DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on July 15, 2026 has been entered. By this amendment, claim 1 is amended and claims 1-19 are now pending in the application, with claim 19 withdrawn from further prosecution as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomassini (U.S. 2017/0006414, previously cited). Regarding claim 1, Tomassini discloses a wearable device (MASTER bracelet), comprising: a housing comprising an inner surface and an outer surface that is opposite the inner surface (see Figures 1 and 4), wherein the inner surface is configured to contact a tissue of a user while the wearable device is being worn by the user (see Figure 4, which shows an arm disposed within the inner portion of the bracelets shown in Figures 1 and 3); a battery 99 positioned at least partially within the housing (see Figure 7 and “internal rechargeable lithium-ion battery (FIG. 7-99)”, paragraph [0076]); one or more sensors 84-88 positioned at least partially within the housing and electrically coupled with the battery (see Figure 7 and “sensor blocks: temperature sensor (FIG. 7-87), pressure sensor (FIG. 7-88), acceleration sensor in the three axes and gyro (FIG. 7-85, 86), light sensor (FIG. 7-84)”, paragraph [0075]), the one or more sensors configured to acquire physiological data from the user through one or more apertures in the inner surface while the wearable device is being worn by the user (such is necessarily present for the use of the sensors as recited in paragraph [0075])’ communication circuitry configured to wirelessly communicate with a user device associated with the wearable device (Bluetooth and WLAN communication described at paragraphs [0029], [0043], [0055], and [0075]); and a wireless charging component 37 disposed at least partially within the housing (see Figure 6), wherein the wireless charging component is configured to perform an inductive charging procedure, a contact-based charging procedure, a photovoltaic charging procedure, or any combination thereof, to wirelessly transfer energy from an external power source to the battery through the outer surface of the wearable device, the inner surface of the wearable device, or both, during at least a portion of a period of time in which the one or more sensors acquire the physiological data (“There is a bracelet (named MASTER) equipped with an additional system to recharge the internal. There is a bracelet, named SLAVE, for the transmission of electrical power via magnetic induction. The SLAVE type bracelet enables the recharging of the MASTER bracelet.”, Abstract, and “forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component, an additional wireless charging component, or both, is further configured to wirelessly transfer additional energy from a charging device to the battery through the inner surface of the wearable device while the wearable device is positioned on or within the charging device (“The USB and/or micro USB socket (FIG. 7-96) establishes the CABLED connection from the MASTER bracelet to all the devices the bracelet can interact with, in addition to providing the physical connection for internal battery recharging.”, paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Tomassini discloses one or more processors 81 communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors and the wireless charging component (see Figure 7), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: generate a first set of instructions configured to cause the one or more sensors to acquire the physiological data from the user during a first time interval (“The application processor (FIG. 7-81) is equipped with an ARM (or SoftPC) type microprocessor, in which all peripherals and drivers required for communicating with the devices connected to them are instantiated in a flexible manner (and when necessary) due to the internal firmware…it communicates with the sensor blocks: temperature sensor (FIG. 7-87), pressure sensor (FIG. 7-88), acceleration sensor in the three axes and gyro (FIG. 7-85, 86), light sensor (FIG. 7-84), digital fingerprint reader (FIG. 7-92). All status information coming from these devices is used for the high level applications and to determine operation status.”, paragraph [0075]); and generate a second set of instructions configured to cause the wireless charging component to wirelessly transfer the energy from the external power source to the battery during the first time interval (“The communications and services requested by the RFID/NFC applications (FIG. 7-89, 90) via its antenna (FIG. 7-101), are also managed by the RPM block according to the idea of the invention (FIG. 7-94), forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet.”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 4, Tomassini discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to selectively adjust at least one measurement parameter used by the one or more sensors to acquire the physiological data based at least in part on the wireless charging component being configured to wireless transfer the energy during the first time interval that the physiological data is acquired (“If the user requires the use of the upper layers of the RFID/NFC protocols during internal battery charging by the SLAVE bracelet (e.g. for a POS purchase using NFC), the battery charging function can be disabled.”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Tomassini discloses that selectively adjusting the at least one measurement parameter comprises increasing a current or voltage applied to a light-emitting component, selectively activating at least one sensor of the one or more sensors (“ the hardware is equipped with a function controller application processor chip, ARM type or similar, and flexible architecture that can configure and enable communication, data coding/decoding, and digital/analogue conversion functions, controlled by adaptive firmware in order to make the device in this invention adaptable to various areas of application required by the user or the application being executed.”, paragraph [0055]), selectively adjusting a type of measurement performed by the one or more sensors, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component comprises a first inductive charging component disposed beneath or at least partially within the outer surface of the housing, and wherein the first inductive charging component is configured to wirelessly interface with a second inductive charging component of the external power source to wirelessly transfer the energy (“There is a bracelet (named MASTER) equipped with an additional system to recharge the internal. There is a bracelet, named SLAVE, for the transmission of electrical power via magnetic induction. The SLAVE type bracelet enables the recharging of the MASTER bracelet.”, Abstract, and “forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component comprises a first electrical contact component within the outer surface of the housing, and wherein the first electrical contact component is configured to physically contact a second electrical contact component of the external power source to wirelessly transfer the energy (“There is a bracelet (named MASTER) equipped with an additional system to recharge the internal. There is a bracelet, named SLAVE, for the transmission of electrical power via magnetic induction. The SLAVE type bracelet enables the recharging of the MASTER bracelet.”, Abstract, and “forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet”, paragraph [0075], where physical contact can be seen in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component is configured to wirelessly transfer the energy from the external power source to the battery based at least in part on a power level of the external power source satisfying a threshold power level (if the SLAVE bracelet is powered on and available to transfer power, it is respectfully submitted that the configuration of the wireless charging component of the MASTER bracelet is not affected by the power level of the SLAVE bracelet).
Regarding claim 11, Tomassini discloses that the external power source is disposed on or within a mobile phone, a case associated with the mobile phone, a steering wheel, a steering wheel cover, a coffee mug, a water bottle, a computer mouse, a keyboard, a glove, a watch wearable device, or a wearable ring device (the SLAVE bracelet of Tomassini is considered to satisfy the broadest reasonable interpretation for “a watch wearable device” and “a wearable ring device”).
Regarding claim 12, Tomassini discloses that the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device (a bracelet satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation for “a wearable ring device” because it is wearable and in the shape of a ring), and wherein the inner surface and the outer surface of the housing comprise an inner circumferential surface and an outer circumferential surface, respectively (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component is further configured to wirelessly transfer energy from the external power source to the battery through the outer surface of the wearable device while the wearable device is not being worn by the user (wear is not necessary for the close connection between the MASTER and SLAVE bracelet that results in power transmission).
Regarding claim 14, Tomassini discloses one or more magnetic elements positioned at least partially within the housing, the one or more magnetic elements configured to magnetically couple with one or more additional magnetic elements associated with the external power source (“Moving the antenna of the MASTER bracelet (FIG. 6-37) closer to the antenna of the SLAVE bracelet (FIG. 8-57) causes magnetic field disturbance due to the coupling of the two circuits, ensuring that the operation logic (FIG. 8-53) recognises the presence and coupling of the MASTER bracelet.”, paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 15, Tomassini discloses one or more charging coils 101 positioned within the housing and coupled with the wireless charging component, the one or more charging coils configured to electrically couple with one or more additional charging coils associated with the external power source to perform the inductive charging procedure (see Figure 7 and “he communications and services requested by the RFID/NFC applications (FIG. 7-89, 90) via its antenna (FIG. 7-101), are also managed by the RPM block according to the idea of the invention (FIG. 7-94), forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet.”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 16, Tomassini discloses that the one or more charging coils wrap around an inner circumferential surface of the housing (see reproduced Figure 4 below).
Regarding claim 17, Tomassini discloses that the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device (a bracelet satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation for “a wearable ring device” because it is wearable and in the shape of a ring), and wherein the external power source comprises a charging ring device (a bracelet satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation for “a wearable ring device” because it is wearable and in the shape of a ring) that is configured to perform the inductive charging procedure, the contact-based charging procedure, the photovoltaic charging procedure, or any combination thereof, when the wearable ring device and the charging ring device are worn on a same arm of the user.
Regarding claim 18, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component is disposed proximate to the inner surface of the wearable ring device (it’s respectfully submitted that this is inherent because anything that is located within the MASTER bracelet of Tomassini would be “proximate” to the inner surface of the device, as it is within proximity to the inner surface), and wherein an additional wireless charging component of the charging ring device is positioned between the inner surface of the wearable ring device and the tissue of the user during the inductive charging procedure and while the wearable ring device and the charging ring device are worn by the user (see Figure 4, which shows the SLAVE device located between MASTER device and a portion of the arm on the left side).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejection of the claims as being anticipated by Tomassini, the Applicant argues that Tomassini fails to disclose that the master bracelet includes both the claimed communication circuitry and wireless charging component because the antenna is used for both. As set forth in the disclosure above, Tomassini discloses Bluetooth, WLAN, and RFID/NFC communication all together and, thus, the Bluetooth and WLAN communications that do not rely on the antenna 37 would be the separately claimed communication circuitry. Applicant further argues that Tomassini is silent as to the master bracelet continuing to collect physiological data from the user while the master bracelet is charged by the slave bracelet. It is respectfully submitted that the claim language does not require such. Rather, the claim language requires “a wireless charging component…configured to perform an inductive charging procedure, a contact-based charging procedure, a photovoltaic charging procedure, or any combination thereof, to wirelessly transfer energy from an external power source to the battery…during at least a portion of a period of time in which one or more sensors acquire the physiological data”. As such, the claims do not require the master bracelet to be continuing to collect physiological data from the user while the master bracelet is charged by the slave bracelet, but rather merely requires a wireless charging component configured to perform a charging “procedure” during “at least a portion of a period of time” in which the one or more sensors acquire the physiological data. The “procedure” as recited does not require full charging and does not require full charging during the entirety of the acquisition of physiological data. Rather, the claim merely requires that the wireless charging component is of such a configuration such that it would perform the charging during a portion of a period of time when physiological acquisition occurs. Applicant further argues that Tomassini fails to disclose the one or more sensors configured to acquire physiological data from the user through one or more apertures in the inner surface while the wearable device is being worn by the user indicating that Tomassini merely lists sensors but does not disclose the sensors as acquiring data through one or more apertures in the inner surface. It is respectfully submitted that a light sensor inherently requires an aperture, otherwise it is impossible for the light sensor to sense light. As such, for at least the reasons given above, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796