DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 8/09/2023. Claims 1-16 are pending for prosecution below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file on 1/28/2026 and 11/26/2025 has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1,2,10,13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,2,5-6,10-12, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12100965. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant are substantially identical to the claims similar subject matter within claim(s) 1,2,5-6,10-12, and 17 of patent 12100965 contain(s) every element of claim(s) 1 of the instant application and as such anticipates (s) claim(s) 1,2,10,13-16 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karanikos et al, (USNO.2017/0070076).
As for claim 1, Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 2-4, a charging device, comprising: a base configured to receive a wearable ring device ( via wearable electronic device in a loop shape for the wrist) in a plurality of radial orientations (implied based on rotation the housing) relative to the base; a mechanical component (via housing) of the base configured to exert a mechanical force against the wearable ring device to position the wearable ring device against the base and orient the wearable ring device in a single radial orientation relative to the base from the plurality of radial orientations when the wearable ring device is received by the base; and an inductive charging component (via charging surface) of the base configured to wirelessly charge the wearable ring device through inductive coupling with an inductive charging component of the wearable ring device when the mechanical component exerts the mechanical force against the wearable ring device and when the wearable ring device is radially oriented according to the single radial orientation, wherein the single radial orientation is configured to position the inductive charging component of the wearable ring device within a threshold distance from the inductive charging component of the base (par.[0051-0057,0060-0061]).
As for claim 2 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 2-4 mechanical component (implied by the shape of the device designed for the housing) is configured to prevent the wearable ring device from coupling with the base when the wearable ring device is oriented in a subset of radial orientations of the plurality of radial orientations excluding the single radial orientation
As for claim 3 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 2-4 mechanical component (implied by the shape of the device designed for the housing opening) is configured to prevent the wearable ring device from coupling with the base when the wearable ring device is oriented in a subset of radial orientations of the plurality of radial orientations excluding the single radial orientation
As for claim 4 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 12-13 base is configured to receive wearable ring devices associated with a plurality of sizes (implied by the shape of the device designed for the housing opening), and wherein the mechanical component is configured to exert the mechanical force against the wearable ring devices associated with the plurality of sizes to orient the wearable ring devices on the base for charging
As for claim 5 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 12-13 an adjustment mechanism (via ref’s tensioner) configured to selectively adjust a location of the mechanical component on or within the base, a magnitude of the mechanical force exerted by the mechanical component, or both (par.[0073-0074]).
As for claim 6 , Karanikos discloses and shows a magnitude of the mechanical force is based at least in part on the threshold distance (par.[0073-0074]).
As for claim 7 , Karanikos discloses and shows the mechanical component comprises a mechanical flap, a spring mechanism, a flexible band, or any combination thereof (par.[0073-0074]).
As for claim 8 , Karanikos discloses and shows the mechanical component is fixedly coupled with the base
As for claim 9 , Karanikos discloses and shows base and the mechanical component are manufactured together via a molding process, a three- dimensional printing process, or both
As for claim 10 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 2-4 base comprises a support component, the base further configured to: couple the wearable ring device to the support component based on the wearable ring device at least partially surrounding the support component, wherein the plurality of radial orientations are defined relative to an axis of the support component
As for claim 11 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 2-4 a magnetic component of the base configured to magnetically attract a magnetic component of the wearable ring device to orient the wearable ring device in the single radial orientation relative to the base
As for claim 12 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 2-4 mechanical component, the magnetic component, or both, are configured to: exert a tangential force on the wearable ring device relative to an axis of the base, the tangential force arranging the wearable ring device in the single radial orientation
As for claim 13 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Fig.11 tangential force is configured to rotate the wearable ring device clockwise relative to the axis of the base, counterclockwise relative to the axis of the base, or both
As for claim 14 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 2-4 the magnetic component of the base comprises a plurality of magnets arranged according to a pattern based at least in part on a polarity of each magnet of the plurality of magnets (par.[0087])
As for claim 15 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 2-4 inductive charging component of the base comprises a transmitter coil, ferrite tape, or both
As for claim 16 , Karanikos discloses and shows in Figs. 2-4threshold distance is based at least in part on one or more parameters associated with the inductive charging component of the charging device, the inductive charging component of the wearable ring device, or both
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859