DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I: claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 3/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all groups share a technical feature that provides a contribution over the prior art. This is not found persuasive, because the instant application is a continuation of a PCT application, and is filed under 35 U.S.C. 111(a), which is treated using U.S. domestic restriction practice. Lack of unity applies only to 371 applications.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “less than or equal to 0.1% of carbon, and less than or equal to 0.3% of oxygen, iron, and inevitable impurities,” which renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear whether “less than or equal to 0.3%” applies to only oxygen, or oxygen, iron, and inevitable impurities. For the purposes of examination, claim 1 is given the broadest reasonable interpretation such that the limitation “less than or equal to 0.1% of carbon, and less than or equal to 0.3% of oxygen, iron, and inevitable impurities” is interpreted as –less than or equal to 0.1% of carbon, less than or equal to 0.3% of oxygen, and a balance of iron and inevitable impurities–.
Claims 2-10 are dependent on claim 1 and are thus also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jean-Louis et al. (FR2685707), hereinafter “Jean-Louis,” wherein an English machine translation is used and cited herein.
Regarding claims 1-8, Jean-Louis teaches a maraging steel having a chemical composition comprising, by weight, 14-19% Ni, 9-14% Co, 5-8% Mo, 0.005-0.05% rare earth elements, less than 0.1% Mn, less than 0.1% Si, less than 0.01% C, and a balance of Fe and inevitable impurities (Abstract, [0008]-[0010], which satisfies or overlaps with the instantly claimed ranges. Jean-Louis does not teach that its steel composition has O, which reads on 0% of O. Furthermore, note that the mere purity of a product, by itself, is insufficient to render the claimed product nonobvious over the prior art. See MPEP §2144.04 (VII). Regarding the overlapping ranges, note that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
As to claims 9 and 10, Jean-Louis teaches wherein its steel is a maraging steel and has a mechanical strength of 2000 MPa and high ductility (Abstract, [0010]), but does not explicitly teach that a structure of maraging steel comprises Fe-Ni martensite and an intermetallic compound, wherein the intermetallic compound comprises Ni3Mo phase and a molybdenum-rich phase, wherein a yield strength of the maraging steel is greater than or equal to 1500 MPa, and an elongation of the maraging steel is greater than or equal to 3%. However, Jean-Louis teaches a steel with a chemical composition that satisfies or closely overlaps with the instantly claimed chemical composition ranges, as detailed above, and further teaches a method of manufacture of its steel comprising melting and casting, which is substantially similar to that described in paragraphs [0033] and [0055] of the instant specification.
Thus, as Jean-Louis teaches a steel with an overlapping chemical composition and substantially similar process of manufacture, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the steel of Jean-Louis to have a structure of maraging steel comprises Fe-Ni martensite and an intermetallic compound, wherein the intermetallic compound comprises Ni3Mo phase and a molybdenum-rich phase, wherein a yield strength of the maraging steel is greater than or equal to 1500 MPa, and an elongation of the maraging steel is greater than or equal to 3%. In the case where “the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP §2112.01.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734