DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on January 22, 2026 has been received and considered. By this amendment, claim 1 is amended and claims 1-19 are now pending in the application, with claim 19 withdrawn from further prosecution as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomassini (U.S. 2017/0006414, previously cited). Regarding claim 1, Tomassini discloses a wearable device (MASTER bracelet), comprising: a housing comprising an inner surface and an outer surface that is opposite the inner surface (see Figures 1 and 4), wherein the inner surface is configured to contact a tissue of a user while the wearable device is being worn by the user (see Figure 4, which shows an arm disposed within the inner portion of the bracelets shown in Figures 1 and 3); a battery 99 positioned at least partially within the housing (see Figure 7 and “internal rechargeable lithium-ion battery (FIG. 7-99)”, paragraph [0076]); one or more sensors 84-88 positioned at least partially within the housing and electrically coupled with the battery (see Figure 7 and “sensor blocks: temperature sensor (FIG. 7-87), pressure sensor (FIG. 7-88), acceleration sensor in the three axes and gyro (FIG. 7-85, 86), light sensor (FIG. 7-84)”, paragraph [0075]), the one or more sensors configured to acquire physiological data from the user through one or more apertures in the inner surface while the wearable device is being worn by the user (such is necessarily present for the use of the sensors as recited in paragraph [0075]); and a wireless charging component 37 disposed at least partially within the housing (see Figure 6), wherein the wireless charging component is configured to perform an inductive charging procedure, a contact-based charging procedure, a photovoltaic charging procedure, or any combination thereof, to wirelessly transfer energy from an external power source to the battery through the outer surface of the wearable device, the inner surface of the wearable device, or both, during at least a portion of a period of time in which the one or more sensors acquire the physiological data (“There is a bracelet (named MASTER) equipped with an additional system to recharge the internal. There is a bracelet, named SLAVE, for the transmission of electrical power via magnetic induction. The SLAVE type bracelet enables the recharging of the MASTER bracelet.”, Abstract, and “forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component, an additional wireless charging component, or both, is further configured to wirelessly transfer additional energy from a charging device to the battery through the inner surface of the wearable device while the wearable device is positioned on or within the charging device (“The USB and/or micro USB socket (FIG. 7-96) establishes the CABLED connection from the MASTER bracelet to all the devices the bracelet can interact with, in addition to providing the physical connection for internal battery recharging.”, paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Tomassini discloses one or more processors 81 communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors and the wireless charging component (see Figure 7), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: generate a first set of instructions configured to cause the one or more sensors to acquire the physiological data from the user during a first time interval (“The application processor (FIG. 7-81) is equipped with an ARM (or SoftPC) type microprocessor, in which all peripherals and drivers required for communicating with the devices connected to them are instantiated in a flexible manner (and when necessary) due to the internal firmware…it communicates with the sensor blocks: temperature sensor (FIG. 7-87), pressure sensor (FIG. 7-88), acceleration sensor in the three axes and gyro (FIG. 7-85, 86), light sensor (FIG. 7-84), digital fingerprint reader (FIG. 7-92). All status information coming from these devices is used for the high level applications and to determine operation status.”, paragraph [0075]); and generate a second set of instructions configured to cause the wireless charging component to wirelessly transfer the energy from the external power source to the battery during the first time interval (“The communications and services requested by the RFID/NFC applications (FIG. 7-89, 90) via its antenna (FIG. 7-101), are also managed by the RPM block according to the idea of the invention (FIG. 7-94), forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet.”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 4, Tomassini discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to selectively adjust at least one measurement parameter used by the one or more sensors to acquire the physiological data based at least in part on the wireless charging component being configured to wireless transfer the energy during the first time interval that the physiological data is acquired (“If the user requires the use of the upper layers of the RFID/NFC protocols during internal battery charging by the SLAVE bracelet (e.g. for a POS purchase using NFC), the battery charging function can be disabled.”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Tomassini discloses that selectively adjusting the at least one measurement parameter comprises increasing a current or voltage applied to a light-emitting component, selectively activating at least one sensor of the one or more sensors (“ the hardware is equipped with a function controller application processor chip, ARM type or similar, and flexible architecture that can configure and enable communication, data coding/decoding, and digital/analogue conversion functions, controlled by adaptive firmware in order to make the device in this invention adaptable to various areas of application required by the user or the application being executed.”, paragraph [0055]), selectively adjusting a type of measurement performed by the one or more sensors, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component comprises a first inductive charging component disposed beneath or at least partially within the outer surface of the housing, and wherein the first inductive charging component is configured to wirelessly interface with a second inductive charging component of the external power source to wirelessly transfer the energy (“There is a bracelet (named MASTER) equipped with an additional system to recharge the internal. There is a bracelet, named SLAVE, for the transmission of electrical power via magnetic induction. The SLAVE type bracelet enables the recharging of the MASTER bracelet.”, Abstract, and “forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component comprises a first electrical contact component within the outer surface of the housing, and wherein the first electrical contact component is configured to physically contact a second electrical contact component of the external power source to wirelessly transfer the energy (“There is a bracelet (named MASTER) equipped with an additional system to recharge the internal. There is a bracelet, named SLAVE, for the transmission of electrical power via magnetic induction. The SLAVE type bracelet enables the recharging of the MASTER bracelet.”, Abstract, and “forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet”, paragraph [0075], where physical contact can be seen in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component is configured to wirelessly transfer the energy from the external power source to the battery based at least in part on a power level of the external power source satisfying a threshold power level (if the SLAVE bracelet is powered on and available to transfer power, it is respectfully submitted that the configuration of the wireless charging component of the MASTER bracelet is not affected by the power level of the SLAVE bracelet).
Regarding claim 11, Tomassini discloses that the external power source is disposed on or within a mobile phone, a case associated with the mobile phone, a steering wheel, a steering wheel cover, a coffee mug, a water bottle, a computer mouse, a keyboard, a glove, a watch wearable device, or a wearable ring device (the SLAVE bracelet of Tomassini is considered to satisfy the broadest reasonable interpretation for “a watch wearable device” and “a wearable ring device”).
Regarding claim 12, Tomassini discloses that the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device (a bracelet satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation for “a wearable ring device” because it is wearable and in the shape of a ring), and wherein the inner surface and the outer surface of the housing comprise an inner circumferential surface and an outer circumferential surface, respectively (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component is further configured to wirelessly transfer energy from the external power source to the battery through the outer surface of the wearable device while the wearable device is not being worn by the user (wear is not necessary for the close connection between the MASTER and SLAVE bracelet that results in power transmission).
Regarding claim 14, Tomassini discloses one or more magnetic elements positioned at least partially within the housing, the one or more magnetic elements configured to magnetically couple with one or more additional magnetic elements associated with the external power source (“Moving the antenna of the MASTER bracelet (FIG. 6-37) closer to the antenna of the SLAVE bracelet (FIG. 8-57) causes magnetic field disturbance due to the coupling of the two circuits, ensuring that the operation logic (FIG. 8-53) recognises the presence and coupling of the MASTER bracelet.”, paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 15, Tomassini discloses one or more charging coils 101 positioned within the housing and coupled with the wireless charging component, the one or more charging coils configured to electrically couple with one or more additional charging coils associated with the external power source to perform the inductive charging procedure (see Figure 7 and “he communications and services requested by the RFID/NFC applications (FIG. 7-89, 90) via its antenna (FIG. 7-101), are also managed by the RPM block according to the idea of the invention (FIG. 7-94), forming part of the bracelet's general power management (FIG. 7-95) for the battery charging function by inductive coupling with the SLAVE bracelet.”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 16, Tomassini discloses that the one or more charging coils wrap around an inner circumferential surface of the housing (see reproduced Figure 4 below).
Regarding claim 17, Tomassini discloses that the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device (a bracelet satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation for “a wearable ring device” because it is wearable and in the shape of a ring), and wherein the external power source comprises a charging ring device (a bracelet satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation for “a wearable ring device” because it is wearable and in the shape of a ring) that is configured to perform the inductive charging procedure, the contact-based charging procedure, the photovoltaic charging procedure, or any combination thereof, when the wearable ring device and the charging ring device are worn on a same arm of the user.
Regarding claim 18, Tomassini discloses that the wireless charging component is disposed proximate to the inner surface of the wearable ring device (it’s respectfully submitted that this is inherent because anything that is located within the MASTER bracelet of Tomassini would be “proximate” to the inner surface of the device, as it is within proximity to the inner surface), and wherein an additional wireless charging component of the charging ring device is positioned between the inner surface of the wearable ring device and the tissue of the user during the inductive charging procedure and while the wearable ring device and the charging ring device are worn by the user (see Figure 4, which shows the SLAVE device located between MASTER device and a portion of the arm on the left side).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejection of the claims as being anticipated by Tomassini, the Applicant argues that Tomassini fails to disclose the newly-amended requirement of “wherein the wireless charging component is configured…to wirelessly transfer energy from an external power source to the battery…during at least a portion of a period of time in which the one or more sensors acquire the physiological data”. The Applicant cites paragraph [0075] of Tomassini and the disclosures “communications and services requested by [an] RFID/NFC applications…via the antenna” of the master bracelet, where “the battery charging function can be disabled” “[i]f the user requires the use of the upper layers of the RFID/NFC protocols during internal battery charging by the SLAVE bracelet” to support the conclusion that Tomassini describes a master bracelet being wirelessly charged by a slave bracelet and pausing the wireless charging to perform RFID/NFC protocols. Applicant argues that this disclosure amounts to a disclosure of pausing other functionality of the master bracelet to enable charging of the master bracelet with the slave bracelet. It is respectfully submitted that the reference does not disclose pausing other functionality to enable charging, but rather discloses pausing charging to enable other functionality. Additionally, the use of the “can be disabled” language shows that the charging must not always be paused for other functionalities. Furthermore, the functionalities described in paragraph [0075] in relation to the pausing of charging are the “upper layers of the RFID/NFC protocols”. The disclosure of Tomassini previously describes such upper layers are directed to data transmission and not to data acquisition. In fact, it is well known that “RFID/NFC” is referring to radiofrequency identification and near field communication, and therefore, any disclosure of pausing charging with respect to the use of upper layers of the RFID/NFC protocols does not have any basis on the data acquisition aspect. For at least the reasons given above, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Adamisin (U.S. Patent No. 10,020,668) discloses a wearable electronic device that includes the capability of charging during wear (“wearing the wearable electronic device 101 during inductive power transfer”, col. 6, ln. 46-47), Halliburton et al. (U.S. 2017/0141601) teaches wirelessly charging a medical device while the device is being worn (“wirelessly charging the device with thermal energy permits efficient recharging of wearable/implantable devices passively while the device is being worn by the user”, paragraph [0015]), and Rothkopf (U.S. 2016/0058375) teaches a device configured to be charged while it is being worn (“The battery 114 may be a rechargeable power supply that is configured to provide power to the device 100 while it is being worn by the user.”, paragraph [0086]).
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796