (modes) are defined by different configuration parameters in the RRC message for initiating access. The first variant is considered compatible, therefore with this mode’s parameters no compatibility problem exists. The second variant is considered incompatible, therefore with this mode’s parameters there exists a compatibility problem. The two groups of parameters are different depending on if there is a compatibility issue or not.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu, Fan, and Wang’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Zisimopoulos’s teaching of the first group of parameters being different to a group of parameters used when there is no compatibility issue, because it would allow a UE to initiate wireless connection with a network device when there exists compatibility issues, by receiving indication of the incompatible parameters when initiating the connection. (see Zisimopoulos ¶0077)
Re. Claim 37, Liu combined with Fan, Wang, and Zisimopoulos teaches claim 36.
Liu further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine the second group of parameters from at least two groups of parameters (¶0168-¶0169 the configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs indicate different uplink access configurations for access [i.e. two configurations for access are two groups of parameters to determine from])
based on at least one of the following: a capability of the terminal device, a capability of the network device, a version of the terminal device, or a version of the network device (¶0053 the initial access may be configured for the two types of UEs respectively based on the capabilities of the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs in an initial access phase of the two types of UEs.)
Re. Claim 38, Liu combined with Fan, Wang, and Zisimopoulos teaches claim 36.
Fan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: send first indication information to the terminal device, (¶0017 the information for rejecting the first access request includes: indication information & ¶0124 the 4G/5G access network sends the information of rejecting the first access request to the UE. [i.e. sending first indication information to terminal device])
wherein: the first indication information indicates a first group of parameters used by the terminal device during initiation of initial access to the network device in the first mode, (¶0168-¶0169 the configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs indicate different uplink access configurations for access [i.e. uplink access represents a first mode] …The SIB1 includes an initial uplink BWP information element (IE). The configuration information for the first type of UEs and the configuration information for the second type of UEs are carried by different initial uplink BWP IEs… the configuration information for the first type of UEs [i.e. first group of parameters] and the configuration information for the second type of UEs indicate different uplink access configurations for access.)
and the first group of parameters correspond to the second group of parameters; (¶0053 the initial access may be configured for the two types of UEs respectively based on the capabilities of the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs in an initial access phase of the two types of UEs. & ¶0171 The configuration information for the first type of UEs [i.e. first and second groups of parameters both correspond to initial access to network device] and the configuration information for the second type of UEs are carried by a same initial uplink BWP IE, and the same initial uplink BWP IE includes different random access channel common configurations for the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs.) *Examiner notes that only one limitation has been examined due to the presence of the word “or”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu, Wang, and Zisimopoulos’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Fan’s teaching of receiving first indication information indicating that the network device supports initial access, because it would enable the device to have knowledge that it can connect to the network in scenario where a first access request is rejected. (see Fan ¶0017)
Re. Claim 39, Liu combined with Fan, Wang, and Zisimopoulos teaches claim 36.
Fan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: send second indication information to the terminal device, (¶0076 the 4G/5G access network transparently transmits the information of rejecting the first access [i.e. second indication information] request to the UE.)
wherein the second indication information indicates that the compatibility problem exists between the terminal device and the network device, (¶0076 the 4G/5G access network transparently transmits the information of rejecting the first access request to the UE. [i.e. indication information for indicating a compatibility problem where network access request is rejected])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu, Wang, and Zisimopoulos’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Fan’s teaching of receiving second indication information indicating that a compatibility problem exists between a terminal and a network device, because it would enable the device to have knowledge that a first access request is rejected so that it can respond accordingly. (see Fan ¶0017)
Re. Claim 40, Liu combined with Fan, Wang, and Zisimopoulos teaches claim 36.
Fan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive third indication information from the terminal device, (¶0009 when the user terminal receives information sent by the 5G core network rejecting the first access request, the user terminal initiates a second access request [i.e. third indication information received] to the 4G core network and communicates with the 4G core network;)
wherein the third indication information indicates that the compatibility problem exists between the terminal device and the network device, (¶0062 After receiving the information rejecting the first access request, the UE sends a second access request to the 4G core network without having to determine whether the 4G core network allows access based on the information rejecting the first access request.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu, Wang, and Zisimopoulos’s invention of a configuration information method, communication device to include Fan’s teaching of sending third indication information indicating that a compatibility problem exists between a terminal and a network device, because it would enable the device to have knowledge that a first access request is rejected so that it can respond accordingly. (see Fan ¶0017)
Conclusion
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417