DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s remarks from the pre-appear brief request submitted on 06/24/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 03/24/2026. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-30 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 12-13, 16-19, 23 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Tsai et al. (2025/0267758), Tsai758 hereinafter, in view of van der van der Zee et al. (2022/0191788 as submitted in IDS, Corresponding to WO 2020194158), van der Zee hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 28, Tsai758 teaches a method (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0358/¶0380-¶0381/¶0412) of wireless communication (Fig. 15/Fig. 21-25) at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 21-25, wireless device / Fig. 15, 1502), and an apparatus (Fig. 21-25, wireless device / Fig. 15, 1502) for wireless communication (Fig. 15/Fig. 21-25) at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 21-25, wireless device / Fig. 15, 1502), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 15, 1524); and at least one processor (Fig. 15, 1518) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (Fig. 15 & ¶0221-¶0222), the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a network node, a downlink (DL) end of communication (EOC) indication to trigger a status indication (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0358 - a NW (e.g., gNB) may send an End of Burst Indication (EOBI) to the wireless device. When the wireless device receives the EOBI, the wireless device may switch from a DRX Active State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is in an DRX Active Time) to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is outside an DRX Active Time, stops (e.g., does not run) DRX Timer(s) and/or skips PDCCH monitoring) to save power. Fig. 21-25 & ¶0380 - After receiving the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may switch to the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) when/after the wireless device sends a response/indication/feedback information to the NW. 21-25 & ¶0381 - The feedback information may be a ACK and/or a NACK information. The ACK and/or the NACK information may be a feedback information for the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring). Fig. 21-25 & ¶0412 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may keep in the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) until the wireless device triggers a BSR, SR, and/or RA procedure.); and transmit, to the network node and based on the DL EOC indication, the status indication indicative of a status of (i) a buffer of the UE or a delay of the UE (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0412 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may keep in the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) until the wireless device triggers a BSR, SR, and/or RA procedure . Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation),
Yet, Tsai758 does not expressly teach an estimated time that indicates a time at which the UE estimates an arrival of a next uplink (UL) packet.
However, in the analogous art, van der Zee explicitly discloses an estimated time that indicates a time at which the UE estimates an arrival of a next uplink (UL) packet (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0018 - determining the transmission gap comprises determining the transmission gap based on: (a) tolerated latency for a transmission, (b) predicted traffic burst arrival, (c) predicted UL traffic burst, or (d) any combination of two or more of a-c. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0053 - a method performed by a wireless device (e.g., for reducing energy consumption) comprises generating a signal indicating that transmission and/or reception can be delayed for a duration of a specified time gap. The method further includes a step of transmitting the signal wirelessly to the base station/network. Generating the signal indicating that transmission and/or reception can be delayed for a duration of a specified time gap may include determining a permissible transmission gap based on tolerated latency, predicted traffic burst arrival, or predicted UL traffic burst generation. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0063 - As depicted in FIG. 2, in a step 200, the UE determines a permissible transmission gap length. The determination may be based on tolerated latency, predicted traffic burst arrival, predicted uplink traffic burst, etc. For instance, the UE obtains current latency/delay constraints from application traffic pattern information (i.e., traffic pattern information for one or more applications executing at the UE), or next packet estimate (i.e., an estimate of when a next packet may be expected to be transmitted/received by the UE), etc. The UE determines a permissible gap (i.e., a PTG or PTG length) until a next transmission….The gap length may be specified in absolute numbers (i.e., number of slots or milliseconds) …. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0064 - In a step 210, the UE provides PTG assistance signaling to the network, using, e.g., Uplink Control Information (UCI) over Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)/Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) …. the UE provides a message or information to the network that includes PTG assistance information. The PTG assistance information may convey the permissible gap length in slots, milliseconds, etc., or, e.g., that the permissible gap extends to the beginning of the next CDRX ON-duration. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0065 - The PTG < Permissible Transmission Gap, i.e., the assistance information by the UE, see ¶0049, Fig.1-3 > could also be signaled via semi-static Radio Resource Control (RRC) UE assistance information, where the UE indicates “I expect not to have more data for x slots after sending BSR=0” or “I can tolerate x slots of delay after having sent BSR=0”, where BSR refers to “buffer status report”. The PTG assistance information can also be sent together with BSR=0 signaling ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system to include van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for new types of assistance information that are useful for PDCCH monitoring reduction, in turns, assist in further reducing power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0008/¶0062, van der Zee)
Re. Claims 2 and 29, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claims 1 and 28.
Yet, Tsai758 does not expressly teach receiving, from the network node, a power state switching indication that indicates a mode of operation for the UE based on at least one of the status of the buffer of the UE, the delay of the UE, or the estimated time.
However, in the analogous art, van der Zee explicitly discloses receiving, from the network node, a power state switching indication that indicates a mode of operation for the UE based on at least one of the status of the buffer of the UE, the delay of the UE, or the estimated time. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0016 - receiving, from the network node, a PDCCH monitoring configuration message that changes a current PDCCH monitoring mode of the wireless device to a new PDCCH monitoring mode that grants the transmission gap indicated by the wireless device. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0053 - a method performed by a wireless device (e.g., for reducing energy consumption) comprises generating a signal indicating that transmission and/or reception can be delayed for a duration of a specified time gap. The method further includes a step of transmitting the signal wirelessly to the base station/network. Generating the signal indicating that transmission and/or reception can be delayed for a duration of a specified time gap may include determining a permissible transmission gap based on tolerated latency, predicted traffic burst arrival, or predicted UL traffic burst generation. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0063 - As depicted in FIG. 2, in a step 200, the UE determines a permissible transmission gap length. The determination may be based on tolerated latency, predicted traffic burst arrival, predicted uplink traffic burst, etc. For instance, the UE obtains current latency/delay constraints from application traffic pattern information (i.e., traffic pattern information for one or more applications executing at the UE), or next packet estimate (i.e., an estimate of when a next packet may be expected to be transmitted/received by the UE), etc. The UE determines a permissible gap (i.e., a PTG or PTG length) until a next transmission….The gap length may be specified in absolute numbers (i.e., number of slots or milliseconds). Fig. 2-3 & ¶0064 - In a step 210, the UE provides PTG assistance signaling to the network, using, e.g., Uplink Control Information (UCI) over Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)/Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). In other words, the UE provides a message or information to the network that includes PTG assistance information. The PTG assistance information may convey the permissible gap length in slots, milliseconds, etc., or, e.g., that the permissible gap extends to the beginning of the next CDRX ON-duration. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0069 - In step 315, the network node determines a PDCCH monitoring mode for the UE. More specifically, the network determines whether the PTG value should be applied to the upcoming PDCCH monitoring. If applying the PTG value does not incur adverse network impact, the network node may consider applying the PTG value and determine a PDCCH monitoring mode that allows the UE to operate at a lower power/energy level during the PTG duration. The PDCCH monitoring mode selection may include transmitting a Go-To-Sleep (GTS) signal, transmitting a PDCCH skipping command, configuring a sparser search space, configuring cross-slot scheduling, etc. If there would be an adverse impact from delaying potential traffic bursts that occur during a gap (e.g., less efficient scheduler utilization, or undesirable signaling overhead), the network node may ignore the PTG signaling. Alternatively, the network node can configure a PTG timer such that the UE can switch to a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring mode after the PTG timer is expired and no scheduling PDCCH is received in that period. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0070 - In a step 320, which is optional, if the mode determined in step 315 differs from the current mode, the network node configures the UE to operate using the PDCCH monitoring mode determined in step 315.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system to include van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for new types of assistance information that are useful for PDCCH monitoring reduction, in turns, assist in further reducing power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0008/¶0062, van der Zee)
Re. claims 16 and 30, Tsai758 teaches a method (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0358/¶0380-¶0381/¶0412) of wireless communication (Fig. 15/Fig. 21-25) at a network node (Fig. 21-25, gNB / Fig. 15, 1501), and an apparatus (Fig. 21-25, gNB / Fig. 15, 1504) for wireless communication (Fig. 15/Fig. 21-25) at a network node (Fig. 21-25, gNB / Fig. 15, 1504), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 15, 1514); and at least one processor (Fig. 15, 1508) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (Fig. 15 & ¶0221-¶0222), the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink (DL) end of communication (EOC) indication to trigger a status indication (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0358 - a NW (e.g., gNB) may send an End of Burst Indication (EOBI) to the wireless device. When the wireless device receives the EOBI, the wireless device may switch from a DRX Active State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is in an DRX Active Time) to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is outside an DRX Active Time, stops (e.g., does not run) DRX Timer(s) and/or skips PDCCH monitoring) to save power. Fig. 21-25 & ¶0380 - After receiving the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may switch to the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) when/after the wireless device sends a response/indication/feedback information to the NW. 21-25 & ¶0381 - The feedback information may be a ACK and/or a NACK information. The ACK and/or the NACK information may be a feedback information for the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring). Fig. 21-25 & ¶0412 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may keep in the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) until the wireless device triggers a BSR, SR, and/or RA procedure.); and receive, from the UE and based on the DL EOC indication, the status indication indicative of a status of (i) a buffer of the UE or a delay of the UE (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0412 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may keep in the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) until the wireless device triggers a BSR, SR, and/or RA procedure. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation),
Yet, Tsai758 does not expressly teach an estimated time that indicates a time at which the UE estimates an arrival of a next uplink (UL) packet.
However, in the analogous art, van der Zee explicitly discloses an estimated time that indicates a time at which the UE estimates an arrival of a next uplink (UL) packet (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0018 - determining the transmission gap comprises determining the transmission gap based on: (a) tolerated latency for a transmission, (b) predicted traffic burst arrival, (c) predicted UL traffic burst, or (d) any combination of two or more of a-c. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0053 - a method performed by a wireless device (e.g., for reducing energy consumption) comprises generating a signal indicating that transmission and/or reception can be delayed for a duration of a specified time gap. The method further includes a step of transmitting the signal wirelessly to the base station/network. Generating the signal indicating that transmission and/or reception can be delayed for a duration of a specified time gap may include determining a permissible transmission gap based on tolerated latency, predicted traffic burst arrival, or predicted UL traffic burst generation. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0063 - As depicted in FIG. 2, in a step 200, the UE determines a permissible transmission gap length. The determination may be based on tolerated latency, predicted traffic burst arrival, predicted uplink traffic burst, etc. For instance, the UE obtains current latency/delay constraints from application traffic pattern information (i.e., traffic pattern information for one or more applications executing at the UE), or next packet estimate (i.e., an estimate of when a next packet may be expected to be transmitted/received by the UE), etc. The UE determines a permissible gap (i.e., a PTG or PTG length) until a next transmission….The gap length may be specified in absolute numbers (i.e., number of slots or milliseconds) …. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0064 - In a step 210, the UE provides PTG assistance signaling to the network, using, e.g., Uplink Control Information (UCI) over Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)/Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) …. the UE provides a message or information to the network that includes PTG assistance information. The PTG assistance information may convey the permissible gap length in slots, milliseconds, etc., or, e.g., that the permissible gap extends to the beginning of the next CDRX ON-duration. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0065 - The PTG < Permissible Transmission Gap, i.e., the assistance information by the UE, see ¶0049, Fig.1-3 > could also be signaled via semi-static Radio Resource Control (RRC) UE assistance information, where the UE indicates “I expect not to have more data for x slots after sending BSR=0” or “I can tolerate x slots of delay after having sent BSR=0”, where BSR refers to “buffer status report”. The PTG assistance information can also be sent together with BSR=0 signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system to include van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for new types of assistance information that are useful for PDCCH monitoring reduction, in turns, assist in further reducing power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0008/¶0062, van der Zee)
Re. Claim 17, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claim 16.
Yet, Tsai758 does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor , is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a power state switching indication that indicates a mode of operation for the UE based on at least one of the status of the buffer of the UE , the delay of the UE, or the estimated time.
However, in the analogous art, van der Zee explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 4, 404) , is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a power state switching indication that indicates a mode of operation for the UE based on at least one of the status of the buffer of the UE , the delay of the UE, or the estimated time. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0016 - receiving, from the network node, a PDCCH monitoring configuration message that changes a current PDCCH monitoring mode of the wireless device to a new PDCCH monitoring mode that grants the transmission gap indicated by the wireless device. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0053 - a method performed by a wireless device (e.g., for reducing energy consumption) comprises generating a signal indicating that transmission and/or reception can be delayed for a duration of a specified time gap. The method further includes a step of transmitting the signal wirelessly to the base station/network. Generating the signal indicating that transmission and/or reception can be delayed for a duration of a specified time gap may include determining a permissible transmission gap based on tolerated latency, predicted traffic burst arrival, or predicted UL traffic burst generation. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0063 - As depicted in FIG. 2, in a step 200, the UE determines a permissible transmission gap length. The determination may be based on tolerated latency, predicted traffic burst arrival, predicted uplink traffic burst, etc. For instance, the UE obtains current latency/delay constraints from application traffic pattern information (i.e., traffic pattern information for one or more applications executing at the UE), or next packet estimate (i.e., an estimate of when a next packet may be expected to be transmitted/received by the UE), etc. The UE determines a permissible gap (i.e., a PTG or PTG length) until a next transmission….The gap length may be specified in absolute numbers (i.e., number of slots or milliseconds). Fig. 2-3 & ¶0064 - In a step 210, the UE provides PTG assistance signaling to the network, using, e.g., Uplink Control Information (UCI) over Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)/Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). In other words, the UE provides a message or information to the network that includes PTG assistance information. The PTG assistance information may convey the permissible gap length in slots, milliseconds, etc., or, e.g., that the permissible gap extends to the beginning of the next CDRX ON-duration. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0069 - In step 315, the network node determines a PDCCH monitoring mode for the UE. More specifically, the network determines whether the PTG value should be applied to the upcoming PDCCH monitoring. If applying the PTG value does not incur adverse network impact, the network node may consider applying the PTG value and determine a PDCCH monitoring mode that allows the UE to operate at a lower power/energy level during the PTG duration. The PDCCH monitoring mode selection may include transmitting a Go-To-Sleep (GTS) signal, transmitting a PDCCH skipping command, configuring a sparser search space, configuring cross-slot scheduling, etc. If there would be an adverse impact from delaying potential traffic bursts that occur during a gap (e.g., less efficient scheduler utilization, or undesirable signaling overhead), the network node may ignore the PTG signaling. Alternatively, the network node can configure a PTG timer such that the UE can switch to a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring mode after the PTG timer is expired and no scheduling PDCCH is received in that period. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0070 - In a step 320, which is optional, if the mode determined in step 315 differs from the current mode, the network node configures the UE to operate using the PDCCH monitoring mode determined in step 315.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system to include van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for new types of assistance information that are useful for PDCCH monitoring reduction, in turns, assist in further reducing power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0008/¶0062, van der Zee)
Re. Claims 3 and 18, Tsai758and van der Zee teach claims 2 and 17.
Tsai758 further teaches wherein the mode of operation for the UE is: a first mode in which the UE is configured to operate in an UL mode and a DL mode; a second mode in which the UE is configured to operate in the UL mode and not in the DL mode; a third mode in which the UE is configured to operate with a modem off; a fourth mode in which the UE is configured to skip monitoring for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0369 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may stop one or more DRX timer(s). Fig. 21-25 & ¶0373 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may perform PDCCH skipping. . Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation); or a fifth mode in which the UE is configured to operate in the DL mode and not in the UL mode.
Re. Claims 4 and 19, Tsai758and van der Zee teach claims 3 and 18.
Tsai758further teaches wherein the power state switching indication is based on the DL EOC indication and is comprised in downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0358 - a NW (e.g., gNB) may send an End of Burst Indication (EOBI) to the wireless device. When the wireless device receives the EOBI, the wireless device may switch from a DRX Active State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is in an DRX Active Time) to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is outside an DRX Active Time, stops (e.g., does not run) DRX Timer(s) and/or skips PDCCH monitoring) to save power. Fig. 21-25 & ¶0380 - After receiving the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may switch to the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) when/after the wireless device sends a response/indication/feedback information to the NW. Fig. 28-29 & ¶0431 - The wireless device may receive downlink control information (DCI) indicating an end of the one or more data packets. The wireless device may transmit feedback information of the DCI.),
Yet, Tsai758 does not expressly teach wherein the power state switching indication indicates at least one of: to operate in the third mode based on (i) an amount of data in the buffer of the UE being zero or (ii) a capability of the UE to delay transmission of a data packet; or to operate in the second mode based on the amount of data in the buffer of the UE being non-zero.
However, in the analogous art, van der Zee explicitly discloses wherein the power state switching indication indicates at least one of: to operate in the third mode based on (i) an amount of data in the buffer of the UE being zero (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0009 - information is provided to the network node that enables scheduling UL and DL data transmissions to the wireless device during the transmission gap, thereby enabling the wireless device to reduce power consumption by, e.g., entering a sleep state (i.e., modem or Radio is off during the transmission gap) during the transmission gap. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0017 - The method further comprises going into a sleep state (i.e., modem or Radio is off during the transmission gap) for the transmission gap. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0065 - The PTG does not necessarily have to be signaled “dynamically”, i.e. it could also be signaled via semi-static Radio Resource Control (RRC) UE assistance information, where the UE indicates “I expect not to have more data for x slots after sending BSR=0” or “I can tolerate x slots of delay after having sent BSR=0”, where BSR refers to “buffer status report”. The PTG assistance information can also be sent together with BSR=0 signaling. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0069 - In step 315, the network node determines a PDCCH monitoring mode for the UE. More specifically, the network determines whether the PTG value should be applied to the upcoming PDCCH monitoring. If applying the PTG value does not incur adverse network impact, the network node may consider applying the PTG value and determine a PDCCH monitoring mode that allows the UE to operate at a lower power/energy level during the PTG duration. The PDCCH monitoring mode selection may include transmitting a Go-To-Sleep (GTS) signal, transmitting a PDCCH skipping command, configuring a sparser search space, configuring cross-slot scheduling, etc. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one off” and “or” in the limitation) or (ii) a capability of the UE to delay transmission of a data packet; or to operate in the second mode based on the amount of data in the buffer of the UE being non-zero.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system to include van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for new types of assistance information that are useful for PDCCH monitoring reduction, in turns, assist in further reducing power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0008/¶0062, van der Zee)
Re. Claim 6, Tsai758and van der Zee teach claim 2.
Tsai758 further teaches wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 3, 340), is further configured to: switch to the mode of operation for the UE based on the power state switching indication (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0358 - a NW (e.g., gNB) may send an End of Burst Indication (EOBI) to the wireless device. When the wireless device receives the EOBI, the wireless device may switch from a DRX Active State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is in an DRX Active Time) to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is outside an DRX Active Time, stops (e.g., does not run) DRX Timer(s) and/or skips PDCCH monitoring) to save power. Fig. 21-25 & ¶0380 - After receiving the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may switch to the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) when/after the wireless device sends a response/indication/feedback information to the NW. 21-25 & ¶0381 - The feedback information may be a ACK and/or a NACK information. The ACK and/or the NACK information may be a feedback information for the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring). Fig. 21-25 & ¶0412 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may keep in the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) until the wireless device triggers a BSR, SR, and/or RA procedure.).
Re. Claims 9 and 23, Tsai758 and van der Zee claims 1 and 16.
Yet, Tsai758 does not expressly teach wherein the status indication comprises at least one of: a buffer status report (BSR) that is comprised in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE); or a delay status report (DSR) that indicates the status of the delay of the UE; and wherein the EOC is at least one of an end of burst (EOB) indication, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) skipping indication, a discontinuous reception (DRX) MAC-CE, a DL end of retransmissions indication, a DL feedback indication (DFI) that indicates an acknowledgement (ACK) for UL packets, or a Layer 1 (L1) or Layer 2 (L2) signaling of an end of cell DRX or an end of DRX active time.
However, in the analogous art, van der Zee explicitly discloses wherein the status indication comprises at least one of: a buffer status report (BSR) that is comprised in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Fig. 1/ Fig.2-3 & ¶0064 - In a step 210, the UE provides PTG assistance signaling to the network, using, e.g., Uplink Control Information (UCI) over Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)/Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). Fig. 1/ Fig.2-3 & ¶0065 - The PTG does not necessarily have to be signaled “dynamically”, i.e. it could also be signaled via semi-static Radio Resource Control (RRC) UE assistance information, where the UE indicates “I expect not to have more data for x slots after sending BSR=0” or “I can tolerate x slots of delay after having sent BSR=0”, where BSR refers to “buffer status report”. The PTG assistance information can also be sent together with BSR=0 signaling. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one off” and “or” in the limitation); or a delay status report (DSR) that indicates the status of the delay of the UE; and wherein the EOC is at least one of an end of burst (EOB) indication (Fig. 1/ Fig.12-13 & ¶0007 - EOTB signaling by the UE has been proposed as a way for the UE to assist the network whereby the UE may, e.g., consult the application layer and indicate that no further data arrival is expected. Fig. 1/ Fig.12-13 & ¶0056 - The PTG signaling, indicating a permitted delay until the next traffic transmission, differs from End of Traffic Burst (EOTB) signaling, which according to current formulation is aimed solely at indicating that the current traffic burst has ended and that no more immediate data transmission is expected. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) skipping indication, a discontinuous reception (DRX) MAC-CE, a DL end of retransmissions indication, a DL feedback indication (DFI) that indicates an acknowledgement (ACK) for UL packets, or a Layer 1 (L1) or Layer 2 (L2) signaling of an end of cell DRX or an end of DRX active time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system to include van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for new types of assistance information that are useful for PDCCH monitoring reduction, in turns, assist in further reducing power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0008/¶0062, van der Zee)
Re. Claim 12, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claim 1.
Tsai758 further teaches wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 15, 1508), is further configured to: switch, autonomously by the UE, to a mode of operation for the UE subsequent to transmission of the status indication (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0358 - a NW (e.g., gNB) may send an End of Burst Indication (EOBI) to the wireless device. When the wireless device receives the EOBI, the wireless device may switch from a DRX Active State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is in an DRX Active Time) to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is outside an DRX Active Time, stops (e.g., does not run) DRX Timer(s) and/or skips PDCCH monitoring) to save power. Fig. 21-25 & ¶0380 - After receiving the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may switch to the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) when/after the wireless device sends a response/indication/feedback information to the NW. 21-25 & ¶0381 - The feedback information may be a ACK and/or a NACK information. The ACK and/or the NACK information may be a feedback information for the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring). Fig. 21-25 & ¶0412 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may keep in the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) until the wireless device triggers a BSR, SR, and/or RA procedure. Fig. 28-29 & ¶0431 - The wireless device may receive downlink control information (DCI) indicating an end of the one or more data packets. The wireless device may transmit feedback information of the DCI.), wherein the mode of operation for the UE is: a first mode in which the UE is configured to operate in an UL mode and a DL mode; a second mode in which the UE is configured to operate in the UL mode and not in the DL mode; a third mode in which the UE is configured to operate with a modem off; a fourth mode in which the UE is configured to skip monitoring for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0358 - a NW (e.g., gNB) may send an End of Burst Indication (EOBI) to the wireless device. When the wireless device receives the EOBI, the wireless device may switch from a DRX Active State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is in an DRX Active Time) to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is outside an DRX Active Time, stops (e.g., does not run) DRX Timer(s) and/or skips PDCCH monitoring) to save power. Fig. 21-25 & ¶0369 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may stop one or more DRX timer(s).Fig. 21-25 & ¶0380 - After receiving the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may switch to the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) when/after the wireless device sends a response/indication/feedback information to the NW. Fig. 21-25 & ¶0373 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may perform PDCCH skipping. 21-25 & ¶0381 - The feedback information may be a ACK and/or a NACK information. The ACK and/or the NACK information may be a feedback information for the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring). Fig. 21-25 & ¶0412 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may keep in the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) until the wireless device triggers a BSR, SR, and/or RA procedure. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation); or a fifth mode in which the UE is configured to operate in the DL mode and not in the UL mode.
Re. Claim 13, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claim 12.
Yet, Tsai758 does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: transmit, for the network node, an operation indication that indicates operation of the UE for the third mode or the second mode, wherein the operation indication is comprised in at least one of uplink control information (UCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or UE assistance information (UAI).
However, in the analogous art, van der Zee explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 7, 700), is further configured to: transmit, for the network node, an operation indication that indicates operation of the UE for the third mode or the second mode, wherein the operation indication is comprised in at least one of uplink control information (UCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0009 - information is provided to the network node that enables scheduling UL and DL data transmissions to the wireless device during the transmission gap, thereby enabling the wireless device to reduce power consumption by, e.g., entering a sleep state (i.e., modem or Radio is off during the transmission gap) during the transmission gap. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0017 - The method further comprises going into a sleep state (i.e., modem or Radio is off during the transmission gap) for the transmission gap. Fig. 1/ Fig.2-3 & ¶0064 - In a step 210, the UE provides PTG assistance signaling to the network, using, e.g., Uplink Control Information (UCI) over Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)/Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). Fig. 1/ Fig.12-13 & ¶0065 - The PTG does not necessarily have to be signaled “dynamically”, i.e. it could also be signaled via semi-static Radio Resource Control (RRC) UE assistance information, where the UE indicates “I expect not to have more data for x slots after sending BSR=0” or “I can tolerate x slots of delay after having sent BSR=0”, where BSR refers to “buffer status report”. The PTG assistance information can also be sent together with BSR=0 signaling. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one off” and “or” in the limitation), or UE assistance information (UAI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system to include van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for new types of assistance information that are useful for PDCCH monitoring reduction, in turns, assist in further reducing power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0008/¶0062, van der Zee)
Claims 7-8, 10, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai758, in view of van der Zee, further in view of Esswie et al. (2024/0205913), Esswie hereinafter.
Re. Claim 7, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claim 1.
Yet, Tsai758 and van der Zee do not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: transmit, to the network node, uplink control information (UCI) that includes a codepoint for the UE, wherein the codepoint for the UE indicates at least one of: a first indication to delay operating in a second mode, the second mode consuming less power than a first mode; a second indication that operation in the second mode is acceptable; a third indication to operate in the second mode based on a first time period elapsing; or a fourth indication to return to the first mode or transition to a third mode based on a second time period.
However, in the analogous art, Esswie explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 1232), individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit, to the network node, uplink control information (UCI) that includes a codepoint for the UE, wherein the codepoint for the UE indicates at least one of: a first indication to delay operating in a second mode, the second mode consuming less power than a first mode (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0049 - XR capable devices (e.g., smart glasses, projection wearables, etc.) may be more power-limited than conventional mobile handsets due to the limited form factor of the devices. Thus, techniques to maximize power saving operation at XR capable device is desirable. Accordingly, a user equipment device accessing XR services, or traffic flows of an XR session, may be associated with certain QoS metrics to satisfy performance targets of the XR service in terms of perceived data rate or end to end latency and reliability. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0075 - Some UEs 115 may be configured to employ operating modes that reduce power consumption, such as half-duplex communications (e.g., a mode that supports one-way communication via transmission or reception, but not transmission and reception simultaneously). In some examples, half-duplex communications may be performed at a reduced peak rate. Other power conservation techniques for the UEs 115 include entering a power saving deep sleep mode when not engaging in active communications, operating over a limited bandwidth (e.g., according to narrowband communications), or a combination of these techniques. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0094 - From research, several characteristics have been determined that for XR data traffic: … (2) XR capable devices may be more power-limited than conventional mobile handsets, (e.g., smart glasses, projection wearables, etc.) due to the limited form factor of the devices; Fig. 2-6 & ¶0119 - At act 605, UE/WTRU 115 transmits, to serving RAN node 105 device-specific, or application-specific (e.g., XR-specific) capabilities, including a list of indications of supported XR quality class indications (“QCI”) corresponding to traffic flows being supported by an application running on the UE. At act 610, UE/WTRU 115 receives from serving RAN node 105, a list of XR flow identifiers, packet data unit identifiers (“PDU”) set identifiers for which dynamic fast, joint downlink and uplink paired resource scheduling has been activated by RAN 105. At act 615, on condition of an active bidirectional session (e.g., an XR/VR session for an XR/VR application running at UE 115) corresponding to one or more of the QCIs, transmitted at act 605 and corresponding to an XR flow or PDU set identifier configured at act 610, UE/WTRU 115 may transmit an uplink control information message over an uplink control channel, which may have been configured via information received at act 610. The uplink control information transmitted at act 615 may comprise an indication of an expected uplink buffer size corresponding to a received downlink traffic flow. The uplink control information transmitted at act 615 may comprise an indication of an application-specific acceptable delay (e.g., a latency criterion) between paired downlink and uplink traffic portions, which may comprise XR updates corresponding to a pose position of a smart glass appliance. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation); a second indication that operation in the second mode is acceptable; a third indication to operate in the second mode based on a first time period elapsing; or a fourth indication to return to the first mode or transition to a third mode based on a second time period.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system and van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system to include Esswie’s invention of a system and a method for dynamic scheduling of paired downlink and uplink traffic in 5G/New Radio <NR> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for flow differentiation that prioritizes some flows, or some packets of a XR (“anything reality’) session over other flows or packets may facilitate efficient use of a communication system's capacity to deliver the traffic in the 5G/New Radio <NR> wireless communication system. (¶0047/¶0049, Esswie)
Re. Claim 8, Tsai758, van der Zee and Esswie teach claim 7.
Tsai758 further teaches wherein to transmit the UCI is based on the received DL EOC indication from the network node. (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0380 - After receiving the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may switch to the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) when/after the wireless device sends a response/indication/feedback information to the NW. 21-25 & ¶0381 - The feedback information may be a ACK and/or a NACK information. The ACK and/or the NACK information may be a feedback information for the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring). Fig. 21-25 & ¶0383 - The response/indication/feedback information may be a PDCP/RLC PDU, MAC CE and/or a UCI.)
Re. Claims 10 and 24, Tsai758 and van der Zee claims 1 and 16.
Yet, Tsai758 and van der Zee do not expressly teach during a time period after transmitting the status indication and prior to the estimated time: receive, from the network node, an UL grant for UL traffic associated with data in the buffer of the UE; and transmit, for the network node, the UL traffic based on the UL grant.
However, in the analogous art, Esswie explicitly discloses during a time period after transmitting the status indication and prior to the estimated time: receive, from the network node, an UL grant for UL traffic associated with data in the buffer of the UE; and transmit, for the network node, the UL traffic based on the UL grant. (Fig. 7 & ¶0125 - At act 735, the user equipment may be configured to estimate a buffer status based on the downlink traffic received at act 725. Although joint uplink-downlink scheduling information received in a configuration at act 720 may include linked uplink resources/schema and downlink resources/schema, the configuration received at act 720 may nevertheless configure the user equipment to estimate a buffer status, based on downlink traffic received at act 725, for corresponding uplink traffic (e.g., corresponding to the downlink traffic) that has not been generated or stored into a buffer of the user equipment. If a determination is made at act 735 that an estimated buffer status report is to be generated, method 700 advances to act 740 and the user equipment generates estimated buffer status information that may indicate an expected amount of uplink traffic that will be transmitted by the user equipment responsive to, or corresponding to, the downlink traffic that was received at act 725. Fig. 7 & ¶0126 - At act 745, the user equipment transmits the estimated buffer status information generated at act 740 as an estimated buffer status report to a serving RAN node. The estimated buffer status report may be transmitted according to an uplink resource indicated in a configuration received at act 720, or according to a resource indicated by a search space indicated in a configuration received at act 720. After receiving the estimated buffer status report that was transmitted at act 745, the RAN node may determine, or schedule, uplink resources to be granted to the user equipment to transmit uplink traffic corresponding to the estimated buffer status information that was determined at act 740. Fig. 7 & ¶0128 - using configuration information received at act 720, a user equipment may not need to immediately generate uplink traffic in response to received downlink traffic, transmit a buffer status report corresponding to the generated uplink traffic, wait to receive an uplink grant to transmit uplink traffic that corresponds to the already received downlink traffic, and then transmit the actual uplink traffic. …, in response to receiving downlink traffic for a traffic flow that is associated with a high quality of service, the user equipment may estimate an uplink buffer status and request an uplink resource grant based thereon before the user equipment has generated uplink traffic. Thus, implementing method 700 may reduce latency associated with waiting to request an uplink resource based on a buffer status report that indicates to a RAN node uplink traffic that is already buffered by the user equipment for uplink transmission. In an embodiment, the user equipment may use uplink resources and schema, based on downlink traffic received at act 725 according to an indication in configuration information received at act 720, to transmit uplink traffic that corresponds to the downlink traffic received at act 725).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system and van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system to include Esswie’s invention of a system and a method for dynamic scheduling of paired downlink and uplink traffic in 5G/New Radio <NR> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for flow differentiation that prioritizes some flows, or some packets of a XR (“anything reality’) session over other flows or packets may facilitate efficient use of a communication system's capacity to deliver the traffic in the 5G/New Radio <NR> wireless communication system. (¶0047/¶0049, Esswie)
Re. Claim 21, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claim 16.
Yet, Tsai758 and van der Zee do not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the UE, uplink control information (UCI) that includes a codepoint for the UE, wherein the codepoint for the UE indicates at least one of: a first indication to delay operating in a second mode, the second mode consuming less power than a first mode ; a second indication that operation in the second mode is acceptable; a third indication to operate in the second mode based on a first time period elapsing; or a fourth indication to return to the first mode or transition to a third mode wake up based on a second period of time.
However, in the analogous art, Esswie explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 1232 is further configured to: receive, from the UE, uplink control information (UCI) that includes a codepoint for the UE, wherein the codepoint for the UE indicates at least one of: a first indication to delay operating in a second mode, the second mode consuming less power than a first mode (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0049 - XR capable devices (e.g., smart glasses, projection wearables, etc.) may be more power-limited than conventional mobile handsets due to the limited form factor of the devices. Thus, techniques to maximize power saving operation at XR capable device is desirable. Accordingly, a user equipment device accessing XR services, or traffic flows of an XR session, may be associated with certain QoS metrics to satisfy performance targets of the XR service in terms of perceived data rate or end to end latency and reliability. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0075 - Some UEs 115 may be configured to employ operating modes that reduce power consumption, such as half-duplex communications (e.g., a mode that supports one-way communication via transmission or reception, but not transmission and reception simultaneously). In some examples, half-duplex communications may be performed at a reduced peak rate. Other power conservation techniques for the UEs 115 include entering a power saving deep sleep mode when not engaging in active communications, operating over a limited bandwidth (e.g., according to narrowband communications), or a combination of these techniques. Fig. 2-6 & ¶0094 - From research, several characteristics have been determined that for XR data traffic: … (2) XR capable devices may be more power-limited than conventional mobile handsets, (e.g., smart glasses, projection wearables, etc.) due to the limited form factor of the devices; Fig. 2-6 & ¶0119 - At act 605, UE/WTRU 115 transmits, to serving RAN node 105 device-specific, or application-specific (e.g., XR-specific) capabilities, including a list of indications of supported XR quality class indications (“QCI”) corresponding to traffic flows being supported by an application running on the UE. At act 610, UE/WTRU 115 receives from serving RAN node 105, a list of XR flow identifiers, packet data unit identifiers (“PDU”) set identifiers for which dynamic fast, joint downlink and uplink paired resource scheduling has been activated by RAN 105. At act 615, on condition of an active bidirectional session (e.g., an XR/VR session for an XR/VR application running at UE 115) corresponding to one or more of the QCIs, transmitted at act 605 and corresponding to an XR flow or PDU set identifier configured at act 610, UE/WTRU 115 may transmit an uplink control information message over an uplink control channel, which may have been configured via information received at act 610. The uplink control information transmitted at act 615 may comprise an indication of an expected uplink buffer size corresponding to a received downlink traffic flow. The uplink control information transmitted at act 615 may comprise an indication of an application-specific acceptable delay (e.g., a latency criterion) between paired downlink and uplink traffic portions, which may comprise XR updates corresponding to a pose position of a smart glass appliance. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation); a second indication that operation in the second mode is acceptable; a third indication to operate in the second mode based on a first time period elapsing; or a fourth indication to return to the first mode or transition to a third mode wake up based on a second period of time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system and van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system to include Esswie’s invention of a system and a method for dynamic scheduling of paired downlink and uplink traffic in 5G/New Radio <NR> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for flow differentiation that prioritizes some flows, or some packets of a XR (“anything reality’) session over other flows or packets may facilitate efficient use of a communication system's capacity to deliver the traffic in the 5G/New Radio <NR> wireless communication system. (¶0047/¶0049, Esswie)
Re. Claim 22, Tsai758, van der Zee and Esswie teach claim 21.
Tsai758 further teaches wherein the UCI is in response to the DL EOC indication from the network node (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0380 - After receiving the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may switch to the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) when/after the wireless device sends a response/indication/feedback information to the NW. 21-25 & ¶0381 - The feedback information may be a ACK and/or a NACK information. The ACK and/or the NACK information may be a feedback information for the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring). Fig. 21-25 & ¶0383 - The response/indication/feedback information may be a PDCP/RLC PDU, MAC CE and/or a UCI.).
Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai758, in view of van der Zee, further in view of Lee et al. (2023/0354328), Lee hereinafter.
Re. Claim 11, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claim 1.
Yet, Tsai758 and van der Zee do not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, for the network node, a capability indication of the UE that indicates at least one of a first capability of the UE to estimate a traffic condition or a second capability of the UE to provide the estimated time.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig.14, 102), is further configured to: transmit, for the network node (Fig. 9, BS), a capability indication of the UE that indicates at least one of a first capability of the UE to estimate a traffic condition or a second capability of the UE to provide the estimated time. (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0160 - UE may transmit capability information to the BS to support the operations proposed in the present disclosure (S701). For example, the capability information may include information on PDCCH monitoring adaptation (e.g., PDCCH monitoring skipping and SSSG switching) and information on whether delay is supported. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0172 - Referring to FIG. 9, the UE may transmit capability information to the BS to support the operations proposed in the present disclosure (S901). For example, the capability information may include information on PDCCH monitoring adaptation (e.g., PDCCH monitoring skipping and SSSG switching) and information on whether delay is supported. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0195 - an application delay may be changed. In the Rel-17 standards, the application delay, which is the time from DCI reception to application of PDCCH monitoring skipping, is defined as the first symbol of a slot immediately after a slot in which DCI (e.g., scheduling DCI) is received. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system and van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system to include Lee’s invention of a system and a method of transmitting and receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) based on PDCCH monitoring adaptation in consideration of jitter in extended reality (XR) services in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for addressing delays associated with XR (“extended reality”) services in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0018, Lee)
Re. Claim 25, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claim 16.
Yet, Tsai758 and van der Zee do not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a capability indication of the UE that indicates at least one of a first capability of the UE to estimate a traffic condition or a second capability of the UE to provide the estimated time.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 14, 202), is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a capability indication of the UE that indicates at least one of a first capability of the UE to estimate a traffic condition or a second capability of the UE to provide the estimated time (Fig. 7-9 & ¶0160 - UE may transmit capability information to the BS to support the operations proposed in the present disclosure (S701). For example, the capability information may include information on PDCCH monitoring adaptation (e.g., PDCCH monitoring skipping and SSSG switching) and information on whether delay is supported. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0172 - Referring to FIG. 9, the UE may transmit capability information to the BS to support the operations proposed in the present disclosure (S901). For example, the capability information may include information on PDCCH monitoring adaptation (e.g., PDCCH monitoring skipping and SSSG switching) and information on whether delay is supported. Fig. 7-9 & ¶0195 - an application delay may be changed. In the Rel-17 standards, the application delay, which is the time from DCI reception to application of PDCCH monitoring skipping, is defined as the first symbol of a slot immediately after a slot in which DCI (e.g., scheduling DCI) is received. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system and van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system to include Lee’s invention of a system and a method of transmitting and receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) based on PDCCH monitoring adaptation in consideration of jitter in extended reality (XR) services in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for addressing delays associated with XR (“extended reality”) services in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0018, Lee)
Claims 14 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai758, in view of van der Zee, further in view of WU et al. (2025/0071769), WU hereinafter.
Re. Claim 14, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claim 13.
Yet, Tsai758 and van der Zee do not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: monitor, while in the mode of operation, for a wake up signal (WUS), from the network node, that includes a sequence type; receive, from the network node, the WUS that includes the sequence type; and switch to another of the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, or the fourth mode for the UE based on the sequence type.
However, in the analogous art, WU explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 3A), is further configured to: monitor, while in the mode of operation, for a wake up signal (WUS), from the network node, that includes a sequence type; receive, from the network node, the WUS that includes the sequence type; and switch to another of the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, or the fourth mode for the UE based on the sequence type. (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0308 - WUS can be carried by physical signal sequences, and energy detection based on physical signal sequences can further save UE power compared to coherent detection by PDCCH. The base station can indicate whether PDCCH monitoring is started based on whether the WUS transmits an implicit indication. For example, if the UE does not detect a WUS, then the PDCCH monitoring is skipped; if the UE does detect a WUS, then the PDCCH monitoring is started. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system and van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system to include WU’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing the number of PDCCH monitoring, thereby achieving power saving for the UE in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0009, WU)
Re. Claim 26, Tsai758 and van der Zee teach claim 16.
Tsai758 further teaches wherein a mode of operation for the UE is: a first mode in which the UE is configured to operate in an UL mode and a DL mode; a second mode in which the UE is configured to operate in the UL mode and not in the DL mode; a third mode in which the UE is configured to operate with a modem off; a fourth mode in which the UE is configured to skip monitoring for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 21-25 & ¶0358 - a NW (e.g., gNB) may send an End of Burst Indication (EOBI) to the wireless device. When the wireless device receives the EOBI, the wireless device may switch from a DRX Active State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is in an DRX Active Time) to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., state in which the wireless device is outside an DRX Active Time, stops (e.g., does not run) DRX Timer(s) and/or skips PDCCH monitoring) to save power. Fig. 21-25 & ¶0369 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may stop one or more DRX timer(s).Fig. 21-25 & ¶0380 - After receiving the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may switch to the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) when/after the wireless device sends a response/indication/feedback information to the NW. Fig. 21-25 & ¶0373 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may perform PDCCH skipping. 21-25 & ¶0381 - The feedback information may be a ACK and/or a NACK information. The ACK and/or the NACK information may be a feedback information for the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring). Fig. 21-25 & ¶0412 - when/after the wireless device receives the EOBI and/or the indication to switch to a DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring), the wireless device may keep in the DRX Sleep State (e.g., stop DRX Timer(s) and/or skip PDCCH monitoring) until the wireless device triggers a BSR, SR, and/or RA procedure. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.); or a fifth mode in which the UE is configured to operate in the DL mode and not in the UL mode;
Yet, Tsai758 does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: receive, from the UE, an operation indication that indicates an autonomous switch in operation of the UE for the third mode or the second mode, wherein the operation indication is comprised in at least one of uplink control information (UCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or UE assistance information (UAI), and transmit, to the UE, a wake up signal (WUS) that includes a sequence type, wherein the sequence type is associated with a switch of the UE to another of the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, or the fourth mode for the UE.
However, in the analogous art, van der Zee explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 5, 404), is further configured to: receive, from the UE, an operation indication that indicates an autonomous switch in operation of the UE for the third mode or the second mode, wherein the operation indication is comprised in at least one of uplink control information (UCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or UE assistance information (UAI) (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0009 - information is provided to the network node that enables scheduling UL and DL data transmissions to the wireless device during the transmission gap, thereby enabling the wireless device to reduce power consumption by, e.g., entering a sleep state (i.e., modem or Radio is off during the transmission gap) during the transmission gap. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0017 - The method further comprises going into a sleep state (i.e., modem or Radio is off during the transmission gap) for the transmission gap. Fig. 1/ Fig.2-3 & ¶0064 - In a step 210, the UE provides PTG assistance signaling to the network, using, e.g., Uplink Control Information (UCI) over Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)/Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). Fig. 1/ Fig.12-13 & ¶0065 - The PTG does not necessarily have to be signaled “dynamically”, i.e. it could also be signaled via semi-static Radio Resource Control (RRC) UE assistance information, where the UE indicates “I expect not to have more data for x slots after sending BSR=0” or “I can tolerate x slots of delay after having sent BSR=0”, where BSR refers to “buffer status report”. The PTG assistance information can also be sent together with BSR=0 signaling. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one off” and “or” in the limitation),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system to include van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for new types of assistance information that are useful for PDCCH monitoring reduction, in turns, assist in further reducing power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0008/¶0062, van der Zee)
Yet, Tsai758 and van der Zee do not expressly teach transmit, to the UE, a wakeup signal (WUS) that includes a sequence type, wherein the sequence type is associated with a switch of the UE to another of the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, or the fourth mode for the UE.
However, in the analogous art, WU explicitly discloses teach transmit, to the UE, a wakeup signal (WUS) that includes a sequence type, wherein the sequence type is associated with a switch of the UE to another of the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, or the fourth mode for the UE (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0308 - WUS can be carried by physical signal sequences, and energy detection based on physical signal sequences can further save UE power compared to coherent detection by PDCCH. The base station can indicate whether PDCCH monitoring is started based on whether the WUS transmits an implicit indication. For example, if the UE does not detect a WUS, then the PDCCH monitoring is skipped; if the UE does detect a WUS, then the PDCCH monitoring is started. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai758’s invention of a system and a method for providing an End of data Burst indication (EOBI) from a network node (e.g., gNB) to a wireless device in a wireless communication system and van der Zee’s invention of a system and a method related to permissible transmission gap assistance information provided by a wireless device (e.g., a User Equipment (UE)) to a base station in a wireless communication system to include WU’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing the number of PDCCH monitoring, thereby achieving power saving for the UE in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0009, WU)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 15, 20 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 5 – wherein to transmit the status indication that indicates the status of the buffer is based on the estimated time, wherein the estimated time indicates that the time at which the UE estimates the arrival of the next UL packet is shorter than a sleep time to be utilized for the UE to enter a sleep mode, and wherein the power state switching indication indicates the mode of operation for the UE as the second mode.
Claim 15 – wherein the sequence type is at least one of: a first sequence type that indicates for the UE to wake up and operate in the fifth mode in which the UE is configured to operate in the DL mode and not in the UL mode; a second sequence type that indicates for the UE to restart retransmission times for retransmission monitoring; a third sequence type that indicates for the UE to wake up and operate in the second mode; or a fourth sequence type that includes a payload of bits in the WUS, wherein the payload of bits corresponds to the first sequence type, the second sequence type, or the third sequence type.
Claim 20 – wherein to receive the status indication that indicates the status of the buffer is based on the estimated time, wherein the estimated time indicates that the time at which the UE estimates the arrival of the next UL packet is shorter than a sleep time to be utilized for the UE to enter a sleep mode, and wherein the power state switching indication indicates the mode of operation for the UE as the second mode.
Claim 27 – wherein the sequence type is at least one of: a first sequence type that indicates for the UE to wake up and operate in the fifth mode in which the UE is configured to operate in the DL mode and not in the UL mode; a second sequence type that indicates for the UE to restart retransmission times for retransmission monitoring; a third sequence type that indicates for the UE to wake up and operate in the second mode; or a fourth sequence type that includes a payload of bits in the WUS, wherein the payload of bits corresponds to the first sequence type, the second sequence type, or the third sequence type.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/24/2026 with respect to independent claims 1, 16, 28 and 30 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 12-15 as submitted on 06/24/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Lin <2022/0303895 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference, not used in the instant office action> fails to teach, “receive, from a network node, a downlink (DL) end of communication (EOC) indication to trigger a status indication”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Tsai758 (2025/0267758 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference) discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
Applicant further asserts that van der Zee fails to teach, “an estimated time that indicates a time at which the UE estimates an arrival of a next uplink (UL) packet.”. See at least at pages 3-4 of remarks as submitted on 06/24/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, van der Zee discloses that UE determines (step 200 of Fig.2) a permissible transmission gap length. The determination may be based on tolerated latency, predicted traffic burst arrival, predicted uplink traffic burst, etc. For instance, the UE obtains current latency/delay constraints from application traffic pattern information (i.e., traffic pattern information for one or more applications executing at the UE), or next packet estimate (i.e., an estimate of when a next packet <i.e., an estimated traffic packet at UE buffer> may be expected to be transmitted/received by the UE), etc. The UE determines a permissible gap (i.e., a PTG or PTG length) until a next transmission….The gap length may be specified in absolute numbers (i.e., number of slots or milliseconds). … the UE, then, provides PTG assistance signaling at step 210 < Fig.2> to the network, using, e.g., Uplink Control Information (UCI) over Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)/Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) …. the UE provides a message or information to the network that includes PTG assistance information. The PTG assistance information may convey the permissible gap length in slots, milliseconds, etc., or, e.g., that the permissible gap extends to the beginning of the next CDRX ON-duration). The PTG, which is identified as a Permissible Transmission Gap, an assistance information by the UE (Fig. 1-3), in indicating to the network (Fig. 1-3), in tolerating x slots of delay after having sent BSR=0, where BSR refers to “buffer status report. See ¶0049/¶0063-¶0065.
The aforesaid disclosure by van der Zee, in part, because of achieving a maximal PDCCH monitoring reduction while avoiding missed monitoring when data actually arrive, PDCCH signaling adaptation requires reliable information about the expected traffic arrival gap(s). The network can collect traffic pattern statistics for different UEs, e.g. at the time scale of minute, in regards to available expected traffic information, however, a network lacks reliable ways to predict future data arrival events, even in the short-term. Therefore, there is a need for new types of assistance information that are useful for PDCCH monitoring reduction, which is achieved by van der Zee. See ¶0004-¶0008.
The proposed invention of van der Zee, provides a method performed by a wireless device (e.g., a UE) (e.g., for reducing energy consumption of the wireless device) in a wireless communication network is provided. The method includes determining a permissible transmission gap length, e.g., based on tolerated latency, predicted burst arrival, predicted UL traffic burst <i.e., an estimated traffic packet at UE buffer>, and/or the like. The method further includes signaling an indication of the permissible transmission gap to a network node (e.g., a base station). This is also referred to herein as signaling permissible transmission gap < Permissible Transmission Gap, PTG > assistance information to the network node. See ¶0052. In fact, the PTG assistance information may convey the permissible gap length in slots, milliseconds, etc., or, e.g., that the permissible gap extends to the beginning of the next CDRX ON-duration). The PTG, which is identified as a Permissible Transmission Gap, an assistance information by the UE (Fig. 1-3), in indicating to the network (Fig. 1-3), in tolerating x slots of delay after having sent BSR=0, where BSR refers to “buffer status report. See ¶0049/¶0063-¶0065. Also, see claim 1 & 13 of van der Zee, for example, “A method performed by a wireless device for a cellular communications network, the method comprising: determining a transmission gap for the wireless device, the transmission gap being a time gap during which no uplink or downlink data transmission is anticipated or required by the wireless device; and transmitting information comprising an indication of the transmission gap to a network node, wherein determining the transmission gap comprises determining the transmission gap based on: a. tolerated latency for a transmission, b. predicted traffic burst arrival, c. predicted uplink, UL, traffic burst <i.e., an estimated traffic packet at UE buffer> , or d. any combination of two or more of a-c.”; Please see the snapshots of Fig.2-3, which are in line with the disclosures of van der Zee as mentioned supra, quite a contrast to applicant’s assertion at least at pages 3-4 of remarks as submitted on 06/24/2026.
Regarding arguments at page 4 for independent claim 1, van der Zee disclosed the claimed features as outlined in the claims and the applicant is silent on the disclosures made by van der Zee as pointed out in §103 rejection. Applicant, is, however, arguing that van der Zee’s reference does not disclose anything pertaining to a received end of communication indication to trigger the status indication. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Claim limitations pertaining to features such as “a received end of communication indication to trigger the status indication” is taught by Tsai758 (2025/0267758 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference) as pointed out in §103 rejection. Applicant is respectfully reminded that the independent claims 1, 8 and 16 are unpatentable over Tsai758, in view of van der Zee. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 16, 28 and 30.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai758 (2025/0267758 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference), in view of van der Zee.
Similarly, it is maintained that independent claims 16 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai758 (2025/0267758 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference), in view of van der Zee..
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 16 and 28, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467