DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jean-Louis et al. (FR2685707), hereinafter “Jean-Louis,” wherein an English machine translation is used and cited herein, as evidenced by “Impurities in Steel” ("Impurities in Steel." Metallurgy. N.p., 11 Feb. 2009. Web. 07 Dec. 2015.).
Regarding claims 1-8, Jean-Louis teaches a maraging steel having a chemical composition comprising, by weight, 14-19% Ni, 9-14% Co, 5-8% Mo, 0.005-0.05% rare earth elements, less than 0.1% Mn, less than 0.1% Si, less than 0.01% C, and a balance of Fe and inevitable impurities (Abstract, [0008]-[0010], which satisfies or overlaps with the instantly claimed ranges. Jean-Louis does not teach that its steel composition has O, which reads on 0% of O. Furthermore, note that the mere purity of a product, by itself, is insufficient to render the claimed product nonobvious over the prior art. See MPEP §2144.04 (VII). Regarding the overlapping ranges, note that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Jean-Louis teaches that the inevitable impurities may include residual amounts of impurity elements, such as aluminum, silicon, and manganese ([0008], [0010]), but is silent as to wherein the inevitable impurities comprise one or more of sulfur, phosphorus, nitrogen hydrogen, boron, copper, chromium, tungsten, vanadium zirconium, calcium, magnesium, zinc, neodymium, and tantalum. However, sulfur, phosphorus, and nitrogen are common impurities found in steels, as evidenced by “Impurities in Steel” (p. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the maraging steel of Jean-Louis to have one or more of sulfur, phosphorus, and nitrogen present in impurity amounts.
As to claims 9 and 10, Jean-Louis teaches wherein its steel is a maraging steel and has a mechanical strength of 2000 MPa and high ductility (Abstract, [0010]), but does not explicitly teach that a structure of maraging steel comprises Fe-Ni martensite and an intermetallic compound, wherein the intermetallic compound comprises Ni3Mo phase and a molybdenum-rich phase, wherein a yield strength of the maraging steel is greater than or equal to 1500 MPa, and an elongation of the maraging steel is greater than or equal to 3%. However, Jean-Louis teaches a steel with a chemical composition that satisfies or closely overlaps with the instantly claimed chemical composition ranges, as detailed above, and further teaches a method of manufacture of its steel comprising melting and casting, which is substantially similar to that described in paragraphs [0033] and [0055] of the instant specification.
Thus, as Jean-Louis teaches a steel with an overlapping chemical composition and substantially similar process of manufacture, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the steel of Jean-Louis to have a structure of maraging steel comprises Fe-Ni martensite and an intermetallic compound, wherein the intermetallic compound comprises Ni3Mo phase and a molybdenum-rich phase, wherein a yield strength of the maraging steel is greater than or equal to 1500 MPa, and an elongation of the maraging steel is greater than or equal to 3%. In the case where “the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP §2112.01.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the currently amended claim 1 excludes Ti and Al, while Jean-Louis prefers to have Ti and/or Al in the steel. Applicant further argues that this preference is a teaching away from the claimed features.
In response, Examiner notes that claim 1 in no way excludes Ti and Al. Note that claim 1 recites the limitations “wherein the steel material comprises” and “wherein the inevitable impurities comprise” allow for Ti and Al to be present as intentional components or inevitable impurities. The transitional term "comprises", which is synonymous with "includes," "contains," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP 2111.03. Nonetheless, Jean-Claude teaches that its steel is titanium free ([0009]-[0010]) and has less than 0.2% Al ([0008]), which indicates that the steel of Jean-Claude may include no Al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734