DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant has elected the Group I, claims 1-12 and 23-30 without traverse. Claims 13-22 are cancelled.
Claim Objections
In currently filed response, claims 13-23 are shown as cancelled claims. Applicant is suggested to change it to 13-22.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) has considered and placed of record in file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-11, 23, 24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (EP4135256)(hereafter Zhang) (See IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 23, Zhang discloses an apparatus for securely accessing a service, comprising: a memory system comprising instructions; and a processor system coupled to the memory system, wherein the processor system is configured to:
receive, by a security service from a service, a request for a service key for accessing the service, the request for the service key including an indication to use a user plane security anchor (UPSA) (Zhang, figure 8, by reference to the key request by the KSM entity (which is according to paragraph [0074] a network function in charge of key generation and management and hence falls within the definition of a "security service"), said key request is sent by the SM entity (session management) in response to the initiation of a service session request received by the latter. That key request, according to paragraph [0169] of Zhang, comprises not just the UE ID and a security policy but also the network ID, so it can be said to comprise "indication to use a user plane security anchor"
transmit, from the security service in response to the request for the service key, a service key response including the service key;" ( figure 8, and the corresponding step disclosed to be performed per paragraphs [0169] and [0179], wherein a protection key (one of the service- based protection keys set out in paragraphs [0172], [0175]) is sent from the KMS to the SM in response to the key request received by the KMS from the SM. The key request for a service key, and its receipt, are also depicted by figure 11 (see steps 1-3), and the corresponding paragraphs [0202]-0205]).
receive an indication for a UPSA key, the indication including an identifier for a UPSA for the service; generate the UPSA key based on the identifier for the UPSA; and transmit the generated UPSA key to the UPSA for establishing a user plane security context between the UPSA and a wireless device." (paragraphs [0172], [0189], [0196]-[0201], [0213] and [0216]-[0229], "Service Anchor' or "UPSA key' - and any nexus (causal or temporal - or in terms of data links underlying these recited keys) between the any steps characterizing the generation of he recited "UPSA key" and the "Service key", this feature is susceptible to be construed to encompass any network entity involved in user plane security and a key generated thereof, and as such is disclosed by reference to what Zhang discloses to be the key KSID, which is disclosed per at least paragraphs [0172], [0189], [0196]-[0201], [0213] and [0216]-[0229], said key serving as basis for the derivation of encryption and integrity protection keys, denoted as KSID_INT and K_ENC, used for establishing user plane security context (said "security context" is interpreted to integrity protection and/or encryption) between the UE ("wireless device" and any network entity charged with a user plane task relating to security)).
Regarding claims 2 and 24, Zhang further discloses the apparatus, wherein the request for the service key includes an identifier for the wireless device and an identifier for the service (see, Fig. 8, para [0169], key request comprising a network ID along with a UE ID).
Regarding claims 8 and 30, Zhang further discloses the apparatus, wherein the UPSA key is generated based on a session root key associated with the wireless device and the identifier for the service (see, para [0171], [0175], [0189]-[0193]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang further discloses the apparatus, wherein the identifier for the wireless device comprises a temporary identifier (paragraphs [0117], disclosing the usage of a GUTI or an App ID as UE ID. At least these disclosed App ID or GUTI fall within the definition a "temporary identifier" (an interpretation made based on paragraphs [0101], [0116] of the description of the present application). Zhang further discloses that at least a service parameter, a PLMN ID and a session ID - are used for the purpose of generating what is disclosed to be a protection key generated by the KMS network entity: see paragraphs [0171], [0175], [0189]-[0193]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication for the UPSA key is received from the service, and wherein the indication for the UPSA key includes an identifier for the wireless device (paragraphs [0117], disclosing the usage of a GUTI or an App ID as UE ID. At least these disclosed App ID or GUTI fall within the definition a "temporary identifier" (an interpretation made based on paragraphs [0101], [0116] of the description of the present application). Zhang further discloses that at least a service parameter, a PLMN ID and a session ID - are used for the purpose of generating what is disclosed to be a protection key generated by the KMS network entity: see paragraphs [0171], [0175], [0189]-[0193])).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang further discloses the apparatus, wherein the processor system is further configured to: derive the service key for accessing the service by the wireless device; and transmit, from the security service and to the wireless device, service key information for accessing the service (paragraphs [0117], disclosing the usage of a GUTI or an App ID as UE ID. At least these disclosed App ID or GUTI fall within the definition a "temporary identifier" (an interpretation made based on paragraphs [0101], [0116] of the description of the present application). Zhang further discloses that at least a service parameter, a PLMN ID and a session ID - are used for the purpose of generating what is disclosed to be a protection key generated by the KMS network entity: see paragraphs [0171], [0175], [0189]-[0193])).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 12 and 25-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rajadurai et al. (US 2022/0150696) discloses establishing secure connection for edge computing services.
Arrobo Vidal et al. (US2022/0086742) discloses service request procedure in information centric networking.
Trainin et al. (US 10863351) discloses distribution network support.
Kolanowski et al. (US12096391) discloses controlling provision of fixed wireless service utilizing a list of authorized identifiers.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631