DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2019/0045549, hereinafter Wu, claiming priority date of provisional application 62/540,045, as disclosed in the IDS), in view of YI et al (US 2019/0364602, hereinafter YI, claiming priority date of provisional applications 62/579,085 and 62/576,585, as disclosed in the IDS), in view of Lee et al (US 2021/0144700, hereinafter Lee2, claiming the priority dates of all provisional applications, as disclosed in the IDS), in view of Lee et al (US 2020/0235896, hereinafter Lee, claiming priority date of provisional application 62/561,688 and 62/568,342) and in view of YE (US 2013/0143547, hereinafter YE).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a random access method, comprising: performing, by a terminal device, data transmission based on a configuration parameter of a currently activated first bandwidth part (BWP) (UE and BS communicate via first DL BWP and first UL BWP, Para [0019]); determining, by the terminal device, a first random access resource and a second configuration parameter for random access, and wherein a configuration parameter of a second BWP comprises the first random access resource and the second configuration parameter (UE receives RRC message configuring at least a second DL BWP and/or a second UL BWP and comprises first RACH configuration configuring RACH resources for UE to perform RA in second UL BWP, Para [0020], UE determines what RACH resource to use, Para [0036/37]); sending, by the terminal device, a random access request to the network device on the first random access resource (UE transmits first RA preamble in second UL BWP according to RACH resource, Para [0022]); and receiving, by the terminal device, a random access response according to the second configuration parameter (UE receives a RA response in the second DL BWP in response to the first RA preamble, Para [0023/31]. Also see pages 3-4 from provisional application 62/540,045); but does not disclose determining first RA resource when the currently activated first BWP not including a random access resource when a random access procedure is initiated. Yi discloses a UE has separate RACH resources configured for its active BWP but if there is no RACH resource configuration in its active BWP, a UE may go back to the initial BWP for RACH transmission, Para [0129], (e.g. UE3’s UL BWP does not include any PRACH resource, Para [0155]) and UE can tune to PRACH resource outside its currently active BWP, to transmit PRACH then come back to the active BWP, Para [0178]. Also see pages 14 and 15 from provisional application 62/579,085. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by YI in the system of Wu in order to reduce power consumption of the UE, by configuring UE with different bandwidths according to the traffic load of the UE; nor explicitly discloses wherein the configuration parameter of the first BWP comprises at least one of a first resource offset, a first bandwidth, or a first subcarrier spacing and wherein the second configuration parameter comprises at least one of a second resource offset, a second bandwidth, or a second subcarrier spacing. YI discloses multiple UL BWP configurations, Para [0180], BWP consists of a number of consecutive PRBs, Para [0072] and there is a numerology for configured BWPs, Para [0261] (or page 9). Lee2 discloses a resource offset may be configured for each BWP, Para [0007], therefore a first and second resource offset for first and second BWP or see page 30 of provisional application 62/586,142. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lee2 in the system of Wu in view of YI in order to determine resources to use for transmitting for every BWP; and does not disclose forcibly stopping, by the terminal device, based on the terminal device receiving indication information for deactivating the first BWP, the random-access procedure. Lee discloses UE receives BWP configuration with deactivation timer, Para [0128] or a deactivation message, Para [0129] and the UE may de-active the active BWP and determine the random access procedure has failed on the active BWP, Para [0130] or see page 23, Section 6 of provisional application 62/568,342. YE discloses the random access procedure may be proactively stopped when the RA procedure fails, Para [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lee and YE in the system of Wu in view of YI and Lee2 in order to using a BWP timer to recover from DCI lost cases and to prevent the UE and network from being misaligned in regards to BWP and to properly coordinate multiple RA procedure and handle RA failures.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Wu discloses the method/device/CRM according to claim 1/8/17, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, a random access message 3 to the network device based on the random access response (UE transmits response message to BS according to UL grant in the RA response, Para [0067]).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Wu discloses the method/device/CRM according to claim 2/9/15, wherein the sending, by the terminal device, the random access message 3 to the network device based on the random access response comprises: parsing, by the terminal device, based on the second configuration parameter, second scheduling information carried in the random access response, wherein the second scheduling information indicates a second resource; and sending, by the terminal device, the random access message 3 to the network device on the second resource (UE receives a RAR from the BS in the second DL BWP and transmits a message to the BS according to the UL grant in the RAR, Para [0065, 67], the UL grant being the scheduling information, UE parses RAR on second BWP to find the UL grant).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Wu discloses the method/device/CRM according to claim 1/8/15, wherein at least one of: the first random access resource and the second configuration parameter are associated with the first BWP; the first random access resource and the second configuration parameter are associated with a second BWP. YI discloses multiple UL BWP configurations, Para [0180], BWP consists of a number of consecutive PRBs, Para [0072] and there is a numerology for configured BWPs, Para [0261] (or page 9), in this case first resource is on the second BWP and second BWP has configuration parameters; the first random access resource is a cell-specific random access resource, and the cell-specific random access resource is associated with the second configuration parameter; or the first random access resource and the second configuration parameter are associated with a cell-defining synchronization signal block (SSB).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Wu discloses the method/device/CRM according to claim 4/11/18, wherein at least one of information about the first random access resource or information about the second configuration parameter is carried in a system broadcast message (SIB is included in the RRC message, Para [0032] that configures the RACH resources).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Wu discloses the method/device according to claim 5/12, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message or the system broadcast message carries a configuration parameter of the second BWP, and wherein the configuration parameter of the second BWP comprises the second configuration parameter. Wu discloses RRC message configures second DL BWP, Para [0020] and YI discloses multiple UL BWP configurations, Para [0180], BWP consists of a number of consecutive PRBs, Para [0072] and there is a numerology for configured BWPs, Para [0261] (or page 9).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses a device (device, Fig. 2), comprising: a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (processing circuitry and storage device, Fig. 2) storing a program to be executed by the processor, the program including instructions for: performing data transmission based on a configuration parameter of a currently activated first bandwidth part (BWP) (UE and BS communicate via first DL BWP and first UL BWP, Para [0019]); determining a first random access resource and a second configuration parameter for random access and wherein a configuration parameter of a second BWP comprises the first random access resource and the second configuration parameter (UE receives RRC message configuring at least a second DL BWP and/or a second UL BWP and comprises first RACH configuration configuring RACH resources for UE to perform RA in second UL BWP, Para [0020], UE determines what RACH resource to use, Para [0036/37]); sending a random access request to the network device on the first random access resource (UE transmits first RA preamble in second UL BWP according to RACH resource, Para [0022]); and receiving a random access response according to the second configuration parameter(UE receives a RA response in the second DL BWP in response to the first RA preamble, Para [0023/31]. Also see pages 3-4 from provisional application 62/540,045); wherein receiving the random access response according to the second configuration parameter comprises: determining first scheduling information according to the second configuration parameter, wherein the first scheduling information indicates a first resource (RRC message configures second DL BWP, Para [0020]); and receiving, by the terminal device on the first resource, the random access response from the network device (UE receives RAR on the second DL BWP, Para [0023]); but does not disclose determining first RA resource when the currently activated first BWP not including a random access resource when a random access procedure is initiated. Yi discloses a UE has separate RACH resources configured for its active BWP but if there is no RACH resource configuration in its active BWP, a UE may go back to the initial BWP for RACH transmission, Para [0129], (e.g. UE3’s UL BWP does not include any PRACH resource, Para [0155]) and UE can tune to PRACH resource outside its currently active BWP, to transmit PRACH then come back to the active BWP, Para [0178]. Also see pages 14 and 15 from provisional application 62/579,085; nor explicitly discloses wherein the configuration parameter of the first BWP comprises at least one of a first resource offset, a first bandwidth, or a first subcarrier spacing and wherein the second configuration parameter comprises at least one of a second resource offset, a second bandwidth, or a second subcarrier spacing. YI discloses multiple UL BWP configurations, Para [0180], BWP consists of a number of consecutive PRBs, Para [0072] and there is a numerology for configured BWPs, Para [0261] (or page 9). Lee2 discloses a resource offset may be configured for each BWP, Para [0007], therefore a first and second resource offset for first and second BWP or see page 30 of provisional application 62/586,142; and does not disclose forcibly stopping, by the terminal device, based on the terminal device receiving indication information for deactivating the first BWP, the random-access procedure. Lee discloses UE receives BWP configuration with deactivation timer, Para [0128] or a deactivation message, Para [0129] and the UE may de-active the active BWP and determine the random access procedure has failed on the active BWP, Para [0130] or see page 23, Section 6 of provisional application 62/568,342. YE discloses the random access procedure may be proactively stopped when the RA procedure fails, Para [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lee and YE in the system of Wu in view of YI and Lee2 in order to using a BWP timer to recover from DCI lost cases and to prevent the UE and network from being misaligned in regards to BWP and to properly coordinate multiple RA procedure and handle RA failures.
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (computer readable medium, Para [0015]) storing a program to be executed by a processor, the program including instructions for: performing data transmission based on a configuration parameter of a currently activated first bandwidth part (BWP) (UE and BS communicate via first DL BWP and first UL BWP, Para [0019]); determining a first random access resource and a second configuration parameter for random access, and wherein a configuration parameter of a second BWP comprises the first random access resource and the second configuration parameter (UE receives RRC message configuring at least a second DL BWP and/or a second UL BWP and comprises first RACH configuration configuring RACH resources for UE to perform RA in second UL BWP, Para [0020], UE determines what RACH resource to use, Para [0036/37]); sending a random access request to the network device on the first random access resource (UE transmits first RA preamble in second UL BWP according to RACH resource, Para [0022]); and receiving a random access response according to the second configuration parameter (UE receives a RA response in the second DL BWP in response to the first RA preamble, Para [0023/31]. Also see pages 3-4 from provisional application 62/540,045); wherein receiving the random access response according to the second configuration parameter comprises: determining first scheduling information according to the second configuration parameter, wherein the first scheduling information indicates a first resource; (RRC message configures second DL BWP, Para [0020]); and receiving, by the terminal device on the first resource, the random access response from the network device (UE receives RAR on the second DL BWP, Para [0023]); but does not disclose determining first RA resource when the currently activated first BWP not including a random access resource when a random access procedure is initiated. Yi discloses a UE has separate RACH resources configured for its active BWP but if there is no RACH resource configuration in its active BWP, a UE may go back to the initial BWP for RACH transmission, Para [0129], (e.g. UE3’s UL BWP does not include any PRACH resource, Para [0155]) and UE can tune to PRACH resource outside its currently active BWP, to transmit PRACH then come back to the active BWP, Para [0178]. Also see pages 14 and 15 from provisional application 62/579,085; nor explicitly discloses wherein the configuration parameter of the first BWP comprises at least one of a first resource offset, a first bandwidth, or a first subcarrier spacing and wherein the second configuration parameter comprises at least one of a second resource offset, a second bandwidth, or a second subcarrier spacing. YI discloses multiple UL BWP configurations, Para [0180], BWP consists of a number of consecutive PRBs, Para [0072] and there is a numerology for configured BWPs, Para [0261] (or page 9). Lee2 discloses a resource offset may be configured for each BWP, Para [0007], therefore a first and second resource offset for first and second BWP or see page 30 of provisional application 62/586,142; and does not disclose forcibly stopping, by the terminal device, based on the terminal device receiving indication information for deactivating the first BWP, the random-access procedure. Lee discloses UE receives BWP configuration with deactivation timer, Para [0128] or a deactivation message, Para [0129] and the UE may de-active the active BWP and determine the random access procedure has failed on the active BWP, Para [0130] or see page 23, Section 6 of provisional application 62/568,342. YE discloses the random access procedure may be proactively stopped when the RA procedure fails, Para [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lee and YE in the system of Wu in view of YI and Lee2 in order to using a BWP timer to recover from DCI lost cases and to prevent the UE and network from being misaligned in regards to BWP and to properly coordinate multiple RA procedure and handle RA failures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Lee discloses failure of RA procedure and deactivation of the BWP and Yi discloses failure of RACH procedure during RAR reception. Applicant argues the RA procedure is forcibly stopped based on the terminal device receiving an indication for deactivating the first BWP. In response, Applicant has amended the limitation from dependent claim 7, but removed “or determining by the terminal device the current RA procedure fails”. The prior references disclosed this prior limitation, where in response to the new amendment another prior art reference is being used in the current office action. Further, Applicant highlights the word “forcibly”, in arguments, which does not appear in the original specification. Examiner interprets the limitation as the UE stops the RA procedure based on receiving the indication information for deactivating the first BWP.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461